Redneck Jihadists…Or Skilled Sportsmen

by

Image Source: MSNBC’s Daryl Cagle’s Professional Cartoonists Index

Double D and Shrewspeake put a task upon me yesterday to share my thoughts on the opening of ‘gator season in Alabama this week…as well as on the above cartoon that was published in The Mobile Press Register.

Well, I don’t usually tackle such heavy issues…but here goes.

One of the things that amazes me about living in this wonderfully diverse country that celebrates its melting-pot of people is our total lack of acceptance of cultures, traditions, and beliefs different than our own.

Hunting included.

For many people, hunting is a time-honored ritual that has existed since God put man and beast on the earth. It is a bonding time for family and friends…while providing food for the table and, in the case of ‘gator season, keeping the population of dangerous animals in check.

Okay, I’ll admit, the photos of the alligator hunt were disturbing. And, yes, there are hicks (not the good kind) out there who hunt just for the thrill of killing.

Those things totally suck.

But I have a hard time arguing against folks who eat what they kill (I’ve had ‘gator…tastes like tough chicken) and who hunt to aid in population control (I say it’s better to kill the ‘gators before they’re forced to seek food and habitat in our backyards).

Would I ever hunt? No. I, personally, lack the constitution to kill a living creature…well, unless it stood between me and a date with Taylor Hicks…just kidding…or am I?

Nah, I’m kidding. I don’t kill anything but roaches.

Hell, I still honestly feel guilt and remorse from when I was a kid and tested the salt-on-a-snail theory (by the way, it’s true…they do melt). I’ve tried to justify my actions over the years by explaining that that damn snail was about to attack…but I know the truth…it only growled at me ’cause I was blocking the sidewalk.

Yes, hunting is violent…but then so are many things that most people often don’t give a second thought to…child birth, getting your ears pierced, pretty much all sports, driving in heavy traffic, surgery, and even eating dinner (tearing apart animal muscle with our teeth and swallowing it into a pit of acid really isn’t what most people think of when they sit down for some prime rib at the Sizzler).

The major difference, of course, is that hunting ends with a living creature being killed. And I guess, for me, as long as that creature was killed in a humane manner for food or to protect human life (and not just for trophy or a pair of boots), I can’t complain.

25 Responses to “Redneck Jihadists…Or Skilled Sportsmen”

  1. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Wow. No comments yet.

    Okay, so you prolly know by now that I’m kind of opinionated. And I do have my opinions on this subject. I feel hesitant to share…I don’t know why. Oh well…

    I can’t stand the “sport” of hunting. I think the argument of “I eat what I kill” is ridiculous in this country where food flows in over-abundance. Give me a break. If you live in a hut in Africa and need to hunt to in order to live, I’m all for it.

    Every hunter I know doesn’t spend hours telling me about how they were able to feed their family for the entire winter on the deer they killed…they are telling stories about how they waited, they took aim, they shot, and watched the animal die. Then they show pictures of them smiling with their “trophy” held up between them and their friends. Yay.

    I’m not a scientist (or an activist with an agenda) but I also think that “over population” as an arguement is kind of lame. Seems like nature has managed to balance itself for as long as it’s existed without our help. Before America was settled, was it over-run by alligators, cougars, and wolves?? Mankind has messed with things by pushing animals out of their natural habitats (oooh, another strip-mall, sa-weet!), hunting and killing predators (which does produce over-population in the prey species) and over producing animals (cattle and chickens) for our consumption by pumping them full of hormones and preservatives. Gross.

    I also take issue with the fact that people bond over the hunting and killing of animals. That just freaks me out that anyone would get pleasure out of killing anything. And, truthfully, it’s not like it’s that much of a challenge anyway. I mean, we are HUMANS with guns, bows & arrows, etc. We already have the upper-hand, the major advantage. It’s not really like it might be if we were tribesmen with spears chasing down an antelope running 40mph. UGH!!!

    All, that said. I don’t expect anyone else to think the way I do. And I don’t lobby for change. People can do what they want. I just have my opinions…

    Actually, I am lobbying Congress to make childbirth illegal. I think all babies should be delivered by storks, like in the old days. πŸ˜‰

    Luv ya!

  2. TALK! Says:

    Great feedback, Bama. I’m glad you shared. I always love to know your thoughts on things.

