A Reminder…and a Discussion on the Men of Grey’s

by

finger.jpgFirst a reminder to all of you who wanted to submit an online birthday greeting for Taylor…it’s not too late!

E-mail your entries to monkbottalk@gmail.com by 5 p.m. today!

We’ve gotten just a handful of entries so far and, though they are all GREAT, we need some more!

Okay…on to the business of discussing Grey’s Anatomy from last night.

I have to first address the 600-pound wooly mammoth (term borrowed from Bama) in the room…CALLIE DROPPING TROW IN FRONT OF GEORGE AND MEREDITH!!!

Why on God’s green earth are we made to see more and more flesh from this woman…gah-ross!!!!!! Seriously…she is such a skeez.

I did like Meredith’s opening dream sequence. Lots of spit swapping going on.

I HATED…HATED…HATED…skinny mo-minny Meredith saying that not only was she dating…but that it came with snacks. I’d be happy with either a man OR snacks…and she gets BOTH…plus an EXTRA guy???? Gack

Now…I have a topic of discussion you may all wish (or wish not) to take part in…but here it is nonetheless…

Of all of Grey’s men, who is the one MOST LIKELY to warm the cockles of your lil’ ol’ heart?

McDreamy, Burke, George, McSteamy, Karev, or Finn?

greymen.jpg

I won’t be around much today as I’m playing catch-up at work…so I’m gonna go ahead and give my thoughts on the subject.

McDreamy – Love him, he’s approachable sexy, but a little too flirty for me…doesn’t seem to crack a lot of jokes.

Burke – Great intellect and very attractive because of it…but he’s far too serious for me.

McSteamy – Way…way…way…out of my league physically. Plus, I’ve yet to see him portray any personality trait beyond horndog as of yet.

Karev – Yes, he’s a bad boy and, as a woman, I’ll always find that somewhat appealing…but I don’t think he’s cute at ALL. Plus, he makes very bad choices. I do like his wit, though.

Finn – Yummy, yummy, yummy. Scruffy and imperfect. Sesitive and thoughtful. But almost too sweet for me.

George – Nerdy goober with bad hair and insecurities…BINGO!!!! I LOVE George! He’s my favorite. I’d date him in a heartbeat.

Okay…now y’all’s turn.

I’ll check back in mid-morning to see what all y’all say (sorry if any guys are lurking today…I’m sure you won’t wanna play this game…but this is what you get for not commenting more regularly…estrogen overload).

Um…unless you’re here, Gray…then we’d LOVE to hear who of the above guys you’d take a roll in the hay with…so spill, honey!

70 Responses to “A Reminder…and a Discussion on the Men of Grey’s”

  1. double d Says:

    Of course, NONE of these rank of there with the Monklex but if I HAD to choose one, it would be the one in the lab coat. Don’t know his name because I DON’T WATCH THIS FREAKIN’ SHOW, but I’ve liked him since he played the Italian boyfriend on the scooter in Wedding Planner. The others are a little “too pretty” for me.

    And yes, I’d be interested on Gray’s take….on Grey’s. I’ll bet that while the evil genius toils over the keyboard in the “magic room”, Mrs. Gray is checking out McDreamy and McSteamy….hey! Maybe we should offer HER a Monkbot membership.

  2. shelley Says:

    DD…you have chosen Karev. Yes, he was a sweetie when he played Masimo in “The Wedding Planner,” but he’s NOTHING like that character now.

    About Mrs. Gray…I would LOVE it if she’d visit us. I thought she was absolutely a joy when I met her in Birmingham.

    P.S. DD…you GOTTA get on the Grey Train, baby…it’s da bomb! šŸ˜‰

  3. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Definitely George or Finn! George is the kind of guy I really feel drawn to…but in real life I get so turned off by a man that isn’t stronger and more confident. If I’m more of the man in the relationship then I’m out.

    Finn would be great b/c he could take care of my doggies in their old age. He’s so sweet. But, if he doesn’t eventually tell Meredith to kiss off…then I’ll be over him.

    (Really, I think Jim Halpert is the perfect “man” b/c he’s a little bit nerdy, smart, funny, romantic but not gushy, and ummm…did I mention super hot?)

  4. shelley Says:

    Jim Halpert IS the perfect man. (I missed “The Office” last night…so I won’t get to watch until I download from iTunes…grrrrr)

    Taylor Hicks IS the perfect monkbot.

    Gray Charles IS the perfect pain in the butt.

    Shelley Powers IS perfect.

