Three. Amazing. Moments…"The Office" and "Grey’s Anatomy"

by

officegrey.jpg

There were three amazing moments on television tonight…three amazing moments out of 30 okay moments and 60 wonderful moments.

I just finished watching the season premiers of the two shows I’ve most anticipated this entire summer….”The Office” and “Grey’s Anatomy.”

Moment One: The Office – Michael Kisses Oscar

Who wasn’t anticipating what would happen on “The Office”?

Jim and Pam. Dwight and Angela. Michael and Oscar…well, wait, I’ll get to that.

First, the show started with Ryan sitting at Jim’s desk. Ryan had been promoted, and Jim had been promoted and transferred. Already I was unhappy.

We see Jim sitting in the Stepford office of paper companies…obviously out of place. (On a sidenote…John Krasinski has managed to elevate his hotness to “Off The Charts Crazy Hot”…which is pretty good, I think.)

As we make our way through the scenes, we learn that Pam called off the wedding from Roy…but she also gave Jim the brush off after he kissed her. Wha? Huh? This was a cheap shot from the writers. I really expected more from them.

Plus, the interview with Roy (who is ALSO looking very hot…well, except for his mug shot) was totally unnecessary and overly sentimental. “I gotta win her back,” he says, tearing up. I don’t buy it. He never really gave a crap about her in the first place. Please tell me I’m not alone here, folks.

The rest of the show focused on Michael having made a very inappropriate remark…I believe the term he used was “faggy.” Toby has to explain to Michael that the remark was very offensive to Oscar, who is, in fact, gay.

Again, I don’t buy it. Why would Toby tell Michael something so private? Toby clearly knows and has witnessed firsthand how horrible Michael is at keeping secrets (remember the episode where Michael spilled the beans on Jim’s crush for Pam and the episode where Toby releases to Michael the complaint reports?). I don’t get why Toby had to tell Michael that Oscar was gay…other than for the sake of the running joke on the show.

However…if you move past the faulty logic and get to the part of the show where Michael wants to prove he accepts Oscar by KISSING Oscar…then all can be forgiven for the poor set up.

Michael kissing Oscar had me SCREAMING out loud and crying with laughter. It was so horribly wrong and awkward and irreverent and stupid that I deemed it one of the best moments of the night.

I briefly considered adding to my list of “moments” the ending clip of the show where Jim sends Dwight a “Gaydar” and Dwight finds that his crotch sets it off…but, instead, I’m giving it an honorable mention.

Moment Two: Grey’s Anatomy – McDreamy Chuckling with Meredith

Okay, where “The Office” left me a little cold…I have to say I was warmed right up by the season opener of “Grey’s Anatomy.”

Apparently the writers felt like we didn’t cry enough when Denny died at the end of last season, because, as I watched the show tonight, I found myself crying throughout the entire episode.

The show opens with Izzie, the side of her face flat to the bathroom floor…still in her prom dress…and in shambles over the death of her love. All her pals trying to talk to her and help her…but they don’t really know how.

The entire show catches us up on each character through a series of flashbacks (except Burke…who didn’t show up in the present until the very end). We see how all the characters met the night before the day their stories started two seasons ago. I liked this…it gave us some insights into their expectations then and how they have changed over the last two years.

One of these flashbacks that I thought was fantastic was the night McDreamy and Addison broke up (he had found her in bed with his best friend). It was a powerful scene…and would have been among my top moments, but Kate Walsh (Addison) tended to over-act a little. Patrick Dempsey, however, was amazing.

Fortunately, Dempsey was great through the entire episode and I was able to award him with my “Moment Two” spot of the evening. The scene was another flashback…this time to the night when Meredith met McDreamy in the bar. Their conversation was so natural and affable that I immediately started rooting for the two of them to get together. And the crescendo of the scene…when the two of them chuckled at McDreamy “hiding his pain”…was so tender and subtle and well done that I just sat and smiled.

Moment Three: Grey’s Anatomy – Cristina’s Breakdown with Burke

Like “The Office,” there were moments in “Grey’s Anatomy” that I didn’t enjoy.

