What I Want On This Saturday Night

by

It is Saturday evening and, after staying in all day to rerecord some old songs I wrote years ago…I couldn’t think of anything better to do tonight, with the thunder sounding outside and my pocketbook empty, than to watch my copy of “Green Card“…for about the thousandth time.

And to cry at the ending…for about the thousandth time.

I want to be in love…like in the movies.

Oh, how I long to be a beautiful, earnest horticuluturalist with ruby red lips, living atop a charming old building in New York, and have a French man deposited on my doorstep…or an Alabamian man…either would be quite lovely. And, of course, the soundtrack to this peaceful and romantic life would be Enya’s “Watermark” album.

I want a tiled greenhouse arboretum filled with fountains and luscious plants from around the world…not just the dying aloe vera I keep next to the window in my kitchen for when I burn myself.

I want romantic furnishings and 1930s electrical wall sconces and rose china plate accent pieces…not just the collage of furniture I’ve scrapped together from relatives and knick knacks I’ve found on eBay.

I want crackling classical records playing on my turntable while I pot my plants, and I want lots of windows and doors that I can leave open yearround to let in the sunlight or the sound of rain on the walkway outside…not just an iPod to play my downloaded songs or my neighbors’ car stereos booming as they drive past my house.

And I want a big strong man, who may be a little oafish, but who is tender and sincere and who handwrites original songs for me on aged paper with mysterious messages to me scrawled on the back…not just pictures on my computer of a gray-haired singer whom I’ll never meet and who doesn’t know I exist.

I want to be in love…like in the movies.

I want to be in love.

21 Responses to “What I Want On This Saturday Night”

  1. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Awe Shells…you read my mind. My movie maybe different (Bridget Jones’s Diary), but the sentiment is the same…to be in love.

    Verification word of the day “jlgjz” the power of two 30-something women wishing for everlasting love on a Saturday Night.

  2. NOLAgirl Says:

    Hey there! I feel like I *must* be missing out on something, because I’ve never seen Green Card!

    So, here’s a hug from me and Bella even sends a sloppy kiss … cuz she’s sweet like that. πŸ˜‰

  3. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Nolagirl….walk don’t run to BlockBuster and rent Greencard!!!!

  4. Holeigh Says:

    I’ve not seen Green Card either, so don’t feel too left out, nola.

    I agree, Bridget Jones is definitely my movie of choice in that genre…kissing in the snow with Van singing “Someone Like You” in the background? Yeah, my life would be complete! πŸ™‚

  5. TALK! Says:

    NOLAgirl…Holeigh…listen to the wisdom of Shrew and Shelley….GO RENT GREEN CARD TODAY!!!

    It is one of the best romance movies ever.

    Shrew…we really need to fix this problem of being 30-something and not in love. πŸ˜‰

  6. double d Says:

    From the voice of “love maven”, dd…

    1- Love is not like in the movies.
    2- Being “in love” is short-term and usually turns into just love.
    3- Friends do make the best lovers.
    4- Love is where you find it. Sometimes right under your nose.
    5- Love is work…it’s hard, it’s self-less, it’s painful, it’s worth it.

    My advice: Open your eyes and pay attention. Put yourself in situations where you will meet people like you. Take a chance when you normally might not. Sometimes, when you least expect it, cupid’s arrow will pierce your heart.

    …that’s the story of, that’s the glory of, love….

  7. TALK! Says:

    Awwww…DD, that’s great advice.

    Unfortunately, it’s too late for me.

    I’m bitter and don’t believe any of it applies to me.

    I fully realize love is work and that it’s not like in the movies. Not only have I been engaged before and seen it NOT work out (thankfully)…I’ve watched my parents work hard to beat the odds in this world of divorce to stay married for 39 years…and counting.

    I’m a romantic…but I’m also a realist..that’s probably why I’m not in love right now…and probably why I’ll never be in love again.

    It doesn’t mean I don’t want to be in love…I just don’t think love wants any part of me.

    Believe it or not…I have not even been asked out on a date in 10 years. TEN. YEARS.

    It’s hard to not be bitter when a decade has passed since the opposite sex has taken an interest in you.

    Believe me, in the past 10 years, I’ve put myself out there. I’ve been a part of groups…met new people…flirted…fixed up…been myself…you name it…I’ve tried it.

    I’m at a point where I just don’t think it’s in God’s plan for me to marry or have a family of my own.

    It’s easier now to just daydream about Taylor Hicks and watch “Green Card” a thousand times.

    Love stinks. Yeah. Yeah.

  8. Banda Says:

    Oh Shelley. HONESTLY. I’m going to drive to the deepest deep south right now just to slap the bejesus out of you. And gas is kind of expensive, so SNAP OUT OF IT.

    What kind of attitude are you putting out into the Universe? We’ve talked about this before, hon.

    If I can be in my 40’s, broken up with my fiancee, living in a small town (they call it a city, but trust me, it isn’t), and still be hopeful – you can be too.

    You’re funny, bright and beautiful. Git out there, girl. I have a feeling it will surprise you.

