A New Day…A New Look…Viva le Monkbot!

by

monkbot.jpg

Well…here it is, folks…the Monkbot logo we’ve been waiting so long to get.

I have to give a GINORMOUS thank you to my extremely talented brother, Ben, for totally and thoroughly kicking complete ass on the logo.

Ben…you aren’t as much of a punk as I tell you you are…well…almost. (Seriously, buddy, thanks. I love you, and I friggin’ LOVE the logo.)

I’ve received a request from Gray for a Monkbot Manifesto…I promise, it’s coming.

I will get it up and posted on the sidebar this week. Until then…for you newbies…visit this particular post and sludge through the comments to see how combined weirdo brain power (and total slacking during a workday) devised the concept of the Monkbot.

Finally, there will be T-shirts available later this week (wait ’til you see the Monkbot in red!). Again…I’m making no profit on these Ts…they are simply available for the fun of it (though I’d LOVE for you to wear it and pitch the site when asked about the freaky monkey/robot/thingy).

Viva le Monkbot!

66 Responses to “A New Day…A New Look…Viva le Monkbot!”

  1. double d Says:

    OH. MY. GAWD.

    Love it, love it, love it.

    VIVA LA BEN!!! You have some KEWL bros.

    Can’t wait for the Monkbot Manifesto! And, I’ve got the “other” shirt at the ready for a possible sighting on Saturday. Now the label will read:

    “Visit the Monkbot – talkweblog.blospot.com”

    heh.

    Off the face the day with a smile that no-one knows about but me.

    Later, my pretties.

  2. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I just wrote something about the new logo on the other comment section but lemme just say it again:

    I LOVE IT AND I WANT TO MARRY IT AND HAVE TINY MONKBOT LOGO BABIES!

    I mean that about the logo or the actual Monkbot himself. Can a person marry a logo?

    I’m going to buy t-shirts as soon as they’re ready!

    I just re-read the birth of the Monkbot again, and we only mentioned him like two or three times in that comment section, so it must have just taken hold and spread like wildfire over the following days. I guess some things are meant to be, and beyond our control!

    Vive le Monkbot!
    Vive le Ben!

  3. shelley Says:

    It really did. When I write the Manifesto, I’ll be research all Monkbot references and putting labels on those posts so folks can see the evolution.

    Hey…when y’all go to the home page…is the sidebar at the top of the page or is it at bottom?

    I’m having some html issues this morning. Ugh.

    Let me know how your browers are reading it, please.

    thanks.

  4. shelley Says:

    By the way…y’all don’t know how absolutely tickled pink happy it makes me that you like the logo.

    When Ben sent it last night…I cracked up and started yelling.

    I told him I thought it was absolutely perfect.

    I can’t wait to get the T-shirts and Manifesto up. 🙂

  5. shelley Says:

    glad you like it, NOLA.

    the freaky aspect is what i love best. 😉 Ha!

  6. Gray Charleshttp://www.graycharles.com/ Says:

    Attack of the 50 ft NeoCon FemBot

    http://www.internetweekly.org/images/attack_coulter_neocon.jpg

  7. shelley Says:

    Ha. Nice.

  8. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Look at the purty logo! LOVE it!

    Cheers to Ben for his excellent work! The striped detailing on the little guys pants is truly magnificent. So hip, so irreverant, so funny, so MonkBot!

    Mental note to self…check ebay for cymbol monkey doll to modify as Christmas pressie for Shelley.

  9. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Like the pic Gray…purty funny…just like Ann Coulter herself.

  10. double d Says:

    Shrew – I actually had one of cymbal-clapping monkeys in high school…don’t ask, long story. When I saw the logo this morning, I actually spit coffee all over my laptop screen.

    Poor Ann…she’s just a woman with an opinion…give her a little break. She LOVES Taylor.

