Could You Stand a Little Closer to the Hairbrush…Please

by

lohan.jpgWhat is with this current trend for crappy hair in Hollywood?

I don’t know when this started…though I have my suspicions…(Charo, below, you got some splainin’ to do)…but I want it to stop now!

When I see a star…I want them to look like a star, dammit. I mean, what’s the point of star gazing if they look just like any Joe Schmoe? If I want to see a head of unmanageable, split-end, disgusting hair…I’ll just look in my bathroom mirror, thank you very much.

I’m tired of stars being all like “Oh…I’m just like everybody else…why should I have to always look great?”

Well…first of all…you have to look great because that’s the gig you signed up for. If you didn’t want people staring at you all the time…why did you ever step foot in front of a camera? Huh?

And this whole argument of “just wanting to be left alone” while they are out shopping or whatever just doesn’t wash. If you want to be left alone…you shop at the Factory Outlet Store in Podunk, Whereville, USA…not on Rodeo Drive or Madison Avenue…where 10,000 other people are shopping…and sightseeing…and looking for someone famous in the crowd.

Furthermore…if these people were shopping because they are “just like everybody else” then why…just one stinkin’ time…don’t we see them running out of Walgreens with a box of Tampax and a can of Pringles…huh? Answer me that!

hair.jpgSo, back to my original complaint…since the stars ain’t shopping for tampons and junk food…and since they are attending she-she-la-la functions (which are not attended by the “just like everybody else” crowd)…they need to groom themselves accordingly.

I’m so tired of seeing the likes of Lindsay Lohan (pictured at top of post) sport frizzy, unkempt hair…on purpose! Gack…she can really skank out at times.

With more haircare products on the market than ever before…I think it’s a sin that any star like the ones pictured at left–(from top) Faith Hill, Britney Spears, Mary-Kate Olsen, and Courtney Love–would chose to go out in public with bad hair.

They can’t possibly think they look good. And if they do think they look good…don’t they pay people to set them straight when it comes to style?

Can I get an amen?

Tell me, readers, whose hair makes you bristle? Phil Spector? James Brown? Nick Nolte?

To all of them…I dedicate this song.

6 Responses to “Could You Stand a Little Closer to the Hairbrush…Please”

  1. Quossum Says:

    Where does Taylor’s shaggy Moe-cut fit in? =P

    –Q

  2. TALK! Says:

    It fits perfectly into the deepest corner of my heart. 😉

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Oh, Q and Shell… y’all are cracking me up this am… and I’m still dying Shell that you’ve now forayed into the world of the
    Veggies–with one of our favorite Larry anthems!

    Thanks.
    Staci

  4. Holeigh Says:

    Thank you for this topic, Shelley…I definitely agree, especially with the young Hollywood style. Maybe I’m just longing for the old Hollywood glamour, but looking at these boho, thrown together “styles”, I feel let down. I invest many hours into these people and their issues, they should repay me with looking spectacular. 😛

  5. TALK! Says:

    Holeigh…I know exactly what you mean.

    I think the idea of glamour in Hollywood should never go out of style.

    Think of Ginger Rogers…Marlene Deitrich…Marilyn Monroe…Rita Hayworth…Bette Davis…even crazy Joan Crawford.

    That is what Hollywood was all about. It gave a standard to try to obtain.

    Even woman that might not have been imperically beautiful (Crawford…Davis) were considered desirable…which was a good thing for the no-so-beautiful women in the general public.

    I think I’ll start wearing snoods and seamed stockings…I want to be like the women of the 30s and 40s….maybe even some of the ones from the 50s or early 60s.

    Ahhhh…glamour!

  6. suzi-q Says:

    Think of Katherine Hepburn, especially in “Bringing Up Baby” funny, funny classic!!! She had about nine costumes changes in a span of time of about one day and a night in this movie. All were glamorous!!! Also Loretta Young and Audrey Hepburn:) They were beautiful on and off screen. I personnaly think that my parents (now deceased) were the epitomy of grace and discretion in how they dressed. Never was the time I saw my folks leave the house in flip-
    flops or shaggy clothes. My mom, such a lady,even to her passing, dressed in matching clothes and would accessorize with a necklace, earrings and sometimes even a scarf or pins (she loved pins). She was a lady:) unfortunately her daughter, me, does not follow her standards, maybe I will:)

Comments are closed.


