Jim AND Tim…Be Still My Heart

by

jimtim.jpg

For those of you who aren’t fans of “The Office” (from either this side of the pond or the other)…please indulge me for this post, as I’m about to seize into a fit of excitement that rivals my watching Taylor Hicks wail on his harp.

New York Post reports that cast members from the BBC version of “The Office” will be guesting on the American version of the show next season.

Why does this illicit a squeal of sheer joy from me? Two reasons…John Krasinski (above left) and Martin Freeman (above right).

Krasinski stars as Jim Halpert from the American version of the show (going into its third season), and Freeman played Tim Canterbury on the BBC version (which ran for 12 episodes and two Christmas specials).

I have been a huge fan of the American “Office” since it first went on the air, but I hadn’t seen the BBC version until recently…thanks to my friend, Peggy.

Over the last month, Peggy and I have stolen away a lunch hour here and there to sit and watch her DVDs of the award-winning BBC version of “The Office.”

I wasn’t sure what to expect, as I love the American show so much (I practically have to roll my tongue back in my head when Krasinski is on). Plus, I had read so much bitching on the Internet and heard so much bitching on the airways about how the American version was no where near as clever/funny/groundbreaking as the BBC version.

I think all that griping is total bullshit. After watching all the BBC episodes and all the American episodes…I think these shows are two different creatures and can’t really be compared. Both are fantastic in my opinion, however, the BBC version was made for cable access channels and the American version was made for network television. For this reason, the BBC version got away with tons more crudity than the American version.

It also got away with more character cruelty.

Peggy has a friend in Scotland who is a fan of the BBC version. She asked him why…since it had won so many awards (including a Golden Globe)…why it was only on one season. Her friend replied, “Because, unlike you Americans, we know better than to beat a dead horse.”

Well, he may be right about Americans beating dead horses…when oh when will someone hit the cancel button on “According to Jim,” “Yes, Dear,” and….yes I’ll say it…“The View”? But the American version of “The Office” is far from being a deceased equine…at least not for this next season.

Unlike the BBC version, the American version has developed heart. Thanks to show creator and star Ricky Gervais, who played David “Subject Matter” Brent, the BBC version was absolutely hilarious…and absolutely painful to watch. Never have I witnessed so fine a portrayal of a human trainwreck as I have watching Gervais play Brent. He was clueless and cruel at the same time. I did laugh at the BBC version…but I also squirmed in my seat. There is no way I…and I believe the rest of the viewing world…could have endured more than one season of the show…it was so overthetop.

On the other hand, the American version, also award-winning and nominated this year for five Emmys, has created characters that make people laugh and that have a more believable human side. And Gervais’ American counterpart…Michael Scott (played brilliantly by award-winning Steve Carell)…is just as clueless and almost as offensive, but Carell has made Scott into such a pitifully endearing character that you can’t help but watch and…dare I say it…love. Plus the American version has more story lines that have carried it through two seasons and have fans itching for the third. If you haven’t watched it and want to catch up on what you’ve missed…treat yourself! Go to iTunes and download all episodes…I assure you, you’ll love it.

But putting all the analysis aside, I have to say that combining the casts of these two shows is a great idea…even if it’s for one or two episodes. It’s the sitcom equivalent of getting peanut butter in my chocolate or getting chocolate in my peanut butter…either way…it’ll be yummy.

So far, plot details of the episode that will feature both casts are not being revealed, other than the fact that Gervais will not be among the guest cast. Also not publicly known is whether the British cast members will be reprising their original roles or giving cameos in other roles.

But I’m hoping against hope that they do reprise their original roles.

The idea of possibly seeing a snotty dweeb-off between Dwight K. Schrute (played brilliantly by Rainn Wilson, pictured at left, top) and Gareth Keenan (played by Mackenzie Crook, left, bottom…who can also be seen in this summer’s Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest)…is truly delicious. The only thing that would make it better is if the episode featured these two characters in a military survival camp and having to rely on each other to make it through…I’m already salivating at the promise of their combined puny verbal jabs and cornball machismo.

