My Official Stance on Justin Timberlake

by

I have a strange relationship with (American Idol)…I despise it, and yet I’m completely fascinated….People think (Taylor Hicks) looks so normal, and he’s so sweet and he’s so earnest, but he can’t carry a tune in a bucket…If he has any skeletons whatsoever, if God forbid, he’s gay, and if all these people in Mississippi who voted for him are like [then he takes on a thick southern accent], ‘Oh my god, I voted for a queer!’ It’s just too much pressure…But that’s what we do in America. The American dream is still to be young, rich, and famous.
–Justin Timberlake in interview with Fashion Rocks, a supplement of Vanity Fair

I have a new sworn enemy…and his name is Justin Timberlake.

Let me be clear…I believe people are entitled to their opinions (even if they happen to be dead WRONG). For me, it’s not that Justin doesn’t like Taylor’s singing…it’s how, when, why, and where he said it that has my panties in a wad.

For weeks we’ve been hit with teasers about Justin bringing sexy back to pop with his new album. But I wonder what in the crap that means. Pop never started as sexy…the Osmonds, the Jacksons, the Bay City Rollers…well, you get my point. Pop started as fun…as popular. Popular music…isn’t that what pop stands for? It’s the skanks of the world like Britney and Madonna and, I guess, Justin, who wanted to sex it all up. I was fine listening to fun stuff…without the bump and grind.

Nonetheless, after hearing Justin’s promise, I went online a few weeks back and listened to his new song…”SexyBack.” It totally blew chunks of rotted ham. I kept waiting for the melody to begin…instead what I got was “Get cha sexy on. Get cha sexy on. Get cha sexy on. Get cha sexy on.” I kid you not…listen for yourself.

When I first read Justin’s ridiculous quote (above) on Aug. 4 it was just a footnote on Vote for the Worst (thanks, NOLAgirl, for the heads up) but I was still thoroughly pissed. It bothered me for days…and then I went to Birmingham and forgot about it…until this week.

Now it’s all over the Web.

And why is it all over the Web? Why did Justin slam Taylor’s talent in a national magazine while Taylor is touring the country and working on a new album?

Simple…because all of Justin’s other efforts to promote his new album weren’t working.

Let’s see…he tried to sell the idea of bringing sexy back…and that didn’t generate enough press to sell his sucky album.

Then he tried to ride Lance Bass’ coattails when Lance came out as gay by issuing a statement of support…that didn’t generate enough press to sell his sucky album.

There was the rumour that Justin and Cameron Diaz had split…but, really, who cares…so…that didn’t generate enough press to sell his sucky album.

So…let’s see…what could Justin do to get tons of media attention…oh, he could latch himself to someone with a huge fan base and whose star is actually on the RISE right now…someone like…Taylor Hicks.

The press (and many bloggers) stood up and paid attention. Justin hates Taylor…finally enough press to help sell his sucky album.

Our dear little poster Holeigh saw Taylor perform at the American Idols concert in Grand Rapids, Michigan, this week and said the Silver Fox dedicated “Living for the City” to JT.

“This is for Justin Timberlake,” he said. And then he picked up the tamborine and rocked it.

So, I know Taylor is a big boy and can handle anything dished out by Justin Whimperlake.

But still…I’d like to address a few things.

First and foremost…Taylor Hicks has a voice that kicks ass and he sings like nobody’s business. I have never once purchased or downloaded any song by Justin Timberlake as a solo artist. (I did, however, import “I Want You Back” from my brother’s N’Sync album.) On the other hand…I have scoured the Net for any clip I could find of Taylor singing…with a band, acappella, in group numbers, with just a guitar, etc.

Secondly, as a native Mississippian, let me say that Justin needs to revisit his Southern roots (Memphis, I believe) and stop being an ignoramous. Nobody gives a crap about Taylor’s sexuality enough to wish they hadn’t voted for him.

Third, let me point out that Taylor is several years older than dumbass Justin. It takes a totally condescening jerk of a man to say that another man (especially an older man) cannot handle pressures of a certain career or situation. What if someone had said that about baby Justin when he wanted to sing with Mickey Mouse? Justin, let Taylor decide for himself what he can and cannot handle.

And for the record, Justin,…I assure you…celebrity ain’t like living in Iraq…surviving the pressure of being a star is possible.

