Taylor Hicks Sues Over iTunes Release

by


Just saw this on The Smoking Gun.

I’ll be back later to share my thoughts.

Just the idea that Tennessee music producer William Smith has his hands on these songs, which were written and recorded by Taylor Hicks, makes my blood boil. Sure, I haven’t seen the original contract…but I’ll bet if it was drafted five years ago…it didn’t address the selling of these songs on an individual basis directly to consumers via an online venue. Not possible. This is the shadiest deal I’ve ever heard.

Beyond that…what really pissed me off is the way this guy has smeared Taylor by saying he wasn’t interested in smearing Taylor.

Saying that he wouldn’t take money to talk about Taylor’s “negative” past is crass and vile…especially on the heals of the comments by Justin Timberlake. What a crappy human being to even bring something like that up at all…much less in a business dealing.

I think Taylor has every right to file this lawsuit…and has every leg on which to stand in order to win.

Plus, Smith is a total idiot who can’t spell…or use proper grammar.

20 Responses to “Taylor Hicks Sues Over iTunes Release”

  1. nolagirl Says:

    Your choice of picture is interesting. Almost like Taylor’s giving the “Uh huh, I see you over there, you little shit … just watch” How fitting!

    My thoughts on this can best be summed up as follows: Will Smith is a loser scumbag who writes like he is a 13-year-old. And he can suck it. The end.

  2. TALK! Says:

    Yeah…I thought that picture was very apropos.

    I’ll be writing up a post on this later…I just wanted to let folks have a place to discuss…if they wanted.

  3. Holeigh Says:

    Yeah, I saw this on MJ earlier! I then came over here to see if you had posted anything but it was just before you did, haha.

    I am thankful to have the Nashville Sessions because I really like that version of “The Fall,” however, that is Taylor’s music and words. This guy hasn’t had anything to do with him in almost 10 years and now he starts making thinly veiled threats to defame his image? Over a couple of iTunes releases? This is very unfortunate and it sucks that Taylor has to strike out against him, but what can he do? He can’t have some aquaintance going against his wishes on this level. I hope its resolved quickly.

  4. TALK! Says:

    NOLA, Holeigh…I think y’all are totally right.

    This guy is a total jerk…and a user.

    I’ll bet Taylor’s folks tried to work with him initially…like they did with Gray and the T-shirts.

    People are so self-serving.

  5. nolagirl Says:

    I read someone comments on a Taylor site who said he/she was in Nashville and worked on “Music Row” and that this Will Smith guy was not a known producer in the least. So yeah, he’s just trying to make a buck, and perhaps a name for himself, which is cleary going to backfire. Boooo-yah!

  6. TALK! Says:

    Tee Hee…maybe the townsfolks will run him out on a rail.

  7. TALK! Says:

    By the way…NOLAgirl wins

    Official Secret Word of the Day Prize

    for using the word “scumbag.”

  8. nolagirl Says:

    Wooooooo! Ayyyyyy! πŸ™‚

  9. double d Says:

    The guy is a poser. The veiled threat thing really got me, though. Seems anybody can say anything they want about a “celebrity” or otherwise and basically get away with it.

    He intimates that he has damaging information concerning sexuality and drug use to get Taylor’s attention, I’m sure. For most celebrities, just the appearance of impropriety will scare them enough to give into the demands of the BLACKMAILER. Pure and simple, that is just what this guy is. He should be brought under charges for extortion.

  10. TALK! Says:

    DD…I think you’re soooo right. The threat and talk of how he “could have” sold his story about Taylor’s sexuality and alledged drug use really pissed me off the most…forget the selling of the songs. The defamation of character shots were disgusting.

  11. double d Says:

    Yeah, and I really HATE bad grammar & spelling as well as improper punctuation. A true tale of character….

  12. double d Says:

    Shel-
    Just saw this at the boogie board…

    http://www.ledger-enquirer.com/mld/…al/15352878.htm

    Seems Mr. Smith admits “I don’t have any dirt on Taylor”.

    Case closed. Pay the man. Dumbass.

  13. TALK! Says:

    What a total jerk!

    Thanks for sharing, DD.

  14. Quossum Says:

    I like how you used My Favorite Taylor Picture of All Time (still currently my desktop pic) on this one.

    I don’t think the Nashville cuts are so bad…but I quite understand Taylor being the one who should be in control of him. Poor sob!

    –Q

  15. TALK! Says:

    I don’t think the Nashville cuts are bad…they just sound unfinished.

    Thanks for sharing the pic with me Q…I thought it was a good one to use for today. πŸ˜‰

  16. nolagirl Says:

    Hmmm, I *wonder* why that pic is your favorite, Q??? πŸ˜‰

  17. TALK! Says:

    Could it be because it looks like Taylor is saying “Pull my finger!” ?

  18. nolagirl Says:

    Perhaps, Shelley … but I was thinking it’s more along the lines of a word that begins with an “h” and rhymes with lair.

  19. TALK! Says:

    I know…but I couldn’t help myself.

    (Word Verification: sncxvg…the sound made when one pulls Taylor’s finger.)

  20. Quossum Says:

    “Gimme a head with hair, long gray beautiful hair!…”

    I guess you guys know me! =P

    –Q

Comments are closed.


