Decoding…Gray Charles

by

graycharles.jpgTalk about the Great Pumpkin, himself.

What have you noticed is his M.O. for his mysteries?

How do you go about solving his puzzles, riddles, and conundrums?

Share tips and secrets about the great Gray here.

31 Responses to “Decoding…Gray Charles”

  1. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I have no f’ing (xcuse my language) idea what you guys are EVER, EVER, EVER talking about when you are talking about Gray and his puzzles and all that crap. You know why? Because I don’t have the internet at home and I just can’t keep up. So, unless someone wants to give me a tutorial…I’m out on this one.

  2. shelley Says:

    Um…seriously, Bama…neither do I…hence the damn post.

    I NEVER get Gray’s jokes or riddles or clues or whatever.

    I feel like a total moron half the time.

    I’m serious when I ask for H-E-L-P!!

    I want to understand.

    If the mass of fangirls and glitternatzis can figure his shit out…why the h*ll can’t I?!?!

  3. nolagirl Says:

    Bama, don’t worry, for me it’s mostly some DENSE people who — no matter how much Gray says there is no hidden meaning — try to “guess” it by making extremely far-fetched conclusions, ideas, etc. (and no, none of you who visit here) It gets on my ever-living last nerve. I would actually say that on Gray’s site, but Lord knows he doesn’t need any “drama” so I don’t want to *gasp* offend anyone.

    Off my soapbox now!

  4. Squeebee Says:

    Shelley, I am in the same boat. I can never figure out the damn riddles, so I don’t even try anymore. I guess I am not afflicted with Pop-Culture Tourettes or something. Anyway, I think it’s cool for those who have fun with it, and they would probably be disappointed if it stopped altogether. You can’t please all the people all the time, and all that rot.

  5. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Maybe we are soooo smart that we can’t figure it out. Yeah. That’s it. At least, that’s what I’m gonna tell myself.

    When did all this start? Is it connected? Wassup?

    Y’all I gotta leave work. I know, I know….you’ll miss me. But you know what? I think you will be able to carry on without me. Yesterday was a good test of your courage under fire…and you all passed. Oh! I’m so proud of my little Monkbots!

  6. shelley Says:

    Bama…be sure to buckle up…friends don’t let friends drive snarky.

  7. nolagirl Says:

    Ha! “See” ya tomorrow, Bama!

  8. Squeebee Says:

    Bye, Bama!

  9. Jax Says:

    Glad I am not the only one who never can figure him out… I usually just watch for what DD or Shrew has to say!

    Hi there Shelley! Your site is great!

  10. double d Says:

    We need some straight dope for a while…too many puzzles. Now everyone thinks every word is a puzzle or riddle.

    It’s good to give info., then throw in a puzzle every now and then. Otherwise, all the smart peeps start to feel dumb and don’t come back.

  11. shelley Says:

    Hey, Jax.

    So, am I learning that we are all the real dolts of the Taylor Hicks fandom?

    Seriously? I thought we were a purty smart bunch.

    What gives?

    Are we deluded?

  12. Squeebee Says:

    DD that’s pretty much what I said over at GC. I think maybe one puzzle per day is plenty, and if it is flagged a s a puzzle, all the incessant scrounging for clues would slow down.

  13. shelley Says:

    Okay…so I put this post up to see if we could share tips and such…but what I’m hearing is that none of us really have a clue about Gray’s clues.

    Seriously?

    I mean, we don’t want him to change, right?

    I don’t think we can criticize…seeing how we were all Jonesing for his return.

    Am I off my nut?

  14. double d Says:

    It’s easy to be the smartest person in the room when you have all the answers and CREATE the riddles.

    When you’re completely in the dark…not so much. I like feeling smart…I don’t like feeling like an idiot. After a while, smart people get bored with looking like an idiot.

  15. Jax Says:

    Shelley said:
    “And then it ends up like today…simple as looking in his photo cache.”

    OK, where the heck is that? I tried images… sighhh

    As Deb said in a post on GC earlier… I feel like Fozie! lolol

  16. shelley Says:

    LOL @ DD (you’re on a roll today)

  17. Squeebee Says:

    I think the puzzle aspect has ramped up since Gray’s “official” connection to Taylor has come about. I know Gray has some cool info, and maybe he wants to present it in an exciting way rather than “laying it all out” for us. Also, it is a great marketing scheme as we have discussed before, as it keeps the interest and exitement at a high level for a longer time.

