A Lunchtime Ramble…and a Little ‘Blues and Soul’

by

When I stepped out at the lunch hour earlier today, I was struck with a sense of nostalgia and yearning so great that I wanted to weep…and, of course, to share with y’all.

But my tears weren’t so much for some distant memory…they were for…well…I don’t really know.

The air here in Jackson is soft and breezy and sunny and hovering as much below warm as it is above cool.

It’s my favorite type of day…a day so wonderful that even the moon stays out until noon to play and bask in the pleasantness.

It’s the kind of day that fills me with a sense of goodness…of happiness…of comfort…of longing…and of sadness…all at once. But I don’t really know why.

As I drove, I rolled down all of my windows and soaked in the feel…trying to figure out what in me was sparking such melancholy loveliness.

Is the start of fall synonymous for me of being in love? Perhaps…maybe a little.

Is it the thought of camping and hiking and spending time in nature? Yes…a bit.

Is it memories of high school, being in the band and the giddiness of Friday night football games? Possibly.

Is it last fall and the fall before that and the one before that…an amalgam of all my sense memories from Septembers gone? I suppose.

Maybe it’s nothing…maybe I’m just in love with the air around me.

But no matter what sparked this waver between joy and sadness, the resulting conflict of emotions was most bizarre.

So I decided to add to my torment a little more and reached over to turn up the stereo…which was already humming with some early Taylor Hicks…before he offered us his heart and soul and was singing of his “Blues and Soul.”

And, like this rambling post, I got lost in the deliciousness of the angst.

23 Responses to “A Lunchtime Ramble…and a Little ‘Blues and Soul’”

  1. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I totally know what you mean. I don’t know how to describe that feeling either, but it is particular to Fall. What is it? It’s good and bad smushed together. Melancholy is a great word for it….although, a little to sad sounding.

    When I was younger (even up until 5-6 years ago) Fall was always a negative time of year for me. I thought of it as “the end”, as a time of dying things and gray skies. Now, things are different. A few years ago I adopted the phrase “Fall is my Spring!” and I really feel that way.

    I love when I first feel a cool Northern breeze…rather than the super-humid, super-heated winds off the Gulf of Mexico. I love when the leaves change and fall. I love, love, love Fall fashions! Boots, blazers, cardigans! I love that sense of beginning again…a fresh start…the onset of the Holidays. It’s all so, so, so….whatever that word is I can’t think of!!

    Also, important point: The Texas State Fair comes in the Fall and Oktoberfest…Fun, food, beer!

    Thanks for such a beautiful post. It made me feel like I was there with you! Wish I was!

  2. TALK! Says:

    It must be a Monkbot thing, Bama.

    Fall is my favorite time of the year, too.

    I’ve always reveled in those precious days between the scorching heat of summer and blistering cold of winter.

    It has always baffled me how anyone could prefer any other season than Autumn and all is colors and comforts.

  3. bamaborntxbred Says:

    The food is better in Autumn too. One of my favorite foods in the world is sweet potatoes….baked, casseroled, french fried. Love ’em. And they are sooo Autumn.

    I’m proud to be a Monkbot where at least I know I’m free. And I won’t forget the Monkbots that had to listen to bad music who gave that right to me.

  4. nolagirl Says:

    This is so weird. Today I had to go to the ol’ Petco at lunch to pick up food for the Bella. As I was walking up to the store, I felt a slight breeze, and because I was wearing a skirt, I could really *feel* it, on the back of my calves and on my ankles particularly … and though it was very sunny and kinda hot, I thought to myself “Oooh, I feel a smidge of coolness in that breeze!!!” and smiled to myself.

    See, I *too* love fall. Like Bama said, *everything* about it, including wardrobe, football, crisp air.

    One thing about living in LA though is that there isn’t a true fall, like in other parts of the country … and that makes me sad. I have seen NYC at Christmas time, so my next visit is during the fall. I can grin now thinking about standing in Central Park in the fall!

    This topic makes me think of “Shoot the Moon” by Norah Jones. If you don’t know that song, download it N-O-W!

  5. bamaborntxbred Says:

    We don’t really get a true Fall in Dallas either, Nola. Every once in awhile we do b/c you can’t ever really predict what’s gonna happen around here. We’ve already had some cool (70-80’s) days this year whereas last year it was still in the 90’s in November!

    I did spend some formative years
    in the mountains of N.E. Georgia. Now, they get gooood Fall there. Beautiful changing of the leaves. People would vacation up there in the Fall just to experience the beauty. We had four distinct seasons which was awesome!