    I’m going back to work, now. Be back later, gators. šŸ˜‰

  5. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I agree with everything you said, but you forgot that:

    Bama IS perfection itself…

    Work, Shelley! Work!

  6. Squeebee Says:

    I’m with you, Shelley. Ever since George professed his undying love to Meredith, he has been my favorite. McDreamy has the smouldering looks and all that, but doesn’t have the personality to keep me interested. It’s All. About. The. Personality.

  7. double d Says:

    A sexy, bad boy with wit….Sounds like someone else we know and love, don’t it?

    Sorry you don’t agree Shelley, but tough toenails.

    Yeah, I need to get on the Grey train…sure, another obcession to finally reach my “tipping point” into insanity.

    I think I’ll live it through you guys.

  8. shelley Says:

    Squeebee…how ready are you for George to dump Callie’s butt?

    Also…am I alone in wanting George and Izzie to get together…I’d love to see George having to “battle” Karev! Ha!

    DD…T’s not as bad as Karev…at least I hope not. I mean…he’s one bad Monkbot…but I hope he doesn’t have sex with strangers in public restrooms…ewww.

    šŸ˜‰

  9. double d Says:

    Uh, Shelley, he’s a traveling musician…hello?!?

  10. shelley Says:

    traveling musician doesn’t necessarily equal skankafied ‘ho!

    I can forgive a multitude of sins from our boy…smokin’, drinkin’, cussin’, lustin’…but random sex in the potty? Nope…can’t be that flexible.

    That’s PeeWee Herman or George Michael behavior…GROSS!!!!

    If he’s having sex with strangers in a stall…he doesn’t think much of himself…and, in turn, I won’t think much of him.

    I’m just saying…

    LOL

  11. Ridearoundsally Says:

    Oh those Greys anatomy guys…Id do them all…but not all on the one night..( Im no slapper you know)

  12. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Okay…ShrewbieLoopy here…

    First DD, sorry I have gone to the “Grey Side” since Duets ended.

    McDreamy – Urgh, my sister is gaagaa over him. I don’t get it. He is neither dreamy nor cute in my opining.

    Karev – He is such the good guy struggling in his youth and bravado…at 50 he will be great…now, pffft, Unless he can make a real commitment to Izzy…then he goes up in estimation, but I can’t compete with the likes of Izzy…urgh…okay he’s a no.

    McSteamy – Lasting no…but hell to quote Elvis “One Night With You!”

    Finn aka McVet – Hmmm, I am not sure. I can see the attraction, but his Meredith focus is a bit unsettling…more like I want to win rather than I love that gal. (Secretly, I want him with Izzy…I know, I know…but that combo I think has potential)

    George – OMG he is the type I always fall for…and it isn’t until I have a few bruises that I see how selfish his type can really be. He is much better as a friend.

    That leaves Burke. Poised, confident, unconditional in his love. For a work-a-holic like me…the way he sought out Yang’s love breaking her walls down without breaking her spirit…Yummy…and when he danced with her and the music playing…his true friendship with George…that makes Burke Dr. Dreamy for me. Figures he comes with the mother from hell.

    Gray if you do watch Grey’s…I would be interested on your take, maybe not in the sexsymbol aspect, but how it compares with the likes of St. Elsewhere (i see really strong correlations between the stories and characters) or you could answer Ginger or Maryann (I am betting you are a Maryann kinda guy)

    Shelley – Calli getting nekkid all the time interesting take. I actually am happy the show’s producers are brave to show a somewhat bigger gal in this brash sexy role. There is no mention of her weight, just a supreme,albeit sluttier than I would be, Sex kitten drive. And there was a little bit of me that was happy to see uber skinny Meredith uncomfortable with Calli’s nekkidness. Not my move, but yeah to the producers!

  13. shelley Says:

    Shrewbie makes some GREAT points.

    I had never thought about Finn with Izzie…but I really like it…although they are both really sweet…which might give me (and everyone else a toothache).

    Thanks for casting new light on Burke. You’re right…he really is great. However, I’ve dated a “serious intellect” and it got old…fast. Plus…I hated having to fake laughing at his lame-ass jokes (sorry, Louie).

    About Callie…you’re right, it was wonderful to see a bigger girl make Meredith uncomfortable. Like I said before, though, it’s not her size that bothers me…it’s something else…something that just doesn’t seem right about her.

    She’s just so creepy to me.

    However…you made some wonderful observations and are making rethink some things.

    Official Prize of the Day goes to you chicka!