  18. Jax Says:

    DD, did I tell you today that I love love love you??

    lololol

  19. double d Says:

    Shelley,
    We never had this many teases and puzzles before. Gray was usually “with us” trying to find out spoilers, etc. Now, it’s like he’s in the know and can “make the puppets dance” at will. I don’t mind a little, but after a while I get bored with it.

    I so enjoyed the conversation yesterday on the TV Chatter thread and then, puzzle time…everyone abadoned a good topic to go on the Treasure Hunt. I love the fun. You know I do. Just would like something at the end that gives the information…if he knows it.

  20. shelley Says:

    Those are good points, DD. I have to admit…I enjoy the conversation the best. I was actually MUCH more productive at work yesterday. But today, with the puzzle stuff, I couldn’t focus on work.

    I know that’s my own hang up, though.

  21. Shrewspeaks Says:

    You know…I think Gray was just having innocent fun…

    I was visiting a friend of mine about a year or so ago. They have chickens. I was walking by the coop a couple of times and I noticed the chickens kept following me…back and forth…forth and back…in hopes that I was going to give them feed. I didn’t notice it at first I was just doing what I needed to do to help my friend in his yard. But on like the 5th trip I was like “Hey, they are following me!” And I giggled and darted back and forth at varying speeds. It was not done in a malcious way…I just thought hey ain’t nature cool.

    Well…I think that is what is happening to poor Gray…and I know cause I am a following chicken. I keep hoping for a morsel to drop.

    I also thought today was cool…he was conversing more than anything else, but like the chicken I am I dared to hope for the grain…when all he was doing was raking the yard.

    And DD I think you have a valid point about pre-confetti vs now. Now there is an expectation that Gray is in the know…so the chicken mentality is born.

    And Gray if you read this…I know you need to make it do what it do…and I am happy to go along for the ride. HELL, I am even happy to receive my snarky lashes as desrved. If I ever step out of line please send me a private email. Otherwise, I will take my snarks and occasionally snark back atcha.

    Well that is my chcken feed.

    PS- I tried really had to work in a chicken or the egg reference but I couldn’t.

  22. Anonymous Says:

    Ok ladies I have to throw in my 2 cents worth. I doubt anyone will read this cause it is later in the evening and most of you post during the day.

    Gray has been throwing out “puzzles” to us for days and now he gets his panties in a wad cause we all assume that what he says is a “clue” Well whose damn fault is that??? I have never and will never post at Gray’s for the simple reason that I have read some of his posts that, I feel, are too harsh on people. Snark is fine, but I think it gets to be too much at times. I don’t get Gray, never have and never will, so why subject myself to his puzzles or as I like to call them, mind games.

    Sorry I needed a place to vent.

    Gray snarked me out of chat one night and all I did was ask, what I felt, was an innocent question. Sorry I don’t breathe the rarified air that he does. He doesn’t intimidate he as much as insult people for things they say or question.

    Shelley please feel free to delete this post if necessary, but I needed to let that out. I know Gray reads and posts at this blog and will probably ask for my IP address to ban me from his site. I enjoy the information he passes on, but I don’t need to be insulted in the process. I will continue to lurk in the future.

    Snark-lite- a product needed for those unable to handle the full strength Snark!!

    Nirak
    aka- An Innocent Bystander!

  23. eebeeuqs Says:

    Awwww…Nirak..good on ya for being honest! I will only speak for myself in saying I have had the same type of experience with Gray. I am trying hard to realize that often emotions and humor don’t always come across as intended, and, for that reason, I give Gray the benefit of doubt.

