"It’s A Soul Thing" Recap…Double D Steers the Blog

by

As mentioned in my Saturday post, The Official Soul Patrol hosted “It’s a Soul Thing,” an event in Mobile to benefit KidOne Transport. At the event, which was endorsed by Taylor Hicks, LMBO performed and various organizations gave donations.Present and armed with her camera, her pen and paper, and her husband, Alex, was our wonderful little Double D. She was kind enough to write up a recap of the event and to send pictures!So, take it away, DD!

kidone.jpg

“It’s A Soul Thing” Recap
Words and Photos by Double D

Ok, since you’ve all seen a thousand recaps over the last six months or so, I’ll just give you a short synopsis of our evening at The Blue Gill last night (Sept. 30).

ddandhubby.jpgSince it was Alex’s and my 17th anniversary, I had our son take a picture of us (at left) before we went out….kind of like the prom…heh.

The weather was great. We got to the place about 5:45 p.m. and there was a line but it wasn’t uncomfortable, as the temperature was around 80 degrees and there was a slight breeze coming off the delta. The Blue Gill is technically located on the Mobile River that opens up into the Tensaw Delta but that is connected to Mobile Bay. Open air deck in the back. Lots of tables and chairs. I’d estimate that there were about 300 people there. Those of you from up north, please understand that many of our restaurants here in the south are very casual. And, along the Gulf Coast many past storms are noted as is pictured at left.

We sat in the middle and our view wasn’t very good, but the sound was great. (Alex had earplugs so we were all good.) I saw a few of the Boogie Boarders sitting a few tables in front of us.

The Kid One Transport folks spoke a bit and then Ms. Joni (Taylor’s grandmother, pictured at right) got up and talked to everyone. She was introduced as “the only person here who’s changed the diapers of the American Idol.” As usual, she was just so cute. She talked about how proud Taylor was of all of the work and generosity of the Soul Patrol to support this wonderful charity and that he certainly would have loved to be there but “other work” had to be done. She ended by saying that her son had asked her, “Mother, are we going to have to pay now to see what we’ve been seeing Taylor do in your kitchen since he was three?”

msjoni.jpg

Taylor’s uncle was walking through the crowd while I was taking some pictures at the Boogie Board table and was joking around with me. So I made him stop and pose for a picture with AmyH from the Boogie Board. Funny, Taylor’s got more gray than he does.

Well, as usual, LMBO was great. Brian (pictured below at right) was talking to some of the Kid One people selling raffle tickets, so I got up my nerve and went to talk with him. I gave him the “shoot. blow. holster.” T-shirt (and yes, Shelley, I actually wrote: “VIVA LA MONKBOT http://talkweblog.blogspot.com” in Sharpie on the inside collar.

“Oh, you’re from that site,” he said, when I gave him the shirt.

“Yes, Shelley’s site,” I replied.

“Cool. Thanks.”

He was in a hurry to get to the stage to start, but I walked with him back up to our table and we talked about Memphis. He asked me where we lived when we lived there and turns out he lived only a couple of miles from us. Very nice guy.

They played “Cocaine” by Clapton in the first set with Sam (pictured below at left) on vocals. Kewl. Sam seemed very happy.

sambrian.jpg

“Feelin’ Alright,” “Will It Go ‘Round in Circles,” and other LMBO staples were included. After the first set, I went up to the front to get some pictures. I got a great video of Brian playing a song that I’ve heard but don’t know the name of, but the audio is too loud. If somebody can tell me how to upload it or to fix the sound a bit, I’ll provide it.

Mitch and Zippy (pictured below,from left to right, respectively) were having fun, too. Jeff was not there. There was a couple of guests (dunno the names) on a couple of songs.

mitchzippy.jpg

LOTS of money was raised. Jan had $3,000 to donate from Soul Patrol Relief and the auction raised another $4,000 to $5,000. I think they estimated that just the Mobile event would be around $10,000.

lmbobmbeaux.jpgNOLASoul was there and I snapped the picture at right of her shirt…thought NOLAgirl would like to see it.

Well, a good time was had by all. We left around 11:30 p.m. I believe that they played a little more after we left, but it was over at midnight. I had pushed Alex to the proverbial limit, so I agreed to leave when he was ready. Really didn’t expect to see Taylor. I really enjoy LMBO anyway. Alex told me this morning that he had to admit that he had a good time. However, he says it was more fun watching the people than it was “about the music.” Heh.

20 Responses to “"It’s A Soul Thing" Recap…Double D Steers the Blog”

  1. bamaborntxbred Says:

    DD- You and your husband have to be two of the cutest people I have ever seen! Seriously! And if your husband isn’t as handsome as Taylor, then I don’t know who is!

    Thanks for the recap. It sounds like y’all had so much fun. I hope that someday we get to have a Monkbot convention and we can post a recap about that.

  2. double d Says:

    He IS cute, ain’t he? And, he IRONS!