But what really has set me all a-twitter is the idea of Jim Halpert sharing “Office” space with Tim Canterbury…filling the small screen with their weary-every-man-underdog-dry-witted dreaminess.

Like I said, I’m a Halpert gal…Peggy swoons at Canterbury…but both are truly wonderful characters (played by brilliantly funny and touching actors). Is it their mops of mousey brown hair? Their hound-dog gazes? Their dry quips that sear with razor sharp wit and timing?

Yes. Yes. And Yes!

Bring it on! Jim and Tim. Tim and Jim. My head is already spinning.

So now I have even more to look forward to this fall than how Pam responded to the kiss from Jim. I have the promise of seeing Tim and Jim exchange rapid-fire quips that Michael totally doesn’t get and that totally piss off Gareth and Dwight.

I’m ready to crank up the flourescent lighting…put a new jug in the water cooler…grease up my rolling desk chair…and prepare for the hilarity that is sure to ensue.

30 Responses to “Jim AND Tim…Be Still My Heart”

  1. PeggyisAmused Says:

    i seriously should never look at a pic of tim and jim side by side ever again. that physically caused my heart real pain and anguish.

    i think to say i’m a tim girl is really oversimplifying things. i’m the creamy white filling in a jim/tim cookie and you need to get on board with that idea a.s.a.p. (omfg @ THAT thought btw). oops, this is a family-friendly site, isn’t it? :((( (wasn’t* it)

    i think the allure of these boys isn’t their mops or their darling puppydog eyes (omg maybe a little) or their clever, biting, dry wit… i think it’s their heart. they’re both so tender and good and kind. (and hot, but duh). it’s the way they see their girls (dawn/pam) and by “see” i mean the way they notice every little nuance right down to her favorite yogurt flavor. i want someone to see me like that. i suppose we all do.

    i think the only way for “the office” to have a happy ending is for it to end in a double wedding. peggy & martin freeman and shelley & john krasinski. no wait, peggy and john krasinski and shelley & martin ACK. NO. get away from him. ok, the thought of that, even if only joking, has brought an epiphany of sorts: i guess i really AM a tim girl.

    i’m so confused. i can’t pick. doesn’t matter anyways, i gotta run. suddenly have an overwhelming urge to run out and buy a pack of oreos.

  2. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh honey chile! I am now firmly convinced that you and I were separated at birth.

    I cannot tell you the level of screaming and screeching that happened at my bff’s house during the last episode this season. Holy freakin’ cow…I LITERALLY fell out of my chair when Jim kissed Pam in the office. MY KNEES WENT WEAK! (Hello, fictional characters here!)

    Except for Grey’s Anatomy (why, oh, why did they kill Denny? What is Izzy gonna do? She can’t quit!), The Office is the only show that I’m still squirming around in anticipation for.

    I have on my list of “things to rent this summer” the BBC version of The Office. I guess I’ll have to move it up the list now!

    I love Jim/John nearly as much as Taylor. (Is there some commonality in the types of guys “Hicks Chicks” find attractive…I remember having a discussion about John Cusack on GC once and most of the folks loved him too. I do 4 sure.)

  3. TALK! Says:

    Peggy…family friendly? Well, my mom and sister-in-law read on occasion…but I think they are both old enough to deal with whatever you can dish out. 😉 (I told Mom early on that I might use a bad word or two…she just laughed.)

    I will say…a Jim/Tim oreo sounds awfully good right now!

    ————-

    Bama…we are DEFINITELY sisters from another mister! The Jim/Pam kiss has been played and replayed (and replayed and replayed) on my iTunes so much that I’m surprised I haven’t been charged extra!

    Oh…and Grey’s Anatomy? I LOVE THAT SHOW.

    When Denny died…I cried like Papa McPhee! (They should have kept Denny…dreamy!!!!!)

    They better not EVER get rid of McDreamy…or George…i LOVE george.

  4. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Yeah, see George is another one of those “Hicks Chicks” types. I love, love, love him…

    They won’t get rid of McDreamy-He’s money baby. He’s so money..and he doesn’t even know it.

