Monkbot Assignment: Online Birthday Greetings for Taylor’s 30th

by

birthdaycard.jpg

Okay, so we know what happens on Oct. 7…right?

Taylor Hicks turns 30.

Well, I’d like for us to wish him a happy birthday…Monkbot style.

From now until Thursday night…I need you to send me a birthday greeting that I can post here for Taylor on Saturday. (No…I don’t know if he even VISITS the site…but it can’t hurt to be prepared, right?)

I want more than words on a screen. (More than words…is all you have to do to make it real…ahhhh…the soothing tones of Extreme…sorry…I digress…)

I want postcards (think of Holeigh’s favorite site…PostSecret…except keep these cards all upbeat and CLEAN).

I want colorful, original, fun, hip ways to bid our boy a happy 30th. Try to keep the dimensions the size of a postcard (5.75″ x 4″). Please keep entries horizontal and not vertical. And be sure to put your name somewhere on it…so he’ll know who it’s from! (I did a quick example at the top of the post to guide you.)

You can even send me sound files (keep ’em brief…and CLEAN!) and I’ll try to combine them and upload them to SendSpace.

Let’s see how much fun we can have. Be creative… remember…snarky is good. Maybe you wanna say what his music means to you. Or maybe you want to illustrate the fun he’s bringing into the “pop” world. Or maybe you want to give encouragement as he begins working on his album. Whatever you want to say to or wish for Taylor on his birthday greeting is up to you…just make it fun (in other words…let’s not get mushy, gushy, slushy…you know how I detest slushiness).

You’re welcome to send in more than one entry…but I’m gonna pick your best to run on the page. (Oh, and if I get an inordinate amount of entries…I reserve the right to edit down to only my favorites to run…sorry guys…but, take heart, I’m not expecting to get slammed…bites nails and hopes she’s right.)

Don’t let me down…er…wait…well…you know what I mean.

24 Responses to “Monkbot Assignment: Online Birthday Greetings for Taylor’s 30th”

  1. NOLAgirl Says:

    Oooooooh, GIRL! This is just what I need for some a creative fix! (trust me, my job has left me seriously lacking in that department as of late)

    I have never been very up on the graphic side (just gimme the words, baby!) but, it’s ON! I like a healthy little project every now and then.

    Shelley = Smart
    Cuz this is a good idea!

  2. NOLAgirl Says:

    P.S. Oct. 7 is my main squeeze’s b-day. Weird coincidence, huh? 🙂

  3. double d Says:

    Can I do a rap?

  4. shelley Says:

    NOLA…don’t be afraid to cut and paste if PhotoShop is too much of a pain…seriously, grab an old People and a pair of scissors and go to town.

    And DD…rap away, baby!

    I’m so glad y’all are excited about this.

    I have to say…I can’t wait to see what y’all come up with!

  5. Janhttp://www.soulpatrolrelief.com Says:

    What a great idea! I love the postcard site. Is Holeigh around here? It’s been a long time since I saw that moniker. I miss her and all of you guys.

  6. Holeigh Says:

    Hey, Jan! 🙂 I’ve missed you too, glad to see you around here, how have you been?

    Shelley, fantastic idea! I just hope I can be creative enough to pull this off. 😉 I have a couple days, I think this can happen.

  7. Jan Says:

    Holeigh: I’ve been really freaking busy since the finale. I have been travelling all over the place like a groupie. I have also been spending so much time working on soul patrol relief. I barely have time to read, view, post or download anything. It’s torture! How have you been??

    I just realized I said like a groupie. I mean like I’m not a groupie. It’s time to admit that I am a groupie. I have see LMBO 9 times and I contemplating number 10. Cuckoo.

    Did you get to see LMBO or Taylor this summer?

  8. Holeigh Says:

    Hahaha, you’re not a groupie, you’re a member of the SP. 😉

    I had a pretty laid back summer, I’ve been back at school for almost 6 weeks (I cannot believe that!). I got to see the AI tour in Grand Rapids, it was so good. Unfortunately, none of the LMBO shows made it to Michigan (that I know of!) so I haven’t seen them yet but I really hope I get to in the near future. For now, I’m anxiously awaiting Dec. 5. 😉

    I’ve been meaning to say how awesome I think it is that you’re donating so much time to Soul Patrol Relief, I admire you for that!

  9. Jan Says:

    Holeigh, sometimes I think I’m crazy to have founded a non-profit when I work for a high-tech company. It seems impossible to do it all but unfortunately I have changed forever. I will make a difference in this world no matter what changes I have to make in my own life. I’m still processing that.

    I’m sorry you haven’t gotten to see LMBO. Dec 5th? CD release? How about New Years in Destin? I’m anxiously awaiting the DVD of the Workplay. I was more interested in meeting GC and everyone I had met on the board than I was in being at the stage.

    I was over that at the Viper Room. I was right at the stage and Taylor played his harmonica 2 feet from my face. Good times. It’s a blur though.

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Shelley!! This sounds like such a fun project but I don’t think I would even know where to begin.

  11. nolagirl Says:

    Oh come on, Bama! I don’t know either, but I’m gonna give it a go. You gotta hit me with your best shot, girl! (thanks for the Extreme reference, btw, Shelley- nice!)

  12. bamaborntxbred Says:

    But, seriously, where do I start? I mean, on my computer? Or do I make something literal and scan it (which means I’d have to ask someone at work to do it and they’d be all like…”What tha?!”?

    I’m a stupid-head!

  13. shelley Says:

    Bama…you could make something physical (cut and paste…old school) and either have someone scan it or take a digital pic and e-mail it to me.

    Would that work?

  14. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Maaaaybe. I’ll see what I can do. I really want to do this b/c I love art projects!

  15. shelley Says:

    I really want you to do this.

    You know…you could always FedEx it to me and I can scan it in…but I didn’t want this to cost anyone any money.

    It’s up to you…but I hope you are able to do something. 🙂

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Okay, I’ll try my darndest! If worst comes to worst, I’ll fed-ex it. It’s for Taylor’s bday after all!

  17. shelley Says:

    Yeah…but remember…I don’t know if he even KNOWS of this site…much less visits it.

    So, I really don’t want anyone to be put out.

    THis is for fun. 😉

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well, it sounds like a lot of fun…if I start getting stressed out about it, I won’t do it. But seriously, I’m always throwing money away on mags, make-up and eating out…so why not a random fed-ex for the man of my dreams? And it’s not about whether or not he ever sees it…it’s about being a part of a Monkbot community project.

  19. shelley Says:

    And that’s why I love you, Bama. 🙂

  20. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Blushing… 🙂

  21. nolagirl Says:

    Well, I spent about half the morning at work mocking up something for this. I am at a roadblock, but have some ideas. Then I had to actually WORK, so I put it aside for the day.

    This is hard work! (fun, but it is giving my brain a workout)

  22. shelley Says:

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Oh here are specifics for those interested.

    Pixels 425 wide by 350 tall

    send me a jpg

    DPI between 72 and 150

  23. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    how do we get the picture to you? I have mine downloaded on my computer, I hope its the right size, said it was but looks huge uin my photo thingy lol

  24. shelley Says:

    You can e-mail it to

    monkbottalk@gmail.com

    I can’t wait to see it! 🙂

    Be sure it’s saved as a .jpg, .gif or .bmp! 😉

Comments are closed.