    A Monkbot Convention…now THAT would be DA BOMB!

  3. bamaborntxbred Says:

    He irons? Whaaat? How do I get me one of them? I just don’t iron at all. If it’s wrinkled, I don’t wear it. I have things in my closet that I haven’t worn in years b/c they’re wrinkled.

    Okay, you plan the convention and I’ll show up. How’s that?

  4. nolagirl Says:

    Katie = Against Ironing Too

    DD – Glad you posted your recap for the world to see! I enjoyed it, again! 🙂

  5. double d Says:

    Didn’t Suzi-Q already volunteer her “venue”? I’m all about boiled crawfish, shrimp, and of course, sausage.

    I’ll even bring the kittens.

    🙂

  6. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Love the kittens…as long as we don’t boil them! Frozen is much better!

  7. shelley Says:

    Hey y’all…just got back from doctor about my ears…$130 poorer after paying for visit and meds.

    DD…thanks, again, for the great write-up. I think I’m gonna leave as is, if that’s okay.

    Thanks.

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Awww…Shelley! I hope your ears feel better! What did they tell you?

  9. shelley Says:

    some kind of infection…”sirus” or “cirrus”…I don’t know the spelling.

    She gave me a RX for anitbiotics and a decongestant and a pain medicine.

    I decided not to get the pain medicine…too expensive…and I think I can deal with the discomfort.

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh, heck! I woulda got the pain meds and not bothered with the other two! 😉 Kidding!

    Well, I hope your ears don’t fall off. It would be difficult to keep your glasses on your face…

  11. double d Says:

    Sure. Hope you feel better, Shel. I thought of you as I had to go to “the dentist”….eeek.

    All was ok, but I have a cracked tooth that will require a crown. I think I may ask them if I can bring my iPod and I can crank it up all the way so I won’t be able to hear the grinding and screeching.

    Since I’m at lunch, I’ll add this to my recap:

    Another couple from Montgomery sat at our table and they were very nice (sorry, I forgot her “handle”). Her husband was as happy to be there as mine was but they were enduring it because we wanted to be there (now THAT is love folks). After a while, the lady and I had a conversation…..

    Lady: “I heard someone refer to you as ‘double d’.”

    Me (sheepishly): “Um, yeah. That would be me.”

    Lady: “Oh, I just have to tell you that I loved the Tipping Point and your rap from Gray Charles.”

    Me (heh.heh.): “Well, thanks. You know this has been an outlet for my creativity, I’m really not nuts, really….”

    Also, it was great to see/meet Jan, NOLASoul, Hicknic, Robin4T, AmyH, MojaveDesertGirl, Bearie, Tee, and my Rat Pack afficienado compadre, PlayinPossum. They were extremely nice and well-behaved. 😉

    Epilogue: Alex personally delivered 2 dozen roses (shrimp & yellow with little purple daisies to commemorate my LSU fetish), to my office on Monday with a card that read: “Just wanted to let you know that I really enjoyed the concert.”

  12. shelley Says:

    Okay…I absolutely LOVE Alex.

    And I certainly wish I had thought about using my iPod during my dental work! Brilliant, DD.

  13. nolagirl Says:

    Double D is world-reknowned – how about that??! Did Alex hear her comment about your rap? He was probably like wha???

    —-

    I agree, that was so sweet and thoughtful of Alex. I love stuff like that. Makes ya all warm and fuzzy!

  14. bamaborntxbred Says:

    If I can’t have my very own Monkbot, I want a Monklex!

  15. double d Says:

    Nola – He is used to my foolishness…it’s part of why he is madly in love with me.

    Humor is a wonderful thing and I’ve come to learn that most “life mates” share the same humor. They can be different in many other ways but the humor is generally the same. I think that’s why the MonkBots get along so well…we “get” the joke.

    Bama, I must say…MONKLEX’s RULE!

  16. NOLAgirl Says:

    Monklex! I love it!

  17. Jan Says:

    Double: Thanks for the recap. It was great to meet your husband. I was there with family so it was special for me. The event raised $11,800 + 3000 from SPR. Yikes! Happy Times. Why oh why did the happy snoopy dance song go through my head?

    I have seen LMBO many times and may be able to help you figure out what the song is that you recorded. I could probably tell by listening to it over the phone. Call me if interested. Also, I can help you with tech support to download it and upload it.

    Isn’t PlayinPossum the sweetest person ever?

  18. Anonymous Says:

    Thank you for the recap! I’m glad it went so well, both financially and fun-wise.

    And DD – that Alex guy is a keeper ;).

    Hope to see LMBO someday (and perhaps experience this thing you folks call “The South” :)).

  19. shelley Says:

    Okay, Anonymous…you are now REQUIRED to visit “The South.”

    I venture to guess, you’d never want to return home. 😉

    Thanks for posting.

  20. double d Says:

    Jan – I figured it out…

    Take Me to the Pilot – Elton John.

Comments are closed.


