What I’ll Be Watching This Fall

by

goldstar.jpg

Okay…this won’t be much of a post, but I thought I’d let y’all know my television schedule for the fall.

First, let me say that…I absolutely love television.

Get that?

I. Love. Television.

It’s true. I can’t deny it. I look forward to basking in its warmth as often as possible. I love to see what it has to show me. I love gleaning humor and wisdom, silliness and tears from it.

I love shows with great writing, as well as horrible, unscripted dialogue.

I love it all.

So, when it comes to television…I have to be very careful. As some of you may know, I don’t have cable. I ripped it out years ago after I had stayed up until 3 a.m. to watch Howard Stern’s “Private Parts”…just cause it was on and I was up.

That was my low point.

Getting rid of cable was one of the best things I ever did for myself. Limiting the television that was available to me was quite liberating.

Now, if it doesn’t come on NBC, CBS, ABC, or FOX/WB, I don’t (can’t) watch it (with the exception of a few necessary shows downloaded from iTunes…I loves me some “Project Runway”).

My friend, Jon, can’t imagine how I can live my life without cable and TiVo. He has offered to host a gala Cable for Shelley Fund-Raiser…but I’ve told him it’s not about the money…it’s about me being tempted to watch any piece of crap on the boob tube when I should be…well…living my life.

And beyond not having cable…I refuse to get a decent t.v…which would give me even more temptation to watch endless hours of drivel.

Right now…every single show I watch (with a few iTunes exceptions) is broadcast through a 1989 24-inch GoldStar television…complete with actual UHF/VHF dials and a real, live on/off/volume knob.

That’s right, kiddies…dials and knobs. It makes me feel very “Lost In Space”…and I like it.

My brother, Ben, HATES watching stuff at my house. The last time he was over, all he did was gripe about the green hue to the picture and the pinstripe pattern that constantly meanders across the screen.

I told him I didn’t even notice it…much.

Two years ago, my dad, after having to physically get out of his chair to turn the sound down, began ranting about how horrible my television was and how I really needed a new one. He, along with Mom, then actually gave me $160 with the specific instructions that I could use the money for only one of two things…to either get a new pair of glasses…or to get a new t.v.

I love my rimless spectacles. I look so chic in them.

But that old GoldStar has served me well. It has sent me word about wars and terrorism. It has channeled late night skits and early morning talk shows. It has prepared me for hurricanes and enlightened me on topics. And, it has entertained me…especialy in the last year, as it was the conduit which brought Taylor Hicks into my living room every Tuesday and Wednesday.

I heart my…

goldstarlogo.jpg

Well, the new fall season is shaping up quite nicely and I’ve got big plans for the GoldStar. There are some new shows that have already hooked me and others I can’t wait to see. Plus, there are several returning shows that I’ve been chomping at the bit to catch up on since they left me in the spring.

So, for those of you who give a rip, here is what I’ll be watching on my 17-year-old hazy green and pinstriped 24-inch screened television this fall.

Sundays
7 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” (ABC)
8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Desperate Housewives” (ABC)
9 p.m. – 10 p.m. – “Brothers & Sisters” (ABC)…the jury is still out on this one…they’ll have to really sell it for me to stick with it.

Mondays

8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Heros” (NBC)…watched the first episode on iTunes today and it is REALLY good
9 p.m. – 10 p.m. – “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip” (NBC)…I wanted to watch “What About Brian?” in this same timeslot on ABC…but I just watched Studio 60 tonight and it was fantastic…bye-bye, Brian

Tuesdays
7 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Dancing with the Stars” (ABC)

Wednesdays
7 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “Dancing with the Stars results show” (ABC)
8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – Last half of “Biggest Loser” (NBC)

Thursdays
7 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “Ugly Betty” (ABC)…I’m only lukewarm to the idea of this show…but I’m going at least see how it shapes up
7:30 p.m. – 8 p.m. – “The Office” (NBC)…my all-time favorite show…but more than likely I’ll download it from iTunes or watch the encore performances on Fridays so I can give “Ugly Betty” a shot
8 p.m. – 9 p.m. – “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)…my second favorite show

Fridays
8 p.m. to 9 p.m. – “Men in Trees” (ABC) …the first two episodes were wonderful

79 Responses to “What I’ll Be Watching This Fall”

  1. Shrewspeaks Says:

    OMG! Our tastes, staggeringly similar! Men in Trees is fantastic makes me forget that I hate Ann what’s her name.