I really had no clue why Callie (George’s girlfriend) was even still on the show. I don’t like her, and I don’t buy that she and George are an item.

I really like George and want something better for him than Callie, who’s a mixed-up mess. I don’t think the writers have any idea about what her role is. They had her show up at Meredith’s while George was in quarantine (bizarre). They had her bring food and cook for Izzie (who doesn’t even like her) and then flirt with Finn while drinking wine…all the while saying how she wanted George to show up so he’d see her there. And THEN, when he did show up, she flung her arms around him and said she was so worried and “really loved him.”

I totally didn’t buy it. How are you worried about your boyfriend having the plague one minute…cooking chicken in a house you’re not that welcomed in the next…drinking wine and giggling with Chris O’Donnell the next…and then professing your love for your boyfriend who blew you off the last time you said it? The woman is manic. Get the boot and kick her off the show.

I’d rather see George with Bailey than with this nut.

And speaking of Bailey…what was with her crying with that man through the door? Why couldn’t she put on one of those Hazmat suits…or have the guy wearing the suit go in there to help the patient?

LAME!

But all was well by the end of the show because Cristina brought me “Moment Three.”

After really not having much of a part in the story lines tonight…Cristina and Burke still managed to shine. Cristina’s breakdown into tears as she fell into Burke’s arms was brilliantly done by Sandra Oh. But the topper was when she ordered him…as only Cristina can…”Don’t die.”

Again, I cried.

41 Responses to “Three. Amazing. Moments…"The Office" and "Grey’s Anatomy"”

  1. bamaborntxbred Says:

    First, I must offer my eternal gratitude for having this post up so soon after these shows.

    Second, because I cherish these shows and want to honor them, I will have to post 3 comments. One for each moment.

    So, for Moment One:

    That moment will be forever emblazoned on my mind. I was laughing so hard I couldn’t catch my breath. It was by far the most uncomfortable tv moment ever…which I love!

    I agree about being a little disappointed with the Jim/Pam affair and how it was treated last night, however, I feel that the writers might not want to play all their cards at once. Obviously Pam is still thinking about Jim and Jim (who, I’m sure can’t believe it himself) is missing the Scranton branch as well as Pam.

    I was surprised with how hot Roy was. The writers, I’m sure, are trying to warm us up b/c they are going to have him try to win Pam back. And, truthfully, I have known men that do a 180 when they get dumped…however, once they’ve won their prize…they usually revert back to their old ways. So I think that’s pretty realistic.

    The thing with Toby telling Michael about Oscar…

    I was just about to say something to my friend about why on earth would Toby tell Michael that…when Toby said, “Oscar hopes that you will use your discretion with this information.” (Or something to that effect) And I was like, “Ohhhhh!” That makes sense. Although, Oscar is an idiot for thinking Michael wouldn’t out him.

    All in all, if I let go of the Jim/Pam thing (I was really happy to at least get to see the beautiful, luscious John K.), I thought the gay outing was hysterical. HYSTERICAL!

    I will be back a little later for Moment Two.

  2. TALK! Says:

    Bama…I love, love, love your assessment. I think you really added some clarity about the Toby/Michael/Oscar thing. Thanks.

    I also am glad you wrote what you wrote about the writers not wanting to play all their cards at once about Jim and Pam. I hadn’t thought about that.

  3. nolagirl Says:

    Yeah, something is definitely up with Bailey. Is it all stemming with some sort of guilt over Denny’s death (how sad was it when she had to ID the body?) and is there something we don’t know yet that would be making her have so much guilt?

    I liked the flashbacks too – of course the moment in the bar was so great. But I liked seeing Cristina trying to suck up to “ladies man” Burke, and Meredith ignoring George from the get-go, and Izzie trying to be all ballsy to Alex about being a surgeon. Oh, and if the writers are trying to elicit sympathy for Addison, it almost worked – I kinda felt bad for her when Derek just threw her out in the rain like that!

    Oh, and the black panties – no one has brought up the black panties!! LOL Awesome.

  4. double d Says:

    Sorry, but Shrew and I were watching Celebrity Duets…

    Cheech is going home, me thinks.