About wanting to be young and rich and famous…maybe that’s what Justin wanted, but it seems to me that Taylor’s main dream for a long time has been to entertain others and still be able to afford to eat. I doubt that the idea of being “young, rich and famous” was Taylor’s main motivation when he was the friggin’ Easter bunny. I don’t think Justin has ever HAD a dream…how could he…he started when he was practically in diapers…what was his dream then…clean shorts?

Finally, let me say that I have never heard an unkind word come from Taylor’s mouth about anyone…let alone a fellow artist. He is such a gracious performer on and off-stage…always making sure his fellow musicians get their due. I’m not saying he’s a saint and that, away from the cameras and lights, he’s not a total turd…I have no idea. I don’t know the guy. But from the image he projects publicly…he’s a stand-up man…and I think Justin could take a page from the Hicks Lesson Book on Being a Giving Artist and a Gentleman.

Oh and Justin…I sure hope you can get your sexy back, honey…let me help you look for it…oh…here it is…

By the way…does anyone think there is a chance that Taylor might perform on the Emmys this year?

Sidenote:
NOLAgirl just e-mailed me a link to a great Q&A with Taylor. Enjoy! (Thanks, NOLA.)

—-

Update on JustinGate:

From People article:

Timberlake’s publicist, Ken Sunshine, tells the Washington Post, “These comments are taken completely out of context.” Although Timberlake and Hicks have never met, Sunshine says, Timberlake “only wishes him well. He has great affection for anybody that puts himself out there the way he did.”

57 Responses to “My Official Stance on Justin Timberlake”

  1. Holeigh Says:

    I have been waiting for this all night, truly. As soon as this came out all I could think was, “There was a freak out over Kenny Rogers (deservedly), what is possibly going to result from this?”

    And I was in now way disappointed! Shelley, that was some of the funniest commentary I have read from you ever, and that is saying something. All of your points are spot on, I especially like the inclusion of Taylor’s sparkling on-camera reputation. He is never anything but gracious, polite, and genuine to anyone he meets or talks about, even those who try to screw him over. He has to know that dedicating songs and sending flowers will aggravate the hell out the people who speak badly of him, but it shows class none the less, haha.

    FYI, this is all coming from a once obsessive *NSYNC fan. Lance was always my favorite (and that won’t change just because he won’t date me ;)) but Justin used to be respectable. Lately he seems to be one big publicity stunt.

    Now I just feel like the classic rubbernecker — what’s Justin going to say in return? 😉

  2. TALK! Says:

    I, too, used to have respect for Justin…but no more.

    What is this about sending flowers?

  3. nolagirl Says:

    The “personalized” wife-beater is hilarious! And the sentence right before the video clip: “Oh, burn!!!” is all I got to say about that. Nice touch, Shell.

    I heard this morning that Justin is kicking off his tour in Dallas by announcing a location and then the first 100 (I think that was the right number?) people to show up get tickets or his CD or something (I was half listening). He is also playing “smaller venues” on this tour. (hmmm, by choice? Or is there, let’s see, not so much of a demand?)

  4. TALK! Says:

    Ha!

    “Come see me perform sexily…I am a great artist…please come listen…please come love me…I’ll give you ice cream and a puppy and I’ll foist a copy of my sucky CD on you.” –Love, Justin

  5. Holeigh Says:

    Great points, Nola! You’re probably right about there not being a demand for him; he hasn’t done anything except date Cameron Diaz in so long that his old fanbase has grown up and moved on.

    Shelley: Oh, where did I read this? It was on MJ, I’m very sure. Some record execs said something not flattering about Taylor (I don’t remember specifics, sorry!) so he sent them a large bouqet of flowers. 🙂

  6. nolagirl Says:

    Yeah, it was that Vancleave guy, remember Shell? There was a whole hoopla on GC about it back in the day.

  7. TALK! Says:

    Oh yeah…that jerk who said Taylor kept coming by their offices, trying to promote himself..and he and his staff hid in the back from him.

    What a total ass!

    I hope the bouquet came with its own hive of bees nestled down in the arrangement.

    Grrrrrrrr

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Okay-this may take awhile ’cause I actually have to work today. Gawh!