    Of course…I am the exact opposite of you on the cable front…I -hangs head in boob-tube shame- not only have cable, but I have super duper digital cable complete with 6 HBOs (couldn’t miss Sex and the City when it was on…now Curb) and 5 Showtimes. I originally signup for digital cable to get BBC America (love that). I know, I know with all the hours I work how can I watch all those channels? Can you say TiVO? I knew you could. But I must admit, the majority of what I watch is still Network TV.

    Since I was a little girl, I used to wait for the big fall preview double thick edition of TVGuide just to plan out my viewing tasting habits each fall. I would mark down what was coming on when…those I was happy to see return and which I wanted to try…I remember thinking “Gee, a show about a bar in Boston…hmm okay, I’ll Try it” and I can never forget the “e.r. vs Chicago Hope, which premiere medical drama will I watch since they both are on the same night dilema.” (I watched Chicago Hope once…I still watch e.r.)

    I no longer get TV since I have digital cable (and they changed their format) so Shelley…this post was a pure tonic to sooth my soul.

    Now, I mustn’t forget to TiVo “Men in Trees” and The Office is number one in my cue…hmmm Ugly Betty…

  2. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Correction…I no longer get TVGuide…I still get TV.
    Perhaps, if I DIDN’T get TV I would write better and date more…but there you have it.

  3. double d Says:

    Do they still publish TV Guide? Wow.

    TV is the definitely the fourth entity in our house. We have about five, I think. Living room, bed room, son’s bed room, porch, portable with batteries for hurricanes. Yep, five. Like Shrew, got to have HBO, but we have STARZ and ESPN GamePlan — so we can watch any College Football that’s not carried on the networks or ESPN. My son is a Cartoon Network junkie — I know, the shame of it all.

    I must say that my cable is a life saver. I only watch a few network shows like House and some of the reality fodder in the summer. I do like The Biggest Loser in the fall, but most of the other stuff, I can’t get into. I do like the home improvement stuff on TLC, the documentaries on the Discovery Channel and of course, I love the digital music channels. So what if I have to use my Equity Line to pay my cable bill…

  4. TALK! Says:

    Trust me, y’all…I’d LOVE to have more than one television…and a new television at that.

    It’s just I know how easily I’m tempted.

    About the TV Guide, I’ve wondered why they even bother to still print since you can get all the listings online.

    And, yes, there are definitely times when I really, really, really want TLC, Discovery, HGTV, Bravo, VH1, and, even, MTV.

    Thank goodness for iTunes! I can get fun shows like Queer Eye and Project Runway…commercial free. Plus, iTunes is growing larger and larger each month.

  5. double d Says:

    I admire your “soul control”, Shelley.

    Unfortunately, I have little.

  6. bamaborntxbred Says:

    My Fall tv watchin’ schedule is totally mapped out.

    My poor friends know that they aren’t allowed to call me after 7pm on a weeknight…I won’t answer. Luckily, my bff and I have a standing Thursday night date for Earl, The Office and Grey’s Anatomy. We are foaming at the mouth for this Thursday!! We always get Potbelly’s sandwiches and sometimes have wine. Yum!

    I need Tivo. With the exception of Sunday and Wednesday…every other night I have shows that overlap! And, I prefer to turn the tv off at 9pm to get ready for bed. There are at least 4 shows that come on after 9pm that I wanna watch this season…One of which is Studio 60, which I saw last night…it was so good. Arggh!

    P.S. I think we kind of made the Monkbot Division’s presence known at GC. Hope it doesn’t annoy him.

  7. TALK! Says:

    My evenings are mapped out, too (as you can read). I’m a little concerned how I’m going to fit posting to TALK! AND watching my shows AND sleeping AND eating into my life all at once. Let’s keep our fingers crossed. I may have to reduce my posts down from daily to every other day…just so I won’t collapse.

    I know what you mean about not taking calls during shows. My family has had to get used to my brusk (sp?) attitude during the fall season when they call.