    But Chaka Khan AND Patti LaBelle, that’s right Patti LaBelle were awesome.

  5. TALK! Says:

    Hey NOLA…I think Bailey is definitely feeling guilty over Denny’s death…and not stepping in. I felt bad for her, but I thought the direction was poor on how that train of thought was executed.

    Cristina and Burke in the flashback was pretty funny.

    About feeling sorry for Addison…I didn’t. I know…I’m cold-hearted, but Derek truly seemed wrecked…and I felt for HIM. (Plus, I refuse to feel bad for a woman who looks so great with wet hair and only wearing a CBGB T-shirt.)

    The black panties? That was great.

  6. TALK! Says:

    DD…did Shrew get her cable modem fixed?

  7. TALK! Says:

    Great write-ups from Entertainment Weekly about “Office” and “Grey’s.”

  8. Staci Says:

    Okay, I have to chime in on Grey’s, which is my favorite show on TV. That fact bothers me, especially the fact that I find myself rooting for a marriage to fail (the Shepards’ of course).

    That said, I must take up for Callie. First of all, she cannot leave the show. She’s REAL. She’s been hurt. She’s wary around George’s friend (he DID sleep with Meredith and still holds a torch for her, methinks). If I were her, I’d be wierd around them too. But, at the end of the day, the girls are his roommates and buddies, and if she really wants to be with him, she must make an effort to be with the girls as well…

    And if you’re going to be bothered by her drinking wine and flirting with Finn…get over yourself. Any red-blooded woman would do the same in the same situation! He’s HOT!!!

  9. TALK! Says:

    Staci…Staci…Staci…where do I begin, my dear friend?

    1. Derek’s marriage failed when his wife slept with this best friend…not because of Meredith.

    2. Callie will never be accepted by me…I refuse. I think if I were totally distraught over my boyfriend who had been quarantined…I’d take my happy butt to the hospital to check on him before starting dinner.

    3. Okay…you’re right about Chris O’Donnell…he is hot.

    😉

  10. bamaoorntxbred Says:

    DD! Blasphemer! How could you sully this blessed post about The Office and Grey’s Anatomy with talk of The Show That Shall Not Be Named!

    Shell- I’m glad I could help illuminate you! 🙂

    Moment Two:

    Okay, Derek and Meredith in the bar. I really like their chemistry together. But can you explain to me why Meredith would plop down at a bar and say, “Tequila. Straight up. And keep ’em coming ’cause I start my new job tomorrow.” Who does that? Who gets wasted the night before they start their new job?

    Here’s my take on the McDreamy/Addison/Meredith thing. McD fell in love with M a long time ago but wasn’t really aware of it. When A came back, he had a rush of feelings for her, like anyone would for someone they used to love. He also felt a sense of duty to try and work things out. Over time, he became more interested in M and less interested in A until it cumulated in his realization that he was in love with M and it was no longer going to work with A. Which, considering that A cheated on him (although, in a sense, I can see from her perspective too) I don’t blame him for not being able to work it out…and I applaud him for trying. HOWEVER, I think it was extremely tacky, and knocked my respect for McD down more than a few notches, that he and M had sex while their signifigant others were downstairs…and before McD finished things with his wife.

    Phew! That was a lot to say!

    Izzie. My dear, sweet Izzie. I would lay on the bathroom floor with her for weeks if she needed me to.

  11. TALK! Says:

    Bama…I thought the same thing about Meredith and tequila. I was like…huh?

    Your take on McD/A/M is spot on!

    Oh…and I lurve Izzy.

    I feel I’ve abandoned Shrew and DD because I didn’t even THINK about “Celebrity Duets” last night. I mean…it didn’t even cross my mind one, single time.

    Sidenote: My feet stink today. Gross.

  12. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Haha! Shelley that reminds me of your Taylor comment from yesterday. Y’all have matching footsies!