  14. Squeebee Says:

    Shelley…I am SO ready for George to dump Callie. He needs a sweet girl! And I totally think George and Izzy should get together…but it will never happen because TV relationships must have angst, and that match-up would be angst-free.

  15. shelley Says:

    Squeebee…I think the angst could be in the form of Karev’s jealously! What do you think?

    And Sally…God love ya!

  16. Squeebee Says:

    I think what bugs me about Callie is that she ACTS like she is so self-confident and doesn’t need a man, but really she is hugely insecure and almost stalker-ish when it comes to George.

    Damn, listen to me talking about the characters like they are real people. Be right back….I’m changing into my muu-muu and fetching the bon-bons.

  17. shelley Says:

    Squeebee…hold off on the muu muu, baby…I think you just cracked the Callie Conundrum!

    Brilliant deduction.

  18. Squeebee Says:

    Thanks, Shelley. Now hush up….I must get back to my “stories”! šŸ˜‰

  19. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I think my hands are getting wrinkly. Can that happen at 34?

    I want Izzie and Burke to get together b/c it would add a lot of drama to the main group, teach Christina a thing or two about appreciating your man, and I think Burke would be a great stabilizing influence in Izzie’s life. I don’t want the relationship to happen in a shady, cheating way or anything…just eventually after Christina and Burke implode.

    Shelley! Get back to work!

  20. shelley Says:

    Aye, Aye, Cap’in!

  21. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oooh, sauteed spinach w/garlic, olive oil and lemon. Yummm…

  22. double d Says:

    While I don’t suscribe personally to the behavior, I am clearly realistic that these things happen and to “nice” people. Mix a man with means and opportunity, and ANYTHING can happen.

  23. Shrewspeaks Says:

    BonBons, muu muus and stories…Bwaahaahaa.

    Quick DD remove the National Inquirer from Squee’s hands, Shelley get Squee out of those house slippers, I will remove the pink sponge curlers from her hair! Bama give her the spinich dish and dispose of that spam casserol! Good work, Ladies!

    Now as to Grey’s …I so do love how we all are seeing this differently…I think we just wrote the story arcs for the next three seasons.

    Interesting how we have hopes and fears for all of them but Meredith…why? Is it because right now her cup runeth over? Is it because she braved that damn bomb? Cause her dog died? Cause no one has given me “fish man’s” number?

  24. Squeebee Says:

    *sigh* Do I have to do everything for you, Shrewbie?

    Match.com profile for Shrewspeaks:

    SWF looking for a strapping, outdoorsy blonde man. Must enjoy fishing, chat rooms and watching me do laundry.

    Egotistical pumpkin-spice cherry ice-cream lovers need not apply.

    You’re welcome! šŸ˜‰

  25. shelley Says:

    DD…I know you’re being a realist…I’m trying on my optimism hat today…I guess the fit is bad. šŸ˜‰

    Here Shrew:

    1-800-STINKMAN

  26. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Squee heh, you’re funny…he doesn’t need to be blond, nor a fisherman

    Shelley…indulge me…call that number…hysterical!

    And DD, I hear ya…I have seen some nice guys get tripped up in the hormones and whore of the moment.

  27. double d Says:

    You are Sally Sunshine, I know…just saying that woman see things from a woman’s perspective….

    Men….totally. different. animals.

    They are the weaker sex because they are weak to sex…women are smarter than that.

  28. nolagirl Says:

    Well, of COURSE I have to add my 2 cents!

    Squeebee, I think you are SO SPOT ON about Callie. That being said, I like her. Sorry, guys. She’s more real to me (well, aside from dropping the towel – yikes!). And I liked when she went off on George about acting like a toddler – don’t all men act like that sometimes?? (of course, not Monklexes, naturally!)

    I am also ready for McSteamy to either get more into the storyline or to leave. Looks like the former will come into play next week. He sure is handsome. Ay yi yi!!

    I will go against the grain a bit and say that I’d go for Finn first without a doubt. George is not my type at all. I love his character, don’t get me wrong, but not for a real-lif man. A man who loves animals gets me every time. And the sweet, thoughtful crap is so what my butt needs in a relationship. McSteamy is like fantasy land material – but hey, I’d give it a go. šŸ˜‰ (same goes for McDreamy).

    I LOVED the opening sequence, but did NOT love the end where Meredith had a hissy on her two guys. Whatever, Meredith!

  29. double d Says:

    That should be women…jeez, I hate when it comes out wrong.