  11. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I love Ann…I think she’s hysterical! Aren’t we all just women with opinions? I know y’all have heard mine (Ahem! Justin Timberlake/Alligator murderers).

    I want a cymbal clapping monkey! Talk about hours of amusement!

  12. shelley Says:

    Bama said, “Aren’t we all just women with opinions?”

    Ummm…Gray? Is there something you’re not telling us?

    😉

    I agree, though, Bama…everyone’s entitled to their opinion.

    Without diversity…things sure would get boring!

  13. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Gray doesn’t ever give his opinion over here. He just drops in with a question or a witty retort. He saves his opinions for his own blog. (Not that there is anything wrong with that!)

    I hereby formally apologize to all the menfolk that opine in these hallowed comment halls. I did not mean to be such a sexist Cavebot. Bad Bama!

    Me like diversity, me hate boring.

  14. shelley Says:

    LOL @ Bama!

    I know what you mean about Gray.

    I’m THRILLED he’s here…but I’d love to get his take more things Monkbot.

    Me like diversity, too.

    Me like Taylor wearing jeans.

    Me like Taylor wearing t-shirts.

    Me like Taylor wearing a kilt…

    etc.

  15. shelley Says:

    wait…now i’m being sexist…right?

    soooo….me like taylor wearing a dress.

    (that just seems wrong)

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Haha! To the dress. I guess it depends on what kind of dress you are talking about. I mean, an old flowery mumu type? Nah. But a jersey knit, halter style…in, let’s say aqua blue. Now, that might be okay!

    Kidding!

    Me like Taylor wearing purple velvet jackets.

    Me like Taylor wearing snakeskin boots.

    Me like Taylor in shiney blue suits.

  17. shelley Says:

    wait a minute, Bama…how can we celebrate diversity and NOT be inclusive of mumus.

    (um…just kidding)

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Mumus are okay…just in and on limited people/places…like my mom…in her living room.

    🙂

    Now I want a pic of our Monkbot in a mumu. I’m never satisfied am I?

  19. shelley Says:

    I’ll work on it.

    What color?

    Purple velvet?

    Shiney blue?

  20. nolagirl Says:

    That’s how you spell mumu? Man, you learn something new every day!

    I am happy to report that neither my mom nor my grandmother have ever worn a mumu, so I guess I will also head in that direction. Whew!

  21. Holeigh Says:

    Hahaha, these comments are cracking me up.

    I am torn between extreme love and an extremely creeped out feeling for the Monkbot, haha. He’s perfect but he freaks me out in the way the bunny in Donnie Darko freaks me out…
    http://quanta.cementhorizon.com/donnie2.jpg

  22. shelley Says:

    okay…i looked it up.

    it’s “muumuu”

    oh…and I gotta see “Donnie Darko”

    i hear it’s great.

  23. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Great Nola. Thanks for pointing out that I can’t spell AND that I’m destined form muumuu wearing dorkiness. Preeshiate you! 😉

    Holeigh- The Monkbot logo is a little scary…but I think he needs it to portray his tough side. After all, nobody can mess with a Monkbot.

  24. shelley Says:

    Exactly, Bama.

    Plus…I think we can all admit to Taylor being a bit of a freak.

    Right?

    (I know we all are.)

  25. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Right-ee-o Shelley my friend!

    Girrrl, you know I can gets my freak on.

    Actually, I’m probably more dork than freak. I’d hazard to guess that there is a smidge of dork in Taylor too. (Did I just hear the gasp that went round the world?)

    I left you a little message on Gray’s.

  26. Holeigh Says:

    Hahaha, too true, Bama! (On both the freak and dork points. 😉 I am definitely one of those dorky people.)

  27. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Holeigh-I have a feeling we are not alone in this….