    BUT: I will never get over Denny. I hoped against hope that he would live and marry Izzy and they would be happy forever. I cried so hard I was having a hard time breathing. (Papa McPhee..heehee!)

    I think it’s about time that I invest in an IPod…or TiVo.

  5. TALK! Says:

    Yeah, George…I’ve always like guys with a little bit of a geek factor…maybe it is a “Hicks Chick” thang.

    Maybe we can petition for Denny to be resurrected!

    Viva le Denny!

    That man was hot…bad heart and all!

  6. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Viva le Denny!!

    (You know he plays the dad on that show Supernatural. The DAD!! Weird.)

    I heart geeks.

  7. TALK! Says:

    I heard that he was the dad on Supernatural…but I’ve never watched the show.

    I was torn because I think Jared Padelecki is awesomely hot (loved him from Gilmore Girls…which I don’t watch anymore) and because I think Jensen Eckles is way overrated (hated him on Smallville…which I don’t watch anymore…though I’m still secretly in love with Michael “Lex” Rosenbaum).

    The premise of the show just didn’t gibe with me or something…plus I didn’t want to watch Eckles…and Padelecki wasn’t enough of a draw.

    You know, I’ve often wondered why we don’t see more yummy shots of Jared and Tom Welling…and John Krasinski for that matter…I mean, they are totally hot so why don’t they get the same amount of face time in the media as say Chad Michael Murray or Jake Gyllenhall. There’s a pretty interesting write-up on E! Online if you care to read.

    Not surprisingly…it all comes back to the publicists…I’m convinced they are all evil.

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    CMMurray makes me want to gag. I can’t stand him. “Brooding eyes” my ass. How about “lying adulterer”? I bet his publicist wouldn’t sell a lot of mags with that angle, huh?

    I don’t really watch Supernatural. I’ve seen it once or twice. I’m not much for that kind of ghost/occult stuff. Ick. I’m a scaredycat.

    I like Padelecki too. Ahh, Rory’s first love…how sweet! Totally agree with Michael/Lex and I love Tom/Clark.

    Gee…wonder if I watch too much TV….

    BTW-don’t know if you “went there” or not…but Benji on “So You Think You’re a Big Fat Dancer?”…I’m in love with him too.

  9. TALK! Says:

    Never watched it…the only dancing show for me is “Dancing with the Stars.”

    Please don’t judge me. 😉

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Luv me some Drew and Cheryl.

  11. TALK! Says:

    Bama…I’m like a proud Mama right now at that.

    Drew and Cheryl…tear glistening on my cheek…true entertainers.

    Why can’t life be like Dancing with the Stars…where we can kick butt wads like Tatum O’Neal to the curb and keep longshots like Drew around to love and hold and squeeze?

    Just like how we kicked Kat to the curb…only to love and hold and squeeze on Taylor.

    I’m convinced the public as a whole DOESN’T want the perfection of the Kats and Tatums of the world shoved down our throats by Hollywood.

    We long for the underdogs.

    We long for the Drews…the Taylors…the Jims…the Tims…the Dennys…the Georges.

    Screw the Chad Michael Murrays…the Chris Daughtrys…the Jessica Simpsons (okay…so I don’t really hate her, but I’m trying to make a point).

  12. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I wholly agree! I think most of us “out here” identify with the underdogs. We know that WE are people of worth, talent, charm…and maybe we’re overlooked b/c the “cool kids” just entered the room. (Those damn cool kids…I was so Romy and Michelle in highschool.)

    (…Still, there is no excuse for Master P. I felt sorry for cutie-pie Ashley.)

  13. TALK! Says:

    Master P represents all that is wrong with the pop culture world.

    All season I kept hoping Joey McIntyre would show up in the middle of one of Ash and P’s “dances”…tap P on the shoulder and whisk Ashley around the floor in a blaze of glory…then whip her around in an illegal lift and let her jack P in the jaw with one of her spiked heels.

    ———–
    P.S. “I’m the Mary.”

  14. bamaborntxbred Says:

    No, I’m the Mary.

    Oh, I really wanted Joey and Ashley to fall in love that first season! He could’ve been her New Kid in shining armor!

