Idols in the Capitol

by

ovaloffice.jpg

Okay…so I’m still working on the post I promised for today. Sorry for the delay. Today was pretty busy and I didn’t have time to write what I wanted…but it’s coming…and just so you won’t get all disappointed when it’s NOT “War and Peace“…it’s a recap of this week’s America’s Got Talent…as requested by Shrewspeake. I’ll have it for tomorrow.Until then…I wanted to post the above picture of our loverly American Idols who visited the White House today and got a tour of the Oval Office from Dubya himself. (Pictured from left are Ace Young, Kellie Pickler, Taylor Hicks, Paris Bennett, U.S. President George W. Bush, Lisa Tucker, Katharine McPhaker, Mandisa, Bucky Covington, and Chris Daughtry.)

meetingdubya.jpgJust to point out that our man…the Silver Fox…was the only guy to wear a suit and tie to meet the president of the United States. (I guess getting more votes than Bush did in the last election didn’t go to Taylor’s head.)

Wild applause for one Mr. Taylor Hicks…and lots of swooning from me.

The only other person who showed respect with proper attire (even if not for the man…but for his post and for our nation’s capital)…was the very beautiful Mandisa.

Oh…and Ace gave the president one of his trademark beanies. I guess he’s having trouble moving the inventory of caps he had made to throw from the stage while on tour.

“We gave him some presents…On behalf of Taylor winning, we gave him a harmonica that said American Idol on it that he attempted to play. He didn’t sound bad! And Taylor gave him a Soul Patrol T-shirt and he said it’ll be his new jogging shirt. And I gave him an Ace beanie. He said it’s a little too hot for the beanie, but he’ll save it for winter.”
–Ace Young, People Magazine

Okay…Ace, seriously, how do you hand anyone…let alone the president…a beanie as a gesture of friendship (or whatever) with a straight face?

Really, dude, you gotta teach me that trick.

—-

P.S. Regarding the Poll about my hair…I talked to my hair dresser and he said I should not dye my hair. He said if I really wanted to try something…I should just do subtle highlights (Holeigh, you were right). Sigh…so much for being a blonde for Taylor. Dammit.

P.P.S. But I did get some layers cut, so…I still look hawt…even if I’m not a toehead!

P.P.P.S. Regarding the Trivia about “vamping out”…the movie is “The Lost Boys,” which featured one very fine Jason “So You Must Be Max” Patric. MMMmmm…so devine.

21 Responses to “Idols in the Capitol”

  1. Holeigh Says:

    Does Taylor ever look bad? Seriously…touring for almost a month and he looks fantastic. Kat, OTOH, does look quite pale (at least in the picture); I tend to believe she was sick, if embellishing a bit.

    Ace, the beanies are pathetic…however, my best friend (who is going to the show with me) desperately wants to catch one of them. Whatever floats her boat!

    I speak about the hair dying from personal experience. I didn’t end up with a horrible dye job, but I tried highlights first and they added a lot of red to my hair (I was born with red, turned light brown) and made a good impact without screaming in people’s faces. I’m sure you’ll look gorgeous no matter what though, Shell!

  2. TALK! Says:

    Awwww….Holeigh, I’m blushing. Thanks sweetie. 🙂

    Yeah, I thought Kat looked bad, too. But I’m still not convinced about the bronchytis story. Something about that stinks of untruth.

    Tell your friend that if I happen to be waving to Taylor during the concert and end up with a hand full of beanie…it’s all hers.

    As Regina George would say, “Ace, stop trying to make beanies happen! It’s not going to happen!”

  3. Quossum Says:

    I thought Lisa Tucker was also dressed nicely, in a button-down and a skirt.

    The little gifts were funny. Chris should have given him a wallet chain.

    Ace’s beanies…seriously, how long did you think it would be before THIS happened?

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ACE-YOUNGS-CONCERT-STENCIL-HAT-AMERICAN-IDOL-TOUR_W0QQitemZ190013402659QQihZ009QQcategoryZ14433QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    –Q

  4. TALK! Says:

    Who on God’s green earth would pay $2,500 for a stupid Ace beannie?

    Seriously…who?

    Rolling my eyes, trying to maintain my sanity.

  5. Quossum Says:

    Uh…Shelley….are you forgetting crazy bus stalker fan?

    http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g229/Quossum/scarygirl.jpg

    =P

    –Q

  6. TALK! Says:

    Right…I did forget about the bus stalker ladies.

    They were deliciously disgusting.

    They can have ALL of Ace’s beanies as far as I’m concerned.

  7. double d Says:

    OK, the tie is ALMOST as HAWT as the Paisley linen shirt (my holy grail). I love that he bought a new suit and tie to meet the President of the entire United States.