  6. TALK! Says:

    I’ve been to the Carolinas during the fall and…AMAZING!

    Wow!

    But I really didn’t ever notice the look of fall when I lived in Biloxi…I could feel it…but not see it. You know?

    Then, about 8 years ago, I moved to Jackson. What a difference 3 hours north makes!

    I remember my first fall here…I was driving to work one day and saw this shower of leaves fall from some Bradford Pear trees and then get whipped up all together by a gust of wind. I was so excited that I told everyone about it when I got to work.

    They just looked at me like I was a kook.

  7. TALK! Says:

    To be truthful…I get looked like I’m a kook most of the time.

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Yeah, I figured you probably did. 😉

  9. nolagirl Says:

    I suppose there are worse things than being a kook, right? Like being a cook … at McDonalds …. ewww.

  10. TALK! Says:

    LOL

  11. TALK! Says:

    @ you both…i don’t think i’m alone in my kookiness. 😉

  12. bamaborntxbred Says:

    You are not alone. This much is true. Kookiness is an inherent trait in all Monkbots. Just look at our fearless leader.

  13. TALK! Says:

    No greater truth was spoken, Bama.

    You are very wise.

  14. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I am the smartest person in the whole world…except for every person smarter than me….including you and everyone else that posts here.

  15. TALK! Says:

    Awwww, Bama…that’s just not true.

    I’m the only one smarter than everyone else…all other human beings are on the same intellectual plane. ;P

  16. nolagirl Says:

    Bama, I have a real-life example of how you are way smarter than I am…

    So last Saturday night while at the Engine Room, I bought a few or so rounds for me, Q and her hubby. A few or so other rounds, I bought just 2 while Q took a “break” (isn’t she smart?). I seriously sat at the bar for a sec after the girl told me it was $12 for the 3 beers and thought “Wow, do they give you some kind of price break here when you buy more than 2??”

    So yes, folks, it’s true. Apparently I don’t know that 4×2=8 and 4×3=12.

    You know, I really wonder about myself when I say things like that in my head or to someone else!

  17. TALK! Says:

    Oh…well…if we’re including our math skills…then I’m the biggest idiot in the world.

    Dang it…

  18. double d Says:

    Ah, yes, Fall…not to be confused with “The Fall”…but I digress.

    I always have much trepidation regarding fall. Too much happening, always. Birthdays, anniversaries, deaths, births…all seems to converge (in my life) between late September and mid-October.

    When I can feel the crispness in the air, I am thrilled yet anxious. Mostly, because I know Christmas is coming, I think.

    Shelley…I hear you about being just a little further north. When I lived in Memphis, I LOVED the four seasons…the turning of the leaves, the snow, the budding in Spring. Back down here we’ve got really only two seasons…Pre-Summer and Summer.

    Fall is a time when we sense an ending (of the year) yet a beginning (of a different season).

    Oh, I’m going to have some wine with my whine.

  19. TALK! Says:

    Have a glass for me, DD. 😉

  20. Quossum Says:

    It IS a monkbot thing, guys! My favorite season is fall, too!

    Of course, here in Houston we won’t be actually *getting* to fall for another couple of months, but then…it’s great. =)

    –Q

  21. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Autumn…(yes I am late, but not out) where was I…oh yeah…Autumn…See up north here, the weather starts to shift in these mid-September days…One morning you run out and the thought is fleeting “Hmmm, I should have grabbed a jacket.” The next day you do, and continue to do until sometime in April. This happened for me two days ago.

    But more than the obligatory jacket, fall has meant new beginings…new school years when younger, now just my birthday. And in some way, a new awakening of the senses…August in Joisey can be oppressive…hot, sticky and full of burnt grass, wilting flowers.

    Autumn brings with it quicker steps from stiffer breezes. The first cuddly chilly saturday mornings between crisp sheets, when you take that extra 10 minutes to get up because it just feels so good.

    The trees become ablaze with deep colors and then softly the brightly color leaves fall…collecting in piles. The scent from fallen leaves is always sweet and earthy.

    And it is finally cool enough to cook inside again…pot roasts and stews…and the baking…sweet and spicy apple pies, warm cider…chocolate chip cookies right from the oven. Ah, all things comforting and wholesome.

    Autumn is the repast before the bustling days of late November through December.

  22. TALK! Says:

    Wow…what a collection of poets I have visiting my blog.

    Beautifully written guys!

    But I gotta give Shrew the Official Prize of the Day for such eloquence!

  23. double d Says:

    Man, Shrew gets the BEST prize! I Lerve that one….soooooo Elvis!

Comments are closed.