    Shell- I agree with some of your points, and respectfully disagree with others.

    I am really disappointed that he would talk crap about Taylor. However, if he had slammed Chris Daughtry or Kat McPhee I’d be snickering in my coffee this morning. It wouldn’t be a blip on my radar if it were, say, Ne-yo. (Who, you say?) It’s only because he slammed my immortal beloved that my blood pressure started rising.

    I think JT, like Taylor, is immensely talented. I bought his first solo album and will prolly buy this one too. Here’s the deal: Not everyone likes his music. His new song is more “dance” than “pop”. I hated it the first time I heard it, now I freakin’ love it! Not liking the kind of music someone does, doesn’t make them untalented.

    Kenny Rogers is on my “Mortal Enemy” list because he was in a position to help/hinder Taylor while in the midst of his competition. He’s much older and really should’ve known better. JT is getting a free pass this time because he doesn’t owe him anything (and I believe Tay will earn his respect over time) and because he is young and he never had the gift, the blessing of “hard times”.

    Nola- The first 200 people to show up get free tix to his show tonight and get a private in-store cd listening party with JT. The show is at a smaller venue tonight…holds about 1000 peeps. However, the show sold out in minutes and tickets started at over $200 and went way over $500 each. The venue is 18 and over. My point being: JT still has major “star-power” and is not catering to just young peeps. People in Dallas have been freaking out about this show since we heard about it.

    He doesn’t need Taylor for press. I’ve been hearing about (and anticipating) this album for months.

    So, ummm…yeah. Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful!

  9. TALK! Says:

    Okay, Bama…like I said…everyone is entitled to their opinion…

    Yes, my Snark-O-Meter is up because he’s taking digs at the Great Gray-Haired One. I have no idea what JT’s album sales were or are…so I was totally projecting on album sales. Sorry. 😦

    I agree that Justin is very talented, and I agree that he didn’t NEED Taylor for press, but I still feel he used a public venue to slam Taylor while promoting himself…which, ultimately, got himself read by a LOT more people.

    I think Justin’s star power (which he does have) should actually give him MORE reason to keep his trap shut about someone new to the scene. It was terribly immature and unprofessional to take a crack at someone who has absolutely nothing to do with him.

    Actually…and you’re not going to believe I’m writing this (I hardly believe it)…I have more respect for Kenny Rogers’ sharing an opinion…even if it’s one I totally disagree with. He at least had a chance to work with Taylor, so I feel that his opinion was truly one that had merit…though it sucked and was WRONG.

    I’ve always thought Justin was talented…but I’ve never liked his style of music.

    Did I watch the “Cry Me a River” video several times…yes.

    Did I download Justin on SNL from iTunes doing a sketch of “The Barry Gibb Show”…yes…I still think it’s friggin’ hilarious.

    But do I think Justin was out of line in his remarks on Hicks…TOTALLY!

    That’s where I have a problem.

    Yeah…I would have snickered in my coffee, too, had he been talking about Kat or Chris…but I still would have thought it was out of line (I just would, conveniently, not mention that fact. Ha.)

    So, I totally don’t hate you ’cause you’re beautiful (which you are, dahling!). I love you for sharing and, especially for clearing up about the free tix and in-store listening party…though I think I would have preferred ice cream and puppies more. 😉

  10. nolagirl Says:

    Wow, Bama, you weren’t kidding about being a JT luv-ah! 😉

    I also agree that I would have snickered if he said the same sort of comments about Kat or Chris. BUT, it’s different b/c they really aren’t as talented as Taylor in my completely, unabashedely biased opinion, so it would have been warranted a bit more than Taylor’s case. 😉

  11. TALK! Says:

    Update on JustinGate:

    From People article:

    Timberlake’s publicist, Ken Sunshine, tells the Washington Post, “These comments are taken completely out of context.” Although Timberlake and Hicks have never met, Sunshine says, Timberlake “only wishes him well. He has great affection for anybody that puts himself out there the way he did.”

  12. Holeigh Says:

    Hahaha, I love it Nola: your completely unabashedly biased opinion. I agree!