    It’s really a respect for the office and the institution, not really whether or not you like W or not. NO-ONE should have been in jeans, period. Taylor has great sensibilities and things MEAN something to him…that’s the difference.

    I watched the short speech by Kat on some video of last night and um, somethin’ jus ain’t right…I seriously don’t think she’ll finish the tour.

    Shelley, I highlighted my hair for the first time ever this year as part of my official mid-life crisis and I hate it….still trying to cut it out. I have great brunette hair and should have just left it alone. Don’t change a thing…

  8. suzi-q Says:

    The pic of the idols with our President is fantastic, I am glad they made the appearance and I agree Taylor is “The Man” standing next to “THE MAN”. I love living in this country where regardless of politics folks can smile.

  9. TALK! Says:

    DD…thanks for sharing your experience. Now that I had some layers cut…my hair looks lighter. So, I think I’ll NOT get highlights. 🙂

    Suzi-Q…glad you liked the pic…and you’re right…it’s great that we can all share smiles…even if we all don’t share the same politics.

    I feel like breaking out into “God Bless the U.S.A.” 😉

  10. Holeigh Says:

    You’re very welcome! 🙂

    I definitely will tell my friend that if she doesn’t end up catching one and is depressed. That would make her year, I think!

    Now I’m going to refer to them as the Fetch Beanies; I love the Mean Girls reference.

  11. Phile Says:

    Popping by from Ash’s to say hi and say now Sir Duke is stuck in my head. Curse you!!! ;).

    Taylor looked fab at the White House. I’m thinking most of the rest of them must have limited wardrobes on the road. Yeah, that’ll be my excuse for them.

    As for Ace’s “beanie,” If I ever get to meet him, I’m gonna tell him, “That’s a HAT, silly. Beanies have propellers.” And don’t get me started on “toboggan” – wearing a sled on your head isn’t going to keep your head warm at all…

    Nice place you have here!

  12. TALK! Says:

    So true, Phile. All of my beanies have propellers. 😉

    Thanks for coming to visit. I hope you comeback soon!

  13. suzi-q Says:

    Phile, you are the greatest. I am still fuming over someone (can’t remember whom) arguing about what a toboggan is and you are CORRECT it is a sled. I rode a toboggan years ago in Kodiak, Alaska with my dad, brother and sisters, the longer the better. Everyone took turn sitting on the back so they would roll off as we went down the mountain path:) What a great memory!

  14. double d Says:

    Speaking of America…

    ONLY in America does this kind of shit happen….

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060729/ap_en_ce/people_pamela_anderson

    heheheh!

    WOO!

    dd

  15. TALK! Says:

    Um…you know what, DD? They can have each other…cause…GROSS!!!

  16. Shrewspeaks Says:

    OMG!!!! A personal shout out! A request heard!!!!!! I am so happy that I would even be gracious when offered a stupid knit cap from an inane Idol!!!!! Shells seriously, you da best.

    And our boy did us proud yet again!

    Side note about our beloveds in DC- I was getting my toes made pretty pink today and the woman next me started to talk AI…she said she was a real fan of Chris’s until she saw the White House photos. HA! Now, she can’t wait for TAYLOR’S cd. “Any man who can sport that fine a suit and sing derserves my money. He must be a real person not just a coiffed novelty with a wallet chain.”

    Friends even after Idol is over this year, the Silver Fox’s unique “I make it do, what it do” attitude is winning fans.

    Viva le Dive Tour!

    Verification word of the day “jorik” meaning one who believes beanies make good gifts to leaders of the free world.

  17. TALK! Says:

    Shrew…you kill me. I was wondering was “jorik” means.

    And SCORE for Taylor winning a convert with his gray suit!

    Man, I love that guy!

    I’m working on the AGT write-up…will have it up this weekend. I have been dragging butt for a few days…really tired. So, I laid down this afternoon to take a little nap and….FOUR HOURS LATER!!! Dang…can we say…exhausted!

    I just hope I’m not getting sick. I’ve got a concert to go to in B’ham week after next! 😉

  18. coopdiggitydawg Says:

    ace young can take his beanie and his long hair and stick it uuuhhh…

  19. TALK! Says:

    ROFL…coopdiggitydawg.

    stick it…uuuhhh!

  20. nolagirl Says:

    Moe hair and all, of course Taylor outshines the rest. What else do you expect? 😉 Someone at the Worst was wondering if Chris wore his dressy wallet chain for the occasion. Ha.

    I wanna see these layers you’re talking about, young lady! No highlighs and all!

  21. TALK! Says:

    I’ll have to send you a pic! 😉

    About Chris and chain…I’m sure he pimped out his look nicely.

    HA!

Comments are closed.