  28. nolagirl Says:

    Bama, I thought you had it spelled right and was saying “oh wow, that’s how you spell it?” in all seriousness (I know, hard to believe there was no intended sarcasm there!). I really had no clue and would have spelled it moo-moo. 🙂

    And yes, of *course* Taylor is a dork, or a gork as I have heard someone else say. I, of course, am way too cool for that. 😉

  29. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ha! Whatevah Nola! You need to come out of that gork closet! Remember, we embrace diversity here.

  30. shelley Says:

    dork, gork, freak, geek…it’s all good.

    and, yes, i’m a little of all rolled into one.

    anyone here ever play in the band?

    i played flute…but beyond that…i was HEAD of the band geeks…i was drum major 9th and 12th grade years.

    remind me later to post a pic of me in my indian outfit (with full headdress)…it’s a scream.

  31. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hahahahahaa! Shelley! Now, that’s hilarious!

    Okay, I played in band in 5th grade, but here’s the deal: I broke my clarinet in the 1st month. I was scared to death to tell my parents, so I spent the entire semester/year “faking” it in class. My best friend would let me borrow hers whenever I had to go in for the little tests with the director. I was not good at all, but they never failed me b/c I guess they felt band, at that age, should be a self-esteem booster or something. There was this trip to a UIL competition at Six Flags, and everybody except the worst of the bunch got to go…guess who didn’t get to go? I never told them that the reason I couldn’t play was b/c I broke my clarinet…I just let them believe I sucked.

  32. shelley Says:

    Bama said, “Okay, I played in band in 5th grade, but here’s the deal: I broke my clarinet in the 1st month. I was scared to death to tell my parents, so I spent the entire semester/year “faking” it in class.”

    And, I’m proud to announce…Official Prize of the Day…goes to our resident little liar.

    I cracked up at this, Bama.

    Total respect and props go to you, hon. 😉

  33. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh, hell yeah! Look at how sexy and rebellious he is in that pic! That has to be one of my new all time faves!

    Children- Today’s moral is: Lying pays.

  34. NOLAgirl Says:

    Ben, you are good. The logo is awesome! Freaky little monkbot, but still awesome.

    Shelley, I like the new “look” of the blog!

  35. shelley Says:

    Bama said, “Children- Today’s moral is: Lying pays.”

    You’re truly tetched…and I lurve it.

    (And, by looking at Taylor in those jeans, I say, yes, Virginia there most definitely IS a Santa Clause…and I hope he puts THAT under my tree this year.)

    Is it me…or is it hot in here today?

  36. double d Says:

    “This one time, at band camp….”

    Ok, you frorks!! (cross between freak, dork, geek). Fly your flags high.

    Bama, you are seriously “touched”…but I can totally relate to all of your “stories”.

    Regarding the myths that Taylor is dorky or geeky, I think not. He was an uber-babe in high school… basketball jock, dated a girl older than him (you know only the really cool guys could get away with that), wore Tommy AND he snuck into bars to play harmonica.

    Now, freaky might be the tag that most appropriately fits….and of course, fits really good here.

  37. nolagirl Says:

    Ahh, but DD, not a dork in the bookworm, goody-two shoes type of way … but dork in the weird, John Mayer, thinker, oddball, “in his own world,” spazzy kind of way, you know? And besides, I think that is just one trait in a whole mix of traits, such as the jock, cool, rebellious ones you mentioned.

    And let’s be honest. We ALL have a bit of dork in us.

    Except Gray, he’s too cool for that, naturally.

    (not)

  38. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I don’t know DD, frork is in the eye of the beerholder…I can see a sprinkle in the Great Monkbot.

    Besides, I was in drama/journalism/debate in HS so I thought basketball jocks were dorks. (Except Rob…Oh, Rob! But he was different I’m telling you!)

    And, I’m so glad that my many tales of childhood angst can serve my fellow Monkbot community. I have plenty more where that came from.

  39. shelley Says:

    brilliant post, nola. i’m with ya all they way. i definitely think taylor IS a dork…or a frork (i may have to make special buttons available).

    his dorky antics on ai are what FIRST drew me too him…even before he sang his first note.

    and, bama…i want to hear more about rob.