  13. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Moment Three:

    Callie scares the living daylights out of me. She’s so overwhelming. Her hair, her make-up, her voice. Everything. When George walked in and she came running around the corner she looked like a linebacker. I was screaming, “Run! George! Run!” I was scared for him. And then she grabs him and devours his whole head with one kiss. Poor George. And, he obviously doesn’t really have feelings for her…I mean, “I might love her. Soonish.” Huh? And then McD’s big advice is to go ahead and tell her he loves her b/c life is short! My advice would be dump her b/c life is short. That way she can find someone who loves her…and George can find someone he loves. Duh!

    Bailey is feeling guilty b/c she knew what Izzie and co. were up to but didn’t stop them. She’s also mad at Izzie b/c she prolly feels like she is mostly to blame b/c she begged Denny to go thru w/the plan for the heart transplant.

    I thought the whole scene at the door was ridiculous and over-acted by both of them.

    Cristina and Burke. I love them together. I love that her guard has come down enough that she can crawl up next to him and cry and order him never to die.

  14. TALK! Says:

    Bama said “When George walked in and she came running around the corner she looked like a linebacker. I was screaming, “Run! George! Run!” I was scared for him. And then she grabs him and devours his whole head with one kiss.”

    Official Prize of the Day goes to Bama.

    (Again, DD, thanks for the pic.)

  15. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Mmmmmm….he could devour my whole body with one kiss.

  16. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Yes! Shrew is back in action!!!! Whooooooooo!!!

    I didn’t watch Gray’s…confession I have tried to like it, but now that is opposite e.r. I can’t…I promised myself I would follow e.r. to the bitter end (ala Will and Grace).

    BUT thank the electronic gods…I TiVo’d the office. I took a much different stand on the whole thing…The focus on the gay witch hunt with such an irreverant slant was exceedingly daring and I applaude the writers and NBC for going as far as they did!

    Now the Pam Jim thing…Yeah I wanted them to be together…but that storyline feels very honest to me. I think I would have been more disapointed if they were together in a fairytale kinda way. This feels more real and is a truer exploration of Jim’s character…we are getting to see that he will choose the misfits and his reasons why. This is much better than the BBC version where Tim’s return to his job at the office just feels like he failed at leaving.

    And BONUS single ladies…technically Jim is still single!

  17. TALK! Says:

    I hear ya, girl.

    I hear ya.

  18. TALK! Says:

    Yeah! Shrew is BACK!!!!

    SWEET.

    I think you and Bama are right about the Jim and Pam thing. I guess I just wanted the moon, ya know?

    I think it would have been a total mistake to give us the fairytale.

    You know…it’s gonna be pretty yummy to see Pam pining for Jim’s return.

    I still think the writers need to do a triangle where Roy and Angela hook up. I think it would make Pam go crazy and Dwight…geesh, the possibilities THERE!

    Remember, Angela said to Phyllis that she would choose Roy over Jim…I think that could be a great story line. Roy doesn’t even have to really like her…just think she’s hot.

    So…do y’all think I’m nut for that?

  19. TALK! Says:

    OH…and did anyone think it was odd or funny that Jim seemed to miss the Dwight and Michael shenanigans as much (or more) than he missed Pam?

  20. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I think that would be a very funny twist…I just don’t see how they would work it into the story. It would highlight the tension between Pam and Angela too. There’s that weird bitchiness between them.

    Poor Phyllis when Michael was calling that meeting and said everybody was to come in, “Gay people, straight people, lesbians (to Angela haha)” and then he looked at Phyllis and said, “and fat people”. Awww…

    Oh, and what was up with whatsername…red head…EATING the hand sanitizer! GROSS!

  21. double d Says:

    I feel like y’all are speaking Italian….and I’m French.

    Yes, Shrew’s modem is working again, so we got our Little Richard fix and he was in form last night…”You make me scream like a White Woman.”

    Shelley, I could take this conversation way down on the whole feet aroma thing, but I will exercise some “soul control”.

    Trivia Tidbit: Ray Charles would have been 76 tomorrow….Love those Libras!

  22. TALK! Says:

    I’m sorry, DD…I can’t help it. 😦

    Bama…I nearly gagged when Meredith ate the Purell.

  23. nolagirl Says:

    I got my dirty little hands on spoilers for the next Grey’s episode.

    Just sayin’ …

  24. TALK! Says:

    Can you link us to them for those who (like me) read the last page of the book before finishing the story?

