Great Article on Taylor’s New Album

by

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Entertainment Weekly has a wonderful Q&A with the silver-haired Soul Man online today.

Although the interviewer is a little snotty at times…I like how he asks meatier questions than the usual fare.

One concern about the album that this interview raises for me is the “new-wave sounds” that will be driven by producer Matt Serleti, who worked with Carlos Santana on “Smooth.” Yeah, the effects were great…but I can’t stand Santana. I hope we don’t get a Santana-esque type sound.

Bites nails nervously.

However, I love, love, love that Taylor’s collaborating with Michael McDonald and John Mayer (who, by the way, isn’t dating Jessica Simpson…I don’t think).

And the reference to Chris Gaines was hilarious.

I also love that Taylor aspires to be a legend…although the interviewer made it sound cockier than I think Taylor meant it.

Geesh, our boy is being evasive on the theme of the album…but maybe because it’s not a theme-driven piece of work. Perhaps he’s going for great songs…that touch on all kinds of themes.

Still it surprises me…seeing how he’s a very old-school-type of musician who seems to appreciate the traditional approach to album-making, which cohesively showcases a collection of songs that play off each other to create a unified piece of art work.

Although he does say, “I’m collecting and writing music. I’m starting to put ideas together for the record to have a similar thread, and I’m using one producer as opposed to 50.” But is he talking about the sound of the album or the theme? Mmmm…ponders.

I’m just going to have faith…and cross my fingers.

Finally, my favorite quote from the article is about what Taylor expects from the Soul Patrol:

“Yeah, they’re on the soul train. My hope is that the Soul Patrol will be as large and as fun and as vibrant and as cool as (Jimmy Buffett’s) Parrotheads.”
–Taylor Hicks

Baby, as the webmaster of the home of the Soul Patrol/Monkbot Division…I can promise that I am very much a cool…vibrant…fun…and “large” fan.

Shoot. Blow. Holster.

20 Responses to “Great Article on Taylor’s New Album”

  1. nolagirl Says:

    I so was going to comment on the Chris Gaines thing! What a card, huh? šŸ˜‰

    Well, I am more confused after reading this than I’ve ever been about what to expect with his album. So I’m just going to wait and see, because it’s making my brain hurt.

    P.S. I agree, Shell, the interviewer seemed a tad aggressive at times, but still good all around.

  2. TALK! Says:

    You know…I’d reather an aggressive interviewer like this who, seemingly, cares about the music being put out there than some vapid reporter that asks what kind of underwear Taylor wears.

    This guy, it seems, was genuinely interested and WANTED to know these things.

    (Oh…by the way…Taylor, if you’re reading…what kind of underwear DO you wear?)

  3. Holeigh Says:

    LoL, nice question, Shell. šŸ˜‰

    The Chris Gaines thing is funny but has anyone listened to that album? Its actually not that bad, some of the songs are actually really good! Haha, maybe its just because I love all things Garth. Just keep in mind: He wasn’t being a freak, he was making a movie that got scrapped.

    On to the interview. I am so excited to be reading this kind of stuff, it sounds like Taylor def. knows what’s going into the album, he just wants people to be completely surprised. Its kind of like every night on AI, we all knew what he was singing and that kind of took some of the fun out of guessing and hoping, ya know? (Personally, I am wishin’ and hopin’ for a cover of “Crazy Love!!”) I agree, the interviewer was kinda harsh at points but I will take that any day as long as there are good questions asked.

    How many more minutes til Christmas? šŸ˜‰

  4. TALK! Says:

    I love Garth, too. I didn’t realize that the “Chris Gaines” thing was done to coincide with a movie. Makes sense.

    Like you, Holeigh, I’m intrigued by Taylor’s vague approach to these interviews. I know he’ll wow us with whatever comes out by Christmas.

    Oh, and for the record, at midnight tonight, there will be 155,520 minutes until Dec. 25.

  5. Holeigh Says:

    :O That is SO many minutes! And that’s a lot of comments to be posted on TALK!, hahaha.

    I think intrigued is a great word to use in this situation, Shelley. Some don’t like it, but it makes him an even more interesting person to keep tabs on.

    Yes, the whole thing with Chris Gaines was in preparation for a biopic about a fictional singer of the same name. Garth was going to play him as the movie followed his rise and falls as an entertainer in the business. The CD was PR but then the project was left behind. Its a shame that so many people think Garth was just going crazy in the head, haha.

  6. TALK! Says:

    Wow…at the thought of posting until December.

    I gots ta take it one day at a time or I’ll freak out! šŸ˜‰

  7. double d Says:

    Interviewer is CLUE-LESS!

    No, I’m asking what they’ll be about ā€” the themes, ideas, lyrics.
    Just everyday life, because I’m an everyday kind of dude.