    I don’t have TiVo…but I do have this neat little gadget called a Video Cassette Recorder. It’s amazing. I put this bizarre rectangle-shaped box of film in the Recorder and push record while I watch my shows. That way…if someone calls…I can capture the images and sound for viewing at a later time. 😉

    About The Office this Thursday…I know how you feel.

    Must. see. what. happens. with. Jim. and. Pam.

    I’ve thought about it all summer…that says a LOT about the show and characters.

    Studio 60 was SO much better than I expected. I wasn’t going to watch until my btf (best television friend), Jon , told me it would be good. He’s wise in all things television and pop culture. I absolutely lurve him.

    I’m sure Gray will be annoyed at us…I think most people annoy him…but, surely, he appreciates our allegiance and total ass kissing. Right?

    I’ve practically made him a deity here on my site…and I’m constantly wiping brown stuff from my nose when I e-mail him…except when I tell him I hate him…then I really mean it. 😉

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Haha! Yeah, well Gray deserves the ass kissing. I literally was more jealous that you got to meet him in B’ham than that you got to see Taylor live. How weird is that? I think it’s b/c he brought us all together and he made Taylor more real to me than he ever would have been. He’s also the super-coolest honorary Monkbot member ever.

    Shelley- You have now replaced GC in my heart and if you slow down on your posts I will jump off the roof of Barbie’s dream house. I’m not kidding.

    Well, I might be okay as long as you let us continue to post way off-topic comments to the previous day’s post….and hang with us.

    You know, I have one of those vcr things. It’s combined with my dvd player. I always wondered what it was for! Gee, maybe I should read the instruction manual and try to figure out how to use it. That might push me past my gadget know-how limit though.

  9. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh- and quit bragging that you email Gray. Whatever hotshot.

  10. nolagirl Says:

    Wow Shelley, you’re really rockin it old schoo, aren’t you?? I can’t believe you have KNOBS on your TV – whooooooa.

    So, I am very late on the Grey’s Anatomy bandwagon. I saw a few episodes of season 2 and that was it. I was tired of every freaking person I knew talking about it, so I made it my mission to rent all of Season 1 AND 2 and watch them before this Thursday.

    I watched episode 4 of Season 2 last night, and am going to probably watch 3 more tonight. IT.IS.AWESOME. Why didn’t I watch it before??? What is wrong with me?? LOL

  11. nolagirl Says:

    I KNOW! I don’t know why I never watched it religiously! That is going to change though, you mark my words! 😉

    No, didn’t see the bomb episode yet, but do kinda now some things to expect b/c I either saw bits of it or I remember my co-workers talking about it.

  12. TALK! Says:

    I’ll try my best not to slow down the posts. To be truthful…I’m only 10 away from the 100 mark!

    I’m pretty stoked about it. 😉

    (Oh…I said I e-mailed Gray…I didn’t say he e-mailed me back very often…ha!)

    Okay…yeah, Gray does deserve some ass kissing. I think he knows that all my ribbing is just that…a joke. Honestly, he’s a smart guy. I’m sure he knows that I have the highest regard for him…I’ve just always liked to be a little bit of a pain in the butt with everyone. My dad calls me a “pot stirrer.” I just can’t help myself.

    NOLA…so glad you’re watching Grey’s Anatomy. Be ready for LOTS of McDreamy references come the fall (and I hope you’re watching “The Office” because I am totally in love with Jim Halpert…I’d leave Taylor him, actually).

    —-

    Okay…after all my boasting about my old school TV…I have a big announcement…

    I just watched Steve Jobs’ address on Apple’s website and I have made a decision.

    When Apple releases “iTV” in the first quarter of 2007…I’m buying it ($299) AND a brand…new…television.

    I must have this…so I can enjoy my iTunes catalog of downloaded music, movies, and tv shows from the comfort of my living.

    Okay, okay…so I can take my laptop in the living and watch stuff…but the “iTV” is really cool and seamless.

    That’s usually how I operate when it comes to buying new big ticket items…something has to spur me on. For instance…the addition of Garageband Software was the final breaking point for me to make the purchase of my iBook (best thing I ever bought…including my house).

    And, when the first “Spiderman” came out on DVD…I knew it was time to buy a DVD player.

    Now that Apple is giving us a way to download movies and view with family in friends in front of a decent sized screen in the living room…I’m all about getting hooked up.

