Sadie…the Bravest, Most Heroic Dog in the World

by

Last night my dog, Sadie, saved me from an intruder.

I had stayed up late writing my last post ever on America’s Got Talent (it’s a good thing it’s my last one…as it seems no one by Bamaborntxbred was interested enough to comment…sniff, sniff). Anyway, I finally turned in around 1 a.m.

I had just switched off my bedside lamp and was snuggling deep down under the covers when Sadie…who always sleeps at my side…stood up on the bed.

“What is it girl?” I whispered.

She kept her alert stance strong and then let out a low growl and flopped back down on the bed beside me.

Mmmm…somethin’ must’ve spooked the dog…I thought to myself in my most convincing naive-girl-in-a-horror-movie voice.

I settled back down…with Sadie at my feet.

A minute later I felt the bed jerk as Sadie quickly looked up…ears perked.

“Sadie?”

Grrrrrrrrrrrrr

“Sadie…what is it?”

Suddenly Sadie leapt over me and off the bed and began to bark wildly at the window in my bedroom.

I switched on the lamp, and sat up. I strained my ears, but I heard nothing.

“It’s okay, Sadie,” I said…trying to convince myself more than her. “Come on back to bed.”

She let out one last gruff little bark and jumped back up on the bed and flopped down.

I was too freaked out to turn out the lamp.

So I laid back down and thought maybe I should sleep with the light on tonight.

My heart rate slowed a little, as I sunk back down under my comforter.

Then…I heard something…the rustle of movement coming from my window.

Rustle. Scratch. Rustle.

I sat up, and Sadie sprang to her feet and began to bark again…wildly.

I grabbed my cell phone from my nightstand and called the neighborhood security patrolman on duty.

It seemed to take forever for the guard to pick up.

“Securitas. How may I help you?”

“Yes, this is Shelley Powers. My dog is barking at a noise. I think someone might be outside my house. Can you come take a look?”

“Yes, ma’am. Give me your address and I’ll be right there.”

I gave him my address and sat in my bed with the covers pulled up to my chin and my cell phone clutched tightly in my fist. My mind kept replaying a local news report from earlier in the evening that violent crime in my area of Jackson has doubled.

Rustle. Scratch. Scratch. Rustle.

The sound was much louder now. And my heart was racing.

Sadie jumped from the bed again and ran over to my bedroom window.

I couldn’t bring myself to go to the window. I didn’t want to look out and be face to face with an attacker.

All I could do was focus on Sadie. My dog…my proctector…was…pawing at the curtains hanging below the window.

Sadie? What are you doing?

She kept pawing at the curtains, near the floor. Then I heard the noise again.

Rustle. Scratch.

And with one swipe of her paw…Sadie revealed my would-be assailant…the biggest friggin’ flying roach I’ve ever seen.

I jumped out of the bed and grabbed a flip-flop laying on the floor nearby. And, with Sadie to watch my back…I smushed the crap out that bug.

Then…satisfied with her role in the evening’s event…Sadie calmly trotted back to the bed, hopped up, turned around twice, and laid down…leaving me to scoop up the carcass with another neighboring flip-flop and flush the remains down the toilet.

“You’re a good dog, Sadie. You’re so brave. Good dog,” I said when I got back to the bed. Then I gave her a good scratch behind the ears, and she wagged her tail with pride and glee.

I climbed back into bed and switched off my lamp.

And just as I had settled back down under the covers again…the flashing lights of the security car poured in through my bedroom windows.

I hunkered down under the covers…mortified at the thought of having to explain to the guard that the midnight skulker I feared had antennae and wings.

Thankfully, the guard never reported back to me. I guess he didn’t find any intruder lurking outside my windows…or maybe he did…and he simply squashed him with his shoe.

15 Responses to “Sadie…the Bravest, Most Heroic Dog in the World”

  1. NOLAgirl Says:

    You reeled me in on this one, girl! Now, if we could only train our girls to pick up the flip flop, squash the crap out of the roach and nicely put it in the toilet, we’d be ALL SET! šŸ˜‰

  2. TALK! Says:

    Trust me…I’m working on that. šŸ˜‰

    HA! Glad I got you.

    This was a fun one to write…especially ’cause I felt like such an idiot.

    I’ve never been so glad to see a roach in my life. LOL.

  3. Quossum Says:

    LMAO! BUT–I was really scared for a minute there. *shakes fist* I was actually thinking, “So *that’s* it! Shelley’s been too traumatized to be on-line lately!”

    My friend Laura’s dogs actually *did* help out in a similar way. Some burglers broke in and the dogs (who were in the backyard) put up such a ruckus that the neighbors called the police, who caught the guys red-handed. Luckily, my friend wasn’t home at the time.

