Coop Dawg Takes Over Da Blog

by

coopdawg.jpg

Okay, so I’m home in Biloxi this weekend and thought I would let my brother, Cooper, do a little bloggin’.So…here’s a word from your friendly neighborhood Cooperman…

A Movie-Goer’s Nightmare
By Cooper Powers

Hey y’all. A new author is here tonight. Some of you may have heard my name before as Patrickkadiddlehopper(Double D, Shrewspeak, Quossum) but the true boy behind the screen is Monkbot Talk’s little brother, Coop. She’s letting me take the wheel this cool Mississippi’s eve. And in doing so, as in the first time you drive a standard, I’m finding it a little difficult. But just bear with me here.

I don’t know how many people truly go to movies to see a film anymore. Most of the time, it’s going to hang with some friends or to just kill some time. If you go to a movie theatre, you pay your (insert amount of cash here), buy your snacks, sit your butt down, and watch the dang movie. I can’t count the number of times someone has either a) picked up their cell phone while the movie is playing, b) kept the crying child in the seat through the duration of the flick, c) talked to their buddy next to them enough to make any college professor’s mouth dry, or d) all of the above.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not downing wonderful family outings (the Powers family goes on quite a few). I’m just trying to figure out why someone would bring a 3-year-old to a “Lord of the Rings” movie. But then again if no baby-sitter was available that’s a completely different matter.

Of course, when things get out of hand, the Powers lay the smack down. I remember one night, there were some kids talking down in the front. So Shelley, being the most righteous sista ever, went down there and told them to be quiet. Needless to say, they answered with a “yes ma’am” and sat quietly for the rest of the film.

Everytime I witness movie-going madness…babies crying, “My Humps” and “Crazy” playing on the nearest cell, or somebody talking to their nearest neighbor about global warming…I become more convinced that there should be bouncers at the end of every aisle. Maybe I could be one.

Thanks for hearing me out guys. It has been really fun doing this post.

(P.S. By the way, Double D, “hi” to you, too.)

Woo Hoo! I’m such a proud “righteous sista”…and if you don’t say Cooper’s post was the best thing you’ve evah read…I’m coming down the aisle to…uh…have a “little conversation” wit ya.

Oh, one last thing I wanted to share…a recipe.

Suzi-Q made a scrumpdillyumptious cake this weekend and I HAD to share the recipe.

It’s called a “Hummingbird Cake”…made with ground up hummingbirds…just kidding. I think it’s called that because it’s super duper sweet…like, say, hummingbird nectar.

Hummingbird Cake
From “Bell’s Best” cookbook
Recipe from Mrs. Inez Halford, Greenville

Cake Ingredients
2 c. chopped bananas
1 c. chopped apple
2 c. plain flour
3 eggs
1 1/2 tsps vanilla
1 tsp salt
1 tsp soda
8 oz. can crushed pineapple
1 c. chopped nuts (pecan)
2 c. sugar
1 1/4 c. oil
1 c. coconut (we DID NOT use coconut…because it SUCKS)
1 tsp. cinnamon

Icing Ingredients
8 oz. packaged cream cheese
Box of 4X sugar (powdered sugar)
1 stick margarine or butter
1 tsp. vanilla

Cake: Mix dry ingredients in one bowl. Mix liquid ingredients in another. Combine the two. Bake in a Bundt pan at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 10 minutes.

Icing: Beat all ingredients until creamy. Spread on cooled cake.

Eat…get fat…have another piece…ride the friggin’ high!

Below is a pic of the finished cake. You can see just how good it is…I couldn’t get a picture of it before half of it was GONE. I know it looks a little rough, but this cake is da bomb.

hummingbirdcake.jpg

9 Responses to “Coop Dawg Takes Over Da Blog”

  1. Ashhttp://tayloristheboogie.wordpress.com Says:

    Oh lawd.

    I’ve already gained too much weight in the last few months. And then you post this…. I don’t think I will be able to resist. Willpower? What’s that?

    Also..
    Coop did a great job! It looks like entertaining posts run in the family.
    Kudos, Cooper.

  2. Quossum Says:

    Cooper, you need to go to etiquettehell.com . We discuss rude people in theaters on a regular basis. =P

    My most pleasant movie-going experience was when I went to see The Big Blue on the last night it was playing. I walked in, plopped down smack-dab in the middle of the theater…and when the movie started, realized that I was still all alone. I looked around in amazement…yep, I was the only person in the theater!. Let me tell ya’, the movie wasn’t so great, but the movie experience was one of the best ever. Propped my feet on the chair in front of me, kicked back, munched popcorn, enjoyed my own private showing on the big screen. *sigh* Good times…good times.

    Good post, Cooper! I might have to try that cake, too!

    –Q

  3. DaniCalifornia Says:

    I totally agree. Going to see movies is a pastime in our family as well, and it bothers the heck out of us when people are rude. I also hate when you go to see a scary movie and you have a bunch of teenage high school kids, (and some immature college ones), yell and laugh and make stupid noises. It’s not even worth going to see a scary movie in a theatre anymore, which is really too bad.