  13. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Okay, Shelley. You are a walking contradiction. You own one tv WITH KNOBS…yet, you know how to use all of that computer-y stuff and you own things like iPods and iBooks (what’s an iBook?). I’m bewildered by your many sides. I wish I understood more about computer gadgets. You are so cool. I wanna be just like you when I grow up…’cept with more tvs.

    I just went to the Grey’s Anatomy site and read the writer’s reasoning behind why Meredith is so annoying. It makes me like her a little better.

  14. TALK! Says:

    okay…i only have the old t.v. and no cable to keep me from watching until my eyes bleed.

    all the other time i’m not watching t.v….i’m on the computer.

    i love technology.

    i’ll definitely have to check out the write-up about meredith.

    thanks for the heads up.

  15. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I recently found out that I have cable. I have been paying about $15 a month, for the last 2 years, for what I thought was just the main channels like NBC, CBS, etc. (My apt. complex has no reception so I had to do something!) One day, I tried to go to channel 11 and typed in 44…lo and behold…there was something on that channel. I kept checking other channels, and sure enough…I have cable…Not any movie channels, but TLC, E!, MTV, Discovery, Food Network, etc. It’s so awesome. I mean, it takes a special kind of stupid to never dial your remote above channel 13.

    P.S. Napolean Dynamite is one of my all time faves.

  16. double d Says:

    So, has anyone really SEEN Taylor since his meeting with Gray? Wonder if he’ll let him out to perform in Hershey tonight…prolly only if he sings DLMD — and if he does, you’ll now know why.

    Only 5 shows left, right?…..left, right. left, right, left…

  17. TALK! Says:

    DD…I’m sure he’s still in Gray’s closet. It will be the Monkbot performing tonight in Hershey…I’m sure.

    —-

    Official Prize of the Day goes to Bama for admitting to us all that it took her 2 years and an accidental click to discover she had cable. (She must be the most precise remote handler EVAR!)

    That is the funniest damn thing I’ve read in a while.

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hey! Tay’s laughing at me in that pic. He must think I’m pretty stupid too.

    You guys…Taylor’s way to smart to be outsmarted by the supersmart Gray. He sent his Monkbot to that interview…so Gray has the Monkbot in the closet. Gosh, Taylor’s so super, huh?

    Besides, I’ve seen him. Up close and personal if you know what I mean. Oh, wait, that was the guy from the Kroger parking lot.

  19. double d Says:

    That Taylor…crazy as a fox…

    Even though Gray is cooler than Watermelon Ice Cream on a hot Alabama day; Taylor is cooler than Little Richard’s patent leather “shoots” (shoe/boots).

    Woooooooo!

  20. TALK! Says:

    Bama…I picked that picture for that very reason…Taylor (and I) are totally ROTFL @ U! 😉

    I think you make be right about the Monkbot being in the closet.

    How could I ever doubt the cleverness of our little Taylor?

    DD…but is Taylor cooler than Little Richard’s big toe shooting up in his boot?

  21. nolagirl Says:

    Bama – That is CA-RAZY that you didn’t know you had cable! You must have stuck to a very disciplined routine of channel selecting to have never channel surfed past 13.

  22. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Taylor is cooler than frozen kittens during a Texas heat wave.

  23. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Y’all, my remote was programmed (before cable) through channel 13. So when I arrowed up and down it only went 2-13. Sometimes, I hate going up from channel 2 to 11, so I just type in 11. That day I missed the 1 button and hit 44. That is how I found out I had cable. I was never curious enough to type in channels past 13.

  24. TALK! Says:

    “Taylor is cooler than frozen kittens during a Texas heat wave.”

    …I’ve now peed my pants.

    thanks, bama

  25. double d Says:

    Wish there would have been a picture of Bama when she realized that she actually HAD cable! Joy? Shock? Anger?

    Boggles the mind…..

  26. double d Says:

    Ohhh, and Taylor is cooler than an ice cold Corona at a South Louisiana Crawfish boil. (with new potatoes, sausage, mushrooms and corn)

  27. bamaborntxbred Says:

    DD- Shock. Complete and utter shock. I just sat there stunned. Later when the shock wore off, I was overjoyed! It was like Christmas morn!