    My old boyfriend’s brother-in-law also had an “intruder” story. His dog was growling at a noise outside, and Ken realized that indeed it *was* a guy trying to break in. He quietly got his shotgun, went outside the back way, and crept around to the side of the house where the burgler was concentrating on trying to get in. He crept up behind the guy…and cocked the shotgun.

    At the distinctive sound of it, the burgler fell trembling to the ground, wetting himself in fear and pleading for his life. Ken gave him a tongue-lashing and let him go.

    Of course all this was *incredibly* stupid…but it does make for an interesting story.

    =P

    You should be very grateful to Sadie. The same old boyfriend whose brother-in-law is mentioned above was also accosted by a flying cockroach at night. Only, having no dog, he was awakened by feeling it crawling on his face!!!

    –Q

  4. Staci Says:

    OOH. Shell, how did you sleep the rest of the night? I would have been too traumatized to sleep… and I have been the one with the roach on my hand (not face, thanks for that visual, Q).

    And Canon, my five year old lab, will eat roaches, or lizards, or whatever else catches her fancy for sport… so she’s quite helpful… when she’s condescending enough to do what I ask of course.

    Have a great day!

  5. TALK! Says:

    Q- I can’t believe your old boyfriend’s brother-in-law let the guy go! YIKES! That’s scary.

    But not as scary as a roach on the face.

    I won’t be able to sleep tonight after that. šŸ˜‰

    Staci, how come you’ve never mentioned Canon before (named after Pachabel’s famous work?) I want to see a pic of this wonder dog/living vacuum of all things unpleasant!

  6. suzi-q Says:

    All of you are so blessed to have great animals, and I myself am fortunate for we have a collie that can shed enough hair all over the place to trip up an intruder or tangle any six legged creature (or eight legs for that matter). No really, other than the shedding of masses of fine hair that blows through our bare wood floors like tumbleweeds on the open western plains of Texas, Bonnie is a great watch dog! And I am fortunate also to have a menagerie of animals to protect us any time Shell and her brothers/fiances come to visit. Let’s see, there is Sonny the White, Belle the Black, Sadie the Brown and Bonnie the Stinker (she growls at all of them from time to time)!!!!

  7. TALK! Says:

    Ha! Suzi-Q…that cracked me up…especially about the tumbleweeds…though I prefer Ben’s word…dust cheetoes!

  8. patrickkadiddlehopper Says:

    Very humourous shelley!!! When I find myself most scared is when its the smallest things.

  9. Holeigh Says:

    Oh, my…I was scared for you for awhile there, Shell! But when you said Sadie was scratching I thought, “Its a mouse or something, has to be!” I’m glad you’re both okay and that the roaches haven’t completely taken over. šŸ™‚

  10. TALK! Says:

    Holeigh…don’t ya love a good “got ‘cha” tale? šŸ˜‰

  11. Holeigh Says:

    I sure do! But for some reason I still always fall for them. šŸ™‚

  12. double d Says:

    Shel, got me too. ‘Cept at the end, I got sad. Our cat, Ginger, was a hunter. NEVER had any varmits, insects or otherwise.

    We moved into this great house this weekend and when I look out the back windows and see the squirrels scurrying up the trees, I couldn’t help but think of my sweet calico cat and how she would have loved this place. Crouched down, waiting until she could “surprise” her prey and scurry up the tree.

    We’ll get a couple of kittens in a few weeks, but we all know that they will never replace our sweet Ginger-girl. Sadie is a keeper…enjoy her.

  13. TALK! Says:

    Awww…Double D. Those memories of Ginger were so sweet.

    Thanks for sharing. šŸ˜‰

  14. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Thanks for the Monday morning laugh! We’ve had a few break-ins on my property in the last few months, so your story had me on edge for a minute there!

    Q- I have a friend who has three roommates in a house (they are 4 of the biggest guys you’ll ever see). One night my friend woke up to get a drink of water and there were a couple of guys in the living room unhooking the stereo. He looked at them-they looked at him. He said, “Sup?” They said, “Nothin’ dude. Sup wit you?” He said, “Just gettin’ a drink of water”. They said, “Cool.” He got his water, went back to bed. He and his roommates all woke up the next morning to find all of their stuff stolen. My friend, in his sleep induced stupor, thought those guys were friends of theirs, just helpin’ out, you know, hookin’ up the stereo….at 3a.m. His roommates have NEVER let him live that down.

    You know those criminals had a good laugh over that one!

  15. TALK! Says:

    Bama…I just read ^this^…hilarious.

    S’up?

Comments are closed.