  25. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Meredith’s Purell lick I think was a reference to her addiction to alcohol.

    Yes…DD and I had our helping of “WHOOOOOhoooooo, Judge Beauty” Aka LR

    PS, Shelley…Hal sang with…Dee Sneider of Twisted Sister…ummm not great

  26. nolagirl Says:

    Too lazy to track to original source, but I read it on a pal’s MySpace blog. Here’s the link.
    http://tinyurl.com/qyuge

  27. TALK! Says:

    Yes…totally got that Meredith was tippin’ back the Purell. 😉

    I HATE that I missed Dee Sneider.

    NOLA…thanks for link.

  28. Staci Says:

    Re “spoiler link” —

    mmm… McSteamy is as hot and McD and McVet, so I look forward to next week… but knowing that Addison runs to him as soon as Derek leaves her for Meredith… ??? Do we REALLY feel sorry for Addison??? Is she bothered or is she resigned? Make me like her.

  29. TALK! Says:

    can’t help you, stace.

    any woman who gets not one hot guy…but two…don’t need my approval or appreciation.

    😉

  30. nolagirl Says:

    Ok, ok, I only said I KINDA felt bad for Addison. That doesn’t mean I like her. I of course felt much worse for poor Derek’s widdle bweaking heart in that “get out of my house you cheating bitch” scene.

    Plus, she’s totally a fake redhead. Pffft …

    🙂

    P.S. McSteamy reminds me of my high school obsession, one of my brother’s friends, QB of the football team. His name was/is Lance. When he dated an actual Playboy bunny once he hit college, I knew there was no hope for me. Anyway, I think it’s McSteamy’s eyes and chiseled face. Mmmm, mmm….

  31. TALK! Says:

    I can’t tell you the contempt I have for all Playboy Bunnies.

  32. bamaborntxbred Says:

    As long as you don’t have contempt for Squishy Muffin Bunnies!

    I like Addison. I don’t think McD is any better than she is in the morality department. She was truly remorseful and wanted to work things out. She’s smart and she’s an MFM doc. That’s really cool too. And, and, and…she always has her hair fixed and all her make-up on unlike some scrawny little drowned rats that have to cry and whine for 6 straight months b/c their boyfriend decided to work it out with his wife.

  33. TALK! Says:

    ROFL @ Bama.

    Okay…I’ll agree that Meredith always looks a little wan.

    But I refuse to like Addison.

    However…no Playboy Bunny could remotely come close to reaching the echelon of greatness that is the Deparment of Squishy Muffin Bunnies!

  34. bamaborntxbred Says:

    You don’t have to like Addison. I’ll just hang out with her and we can talk bad about you behind your back. 😉

  35. TALK! Says:

    I’d expect nothing less from y’all.

  36. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well, that’s what insecure people do…they run other people down to feel better about their crappy little lives.

    I’m so itchin’ to get out of work…but I don’t want to do what I have “planned” for tonight either. I just wanna chill.

  37. TALK! Says:

    what cha got “planned” for tonight?

    spill.

  38. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh, my friend wants me to go with her to some stupid bar to meet some stupid guys for some stupid drinks. I really don’t want to b/c I know one of the stupid guys and I really dislike him. Also, the stupid bar is where my ex (who dumped me, not once, but twice) used to be a regular…and although it’s been a long time…I have this fear and dread that he might be there. And I just don’t feel fabulous enough to face him if he is!

  39. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I gotta roll.

    If I see the dreaded ex I’ll let you know. I’m sure I won’t…but you never know. I mean, he was enough of a loser to be a regular at a bar in the first place…why not still be a loser hanging out in the same bar?

  40. TALK! Says:

    Well, dahling…go and be FABULOUS!

    Try to have fun…and be ready to share all the gory details later. 😉

    (Remember…you’re a Fembot…you are fierce!)

  41. NOLAgirl Says:

    Ooh, can’t wait to hear about your night out on the town, Bama! As you can see, I have had a slammin night of babysitting my niece, a visit to Target and laundry. Awesome. 😉

Comments are closed.