    Bama, why do you have to make so much sense?! 😉 Justin does have some catchy stuff nowadays but I’m still out on whether he’s living up to his potential or not. Because of that, I don’t think he needs to be taking shots at someone he has never even met, let alone probably never listened to his pre-Idol stuff. Then to make a public display out of it? Not cool…if the remarks were about Chris I probably would laugh. But only because I have seen Chris live and I was unimpressed.

    I guess I’ll just have to try and remember my personal favorite JT SNL skits — when he dressed up as Jessica Simpson and later impersonated Ashton Kutcher: “Because I’m Ashton! And I’M AWESOME!!”

  13. Holeigh Says:

    Grr, just like at GC; I need to refresh the comments before I post!

    First of all: Ken Sunshine? Awesome.

    Second of all: Isn’t that what they all say? I mean, great if that’s the truth, but he only wishes him well? After calling him a talentless hack? Ouch. 😛

  14. TALK! Says:

    Well, when I first read the comments, it was one some random site…that I couldn’t find when I went to write this post.

    From what I initially read…here’s what happened (remember, we’re relying on my memory from a couple of weeks ago…if anyone has the link to the initial article…please share).

    A reporter and JT were sitting an a hotel lobby (I think) doing an interview and Taylor walked through the lobby. The reporter asked JT his thoughts on Idol and the following quote came from JT. I don’t think he ever started out to slam Taylor, but he just made a very poor choice of words…dissing Taylor and the state of Mississippi (which is another reason why I got so pissed).

    About Ken Sunshine…I can’t think of a better name for a publicist. Isn’t blowing sunshine up people’s butts what they do best? Ha.

  15. bamaborntxbred Says:

    See, I feel the K-Rog wasn’t actually expressing his true opinion. I think that he was blown away by Taylor, maybe felt envious or threatend by his talent and said the opposite of what he truly thought…out of spite. That’s why I’ve never forgiven him.

    I think because I am the peacemaker in my family…for the siblings (middle kid of seven) and mediator between the kids and my parents, I tend to see all kinds of variables in situations (real or imagined!). In the interview with JT do we get to read the interviewer’s prompting questions? I’m curious about that. I mean, did he just vomit that info out or did the interviewer ask him what he thought about AI, Taylor, and Tay’s ability to handle the pressure?

    I just always feel like most things can be explained if a person is given a chance. Now, if JT continues to disappoint me, I will cut him loose. I can’t have that kind of drama in my life, you know?

    Oh, and he’s handing out ice-cream flavored puppies at the cd party.

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh, duh. I guess I should write faster.

  17. TALK! Says:

    ROFL at ice-creamed flavored puppies.

    Crying eyes out at you being middle kid of seven.

    The older sister in me wants to hold you close, braid your hair, and tell you you’re a very special girl.

  18. TALK! Says:

    wait…did that totally just come out with some weirdo sexually innuendo?

    Sorry.

    What I meant was…pull you close and spank you…um, no wait, that’s not right, either.

    I won’t touch you, but let me say you are a very nice person.

    I’m still feeling creepy.

    I need to go shower.

  19. nolagirl Says:

    Dear Shelley,
    You are crazy. That is all.

    Love,
    NOLAgirl

    **********

    Now, I am almost hesitant to bring this up b/c obviously it induced much outrage, but I must have totally missed Kenny Rogers’ diss. Please fill me in. (I think)

  20. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ummm, uhhh, yeah. Well, ummm. Okay. Sure. Yeah.

    Sooo, we don’t like to hug in my family. I’m more comfortable with shaking hands. (Kidding. Sort of.)

    I’m actually the third oldest of the seven. If you include my two step-sisters then I’m dead middle of nine.

  21. Holeigh Says:

    Hahaha, ice cream flavored puppies and Freudian slips, you can’t make this stuff up.

    Nola: I don’t remember the exact quotage (I’m sure Bama does, though!) but Kenny was basically all about slighting and underestimating the Taylor. It was kind of like Ace and Queen, but Queen later said AI maniplulated their video clips, and Kenny did not. Hence, Mortal Enemy. 🙂

  22. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Akshully-I don’t really remember what was said. Haha! I remember the “feeling” of what was said. It was as if, had his face been able to move, it would’ve registered disgust at Taylor. His tone of voice was dismissive and disrespectful. I stand by my “impression” that he was feeling envious of Taylor’s talent, his future (knowing that his own fame was in the past) and his charisma.