    Trust me…you and I have much of the same feelings toward hunting. We really do.

    Like I said…I would never hunt.

    I hate guns. I hate weapons. And the idea of stopping a living creature from drawing breath repulses me. Plus, the photos with kills and trophies hung on the walls is something I have NEVER understood or appreciated. I find it disturbing to my core (although, people holding up the fish they caught doesn’t bother me as much for whatever reason…but stuffing that fish and mounting it over the fireplace DOES).

    But you know…believe it or not…I know folks who, at funerals, will take a picture of the body in the casket. I swear…I’ve seen them do it and I’ve seen the pictures. To them, it’s documenting an important event.

    All I’m saying is that there are many different folks out there who have many different value systems and traditions and ways of living. I think it’s beyond disrespectful to photograph a corpse before they are laid to rest…but there are plenty of good people who find it to be both reverant and respectful. I think the same could be applied to those horrible hunting photos. I find them crass and tasteless and horrifying…but I’m not a hunter…I haven’t experienced that way of life.

    I totally agree with you on the process of hunting. I think that that is my biggest problem with hunting these days…HOW people hunt…salt licks, deer stands, high-powered guns, baiting, etc. If hunting were actually a skill and if the animals were treated as actual “game” then I would have MUCH less of a problem with it.

    About hunting for food…food may flow in abundance in supermarkets but not everyone can afford luxuries such as meat (remember, I live in a VERY rural and poor state). I do know that there are people who DO feed their families over the winter with the food they kill.

    Plus I have to say, I am very much behind you on the over-production of poultry, pork, and cattle for consumer consumption…but to me that is all the more an argument for hunting. I would rather think the turkey on the Thanksgiving table had lived in the wild instead of being born and raised in a wire cage…just so it could die for our meal.

    Yeah, I’m a hypocrit. I will buy my turkey, chicken, and beef in Saran Wrap instead of killing it myself…however, if I had my druthers…I’d buy from more wholesome producers of meat. Right now I can only afford free-range eggs…but one day, I want to be able to buy free-range chicken…beef…etc.

    Trust me…the over-population argument is valid. As much as I LOATHE the idea of killing a deer…they can get so dense in numbers that they leave the safety of wooded areas and jump in front of cars or show up in other places (in buildings, even) where they could be harmful to people and to themselves. And gators being out of control in numbers has led to nesting in people’s pools/ponds or coming up to people’s houses…killing pets…attacking children…etc.

    I know, I know…this overpopulation is made worse by urban sprawl. Again, I agree with you fully on the ills, injustices, and irresponsibility of urban sprawl. I’d much rather see legislation to curb our corporate growth into natural habitats…we don’t need any more shopping centers or restaurants. I feel very strongly on this. But being a realist, I don’t see that happening. We can’t even save our farming communities…much less our trees and lakes and streams and furry friends. I don’t want to have a defeatist attitude…I try to recycle…buy organic…watch my gas and power consumption…etc., but until more people ban together to fight the corporations and their take over of our land and our government…we are doomed.

    —–

    This is why I stick to writing about Taylor Hicks and my hairy chin. I can’t deal with all the depression in the damn world.

  3. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Girl, I’m with you. I do everything I can in my own way. I buy free range meats, eggs and dairy if I can find it. I donate to animal shelters, yadda, yadda. But it is so overwhelming. (And I vote. Always, always, I vote.)

    The very reason I usually don’t voice my opinion or enter into debates is because it never changes anything. It only serves to fuel animosity.

    It will always be “us against them”. No matter what side we are on, or what we are arguing about.

    (I happen to believe I’m on the winning team where it matters most, so in truth, I’m good.)

  4. TALK! Says:

    I know what you mean about fueling animonsity.

    It’s frustrating.

    Did you read “Fast Food Nation”? If not…you really need to. (Fair warning…it does get VERY graphic in parts.)

    I also have seen “Super Size Me” and love that movie.

    I think our biggest evil in this country is big business.

    I actually wrote a song called “Corporate America.” It’s pretty cheesey…but I still like the message.