  9. TALK! Says:

    BANDA!!!! I’m so glad to hear your “voice”…even if it’s threatening me with a slap to the face! πŸ˜‰

    I thought of DD’s sage advice when I went to the grocery store a few minutes ago. Okay…so I was clean…but sans any makeup…hair all blech…and wearing questionably clean T-shirt and jeans…plus I did all my shopping while wearing my iPod plugged into my ears.

    I was about halfway through the store when I realized the vibe I must be putting out…

    LEAVE ME THE HELL ALONE!!!!

    Yikes. I had to laugh.

    On a slightly up note…I had to take out my earbuds at the register and, when I did, this guy (meh) asked me if he could use my Kroger Plus card.

    I let him…and made sure to touch is fingers when he handed it back to me.

    I guess you have to start somewhere.

    But I can’t…absolutely can’t…get myself to make eye contact with guys. I think my eyeballs and/or brain are broken.

    I guess I can’t stand the thought of making eye contact and having them look away.

  10. suzi-q Says:

    Would you believe our sunday school lesson this morning was on this very topic! Song of Solomon (sung by a wife to her husband) Song of Solomon 1:15-16, “How beautiful you are, my darling,How beautiful you are!Your eyes are like doves.” ” How handsome you are, my beloved, and so pleasant! Indeed,our couch is luxuriant! The beams of our houses are cedars, Our rafters, cypresses.” I’m going to tell you Shell (like Cher told Nicholas Cage, “SNAP OUT OF IT!” So to complete my address I quote from Isaiah 34:16, “Seek from the book of the Lord, and read: Not one of these will be missing;None will lack its mate. For His mouth has commanded, And His Spirit has gathered them.” Who knows his name may be the word verification of today, TACOY!

  11. TALK! Says:

    Okay, Suzi-Q…you officially cracked me up.

    Plus…not only did you use “luxuriant,” you gave me hope in finding my real “Tacoy.”

    So your reward is…

    The Official Word of the Day Prize

    Enjoy!

  12. NOLAgirl Says:

    OK, so I hope you know Shelley that Tacoy is now going to have to be incorporated into conversation, right? It’s too funny *not* to.

    Sweet dreams of Tacoy tonight …. πŸ˜‰

  13. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Gaw…Shelley. We are so similar. I’m a realistic romantic too. I’ve dated in the last ten years…but haven’t EVER been in love. I’m still hanging on to a thread of hope though….

    Green Card is such a romantic movie. I love it. In real life, though, that French dude would be stinky and rude. So it prolly wouldn’t be a cool as it is in the movie.

    I would want my romance to be like in Emma…now that is romantic….

  14. TALK! Says:

    OOOoooooo….Emma!

    Jeremy Northern (??) is very hawt.

    I LOVE Emma.

    Great movie.

    Honestly…I think you could come visit me and we could dive into my collection of movies and spend the entire weekend bawlin’ our eyes out at the romances and laughing our heads off at the comedies.

    But then we’d be eyeballless (sp?) and headless…and we REALLY couldn’t get a date then.

  15. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I don’t know…maybe it’d be easier to get a date. I’ve convinced myself that men are intimidated by my stunning good looks, razor sharp wit and uncanny ability to know when a person is lying to me…so at least if I’m eyeball-less and headless I’d have the 1st prollum taken care of.

    Yeah, Jane Austen was just a bad-A** at the romance…and Hollywood has done a bang up job of translating them. Hmmmm…Pride and Predjudice when Mr. Darcy was walking out of the fog towards Lizzie…sigh. Or when he opened his heart to her at that weird old building thingy place and it was raining….

  16. TALK! Says:

    LOVE Pride & Prejudice. I think the Keira Knightly version is even BETTER than the Colin Firth version…and that’s saying alot.

    Oh…and for calling Janie Babie a “bad-A**” at romance…you win the prize for the day….

    The Official Word of the Day Prize

  17. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I much prefer the Keira version. She’s so gorgeous…and I love the cinematography in the film.

    Let’s just imagine ourselves as Lizzie and Taylor as Mr. Darcy…niiiice.

  18. TALK! Says:

    Taylor walking across the moors (sp?) as the sunrises on the horizon, and the dew clinging to the hem of my nightdress.

    My favorite part is when he says…

    “I love…I love…I love you.”

    I have to catch my breath every time!

  19. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Holy crap. Are they not the most beautiful people you’ve ever seen? Ever? In your whole life? And he’s not even actually beautiful…but he is..because he says I love you the way he does.

    I rented that movie from Blockbuster and watched three times in one weekend.

  20. TALK! Says:

    I have the DVD…and have watched it about a bazillion times.

    I know what you mean about his appeal. When he first walked on screen, I was a little disappointed…but after watching him for about 10 minutes…I was totally hooked.

    Oh…and I love the scene at the weird building, too.

    This is for you, sweet Evangeline!

  21. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Kiss him!!! KISS HIM YOU FOOL!!!!!

    (Thank you. I needed that touch of romance today!)

    I really need to go…but I couldn’t leave without mentioning one of my all time favorite love scenes…In Love Actually when Colin Firth learns Portugese and that pretty lady learns English and he goes to wherever the heck she’s from at Christmas and asks her to marry him in that restaurant. I was crying, laughing, jumping up and down!

Comments are closed.