    Shell- Sorry. Maybe we should all invest in some Depends if we are gonna hang around here. I had to throw in kittens. Some days it’s just a necessary component!

  28. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Taylor is cooler than a cherry Slurpee from the 7-11 with Paco and Juan yelling obscene things in Spanish at the female passersby.

  29. nolagirl Says:

    DD – You forgot the cloves of garlic!! Mmmmm …. crawfish boils … beer ….. (I think I am in a trance now – thanks!)

  30. double d Says:

    Yes, he is cool, yet sweet too.

    Taylor is sweeter than white chocolate covered gumdrops toothpicked to one of those styrofoam Christmas tree thingys, at an old folks home.

  31. TALK! Says:

    DD…I prefer shrimp to crawfish…and you TOTALLY lost me on the sausage and mushrooms in the boil…um…that sounds a little gross.

    I’m a purist with my boil…shrimp, RED new potatoes and half ears of corn…and LOTS of crab boil.

    As for the sausage…it has to be BBQ’d on the grill (almost to the point of crispy charred)and served on Desporte’s pistolettes.

  32. TALK! Says:

    Y’all…we should all meet at my folks’ house in Biloxi one Saturday for a shrimp/crawfish boil!

    BAM!

  33. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ummm….Taylor is sweeter than those yellow sugar covered marshmallow Peeps you get at Easter.

  34. double d Says:

    Yes, he is. Sweeter than candy corn in maple syrup. (for us Fall lovers)

  35. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hey, I’ll come to the boil if we can have something non-crustacean served, such as sausage. Ground up weird pig parts…I’m good. Little bugs disquised as seafood…not so much. I used to be able to eat shrimp. I just can’t do it anymore.

  36. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Taylor is also s to the picy. He’s spicier than habenero sauce served over roasted jalapenos.

  37. double d Says:

    Shel- I’m all for a boil, but you gots to try the sausage and ‘rooms…I’m tellin’ ya…it’s awesome, but hot.

    Speaking of hot, Bama. Not only is Taylor cool and sweet, but of course, he’s hot….you got it…

    Taylor is hotter than Tabasco covered, fried jalepenos stuffed with Pepper Jack cheese.

  38. TALK! Says:

    Bama…I LOVE Peeps. I’m the only one in my family who’ll eat them.

    My brothers think I’m gross…but I’m like…”Hey! Y’all are the ones eating those disgusting orange marshmallowy Circus Peanuts and Cadbury Creme Eggs.”

    Am I the only disgusted by the inside of those Creme Eggs?

    I mean…GROSS!

    As for the boil…we would definitely have to have some sausage.

    Let me put some thought on it.

    I can’t just volunteer my folks house…but maybe we can come up with a plan! 😉

  39. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Haha DD- beat you to it! Yours Taylor sounds yummier than mine though!

  40. double d Says:

    Dang, girl…that’s scary. We were thinking the SAME thing. YIKES!!!

    However, I happen to KNOW that I have 148 Cable channels.

  41. TALK! Says:

    and a SHOOT.BLOW.HOLSTER. from DD!

    LOL

  42. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Come on! Volunteer their house, and then don’t even tell them! It’ll be like the best surprise ever! (Kidding)

    I looove Peeps. Except they are so cute I feel bad beheading them. I think those Circus Peanuts are the work of the devil. Gross! (I can handle a CCE if I don’t look at what I’m eating…yuck!)

  43. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Whatever DD! I happen to know that Taylor likes dumb blondes. Lucky 4 me.

    (Yeah, right!)

  44. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I’m off like a prom dress y’all.

    I need to prepare my mind for Dancing With Those People We’re Supposed To Know.

    Peace.

  45. TALK! Says:

    Bye, Bama.

    (A party without my folks’ knowing…I’m having visions of “Weird Science.”)

  46. suzi-q Says:

    Oh Honeys, y’all come on as soon as crayfish season begins again!!! We will always serve “shrump” (as my Biloxi Biology teacher called them) as well as the precious crawdaddies with red “new”potatoes and ears of corn. We would have to grill the sausages and like Shell said serve em up on Desportes bread!!!! About the cable buz, beat this, when Mr. Powers announced that should the cable bill go above $40.00 per month (for basic cable) he would not pay for it (that should tell you how long we’ve lacked cable), his reasoning is that if “I can’t own it I’m not paying for it each month”:) We see what we like, House and then that’s about it!! Oh how I miss my HGTV!!