  40. nolagirl Says:

    I wonder if Rob was like my Lance the football player high school crush….

    Bama, do tell.

    If not, I will be forced to go back to work, and well, we all know how much fun *that* would be.

  41. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Okay, Rob was the quarterback of the football team, and he did something on the basketball team where he ran up and down and threw the orange round thing in this basket way up high….Anyhow: We had a bunch of classes together and somehow just seemed drawn together…even though I was kind of a drama geek/new wave girl and he was “big man on campu” guy. He used to tell me how much pressure he was under from his parents, coaches and friends. He felt like he needed to be at the top of his game all the time. When we were together all we did was goof around and laugh and laugh. (Let me stop here and say that we never dated. He had a g-friend that was already in college..she was the prom queen the year before.) He told me about how even his girlfriend always made him feel like he wasn’t good enough, smart enough, “jock” enough…man enough. He made me feel really good about myself b/c he was so popular and he wanted to spend all his time with me…and he always told me I was beautiful…sigh.

  42. shelley Says:

    Oh. My. Gosh.

    Bama…are you Molly Ringwald?

    Did you star in The Sixteen Candles Pretty in Pink Breakfast Club?

  43. shelley Says:

    Bama’s true identity.

  44. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Now correct me if I am wrong, (I can’t even hold a straight face when I say it cause I know you all will…) BUT,

    hasn’t Taylor in press admitted to his “Music Geek Status”?

    Now, as an annointed MG myself…I understand that you can be too kewl for school (may explain my spelling) but have this one area of your life where most people just shake there head and say “I don’t get it, whatevah, dude…keep talking to my Dad about Sly and the Family Stone. I will be in my room listening to (insert Creed or Timberlake here)”

    Now! Our MonkBot is obviously a music geek, complete with cymbals, radio antena, and 80 Gig video iPod built in (screen is the eyes and controls around back). the pants…well the are just that funky MonkBot fashion sense.

    muu muus need not apply

  45. Squeebee Says:

    Cool logo, Shelley! But…ahem…”manifesto”? What am I getting myself into here? *Backs slowly away from the computer*

    Ok…but seriously folks, I have you all beat in the band geek category. Not only did I play clarinet in my high school band, but three years ago I dusted off my horn and joined a local concert band. (BTW…I am the youngest member of the group…and I ain’t that young!) So There!

    So is Taylor the Frork-Bot or the Monk-Frork??

  46. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Oh and Bama…I am pretty sure that Rob was into you…we might need a guy’s opinion…or atleast he wanted in your “new wave” panties

  47. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Haaaa! I only WISH I was Molly Ringworm b/c she always got the guy in the end! (Of course in PIP I would’ve had to at least made out once with James Spader and a few years later I woulda had to marry Duckie..I just woulda!)

    I think Rob was into me to. He would play with my hair and hold my hand and gaze longingly into my eyeballs. But, I’m sure he was afraid of what his friends would say…and truthfully, my friends (Shane) would’ve kicked his ass.

    Man, I was the queen of un-requited love in highschool. One of my first loves turned out to be gay. It’s so obvious looking back. We used to get together and listen to Prince and look at Vogue mags. I was an idiot. But he was so damn stylish!

  48. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh Squeebee- Ummm…yeah, You might have the market cornered on “band geek” now. Way to go!

  49. shelley Says:

    Don’t freak at the Monkbot Manifesto…it’s simply going to explain the evolution of the Monkbot…I swear…for newcomers and non-Taylor folk.

    I think Taylor (and all of us) are Frorky Monkbots OR a special squad of the Soul Patrol/Monkbot Division, Department of Squishy Muffin Bunnies…does that do anything for ya?

