A Friday Video…And Thoughts of Gurvir

by

There are moments in life you find yourself thinking…if I had it to do all over again…what would I do different.

I’m willing to wager a pretty penny that the woman in this video asked herself that very question after this footage was shot.

WARNING: This video may cause cringing

I’m blaming my brother Ben for today’s post. He found this video online and showed it to me about two or three years ago.

I must admit…bows head in shame…I laughed my ass off.

However…the funniest (and weirdest) part of this video for me and Ben came when we watched it together…for about the second or third time…and Ben got this look on his face like “What the…?”

“What?” I asked.

“Do you know who that is?” He pointed to the female newscaster at the end of the clip.

“Who?”

“That’s Gurvir Dhindsa!”

I squinted at the screen…”Oh my gosh! It is Gurvir! How cool!”

Gurvir Dhindsa is one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. She is an award-winning broadcast journalist who, in earlier days, worked at WLOX-TV 13 on the Mississippi Gulf Coast…my home.

I was working as a cub reporter at The Mississippi Press in Jackson County at the same time Gurvir was at WLOX. We would run into each other often, covering stories. For a couple of years, we both covered (actually, I think she volunteered there as a local celebrity) the Special Olympics at the Ocean Springs YMCA.

Her kindness and sincerity stand out in my mind even today because it is so juxtaposed to how I, as a print journalist, had been treated by some other of my broadcast counterparts.

As a newspaper reporter, I would often get snubbed for interviews by people who wanted, instead, to be covered by the broadcast media. It happened a lot.

People don’t delay event kick-offs or meetings waiting for the print media to show up. But if they think a video camera will be there, they’ll delay start times half an hour…and serve doughnuts! I swear it used to irritate the hell out of me.

But to add insult to injury, this star treatment often went to the heads of these local celebrities.

There was this one guy who I remember as being a total jerk. His name was Brad Kessie…or as I liked to call him…”the B.K. Broiler” (he used to wear this huge gaudy gold ring with just his initials on it…B.K….get it…B.K. Broiler..okay…it’s not funny…but I was young and was just learning how to snark).

Anyway…the B.K. Broiler and I would often cover the same news events and…I swear on my life…he never would acknowledge me. He would barely say hello…and when he did say hello, he never remembered my name. How do you cover a murder with someone and not remember their name? Pfffttt…whatever.

But Gurvir wasn’t like that. She was always as caring as she appears in the above video. I remember it was about the second or third time I had seen her at an event. We were standing next to each other and she smiled and said hi. I was so used to getting the brush-off from broadcast people that I immediately said “Hi, I’m Shelley Powers with The Mississippi Press.

She just wrinkled her brow and gave me the sweetest, most sincere smile, “I know who you are, Shelley. We’ve met before, remember?” And then she gave this friendly little laugh. It was a sweet moment.

I’m glad Gurvir didn’t fall out of that grape bucket.

Now had it been the B.K. Broiler…that would have been some funny shit.

Happy Friday.

26 Responses to “A Friday Video…And Thoughts of Gurvir”

  1. Staci Says:

    Okay, Shelley. It’s almost cosmic that today your post is about those who think more of themselves than they should. I know this is your post, so I’ll make you come to my site for my opinions (review of movies)… but I REALLY think you need to see The Devil Wears Prada … it gives new thoughts to “those who think more of themselves.” When (IF) I get my review up, I’ll have it on my weak little blogspot for you…

    Just leave it at… you’ve hit a nerve for me today. Good one, Shelley.

  2. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh, I am laughing. Laughing at some poor woman that fell and hurt herself. I am horrible.

    The B.K. Broiler looks like a tool.

    I’ve never met a person who thinks (too)highly of themself, that actually deserve to be thought highly of. I’ve only met people that deserve to be thought highly of that don’t actually think (too) highly of themself. Does that make sense?

    I don’t have anything against a little pride in one’s self…but humility is my favorite character trait in another human.

  3. TALK! Says:

    I love humility…because there is nothing better than seeing someone die of embarrassment.

    Oh wait…that’s humiliating…that’s what I meant…I love humiliating people…that’s tons o’ fun.