  5. nolagirl Says:

    My boyfriend is a hunter and comes from a hunting family. He rarely even has the time to do it, but he’d still consider himself an all-around sportsman. Before meeting him, I had never thought much about hunting because my family is not into it. For me, the killing of the animals, etc. that y’all have been discussing isn’t so much what gets me (although I *am* a humane society supporter and an advocate of animal rescue). For me, I just don’t GET why anyone would want to get up in the middle of the night and then proceed to sit in a deer stand for hours on end, hoping to see and shoot a deer, often when it’s freezing outside to boot. That is just beyond me! My bf claims that for him, he likes to be in the quiet of nature and that he really clears his head and thinks while out there. Perhaps. But, honestly, I think the little boy in him just likes guns and 4-wheelers and the “adventures” with his brother, etc.

  6. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I HAVE to hear that song.

    I saw Super Size Me and totally loved it. I want to read Fast Food Nation but haven’t done it yet. Maybe I’ll stop by Half Price Books this weekend. (Not that I’m not reading 4 other books right now…but whatever.)

    I totally don’t agree with, say, those two chicks that tried to sue McDonalds for making them fat, but I really think that “corporate giants” and advertisers have some culpability in our nation’s obsession with GIMME MORE-GIMME NOW mentality. There is an obvious correlation in the rise of childhood obesity, Type 2 diabetes, and overweight adults to the rise of fast food (and restaurant chain) mega-corps.

    Let’s not forget the lure of “the good life” being shoved down our throats by advertisers (and MTV). The good life consisting of leisure, video games, tv, tivo, movies, dvds, shopping, laying around in the sun…maybe getting in the hot tub.

    I believe in taking personal responsiblity. I know who made me fatter than I wanna be. Me. However, I also know that I’m not equipped to process and withstand the millions and millions of dollars poured into advertising for these companies. This makes my journey to better myself very difficult. And for other, less informed folks, probably impossible.

  7. TALK! Says:

    NOLA…I think most boys like guns and four-wheelers…it’s innate. πŸ˜‰

    —–

    Bama…YOU MUST READ “FAST FOOD NATION.” Put away the other books for now and pick up a copy. It is great…I promise you. You can get it in audio form from iTunes for $19 but it’s abridged. I would recommend the “full meal deal” of the book…it’s totally worth it.

    I’ll try to remember to upload the song tonight for you to download. PLEASE LISTEN TO IT WITH THE LOWEST OF EXPECTATIONS. Not only does my guitar playing sound like it was produced by a chimpanze on a ukelele…but the recording quality is piss poor. I recorded it on a very old 4-track and then rigged up this crazy set-up to download it into the computer.

    As for corporate America’s blame for the nation’s ills…I think they are big contributor. However, I also think personal responsibility has gone out the window as we’ve allowed ourselves to become more and more dependent on conveniences.

    BAM!

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I happen to love chimpanzees and ukeleles. Especially chimpanzees that play ukeleles. So, I’m really looking forward to that song now.

    And…I’m very old-fashioned about books. Unless I’m in a car, on a long road trip, there’s no way I’m listening to a book over reading the written word. Much love to the book worm geeks out there….cuz I’m one of them.

    Besides I can get it for waaay cheap at Half Price.

  9. TALK! Says:

    Got it. An ol’ fashioned kinda gal, heh? Nice.

    I admit that I listen to books on tape a good bit. (I drive home to my folks house pretty often.) But you’re right…nothing is better than holding the book and being able to soak in the words without a narrator.


    How’s this equation…

    Bama ❀ Monkbot = Chimp Playing Ukelele

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I’ve never been very good at math, but that looks like the perfect answer!

    I just like reading better because I can get lost in a book. I get very distracted when listening to a book on tape.

    (Yeah, old fashioned except being a tree-huggin’ commie. KIDDING!!)

  11. TALK! Says:

    The folks at work make fun of me for being a “tree hugger” ’cause I collect all their coke cans from the trash and take them home to put in my recycling bin. Ha.

    I know what you mean about getting lost in a book. Really…nothing compares to what the imagination can conjure.

    I’ve downloaded books that irritated me to no end because the narrator was horrendous. I just finished listening to “The DaVinci Code” (which, being the conservative-leaning Baptist that I am…I really didn’t want to listen to…but I did). My brother loaned it to me on CD. Not only did the storytelling bore me (the connections mentioned were interesting but the writing was not that great, IMO) but the narrator did “voices with accents” which I thought was just silly. I prefer narrators to just…well…narrate.