    Shelley-do you remember word for word??

  23. nolagirl Says:

    Thanks Holeigh and Bama! Do we have this crap on video by any chance? How did I miss it, if what I am wondering??

  24. TALK! Says:

    I’ll have to go home to see if my video has word for word…but I did go by to Rena’s play by play that night on GC and this is what I got.

    Rena said, “Ok. For the sake of clarity, the EXACT transcripts of Kenny Rogers’ introcduction of Taylor:

    “When Taylor started out singing Take Me Home Country Roads, it felt weak to me. It felt like he wasn’t sure whether he liked the song or not; wasn’t sure what the song was all about.”

    [TO TAYLOR] “The first not ethat come sout of your mouth makes the difference to the people listening, whether they listen to the second or third. It’s a journey. If you don’t get them in the first, you’re going to lose them before the end.”

    “If he can do that, if he can make the song his and make it feel important, I think he’ll do really well.”

    Ok. So there you have it. He’s talked about uncertainty and some lack of intelligence on Taylor’s part to understand the song COUNTRY ROADS for crying out loud, then he’s lectured him about the first note and getting them right then and there. After all of the negativism, and basically saying Taylor is unseasoned and unable to understand the meaning of COUNTRY ROADS for crying out loud, THEN he says if he can do all these magical things he’ll do really well.

    NOT a nice intro. Kenny Rogers remains a SWORN ENEMY.”

    Mainly the show started with Taylor and Kenny said something to the effect that Taylor had to “feel” the lyrics to sell the song. And then he proceeded to give everyone else praise that night. Boy, folks were pissed that night.

    Sidenote, Holeigh: This was the night that “Hickskateers” came to life. Pretty funny.

  25. TALK! Says:

    Another Sidenote: I kept reading on this page and it was a truly an historic post.

    The Kenny Rogers Debacle inspired the first post from our dear Quossum.

    Meeeemmmmmries…light the corners of my mind…

  26. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Awww…that made me misty eyed reading those old posts on GC. I remember when all that went down. Didn’t start all the major conspiracy talks?? With the whole controversy over his original song being pulled that week?

    I miss those days. I love being here with you guys on Talk!, but I don’t really feel the love (the way I did on GC) on some of the Tay blogs out there. I don’t know why.

    I’m just glad to be welcome here!

  27. TALK! Says:

    You know, Bama, when I was reading all that I thought the same thing.

    For as much as Gray drove us crazy…he really was great at creating such a wonderful site.

    Nothing since has duplicated or, really, rivaled it.

    Now I’m sad again. 😉

    Those few months of my life were so special…because of y’all…because of Taylor…because of Gray.

  28. nolagirl Says:

    A ha! I don’t think I was super into GC.com yet at that point, which I why I don’t remember the ensuing debacle. Thanks for spelling it out, Shelley!

    Awww, Q’s first post. *sniff sniff* 😉

  29. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Sniffle, snort, sob!

    It was a magical time.

    I think Gray was a master at keeping us in line and also at introducing great topics. I get really frustrated b/c at the other sites I either find people posting over and over again on the same topic with the same replies (or waaaay off subject), or boring topics like the 900th play-by-play. The one thing that really chaps my hide (teehee) are environments where only one opinion is favored and if you express something different-you are lynched. It hasn’t happened to me b/c I ususally keep my cyber-mouth shut, but I’ve seen it happen time after time, until I no longer see those names posting at those sites. That’s sad!

    Of course, you’re site is fabulous! You have the BEST topics/blogs ever AND you are hysterical. I think it might help that there aren’t 800 people posting too. You might prefer that, though….

  30. TALK! Says:

    thanks, Bama. seriously, i love you guys…but i’d welcome a few more regulars…just so we could get a few more POVs.

    (on Sunday…someone I didn’t know posted a link to my site at MJs and i almost peed my pants when i saw my hit counter jump up to about 200 in one day! i’d love it if a few of those visitors would return…at least semi-regularly.)

    that’s why i was so stoked to see that you disagreed with some of what i said today about jt. it makes for good discussion when there is SOME dissention (sp?) in the ranks. 😉

    do i want 800? naw. i mean, i’d be flattered, but i think to handle hordes of people…you need to be very strong in the snark department and i don’t have a mastery on dry snarkability like our dear gray (what’s with me and the whole “our dear” thing today…weird).