    Just call me the gal with the half-full glass! 😉

  24. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Oh I am soooo calling you Dixie Cup from now on

  25. Squeebee Says:

    As long as I can call you Scotch Tape 😉

  26. NOLAgirl Says:

    I have never felt insulted by Gray or at his site – subjected to mind games at times, yes, but never insulted (and a bit intimidated to post in the beginning). But then again, I visit VFTW, where anything Gray says or has said ain’t nothin’ compared to some of the stuff that flies around there! Talk about brutal. So I suppose I have thick skin? I don’t know …

  27. Holeigh Says:

    I don’t get Gray’s puzzles most of the time either…so I just don’t post when that happens, haha. Apparently I need to go back and look for the picture some more? I don’t think I have seen this…

  28. Anonymous Says:

    I am sorry Shelley if this was the wrong place to post what I did, but I didn’t know where else to go. I am not trying to dog on Gray. He has been wonderful to share so freely what info he has, but the snark level gets to be way too much for me. The incident I referred to in the Chat room happened in August, during his hiatus and it truly was an innocent question regarding his trip to Workplay. Thanks to you for knowing my info is safe. I don’t know enough about computers to know how much info is available to people. I read your blog almost daily and enjoy the people here. I guess I can deal with snark, but being a straight out SMART ASS I have a problem with.

    I am glad you have a close relationship with him, but I doubt if I ever met him in person, it would be the same for me. Someone mentioned at Gray’s today about feeling condesended to and I agreed 100%.

    Best Wishes Shelley. Keep up all the hard work. I will refrain from negative comments in the future.

  29. shelley Says:

    Okay y’all…I’m turning off the comment feature for this particular post.

    Please see new post on home page for explanation.

    It will be up for tomorrow’s post.

  30. Shelley Says:

    My problem is I don’t usually think something’s a clue until someone mentions it…and then I start to panic.

    I think…”I should know this. Why can’t I figure it out.”

    And then it ends up like today…simple as looking in his photo cache.

    I can’t tell you how long I clicked around that damn Peet’s site looking for something labeled “uncropped.”

    Total. Moron. I. Am.

  31. Shelley Says:

    Nirak…I’m so glad you felt comfortable enough to post here. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    I really didn’t intend for this post to become a place to down on Gray. I actually consider him a friend and don’t want folks to use this place as a forum to rip him (or any other Soul Patroller for that matter) apart.

    I can totally understand your frustration with his snark level but I need to clear up something important…

    You said, “Sorry I don’t breathe the rarified air that he does. He doesn’t intimidate he as much as insult people for things they say or question.

    Shelley please feel free to delete this post if necessary, but I needed to let that out. I know Gray reads and posts at this blog and will probably ask for my IP address to ban me from his site. I enjoy the information he passes on, but I don’t need to be insulted in the process.”

    I don’t know what transpired in chat between you and Gray…so I can’t defend his actions directly…but I can tell you that I feel confident that his intent was NOT to insult you. Nor does Gray think he is better than any of us. I know that for a fact.

    Gray ticked me off today, too. He pretty much ticks me off at least once a week (I think that goes for most folks here). But I learned VERY early on to challenge him. I remember in my first days of commenting on his site, I had a problem with the video feeds. I e-mailed him and he was short with me (I’ve since learned that he’s always short because he has an enormous amount of e-mails to wade through daily). I immediately took offense and was embarrassed. I e-mailed back and snapped that I had done what he said but that it still didn’t work so whatever…he then realized what he had done to offend me and offered an olive branch. Our “relationship” has been pretty much the same since. Today I got pissed and we pretty much pushed and shoved like third graders on the playground until it worked out.

    All I’m saying is to remember that he is human and gets frustrated like the rest of us. Plus, he has TONS of folks pulling him in every direction with his site. He really tries to make it a fun place for all. Don’t let this one incident keep you from enjoying the site. He wouldn’t want that…I’m sure of it. Let him know (via e-mail) how you feel. I think you’ll find he’s a pretty decent guy.

    Gray is an ass…it’s one of his best traits…but he’s also a man with a wife and kids…so he’s definitely got a heart (and whether folks see it or not…it’s a pretty decent heart.)

    Nirak, I’m not going to delete your post (I only do that to folks who are offensive and crude.). You have every right to vent…as long as it’s done contructively.

    I always want folks to join in here and share their thoughts…but I ask that we all refrain from harsh words of one another…harsh words are very, very far from the Monkbot creed of tolerance.

    Finally, Gray would NEVER ask me for information on the people here. That’s not his style…or even polite…or socially acceptable behavior. Plus, I couldn’t tell you your IP address if you paid me to…I’m simply not that savvy. And beyond that, Gray doesn’t ban folks from his site…at least not for long.

    I hope you’ll come back and comment again, Nirak. Thanks for sharing. I hope this has helped. 😉

Comments are closed.


