An Angelic Reunion on the Horizon

by

Just when I thought my week was going down the crapper…good news hit like a flock of Charlie’s Angels kicking down the walls of crime.

I was more than irritated two days ago when I learned that Christie Brinkley is divorcing husband no. 4. Please shoot me now…that last thing I need is another woman to compete against in the dating scene. ‘Cause, let’s face it, Brinkley may be 52, but she pretty much mops the floor with every other woman on the planet…most of all this dumpy 36-year-old Mississippian. Like I need this added stress in my life…thanks, Christie Brinkley, for making my chances at a love life dwindle even more (yes, I know it’s petty and ridiculous…but blaming her makes me feel better…so don’t ruin it for me).

But then yesterday…the heavens opened up and rained down some angelic good news…talks are in the works for a Charlie’s Angels reunion show.

Producers are working to get all three original Angels, Jaclyn Smith, Farah Fawcett, and Kate Jackson (with a little Cheryl Ladd thrown in for good measure) together for the show. And 88-year-old John Forsythe will be back to voice Charlie. Sadly David Doyle, who played Bosley, died in 1997. And thankfully, there is no talk of bringing back Shelley Hack (of Charlie perfume commercial fame) or Tanya Roberts (who?).

For pretty much any girl my age, Charlie’s Angels was the most fantastic show in the world (other than Wonder Woman…I totally heart Linda Carter). I would watch with awe and amazement every week as these beautiful and smart women would kick serious ass all over bad guys…and never smear their lipgloss or break their nails. They were walking time bombs of justice…with Breck girl hair…and I freakin’ ate it up.

Every Wednesday, while other (more athletically inclined) kids were in the gym rollerskating or shooting hoops, I would plop down in front of the ginormous console TV in our church Activities Building lounge and marvel as those black silhouettes of the Angels came bounding out of that kettle of fire. I wanted to bound out of that kettle of fire…I wanted to karate chop bad guys…I wanted to be an Angel…well, not Sabrina…just Kelly or Jill. Ask any girl who was a pre-teen when Charlie’s Angels was on air…did you ever strike the Angel “walkie-talkie” pose? Hell, no! Everyone knew Sabrina held the damn walkie-talkie. You either karate chopped or held a gun. Period.

shelleyfarrah.jpgSo deep was my love for the Angels that I cherished…literally cherished…my Farrah Fawcett action figure…er, doll. I still have her to this day (see picture at left…just in case you can’t tell…I’m the one without the healthy tan). And although years in a hot Mississippi attic have made some kind of weird banding on her upper arms and have melted her a little at the armpits (you might can see some red thread that is now permanently bonded into her pits) I managed to keep Farrah’s beautiful frosted hair and her perfectly real eyelashes looking fabulous.

So, you can see how the idea of a reunion show would excite me so much that I could pee myself.

Oh, and I can’t blog about Charlie’s Angels without at least a mention of the recent movie franchise…starring Drew Barrymore, Cameron Diaz, and the incomparable Lucy Lui. I love these movies. They are campy, colorful fun.

But nothing…nothing…compares to the original.

Sidenote: Along with my Farrah doll…I had a Cher doll (excuse the linked picture…my doll was in mint condition). She was just as gorgeous as Farrah…wearing her red Chinese dragon dress (which is what I dressed Farrah in before putting her in the attic years ago…hence the vibrant pit hair).

But I’m convinced Cher was stolen by this snot-nose kid named Connie, who used to play at my house when she’d come to visit her grandparents (who lived on my street) after school and in the summers.

That damn Connie…the hateful girl…I know she took Cher…and I’m pretty sure she also took my Growing-Up Skipper, too.

May her little clepto hands rot and fall off. I’ll never forgive her. My fury still rages after 20 plus years.

At least I still have Farrah…I love her so.

24 Responses to “An Angelic Reunion on the Horizon”

  1. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Connie better watch her back!

    I loved Kelly Garrett. Even back then, I didn’t much care for the uber-special types like Jill. I felt like sorry for the others b/c she got all the attention. Funny, I somehow knew I was gonna be a Kelly or Sabrina.

    Jaclyn Smith is GORGEOUS now (then too really)! Way prettier than Farrah…No offense to your Farrah doll. I’m sure she’s a very nice doll.

    Oh yeah, I used to wrap my wrists in foil so I could have Wonder Woman bracelets. I was SO cool.

  2. TALK! Says:

    Wrapped your wrists in foil?

    Bama…I grow more proud to know you by the post.

    I will be sporting some WW cuffs on our trek to The Big Easy…I think we all should.