  30. double d Says:

    Ok, just to be the individual I am, I’m going to watch this dern show and pull for Karev. I will bet you guys dollars to donuts that he shortly “redeems” himself from the bathroom stall incident.

  31. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Yeeeheee…DD Netflicks has seasons one and two on DVD…worth a glance to get up to speed!

    Yeah! Another one on the Grey side!!!!

    Happy Levaquin Dancing squishy bunnie muffins!

  32. shelley Says:

    DD…you’re gonna start watching Grey’s?????

    Yippee!!! šŸ™‚

    I think it’s hilarious that you’re gonna pull for Karev…I assure you, you’re gonna have a huge load to tote on that one.

    As for men will be men…I still think decency can (and more often than not does) win out.

    I’ve got three amazing brothers and one of the finest human beings in the world for a father, but I know none of them are saints. I also know they have morals and a healthy enough respect for women to NOT do something so disgusting as to have a one-minute stand in a bathroom stall.

    I like to think that men CAN be guided by conscience and conviction…even bad boys.

    Sure, there are men who act only on their impulses (and, yes, even good guys fall prey to temptation sometimes), but I refuse to issue a blanket statement that men are bastards or always think with their crotch.

    Boys may do boyish things, but a real man can be decent and strong and still be sexy and searing.

  33. Squeebee Says:

    Amen, Shelley!

  34. double d Says:

    Ok, so now I’m saying all men are dogs?

    NOOOO, au contraire. I totally agree about morals and consience, etc. After all, I have a husband and THREE sons.

    However, not seeing the program and only hearing about one incident, I would give Karev the benefit of the doubt and infer that maybe he was simply a “victim of circumstance”. All he needs is a good woman to “save” him, right?

  35. shelley Says:

    Got it, DD.

    Tell you what…you catch up on the show and THEN we’ll talk about Karev.

    This incident isn’t his only disgusting moment…I promise.

    Glad we’re on the same page about men in general though. šŸ˜‰

  36. shelley Says:

    Um…just watch the show.

    I don’t want to tell you specifics ’cause I don’t ruin it for you.

    It’s a fun ride…even if Karev is gross.

    Trust me, you’re gonna end up loving to hate him. That’s the fun part!

    Can I get an amen, girls?

  37. nolagirl Says:

    Yep, Karev is the kind of guy that gets under your skin, but by the end of it, in an almost endearing sort of way … kinda.

  38. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Wait…what I am saying is…that McDreamy went home with one Meredith (a stranger) the first night they met…McDreamy then proceeded to have an affair in the OR with said Meredith while trying to be faithful to Addison…so I ask again how different is Karev and McDreamy?

  39. shelley Says:

    For me the biggest difference is toilets, pump hand soap, and a condom dispenser on the wall.

    but all snarkiness aside…yeah, McDreamy had a one night with Meredith…but if you’ll remember, he didn’t want it to be a one night…SHE did.

    Maybe Meredith and Karev should get together!

  40. shelley Says:

    I know…that totally cracked me up.

    Now we have to be QUIET…I don’t want to spoil all the fun stuff for DD!

    (I’m so stoked that she’s gonna start watching. YEAH!)

  41. double d Says:

    Yeah, sounds to me like McDreamy is “grosser” than Karev. I’d rather a guy who you KNOW than one who pretends to be something he’s not….

    GEAUX KAREV

  42. shelley Says:

    DD…I can tell already…you’re gonna be FUN to watch Grey’s with. šŸ˜‰

    Go George!

  43. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Go Siphilis! Oh wait…

  44. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Dammit, Shelley your site inabled me to spell siphilis all wrong

  45. shelley Says:

    ROFLMAO!

    Shrew…are you still on Leviathan…or whatever it’s called?

  46. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Can somebody explain to me how the world still turns when I’m not in it? Yes I’m that conceited!

    Nah, I’m kidding…again I’m sad b/c it’s all work and no play for bama today!

  47. shelley Says:

    There you are, Bama. I thought you got laryngistis (sp?) or something.

    I was productive this morning.

    This afternoon? Not so much.

  48. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I miss you guys…:( I’m so saaad…

  49. nolagirl Says:

    Yeah, same here. This afternoon has gone down the tube. BUT … I get off at 3:00, so in about 5 minutes, so I am SO OUTTA HERE!!!! (the office, I mean)

    Weeeeeeeee!!