  31. Holeigh Says:

    Aww…I miss GC so much! You guys really helped me through some rough college months, haha. I’m so glad with have this connection still, but that atmosphere is one that can never be recreated. At least we all got to be a part of it! 🙂

    Shell: I remember that now! I’d forgotten when the Hickskateers came into being…ahh, memories. 😀

  32. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I wish I knew how to drum up more biniss for you. I told all my friends ’bout you. Of course, most of my friends are lame. They don’t even like Taylor.

    I don’t argue or “dissent” unless I feel strongly about something. I was agitated not so much that you (or-mainly all the folks going crazy on the other sites) would be angry that JT said something crappy about “our dear” Tay, but that the SP counter-attacks were so much more hateful and agressive than what he said, and also that his talent was attacked….like I said, just b/c a certain type of music isn’t cared for doesn’t mean that an artist of that genre isn’t talented. It gets under my skin b/c we aren’t just casting stones-we are hurling boulders…and for what purpose? We are hurting the reputation of the SP and by extension Tay’s.

    Let me clarify that I really don’t think this of you or your post-more like all the comments on a couple of other sites.

    Wow. I didn’t realize I had all that in me. Sorry. (I’m a chronic apologizer. Sorry.)

  33. TALK! Says:

    You’re right, Bama…the Soul Patrol is notorious for overreacting. (Though…that may be the very reason WHY Taylor was voted the winner and never was in bottom three….Ha!)

    I don’t dig into the other sites unless someone sends me there. I really do get a gut full of talking about Taylor’s every move. Actually, I’ve felt MY posts have been WAY too Taylor-centered for the last week…but I’m trying to cut myself some slack since I’m still coming off my high from the concert.

    Truthfully, I really was upset when I read JT’s comments initially because I DO respect his opinion since he IS talented. I wanted to shake him and say “What d’ya mean Taylor can’t carry a tune in a bucket?” But I hadn’t planned on posting about it until folks here began discussing it in yesterday’s comments. So, I posted how I felt.

    You are being too kind. I know I was a overreacting a bit but I was also going for funny…which is hard to do while playing nice.

    P.S. Chronic apologizer is better than chronic halotosis…right?

  34. bamaborntxbred Says:

    This might be a great opportunity to link this article at Ash’s or MJ’s! Haha!

    I think I overreacted in the opposite way…and at least you’re funny!

    The Soul Patrol can use their power for good (giving Tay the AI crown) or for evil (crucifying anyone opposed to Tay). I’m just hoping we run the race of righteousness!! Amen! Halleluia! Glory! Glory!

  35. TALK! Says:

    You have officially “taken us to church.”

    Preach on, Sista Bama!

  36. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I’m gonna hand the service ova to tha choir directa: Brotha Taylor Hicks.

    People stand to your feet! Get ready to clap your hands, stomp your feet and praise the Lord for this beautiful day!

  37. TALK! Says:

    “Oh Happy Day! Oh Happy Da-ay!”

    —–

    Um…seriously…where else could the cheese rise this high and we not get slapped down.

    “His Truth…is…mar…ching…oooonnnn.”

  38. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Cheese? Did somebody say cheese? I love cheese. Specially when it’s all melty and stuff.

    Durr…my brain is mush.

  39. nolagirl Says:

    Ahem …

    Do I need to come in here and do some slapping down??

    😉

    P.S. Bama, make sure you check the comments in the Shelley Shelley Powers post for your special little gift from moi!

  40. TALK! Says:

    This is, by far, the weirdest comment section on TALK!

    I friggin’ LOVE it.

  41. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Thank you Nola! It’s so sweet hearing my name sung by my love muffin.

    I wish those people would be quiet already and let the man sing!

    I love this weird little section too! I like getting a lil off kilter sometimes!

  42. nolagirl Says:

    Dude. Bama. I know. The one sad, sad part about those Open Door live songs. Damn drunk people not paying attention! (seriously, if a live band is playing, I am now going to be more aware of my loud ass just in case someone is recording it, and just in case that person is the next big thing. That’s right, you heard it here folks. *I* am going to try to shut my trap. Ha!)