    Soul Patrol/Monkbot Division, Department of Squishy Muffin Bunnies – Frork Squad

    Okay…this is cracking me up…I hate to admit it…but it’s true. 🙂

    Bama…I, too, had a crush on a gay guy (he actually taught me my try-out routine when I first tried out for drum major).

    I had a crush on two guys in college who were/are gay.

    My closest non-related guy friend now is gay (but I’m not crushed on him).

    And I’m convinced that if I could just meet Thom Filicia from Queer Eye…I’d convince him to go back to batting for the home team. ;P

  50. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ha! I’m sure you could!

    Gay guys are just so well dressed, cultured, well-mannered. What’s not to like? Except that they don’t want to touch me….ever. I can work around that, though!

    I am a proud member of the Soul Patrol/Monkbot Division, Department of Squishy Muffin Bunnies – Frork Squad!!

    We need uniforms. And helmets. And a short bus.

  51. Squeebee Says:

    Frork Squad it is. Hey thanks for the link to the initial MonkBot conversation. I always (well ok, for a month or so) wanted to know the story behind that but was scared to ask!

    Signed,
    Band Geek Extraodinaire

  52. bamaborntxbred Says:

    One last confession and I’m leaving for the day:

    My hours at work are from 7:30 a.m to 4:30 p.m.

    However, for the past few weeks, I haven’t been leaving work until 5 p.m. b/c I don’t want to leave you guys (and I’m still not willing to fork over the money for the ‘net at home). How’s that for being a frork?! I stay a full 30 minutes later than I have to, thus I hit the rush hour traffic I changed my hours to avoid, just to talk with you kids.

  53. double d Says:

    u r da kewlesss

  54. nolagirl Says:

    If you get Thom, can I have Kyan?

    Thanks, appreciate it.

    Love,
    NOLAgirl

  55. nolagirl Says:

    Oh, and Bama, you is crazy.

    I leave practically at 4:59 I am so ready to get outta this place.

    Shall we start a fund for Bama to get the Internet at home so she can not get stuck in rush hour?? Anyone??

  56. Squeebee Says:

    Yes lets NOLA…and with any leftover funds we can buy me a new router! Shrewbie…can I get an AMEN?

  57. shelley Says:

    Bama…my problem is getting STRAIGHT guys to touch me.

    LOL @ short bus

    Squeebee…NEVER be afraid to ask anything here…sometimes the dumbest things (not that your question was dumb) spark the funniest stuff.

    Bama…love that you put in “Overtime” for us. HA.

    NOLA— you can have Kyan…I want no man who looks prettier than I do.

    First Frork Squad assignment…get Bama on the Net! (oh…and a router for Squee)

  58. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Amen…can we get a Frork Router for Squee please!!!!!!

    Frork…another DD original

  59. double d Says:

    Dear Santa,

    Please give Bama the internet at home.

    And can you please bring Squee a new router.

    Your friends,
    The Frorks

  60. double d Says:

    Oh, and I really, really love Carson. I go for the humor….and great skin tone.

  61. Ash. Says:

    I love it!! Kudos, Ben!

    and congrats, Shelley! I will be buying a shirt once they’re available.

  62. shelley Says:

    thanks, ash…for the compliment and the blogroll link! 🙂

  63. NOLAgirl Says:

    True, Shelley, but I do love some good hair and face products and Kyan would be my own personal guru. 🙂

    DD, I’d like one of Carson too.

    Shoot, can I just have all of them??

    Thanks! 😉

  64. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Awe look at that MonkBot links popping up everywhere! Looks like Gray started something.

  65. Quossum Says:

    Wow, you guys have been chatty!

    I confess: The monkbot scares me just a little. Which is okay: it’ll keep me on my toes…and peeking out the corner of my eye.

    I can’t wait to read the Monkbot Manifesto. Will it include a prohibition of glitter?

    –Q

  66. nolagirl Says:

    Q, watch out! I think the monkbot likes to hide out in agility equipment … and loves to nibble on ankles.

Comments are closed.