  47. double d Says:

    Awww, suzi-q…you are sooo sweet. Not Taylor sweet, but sweet.

    Will we get to meet Coop Dawgy Dawg?

  48. nolagirl Says:

    I like Cadbury Creme Eggs. Wanna take it outside?

  49. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Seriously Nola. Why haven’t you watched it before now?? Have you seen the bomb episode yet?

    Okay, Meredith gets on my last nerve. That girl needs to pull herself together! I love Izzy with all my heart though…and George.

    Shell- Dying to know what happens with Jim and Pam. DYING TO KNOW. 3 more days. I think I can make it!

  50. TALK! Says:

    NOLA…no…you can take the eggs and go outside by yourself. ;P

  51. suzi-q Says:

    But if you’re at our house NOLA you would have to beat the bros off for they LOVE cadbury eggs. They don’t waste time biting them they put the whole thing in their mouth at one time Blech! Too sweet, too sweet!!!

  52. TALK! Says:

    Um…I just heard Lisa Rinna on ET say that Harry Hamlin is 54 years old…man, he looks good!

  53. Nirak Says:

    Shelley-
    You told me to post so here goes. I have lived in my house for 8 years and when I first purchased it and moved in, I didn’t hook up cable. Tried to save $$$$. Well I can afford it now and still haven’t gotten it. My friends, family, co-workers and clients ALL think I’m nuts. If I turn on the tube and there is nothing to watch, I just turn it off and read a book. God Lord my life is boring!!!

    By the way, I have 3 tv’s in my house. A 36in pic-n-pic Mitsubishi in the living room, a very old (1988) 13in color in the kitchen and a 13in color in the basement. I am a firm believer in NO TV IN THE BEDROOM!!!!
    There are only 2 things that should happen in the bedroom and watching tv ain’t one of them. I’m sure you fine ladies will figure out what 2 activities I am talking about!!hahahahaha

    Thanks for the invite Shelley!!

  54. TALK! Says:

    Great post Nirak…and yes…no TVs in the bedroom.

    I have chronic insominia and I know I’d NEVER get sleep if I had the TV in there (plus, my dog would be irritated with me…she already rolls her eyes at me working on my laptop in bed). Ha!

  55. nolagirl Says:

    Suzi Q – I will give it to you that eating a WHOLE Cadbury egg at once is GROSS!

    One of the things I am looking forward to most about moving back into the house from the trailer is being able to LAY IN BED AND WATCH TV. I mean, really, I have missed that so. I heart self-timers on TV and falling asleep to the TV on.

  56. TALK! Says:

    a self-timer on a television…that sounds most bizarre.

    my television doesn’t have either a knob or a dial for that feature.

    NOLA…are you living in the future?

  57. nolagirl Says:

    No, my dear, not the future. There’s a button you can push on the remote that sets the TV to TURN ITSELF OFF (everybody together now: “oooooh ahhhhhhh”) after a certain interval of time: 15 min., 30 min., 1 hr., etc. It is truly a magnificent invention!

    ——-

    In other news, my Grey’s Anatomy viewing extravaganza is going strong. Tonight I am going to watch the rest of Season 2 I think. I will be up late b/c I know the finale was like 2+ hours. And if I start watching it, I’m going to want to finish.

  58. TALK! Says:

    I’m so excited that you’re a Grey’s Anatomy convert…I’m proud of you for the marathon in preparation for Thursday…I think you’ll find it’s gonna be totally worth it!

    What’s a remote?

  59. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Nola- you need to prepare your heart and mind for the season finale. I’m still not over it. Why, God?! Why?!

    And can someone please make me feel better about George’s scary girlfriend. I don’t like her.

    I can’t wait for Friday when we can all talk about Grey’s and The Office!

  60. nolagirl Says:

    I know, I am excited too! I literally was emotionally invested in the characters after the first episode. I am preparing for the tears for the finale. I remember my co-workers coming in just still all tore up about it the next morning.

  61. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I was on the phone with my bff (she was at home watching) and I was crying so hard at one point I couldn’t breathe. I really need to remind myself: It’s not real. It’s just tv.