    And Shelley, that cake looks amazing. I love love love cream cheese-based frosting. Try mixing 1 part cream cheese with 2 (or 3 parts) cool whip with all that sugar added in. It’s good stuff.

  4. double d Says:

    Coop Dawgy Dawg! Finally, you showed up!

    You are one studly lookin’ fella. And smart too! Loved your bloggin’. I don’t go to movies anymore because it’s so expensive and I like to “talk” to my movies. Since I would nevah be rude, I wait until I can get them from NetFlix and watch in the comfort of DD-ville.

    Ok, that cake is a sin. My fillings hurt just looking at it…but I bet it was good. ; )

    I have a son your age so if we ever have a Monkbot Convention, I’ll have to introduce you to “Mini Double D”.

  5. NOLAgirl Says:

    (Aww, you’re such a cute and nice and smart little brother!)

    Ok, now that the oohing and aahing is out of the way, man, you are so right! I really don’t go to the movies anymore that much, but when I do, something like this never fails. In fact, last movie I saw was “Cars” (you know the animated deal) and there was a family of 4 kids next to us (we were on the aisle seat). I am not kidding you that the father got up (he was like 6″5′ for real) 15 times during the movie, with the kids using my thighs/knees to hold on to and guide them out of the aisle. Gah!!! It was so distracting! I don’t know what they were doing – there is no way the bathroom was required THAT many times.

    But, being the passive kind of sista, I would not have laid the smack down like your sister. 😉

  6. Holeigh Says:

    I just have to say: Cooper Powers sounds like a name out of a movie. And I picture this character to be quite BA. A BAMF if you will. (Again with the Dane Cook!)

    As everyone else has said, very well written blog, it was so refreshing to read something written by someone in my age bracket that was legible. Yay!

    This topic of movie going is near and dear to my heart as I am obsessed with movies and I think you hit all of my concerns perfectly…except one. 😛 I went with some friends to see The Black Dahlia a few weeks ago (don’t. see. it.) and from the opening titles all we could hear was what sounded like someone listening to their voicemail. A little voice talking through what was obviously a small speaker. My best friend and her boyfriend were quite stumped so I turned to my half of this pseudo-double date and asked him what he thought…”That man has headphones on.” “Whaaat?”

    Long story short (too late!), the older man sitting behind us had an audio feed of the movie. A woman’s voice would say exactly what was happening on screen (movement wise), 3 seconds before it happened. And we could hear every word. I don’t know why this man required this as he wasn’t blind in the slightest, not even requiring glasses. But wow…I realize this was helping him but it drove me craaazy. Has anyone else ever experienced this?

  7. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Coop! Dude, great post…and gee I can’t imagine your sister being so forceful…we know her here as a blushing flower….NOT! Heehee…keep posting my man, good stuff!

    Okay, that cake…my,my,my….*faints*

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I. Love. Shelley’s. Family. ould the Power’s be anymore attractive and intelligent? I think not!

    Cooperdiggitypersondiddlehoppyman- You RAWK! I am an obsessive movie goer. There is nothing better than experiencing movies in their natural habitat: Dark stadium-seating theater, a little popcorn with your butter, a diet coke the size of your head….ahhh…the luxury of it all!

    I am one of those peeps that is able to get so completely absorbed in a movie that I’m oblivious to cellphones, babies and talkers. However, I’m also that irritating person having a converstion with the screen. I can’t help it. I try, but, like I said, I’m so absorbed…I just want to reach out and communicate with the characters!

    Here is something I can’t stand and a story to go with it: I get very anxious as the theater starts filling up and it looks like people might have a hard time finding seats. I don’t know why, but I’m very concerned that (old people especially) everyone gets a good seat. Recently, I went to the movies with my best buddy and her little sis. The theater quickly filled up. I had one seat next to me that was open. In the row in front of us, there was a couple that had an empty seat on either side of them. They were approached by two different couples that asked if they minded moving over 1 seat, which would allow the other couple to sit together. Can you believe they said NO!? I was getting so angry! Just then, a mom and dad and little boy asked if they would move down a seat. They would have the mom and son sit together and the dad sit next to me. The evil couple again said NO! I immediately stood up and said “You guys can have my seat!” So we worked it out that the mom and dad sat in my seat and the empty next to it, I sat next to evil couple on the man’s side and the little boy sat next to evil couple on the woman’s side. I thought that served those a-holes right! They wanted to have empty seats on either side…now they had me…a fuming angry movie-goer on one side, a nacho-eating 8 year old on the other side, and about 30 people around us that heard every assy thing they had done! I didn’t get to sit w/my friends…but I felt much better that everyone around me had good seats! Ahhh…crisis avoided…

    I can’t wait to make and eat that cake! But I’m going to add mounds and mounds of coconut to mine! Yum!

  9. Jan Says:

    Thanks for the post. I do watch movies at home but there is no comparison to seeing a movie o the big screen with a great sound system. I have low tolerance for people talking though a movie. Why pay all the money to talk through the whole thing? It always baffles me and pisses me off.

Comments are closed.