  43. TALK! Says:

    LOL @ “loud ass”

    I know what you meant…but I can’t help but picture two other things…

    someone in a really horrible pair of pants

    or

    someone who ate a lot of beans

    —-

    I’ve officially grossed myself out.

    sorry

  44. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Good luck with that….

    Just kidding!! Haha!

    Okay, I’ve gotta go get ready for the Justin Timberlake concert tonight…Heehee..Again, kidding!

    GET UR SEXY ON!

  45. Holeigh Says:

    LMAO @ loud ass…this comment section has officially gone insane and its fantastical. 😀

    And may I just say that my record for not having to retype the word verification is all of the posts on this topic! Yaaaay.

    Postscript: Dammit, I spoke too soon!

  46. Anonymous Says:

    Thx…I enjoyed reading your point of view on this,,,,and guess what I for one, agree with you! Tell it exactly the way it is!

  47. Anonymous Says:

    I was going to write about Justin, but I’ve changed my mind. Shelley, if you want to drum up business, have you ever gone over to American Idol boards? The lady that runs TaylorMadeSoul.com goes over often and asks people to look at her site. People would love you. I sure do. You are so funny and smart. They have several threads about Justin and would love his pic above with the ears. Keep up the good work.

    Doris

  48. NOLAgirl Says:

    Ok, SMART ass … ya got me on the loud ass! But I like to keep things interesting, you know, keep ya on your toes! 😉

  49. Quossum Says:

    OMG–my first post at GC! So *that’s* when it was! Wow, what a trip on the WayBack Machine!

    I am just tickled to death that you found that, Shelley! *wipes little tear from corner of eye* Yes, those were fine days…the grass was greener then…people laughed more…bands played in the park…

    Wait, stop–I started channelling from that damn cheesy movie “Stranded in Space” from MST3K for a minute there. Sorry!

    -Q

  50. bentendo Says:

    Another great post. Anything that slams Justin “Whimperlake” is A-1 steak sauce, baby.

    SOMEBODY CALL THE WAH-MBULANCE AND GET THAT BOY A WAH-BURGER AND SOME FRENCH CRIES!

  51. nolagirl Says:

    Ok, so as if I didn’t use enough brain cells thinking about Justin Timberlake yesterday, my fave morning show (Kidd Kraddick) had a whole segment on him today. They did an interview with him, where he talked about the smaller venues (however starting in Jan. he will be doing a stadium tour) and playing new material after a few years of not performing and how at these venues, the people there really want to be there and are excited to hear the new stuff.

    So there is your Justin news of the day. Your Friday is now complete. 😉

  52. TALK! Says:

    And the people who really DON’T want to be there…won’t.

    I’m crabby today…sorry.

  53. double d Says:

    Ok, so let me get this right, after two days of 105 degree moving crap that I really don’t know where it came from…

    Justin Timberlake hates AI and thinks Taylor is a “poser”….this is from a guy who was a RUNNER-UP on Star Search and was a veteran of the cheesiest of cheese shows, the Mickey Mouse Club?!?

    WOW, I spell that H-Y-P, because you piss me off….O-C-R….because you ARE an ass…I-T-E…because your friggin’ EGO is as big as your water head, JT….Oh, And you ain’t never gettin’ your sexy back…can’t recover what you never had.

    And, TAYLOR HICKS RULZ!

    😉

  54. TALK! Says:

    ROFL @ DD.

    I TOTALLY forgot about JT being on Star Search.

    BAM!!!

  55. NOLAgirl Says:

    Watch, DD is having heat-induced fits! Stay outta her path! 😉

    (how did it go, btw?)

  56. double d Says:

    Lovin’ my new abode. AND, my DSL and wireless are working….WOO! The wonders of technology. Still got boxes everywhere, but it’s gettin’ done. SOOO much better than the “compartment”.

  57. suzi-q Says:

    The first words of JT’s comments are the clincher as what idiot would describe himself of having “a relationship” with an inanimate cluster of electronic signals that come across a tv screen? nuff said! As my momma used to say “consider the source” Blam, or as one astute young woman wrote in evaluating a true entertainer “shoot, blow, holster”!!! or in the case of JT’s mixed up view of life as he knows it, “shoot, dad blast it the gun is EMPTY”

Comments are closed.