    —-

    Oh…and for the record…I would have had a Kelly doll…if I could have. πŸ˜‰

  3. bamaborntxbred Says:

    We should absolutely wear some WW cuffs to N.O.! I wish I had an invisible plane and I could just fly over for a visit anytime I felt like it!

    Did they even make a Sabrina doll? Sad.

  4. TALK! Says:

    Just in case you want to buy a Sabrina doll.

  5. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oooh, doll in drag!

  6. nolagirl Says:

    Sorry I have not had much to add here the last couple of days. My age is showing glaringly, in that I am not of the Charlie’s Angels generation. (oh, and I don’t watch The Office either)

    However, I *had* to butt in when you mentioned foil, wrists and N.O. I am afraid, very afraid.

    πŸ™‚

  7. TALK! Says:

    Bama…back me up here…NOLAgirl MUST wear the WW cuffs.

    MUST. WEAR.

    Or we’ll snare her with our Lasso of Truth and make her dish all her dirty laundry.

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Heck yeah! Only the coolest of cool kids wear the foil cuffs….you do want to be cool don’t you????

  9. suzi-q Says:

    don’t forget the Sunshine family that rode around on a bicycle!!! THis article is hilariously and marvelously written and was enjoyed by me!!!! I laughed til I cried and sorry the attic in MS was HOT AS HADES (not that I have or want a measure of) Love the writing!

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh I loved the Sunshine Family! Esp. the baby…so cute!

  11. TALK! Says:

    Thanks Suzi-Q! You always make me feel so loved. πŸ˜‰

    —-

    Bama…Suzi-Q knows all too well that I OWNED the Sunshine Family!

    There were soooo cute..with their little button noses.

  12. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Apparently I was 2 when the SFam came out. But I clearly remember owning them. I guess they were around for awhile.

    Is Suzi-Q in the same familial unit as Talk??

  13. TALK! Says:

    She made me promise not to disclose her true identity…but I’m sure you can figure out that, yes, we are related. πŸ˜‰

  14. nolagirl Says:

    Don’t think you can wrangle me in with your attempts at peer pressure. I *guess* I can promise not to point and laugh at Y’ALL in your foil wristbands…. nah, don’t even think I can do that! LOL

  15. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ah hah! I’m a super sleuth. (Like my childhood hero Nancy Drew…
    Anybody? Anybody?)

    (Off topic: I just read that story GC posted about Tay at the restaurant. OMG! Why, oh why, dear Lord, can’t I have a man like that?)

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh Nola, bring it on! I love when people point and laugh at me. I’m so in my element then!

    I bet during the AI season it wouldn’t have been a stretch to find you in a tinfoil hat. Why not bracelets?

  17. Susan54 Says:

    Bring on the Nancy Drew, bama – read them all.

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I used to have the whole set lined up on my bookshelves….but my Mom made me give them to my little sisters. HELLO! They hated reading and never even opened one of them. Now they’re gone. I don’t even know what happened to them….so sad.

  19. TALK! Says:

    Bama…you’re mother made you give away your books?!?!

    Listen…even though my brothers “adopted” my books for a short time growing up…I got them all back…still have them today.

    I didn’t have the Nancy Drew collection but I did have some favorite books that are so dear to me…the idea of not having them now makes me cry.

    (Shhhh…I still even read them sometimes.)

  20. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I read my childhood faves at least once every year or two (Anne of Green Gables series, Chronicles of Narnia series, Little Women & Little Men, etc.).

    My Mom was obviously a child abuser… πŸ˜‰ My bros and sis’ were extremely destructive kids that could care less about reading…they prolly had a bonfire with them. Sob!

    I cherish, adore, luuuuuv my books. Even the geeky romance novels my Mom gives me to read…which I do give away…still it kills me to do so!

    I should look for ND books on ebay and re-build my collection.

  21. TALK! Says:

    Yep…but they sucked.

  22. shrewspeaks Says:

    we so had similar childhoods…I not only had Cher, but the Bionic Woman Doll and Donny & Marie!!!!!

    Good Times, good times.

  23. TALK! Says:

    Cripes, woman! You had a Bionic Woman Doll????!!!!????

    So lucky you are.

    I think I had a Donny doll…but it could just be a false memory based on fantasy…certainly you understand. πŸ˜‰

    (These will be the same vague recollections I have 10 years down the road when I tell someone that I think I dated Taylor Hicks.)

  24. shrewspeaks Says:

    You made me laugh out loud before coffee!!!!! Gray only did that onece! Bravo!!!!!

Comments are closed.


