Let’s Take a Moment of Silence…My iPod Mini Has Gone to the Big Apple in the Sky

by

If you listen carefully, you can probably make out the faint sound of “Taps” floating on a distant breeze.

And if you listen just a bit harder…I’m sure you can actually hear my heart breaking.

My little green iPod mini finally bit the dust today (on my morning walk nonetheless).

Actually, it’s the battery.

I could send it off and have the battery replaced for $50 to $70…or I could just order a new video iPod and iPod shuffle.

I had a big decision to make. What to do?

What to do…

I got them both engraved and paid an extra $12 to expedite shipping.

I may be broke…but I refuse to be broken-hearted.

27 Responses to “Let’s Take a Moment of Silence…My iPod Mini Has Gone to the Big Apple in the Sky”

  1. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh Shelley! You just got me in trouble! My co-workers and “Big, Big Boss” were in here just shootin’ the breeze…and I was reading this and busted out laughing so loud. My BBB looked at what I was doing and he didn’t really say anything…just gave me a “look”. I mean, I’m not really in trouble…point is, you are a dangerous read when the BBB is in the room…That was hilarious!

    Oh, and I’m very sorry for your loss. Are you setting up at charity in your iPod’s name? Where are the services to be held?

    Also, congratulations on the new additions to your household.

    (This smacks of something going on in the tabloids right now…what is that?)

  2. double d Says:

    Yes, but you can rationalize this expenditure because you don’t pay $1500 in cable bills a year…

    Congratulations on your fine purchase. I lerve my video iPod. There are many NICE vids out there…

    So, what color did you get?

  3. TALK! Says:

    I got a black one.

    I’m gonna be too cool for school.

    Now I can download “The Office” and carry a little bit of Jim Halpert in my pocket with me whereever I go.

    Bama…what in the tabloids? What? WHAT AM I MISSING?

  4. TALK! Says:

    Bama…sorry for getting you in trouble…blushes.

  5. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hey, it’s not really you getting me in trouble…it’s me getting me in trouble. I just like to deflect the blame.

    (I was referring to Anna Nicole but I felt bad saying it out loud. I know, bad joke…poor taste.)

  6. TALK! Says:

    I know about her son dying…but I don’t know details.

    Sorry.

  7. double d Says:

    …..Shelley is now sooooo cool. She’s cooler than icicles on the tip of old man winter’s nose.

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Okay the joke was this:

    #1. Anna Nicole sold the pics of her son that were taken the night before he died. The ones in the hosp. where he met his baby sister for the first time. She said a “portion” of the proceeds was going to a charity she was setting up in his name. So, that’s why I referenced your iPod having a charity.

    #2. You bought a new video iPod, hence the correlation to Anna having a new baby.

    Like I said, bad joke, poor taste…made even worse now by having to explain it b/c apparently I’ve lost my comic edge and I’m going to have to give up my dream of being a super famous stand-up comedienne that one day gets her own talk show.

  9. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I guess DD can have my talk show.

  10. TALK! Says:

    It’s not you, Bama.

    Seriously…I didn’t click on but one story about Anna Nicole’s son and newborn.

    I had NO idea about the “charity photos.”

    Yikes.

  11. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Okay, I guess I won’t give up on my dreams then. Sorry DD, you’ll have to give that talk show back now. You can be a guest sometime. How’s that?

    The pics thing just came out yesterday. They were reporting that they were sold to Us mag by someone but nobody knew by whom (grammer?) ’til now. They suspected nurses or her lawyer.

  12. Shrewspeaks aka back on line tonight! Says:

    OMG!!!!! I can’t even imagine.

    My saying is…iPod, don’t leave home without it.

  13. TALK! Says:

    Shrew…I know.

    I feel positively nekkid right now without my TUNES!

    Hey, Bama…if you decide to do a “TALK!” show…I’ll post links to your podcast. πŸ˜€

  14. double d Says:

    I like the guest thing better, anyway. Hey, can I be on the same day as Taylor? Maybe a duet, like The Night Time is the Right Time? Or I could just sit there and stare at him…..

    As for the other thing, I cannot even utter her name…YUCK!

  15. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Cool! I’d be super famous in no time with your fan base!

    And then, I’d have Taylor on so I could interview him…

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Haha! Me and DD are always on the same wavelength!

  17. TALK! Says:

    I know…then you could do the lecture circuit…and with my fan base…fill a stadium that seats…24!

    Ha.

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hey, that’s a bigger fanbase than mine. I have two fans, Jasper and Magoo. They are really short and hairy…and some say they have bad breath…but I can’t tell. They pretty much adore me.

  19. double d Says:

    But the culmulative brain power of that 24 surpasses a whole AI concert hall full.

    Can we have Little Richard on that day too, Bama? I want to see if I can make “his toe shoot up in his boot.”

  20. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Of course we can have Little Richard on the same day as Taylor. I’ll need somebody entertaining you 24 while Taylor and I get to know each other a little better in the dressing room…if you know what I mean.

  21. nolagirl Says:

    On the WALK??? Noooo, not the WALK!!!!

    Shelley, what did you do??? Crumble in a pile of weepiness on the sidewalk, making Camo Man nearly trip over you and break a hip?

    I hope not.

    But now that you have a new baby coming, I guess that green Mini was *SO* last year anyway, right?!

  22. TALK! Says:

    NOLA…I kid you not…not only did I crumble…I actually considered NOT finishing my walk!

    But…you’ll be happy to know that I perservered. πŸ™‚

    (It helped that I made Camo man hum “Soul Thing” for me everytime I passed him.)

  23. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Ummm…Talk show? What the hey? My modem is dead two short days and BAM! (get it) we now have a Talk! show!!!! Excellent…sign me up…I was a stage manager in a former life!

  24. NOLAgirl Says:

    Shelley, are you serious? If you really had that breakthrough with Camo Man, I would be giddy.

  25. TALK! Says:

    I’m kidding…he kinda skeers me.

    Shrew…since you’re our resident Dick Cavett fan…I think you need to brainstorm with Bama over ideas. πŸ˜‰

  26. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Nice…I have Cavett on DVD rock icons, Lennon and comic greats interviews..the key low budget and real…dinner conversation. Pithy wit (which we all have…in spades) and you couldn’t get a realer bunch…so let’s do it!

  27. Quossum Says:

    Talk about planned obsolescence! LOL

    –Q

Comments are closed.