  12. bamaborntxbred Says:

    That’s hilarious that he did accents. How funny. Did he talk like a girl when it was the girl’s part?

    I read that book, and being the conservative-leaning Baptist that I am, threw it away before I got to the end. I only picked it up in the first place b/c I was intensely curious about all the fuss, and I also wanted two legs to stand on during debates about the book….which were going on all around me.

    I found the writing to be boring too. It was like one long lecture based on fictional, not factual information. I skipped ahead to the end when I was just a few chapters from it (this is something I never do). When I read the part where the guy was kneeling before Mary Magdalene’s bones in reverence and praise, I just got sick to my stomach. There is a point where I just can’t put some things into my head and my heart. I threw the book away…which is also something I never do. But the blasphemy in the book was worse than the blasphemy of destroying a book…ya know?

  13. TALK! Says:

    Yeah…he did a French woman’s voice.

    Total. Ridiculousness.

    The book was stupid. The only reason it made best seller was because of the controversy. I hated the storytelling. Bor-ring.

    And the end when he knelt made me want to vomit.

    Glad to know I’m not alone. Thanks, sweetie.

  14. double d Says:

    WOW! The seriousness of it all…I just thought that the cartoon was freakin’ hilarious!

    Personally, don’t like hunting primarily because, like NOLA, I don’t see the point in working that hard for sport. (Give me a LSU/Auburn or Alabama game any day.)

    However, I do LOVE to fish. Don’t always eat what I catch but still love to do it. Basically the same premise as hunting but doesn’t seem to get every body all worked up as much.

    Anywho…still love the “Redneck Jihad”. In Southwest Louisiana (God’s country), Gator hunting is referred to as “Cajun Rodeo”. They actually ride them for 8 seconds before spearing.

    πŸ˜‰

  15. TALK! Says:

    DD…I was waiting to get your feedback.

    Yeah…my initial post was going to be serious…but then I tried to lighten up…and then Bama shared her thoughts…and then I got into sharing my heavy thoughts…and then we talked about Taylor…and then you showed up…and then all was right with the world again! πŸ˜‰

    Yeah…the cartoon is pretty funny.

    And I like to fish, too. I haven’t been in years…but it is fun.

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Sorry I was such a downer. 😦

    We did talk about Chimpanzees though…they’re funny, right?

  17. TALK! Says:

    You ain’t a downer, boo!

    And yes Chimpanzees are funny…but here’s something even better than a chimp (thanks for sending to me NOLA).

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh, so pretty! Thanks so much for that…I really like the hair peeking out from the top of his shirt….niiiice.

  19. TALK! Says:

    It’s me pleasure to serve ya, mum!

    Seriously…I think that’s the hottest picture I’ve seen.

    I about fell out of my chair when I opened it. I love his little red ears…and the furrowed brow..and the closed eyes…and the glistening lips…and the sweaty arm pits…oh wait…yeah…even those! πŸ˜‰

  20. TALK! Says:

    Bama…here is the link to download “Corporate America.”

    Again…this song totally sucks…remember…YOU ASKED FOR IT!!!!!!!

  21. double d Says:

    The picture title says it all, NOLA…

    Oh my…

    heh heh!

  22. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Shut yo mouth girrrl! That song was great! I’m rockin’ out at work to Corporate America!

    BTW- I refuse to believe that my perfection is a lie.

  23. TALK! Says:

    LOL…you are WAY too kind.

    Glad you liked the song. I literally cringed when I listened to it last night before uploading it.

    Ha.

    I should send you all my crappy songs…then you could make me feel all warm and fuzzy about my mediocrity. πŸ˜‰

  24. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Whuteva! I wish I could sing and play the guitar. Heck, I wish I could upload stuff. I’m pretty much a talentless lump-o-nothin.

    You can sing, write songs, write blogs, play guitar, and prolly all kinds of other stuff….You should just naturally feel warm and fuzzy all the time.

  25. TALK! Says:

    HUH? Talentless lump-o-nothin?

    Why, little lady, you are not too shabby of a writer yourself…plus you have a GREAT imagination (helicoptors…chimpanzees…monkbots).

    Plus…you love dogs…Taylor…and ME! So, I think you’re one of the greatest humans on the planet!

Comments are closed.