  50. shelley Says:

    Rolls eyes at NOLA and her stupid getting-off-early day

  51. nolagirl Says:

    Hee hee. That’s the one good thing about his job – pay day Fridays are EARLY days! Don’t lose your eyes with all that rolling, dearie! šŸ™‚

  52. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well, at least we are off on Monday for Columbus Day…

  53. shelley Says:

    pfffttt…columbus day…schmolumbus day.

    some people have to work on monday.

  54. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well, I’m just gonna be at the ‘rents house fending off arachnids. Yippee!

  55. NOLAgirl Says:

    You lucky duck, Bama!

    Oh, btw, I am AT HOME posting this. (let eye rolling commence, Shelley!)

    But you wanna know the best part?? Cox came today and finally switched the cable back to the house from the trailer, so I am at a real desk in a real room typing this – NOT in the trailer!

  56. double d Says:

    Kewl, NOLA!!! I’m off on Monday too, so expect ALOT of snark…I’m off to rent the first two seasons of Grey’s so I can get “caught up”. Damn you people, sucking me into another vortex of mindless entertainment.

    Any chance that Taylor could guest star on Grey’s Anatomy?

  57. NOLAgirl Says:

    Be warned DD: Season 2 is 10 discs! I rented 2 (thinking that was the whole season, since Season 1 was only 2 discs) only to find out I had a looong way to go (I was trying to catch up before Season 3 started!). It is SO worth it though. I was hooked at the first episode!

  58. Shrewspeaks Says:

    I was hooked at McSweaty! Lawdy, lawdy, lawdy!

  59. Quossum Says:

    By 5pm! Ack, I missed it!

    I was hoping to work on the postcard thing tonight, having had no other time to do it, and virtually no photo manipulation skills. Scrapbooking with paper–yeah, used to do it all the time. Scrapbooking with pixels–let’s just say that I recently learned kind of how to crop a photo, and that’s about the extent of it.

    Rest assued, mine would have been wonderful!

    –Q

  60. shelley Says:

    Q…send it!!!!!

    I want to include you!!!!!!

    I’ll be working on it tonight, so don’t worry about missing the 5 p.m. dealine. šŸ™‚

  61. NOLAgirl Says:

    Yeah Q, DO IT!

    Make it work! Carry on! šŸ˜‰

  62. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Now wait a dern minute here…How far removed from McDreamy is Karev?

  63. nolagirl Says:

    And let’s not forget that Karev gavegeorgethesyphilis. *ahem* Sorry I had something in my throat there, excuse me!

  64. Squeebee Says:

    Shrew! Shelley! You all are making me choke on my bon-bons over here!

  65. Quossum Says:

    I just sent Shelley a hot janky mess of a birthday greeting. I hope no young children are looking at the site tomorrow.

    –Q

  66. NOLAgirl Says:

    Ooooooh, the suspense, Q! You naughty minx, you! šŸ˜‰

  67. Jan Says:

    I like McDreamy. He’s cute, witty, and intelligent. George is the kind of guy I actually date normally. When it comes to dating for me, they have to be intelligent, witty, and good people. A truly evil sense of wit is even better.

    Burke, he’s cute and way the hell above my league. I say that as if all the guys on the show weren’t out of my league. I mean, I’d be wondering which piece of silverware to eat with for each course.

    Finn. I love him but I don’t do pathetic. He’s already reached the point where I’m starting to feel scorn for him.

    Last night’s episode…

    Who thinks it’s normal to drop your towel in front of your boyfriend’s roommate? That’s why that girl is freaking creepy. Everything about her creeps me out.

    You know I think Finn and Izzy would be great together but I’d rather see her with Denny. Or George actually. She’s so sweet and George is her best friend.

  68. Jan Says:

    DD: Let’s think about a possible guest role for Taylor in Grey’s anatomy…

    Meredith finds McDreamy sleeping with his ex and leaves upset to go to the bar. She starts drinking shots. Some obnoxious guy comes over and won’t leave Meredith alone. Taylor was saying goodbye to what looks like a business colleague as her plight worsens. He gets away from said colleague and comes to her rescue. Meredith is grateful and they have a really great conversation. They connect on a whole new level. They end up going back to Grey’s place and have a great night. Grey wakes up expecting to ask yet another one-night stand to go home and Taylor has already left. There is a note on the pillow that says. Soul…

  69. Jan Says:

    I wish I could make a cool postcard. I don’t even have an avatar!

  70. NOLAgirl Says:

    Ewww, not with Meredith, Jan! She is so …. needy and whiny! (isn’t it funny how we treat these people like they are real!)

Comments are closed.