  15. PeggyisAmused Says:

    omfg why don’t you two get a room ffs?

  16. TALK! Says:

    Okay, you’re the Mary…but I invented Post-Its.

    —-

    What’s wrong with us that we wanted Joey and Ashley together?

    Oh…and how bad did you want to be Cheryl this year? Was she totally hawt or what?

    I want to be Latin/Philipino/Whatever else she is…makes appointment with stylist and trainer.

  17. TALK! Says:

    Pegghey…is just jealous that she’s not even in the running to be the Mary.

    Peg…go drool over Tim!

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    If we get a room can we watch tv?

    Cheryl is so hawt. My friends thought she was ugly…I was like, huh? She’s da bomb.

  19. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Peg-You can join us… 😉

    You know you want to…..

    Jim and Tim and Taylor are invited too of course.

    (We’d be fightin’ for the remote).

  20. Quossum Says:

    Well, I don’t watch any of these shows (needless to say, though at least I’ve *heard of* Gray’s Anatomy), but something in your post made me think of a topic for another day.

    Peggy has a friend in Scotland who is a fan of the BBC version. She asked him why…since it had won so many awards (including a Golden Globe)…why it was only on one season. Her friend replied, “Because, unlike you Americans, we know better than to beat a dead horse.”

    Reminds me of a little website:
    http://www.jumptheshark.com/
    The point is to define the moment at which one’s favorite show started going downhill. If a show that should have been cancelled long ago is still hanging on, you can say, “The View? Oh, man, that show jumped the shark when…”

    –Q

  21. TALK! Says:

    I love the whole “Jump the Shark” discussion.

    My brother, Ben, and I talked about that exact thing after Jim kissed Pam.

    I, personally, don’t think the show jumped from the kiss (Ben thinks it might have). I actually think it opens up tons of other story lines for the show and other scrumptious complications that will make for uncomfortably hilarious situations.

  22. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hey Q- That sounds like a cool site and a cool topic.

    *********

    “Because, unlike you Americans, we know better than to beat a dead horse.”

    Yeah-that’s kinda like me and Talk! continuing this convo huh? 🙂

  23. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Okay a day late to this great topic…

    BBC vs NBC what a battle of the…oh sorry

    The BBC version is much harsher view on the foibles of man. And we as views through the charachter of the “the camera crew” are kept at an arms length from these misfits. They are static arc types that never develop of learn…which states humans forever are nasty and stupid and scared little beings. Valid point of view for some.

    The American version has more heart, as you say. The jokes and cruelty are not with out self reflection within the on camera interviews or without an emaotional way out. Take Jim popping Dwight’s Pilate’s ball…he asked how much it costs before doing it, subtly implying Jim would pay for his damages. I brilliant, sweet move on the writers.

    It is Jim’s character in particular that has gone through the most changes…where Marttin couldn’t make his move…JIm did…where Martin could show complete compassion, Jim did…we have dynamic characters in the NBC version. The american version is about flawed poeples journey…

    So when the two are placed by side…yes, you are 100% correct they can’t be compared. BBC made it’s searing statement as long as it needed to be…While NBC took a different path with the same premise.

    Of course I could be totally wrong.

  24. TALK! Says:

    Shrew…I think you’re right on the money. What a GREAT breakdown of the shows and what they truly offer viewers.

    Thanks for the input. Awesome insight.

    But you didn’t say…would you like to be the creamy center of a Jim/Tim oreo? 😉

  25. Shrewspeaks Says:

    What do you think? Hell yeah!

  26. TALK! Says:

    Atta girl, Shrew….I’m glad the alcohol hasn’t clouded your judgement. 😉

  27. TALK! Says:

    Peg…can’t you share the cookie.

    Geesh…stingy much? 😉

  28. ANONYMOUS (not peggeh) Says:

    omfg why are you still reading this? LAME.

  29. TALK! Says:

    Because at TALK! I am all powerful and must reign supremely over ever nuance…every facet…every lame ass who posts. 😛

  30. PeggyisAmused Says:

    um. both of you get out of my cookie. MINE.

Comments are closed.


