Archive for September 19th, 2006

What I’ll Be Watching This Fall

September 19, 2006

goldstar.jpg

Okay…this won’t be much of a post, but I thought I’d let y’all know my television schedule for the fall.

First, let me say that…I absolutely love television.

Get that?

I. Love. Television.

It’s true. I can’t deny it. I look forward to basking in its warmth as often as possible. I love to see what it has to show me. I love gleaning humor and wisdom, silliness and tears from it.

I love shows with great writing, as well as horrible, unscripted dialogue.

I love it all.

So, when it comes to television…I have to be very careful. As some of you may know, I don’t have cable. I ripped it out years ago after I had stayed up until 3 a.m. to watch Howard Stern’s “Private Parts”…just cause it was on and I was up.

That was my low point.

Getting rid of cable was one of the best things I ever did for myself. Limiting the television that was available to me was quite liberating.

Now, if it doesn’t come on NBC, CBS, ABC, or FOX/WB, I don’t (can’t) watch it (with the exception of a few necessary shows downloaded from iTunes…I loves me some “Project Runway”).

My friend, Jon, can’t imagine how I can live my life without cable and TiVo. He has offered to host a gala Cable for Shelley Fund-Raiser…but I’ve told him it’s not about the money…it’s about me being tempted to watch any piece of crap on the boob tube when I should be…well…living my life.

And beyond not having cable…I refuse to get a decent t.v…which would give me even more temptation to watch endless hours of drivel.

Right now…every single show I watch (with a few iTunes exceptions) is broadcast through a 1989 24-inch GoldStar television…complete with actual UHF/VHF dials and a real, live on/off/volume knob.

That’s right, kiddies…dials and knobs. It makes me feel very “Lost In Space”…and I like it.

My brother, Ben, HATES watching stuff at my house. The last time he was over, all he did was gripe about the green hue to the picture and the pinstripe pattern that constantly meanders across the screen.

I told him I didn’t even notice it…much.

Two years ago, my dad, after having to physically get out of his chair to turn the sound down, began ranting about how horrible my television was and how I really needed a new one. He, along with Mom, then actually gave me $160 with the specific instructions that I could use the money for only one of two things…to either get a new pair of glasses…or to get a new t.v.

I love my rimless spectacles. I look so chic in them.

But that old GoldStar has served me well. It has sent me word about wars and terrorism. It has channeled late night skits and early morning talk shows. It has prepared me for hurricanes and enlightened me on topics. And, it has entertained me…especialy in the last year, as it was the conduit which brought Taylor Hicks into my living room every Tuesday and Wednesday.

I heart my…

goldstarlogo.jpg

Well, the new fall season is shaping up quite nicely and I’ve got big plans for the GoldStar. There are some new shows that have already hooked me and others I can’t wait to see. Plus, there are several returning shows that I’ve been chomping at the bit to catch up on since they left me in the spring.

So, for those of you who give a rip, here is what I’ll be watching on my 17-year-old hazy green and pinstriped 24-inch screened television this fall.

Sundays
7 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” (ABC)
8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Desperate Housewives” (ABC)
9 p.m. – 10 p.m. – “Brothers & Sisters” (ABC)…the jury is still out on this one…they’ll have to really sell it for me to stick with it.

Mondays

8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Heros” (NBC)…watched the first episode on iTunes today and it is REALLY good
9 p.m. – 10 p.m. – “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip” (NBC)…I wanted to watch “What About Brian?” in this same timeslot on ABC…but I just watched Studio 60 tonight and it was fantastic…bye-bye, Brian

Tuesdays
7 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Dancing with the Stars” (ABC)

Wednesdays
7 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “Dancing with the Stars results show” (ABC)
8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – Last half of “Biggest Loser” (NBC)

Thursdays
7 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “Ugly Betty” (ABC)…I’m only lukewarm to the idea of this show…but I’m going at least see how it shapes up
7:30 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “The Office” (NBC)…my all-time favorite show…but more than likely I’ll download it from iTunes or watch the encore performances on Fridays so I can give “Ugly Betty” a shot
8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)…my second favorite show

Fridays
8 p.m. to 9 p.m. – “Men in Trees” (ABC) …the first two episodes were wonderful