    Right. But what the heck does that mean?
    Real. Some of this stuff that’s been written people can relate to every day, and that’s what I’m about. I don’t want to touch Hollywood. I want to touch America.”

    Sad that the interviewer doesn’t know what “everyday dude” is.

  8. Holeigh Says:

    Shell: I’m right there with ya on that sentiment!

    DD: Agreed! But just think, if he hadn’t asked those follow up questions, that awesome quote about touching America over Hollywood wouldn’t have been included and that’s definitely a good one.

  9. TALK! Says:

    Good point, Holeigh.

    DD…how much would you be totally cracking up if Taylor used one of these three answers for an entire interview?

    Soul.
    Funk.
    The Solid Gold Dancers, finally, y’all showed up.

    ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: So you’re on the Idol tour right now, but what’s going on with your new album?
    TAYLOR HICKS: Soul.

    And are you writing some of the songs?
    Funk.

    It’s all about chemistry, right?
    Soul.

    Who’s been pitching you songs? Anybody noteworthy?
    The Solid Gold Dancers, finally, y’all showed up.

    I heard ā€” that’s exciting! How’s that going?
    Funk.

    What kind of artists do you admire, or think you share qualities with?
    The Solid Gold Dancers, finally, y’all showed up.

    You’re aspiring to be a legend?
    Soul.

    Will the Soul Patrol be on board for the new album?
    Funk.

    As for song themes, what do they touch on?
    Soul.

    No, I’m asking what they’ll be about ā€” the themes, ideas, lyrics.
    Soul. Funk. Soul.

    Right. But what the heck does that mean?
    If you don’t know…then you obviously lack soul and clearly lack funk.

  10. double d Says:

    BWAHAHAHA! Works for me, Shel.
    Got my shirt. Next one might need to say “Solid Gold Dancer” on the front and “finally, y’all showed up” on the back.

    Another: “soul.” on the front and “funk.” on the back…

    Yet another: kun-NECK-shun = af-FECK-shun + di-RECK-shun

    Holeigh…true on the interviewers stupid questions…I guess they were better stupid questions than normal. Taylor does have a way of making chicken salad out of chicken ****, don’t he?

    Is it Friday yet? Is it Christmas yet?

  11. TALK! Says:

    DD…it doesn’t cost anything for me to create them.

    You want me to design some and put on there for you to order?

  12. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Ummmm, I think Shrew made the correlation to Parrotheads months ago…the man is reading what we write!

  13. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Okay I have to ask…Is Taylor going to record at Graceland?

  14. Shrewspeaks Says:

    And Please forgive my first comment….I just know we talked about the role of the Soul Patrol on GC

  15. Phile Says:

    Funk. Soul.

    That means, “That was good!” Thanks!

  16. Quossum Says:

    Great interview–thanks for pointing it out, Shelley.

    Wow, songs about everyday life. Hmm…some possible titles:

    “Can’t Find the Car Keys”
    “Diggin’ Change Out the Couch ‘Cause I Need Me a Beer”
    “Milk Done Expired Blues”

    And a few just for Taylor…even though he is an everyday type of guy:

    “Daddy Needs a New Pair of Shoes”
    “Got Photoshopped Today”
    “No, Nu-uh, Not Telling” (or “Ode to a Black Hair Thingie on a Wrist”)
    And, this one’s for the crazy fans he’s always mentioning in interviews: “You Got Me on Your Neck But I Ain’t Got You on My Mind”

    Wow, I can’t *wait* until December!

    –Q

  17. double d Says:

    One more, Shel…

    Front: “All Skate.”

    Back: “Everybody Skate.”

  18. TALK! Says:

    Quossum…hilarious.

    DD…I’ve been a busy bee…check it out

    http://www.cafepress.com/monkbot

    (and thanks for the orders, DD)

    also, my brother is working on a monkbot logo…look for it next week. šŸ˜‰

  19. NOLAgirl Says:

    I heart Garth too.

    In fact, he was my first “fangirl” type crush. I’m talking posters and stuff on my bedroom walls. I saw him in concert and it was still the best concert I’ve been to. I think Taylor can top it though. I have faith. šŸ˜‰

    I still think Garth’s a total cutie, Trisha Yearwood “scandal” and all. Love him!

    —–

    Shelley – Your interview with those 3 answers was friggin hilarious!! Next time we can incorporate “Don’t funk me out.” That might jazz things up! LOL

  20. wompusshttp://www.cafepress.com/kittywompuss.74171319 Says:

    By special request…for DD

    http://www.cafepress.com/kittywompuss.74171319

    (I did not mark this shirt up any…let me know if you want it in any other color)

Comments are closed.