  62. TALK! Says:

    Bama’s right, NOLA…be ready for snot and drool and tears to gush forth.

    I cried so hard that, seriously, I got dehydrated.

    But….it…was…so…good.

    Um, Bama, I’m also with you about George’s girlfriend…hate…her.

  63. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Good. I’m glad I’m not the only one that doesn’t like scary black headed, giant eye-browed, beeotchy girl.

    (Izzie…sniffle…whimper…)

  64. nolagirl Says:

    Man, I’m kinda skeered now! It’s OK though, I am due up for a good cry anyway.

  65. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oooh…can’t wait to hear about the new co-worker. Hope she’s no Dianne.

    Nola- Don’t be skeered. We can all use a good cry now and then. And I generally choose to do that in the healthiest way possible: Cry for fictional characters instead of what is actually bothering me in real life. Join me won’t you?

  66. NOLAgirl Says:

    Shell – Just go ahead. Tell them. I can’t bring myself to do it. Too annoyed STILL.

    (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, I will feel even more robbed)

  67. TALK! Says:

    Y’all…poor NOLA…who’s been watching Grey’s Anatomy like a wild woman trying to make up for lost time…realized last night that she DIDN’T just three discs to watch to catch up on all that is Grey’s…she has 10.

    So, she won’t be fully up on everything by tonight.

    But, the trooper that she is, she will be watching the pre-show that should pretty much bring her up to snuff of the highlights.

    Wish her luck.

  68. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Awwww…Nola! I’m so sorry! And you could’ve actually watched the finale episode from Season 2 on tv last night! Well, no matter what…you still have to watch the rest when you get the chance. It’s must see!

  69. nolagirl Says:

    Yep, poor me.

    (It is really only 6 discs, Shell … but since my phone reception is so worthless, you probably didn’t hear that part last night)

    I plan on getting my co-worker to fill me in this afternoon. Hope she didn’t plan on working! 😉

  70. TALK! Says:

    Ha…that’s hilarious about the phone reception.

    I couldn’t hear half of what you said last night and TOTALLY guessed on the number of discs.

  71. nolagirl Says:

    Yep, that’s what I figured!

    I HATE CINGULAR.

    (but what’s weird, is my mom is also on Cingular, and her reception is fine in/around the house – craziness)

  72. TALK! Says:

    I JUST switched from T-Mobile to Cingular.

    Cingular sux.

  73. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I have Cingular too…It used to be AT&T and it rocked. Now it totally sucks. I’ll lose reception in the middle of downtown Dallas…and then I’ll lose reception in my living room. Wassup wit dat?

    I was thinking of switching to T-Mobile. Do you suggest it?

  74. TALK! Says:

    Let me put it this way…I’m getting almost the exact same plan through T-Mobile that I got through Cingular…

    FOR $60 LESS PER MONTH!

    Hell, yeah, I suggest it!

    (Plus, if you get mobile-to-mobile…we can finally talk…and FOR FREE!)

  75. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Holy cow! What kind of plan are you on? A million minutes a month? $60 less? That’s crazy talk!

    I’m gonna go on Saturday and see what’s available. I’m so sick of Cingular! I don’t have a home phone, I use my cell for everything so I have free long distance, and my anytime minutes are unlimited…so it’s a good deal. I hope I can get one that’s similar!

    I like FREE!

  76. TALK! Says:

    I have like 1,000 (with free nights and weekends) for $49.99. Then I pay another $6.99 for mobile to mobile.

    Cingular had me on 1,350 minutes for $89.99.

    Now the math looks screwy…but I promise you that it came out to about $60 less per month.

    Or maybe it was $40 less…who knows…obviously, I don’t.

  77. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well, they do all kinds of crazy taxes and stuff and maybe you went over your minutes on Cingular if you didn’t have free nights and weekends.

    I believe you. I’m no math wizard. You could tell me that 89.99 minus 49.99 minus 6.99 equals 60.00 and I’ll buy it!

  78. TALK! Says:

    Maybe I should get a job in sales…if I’m that convincing. ;P

  79. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well, you’d have to sell to a room full of idiots if you’re basing it on my ability to understand math.

Comments are closed.