    ——

    And for those interested in viewing Staci’s blog…click here.

  4. PeggyisAmused Says:

    Speaking of people with humility and those that deserve to be thought highly of but dont actually think too highly of themselves, good morning!

  5. TALK! Says:

    Peggyisamused…you do a great impersonation of me.

    I’m flattered…as I deserve to be.

  6. PeggyisAmused Says:

    i wanted to leave a comment on staci’s blog thingie, but it’s ghey and won’t let me if i dont “log in”…

    😡 what they hay @ that?

    but i just wanted to tell shelley to stop being such a suck up.

  7. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh Lord it’s hard to be humble, when you’re perfect in every way!

  8. TALK! Says:

    Peggy…I told her to do that to piss you off.

    —-

    Bama…tell me about it.

  9. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well you should know Talk!

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I left Staci a comment. I works just like it does here…very easy.

    *(We can’t all be as humble as Taylor.)

  11. brokedownpalace Says:

    okay, i can comment on this. your complaints over my absence are certainly justified. not to be a bitch but BONS and charlie’s angels are before my time. no insult intended but what can a 22 year old do?

    newscaster are so gooby. scott simmons’ neice is one my close friends, and when she got married last month he did a reading at the wedding. of course, he did it in his newscaster voice (the same one he’s been using to report on the sex offender sting this week–weird). it was by far the most ingenuine reading of I Corinthians 13 I’ve ever heard. he oozes sleezy 24/7. he also got shitfaced at the reception and could be heard for miles telling moronic stories about all people he’s met and all the crazy stuff he did when he worked in new orleans. that part was pretty funny, but not “funny ha ha,” it was “funny like look how pathetic you are.” sorry that was a bit harsh. (for peggy) “walter, this isn’t ‘nam, there are rules”

    apologies.

  12. TALK! Says:

    brokedownpalace…so glad to have you back.

    and when i get married…i’m having beeeeeert case read a sonnet.

    great story

    —–

    Bert Case

    Scott Simmons

  13. TALK! Says:

    Bama…because Taylor is a perfect, perfect man.

    Tears glistening in my eyes

  14. suzi-q Says:

    Gracious, beautiful, intelligent and sincere. . .that’s Gurvir Dhinsa. Talk thanks for bringing her to the forefront of my memory. And to add an insult to old BK, he only recognized himself and that was in his mirror probably the countless times he looked at himself.
    Great write-up:) brought smiles 🙂

  15. nolagirl Says:

    Hmmm, no cringing on my part. But lots of laughing. I’m going *straight* to hell for that one.

    Oh, and I clicked on the link for Brad Kessie link. It’s amazing — he is *exactly* what I pictured from your description of his tool-ness.

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I thought the video was funny when I was just watching their little feet go to town on the grapes. I don’t know why, but the angle of the camera and the speed at which they stomped…it just looked really funny to me!

    Durrr.

  17. Shrewspeaks Says:

    I had no idea how dangerous wine making is? LMAO

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ha! Shrew me too! I do have a pretty good idea how dangerous wine DRINKING can get sometimes!

  19. TALK! Says:

    Bama…I assure you that Shrew is FULLY aware of all side effects from drinking. Ha!

  20. Quossum Says:

    Oh, man, that was terrible! I admit that I laugh at some of the “people falling down” videos on American’s Funniest, but something about this one really horrified me and almost made me cry. I think it was the woman’s strange, helpless moans of pain or her saying that she couldn’t breathe. I cry out senselessly like that when I’m hurt, so it really struck a nerve. That must be why the AFV show often replaces the real sounds of the videos with crazy cartoon sound effects and cuts away before we really see the effects of the accident.

    Dammit, now I’m sitting here wondering if that poor woman is okay!

    I know the point of your post today was print vs. video media, but maybe a good topic would be to explore why we monkeys laugh when we see another monkey get hurt. I have some theories.

    (BTW, please, anyone who laughed at this video, I’m not implying anything bad about you! I admit that I often laugh at such videos myself! Just not this one. *shudder*)

    And just so that you don’t think I’m a big fat debbie downer, here’s a Hasselhoff video for you. (Forgive me if you’ve linked to this one before or already seen it!)

    –Q

  21. TALK! Says:

    Q…I’m sorry. That’s why I put a warning at the top of the video. I’m really sorry it upset you. 😦

    I honestly think her strange cries were simply her trying to get her breath (mixed with the embarrassment of the situation and being live on air…hence the “Stop. Stop.”) I know I’ve done that before…it’s like your brain is trying to figure out where all the air in your lungs went…so you just cry out nonsense stuff…trying to regain a sense of normalcy.

    Again…I’m sorry for causing you to almost cry.

    I’m not sure why it’s so common for people to laugh when others stumble.

    I know we don’t laugh at their pain…just the oddness of the situation or the strange sensation of seeing something so out of the norm.

    Maybe it’s nervousness or a physiological reaction. Usually laughing is an immediate reaction…but once pain registers with the victim or witness…most folks quickly stop laughing and offer help.

    I think the humor in the video above comes from the ridiculousness of the entire situation…her being in that stupid bucket stomping grapes WHILE doing an interview and then instead of stopping and calmly finishing the interview…she tries to be silly at the end by throwing in some extra stomps and then it backfires on her.

    I’ve seen my own brothers hurt themselves and have been guilty of laughing. I always make sure they are okay but once they say they are…I laugh. I can hardly help it.

    My brother Beau is the biggest goof in the world. I can see him doing something like the woman in the video…trying to be funny and then it totally backfires on him

    Two classic Beau incidences are:

    1. Beau, me and our baby brother, Cooper, are at Mardi Gras in Biloxi about six years ago. Beau has taken Coop’s Razor Scooter hostage and is giving quite a show with sweeping leg pushes to propel his 6’2″ frame on this little scooter. The more I warned that he was going to fall…the bigger his leg sweeps got…until the scooter shot out from under him…flipped in the air and he landed on his back. I had to bite my lip to hold back the laughter until I could ascertain his well-being. Once he said he was okay…I laughed my butt off…as did Cooper.

    2. I wasn’t present for this Beau classic…but it was relayed to me by my brother, Ben. Beau, Ben, and Cooper had gone swimming at the Tuxachanie River on the Mississippi Coast about four years ago. The spot where they swam had high (and very slippery) clay banks. Acting as a natural Slip ‘n’ Slide, these banks had places for people to slide and climb back up. The boys love this place. Well, on this one trip, Beau discovered that he could run in place on one part of the slide, where the clay was really loose. Of course, with Beau, theatrics were necessary. He started to “mock” run on the clay with a goofy grin that only Beau can give. He yelled for Ben and Cooper to watch as his stride lengthened. Of course…he fell…hard. And neither Ben, nor Cooper, (or me once I heard the tale) showed him any mercy. It is one of our favorite stories to this day.

  22. NOLAgirl Says:

    I do solemnly swear, hereto on this day, the 15th of July, 2006, that if I am ever in the presence of one “Q” when she falls down, I will use every fiber in my being not to laugh.

    Cuz I don’t wanna be the one that makes her cry.

    The end.

    🙂

  23. TALK! Says:

    NOLAgirl…you are so strong.

    I know myself better than to make a promise like that.

    But…on the other hand…I give full permission for anyone with me to laugh if I fall…as long as I’m not dead or bleed profusely or have bones sticking out. 😉

    I do promise, however, to always make sure the person I’m with who falls is okay and, if not, I will quit laughing and get them to the doctor…STAT!

  24. Quossum Says:

    You guys are SO wrong! You can laugh if I fall…unless I’m lying there brokenly uttering inhuman, gut-wrenching moans of agony and gasping that I can’t breathe.

    *scowls darkly*

    –Q

  25. NOLAgirl Says:

    Awww, I would never do such a thing, Q. My momma taught be better than that. Cheer up, spaz! 😉

  26. Anonymous Says:

    I just saw this video and laughed my ass off!!

    What a ridiculous live shot – that reporter deserved it – she was acting like an idiot then made it worse moaning like a sick horse live on tv.

Comments are closed.


