A Sunday Drive with Sadie

by

sundaysadie.jpg

After a weekend of staying pretty much holed up in my house, I decided yesterday morning to load Sadie in the CR-V and head out for a Sunday morning drive.

It was a beautiful, crisp, cool day in Jackson, so I rolled my windows down and cranked the heater up in my car…which kinda sorta makes up for not having the sunroof I’ve always wanted…but not really.

Anyway, the day was gorgeous. Autumn leaves showered down on my little car as I drove around town, and Sadie…who is usually pretty timid when it comes to venturing near the car windows…even managed to poke her nose out to take in the fall air.

My iPod was set to shuffle, so the music would be as unexpected as what I hoped to encounter on my adventure.

I’ll admit that, at first, I felt a little silly riding around with Captain & Tennille’s “Muskrat Love” blaring through my open windows…but the whimsy of this time of year quickly melted away those insecurities. On almost every front porch sat some kind of arrangement of pumpkins, gourds, and/or brilliant mums. And yards were haunted with enormous spiders, cobwebs, and eerily lifelike scarecrows or mummies.

One of these members of the undead (pictured below) seemed to channel more than its fair share of creepiness…causing Sadie to bark uncontrollably…and me to get a chill right at the base of my neck.

figure.jpg

I drove across Ross Barnett Reservoir and peered through my downed windows to see folks fishing on the lower side of the levy. The wind had picked up and the finest of mists came off the water and into my car…as The White Stripes serenaded me with “We Are Gonna be Friends.”

The next part of the drive was rather uneventful. I wound around some two-lane roads and saw nothing particularly special, so I figured I’d better head back to the house. But just as I got back on the main road and strains of “Backwater” by the Meat Puppets began to play, I spotted something interesting.

A guy…a hunky guy…dressed in military fatigues…was standing in the middle of the road…holding a sign.

I nearly caused an accident as I cut across two lanes of traffic and did a U-ie around the median.

And there…in the Corky’s Barbecue parking lot…I hit the Sunday Drive Jackpot…a platoon of Marines…lathered up…and…offering “Free Car Washes.”

I pulled up and was greeted by a cutie-patootie who smiled at Sadie and reached in to scratch her ears…lucky dog. He told me the car wash was free, but that I could give a donation that would go toward their annual military ball, which would honor soldiers who were coming back from Iraq. I was SO glad I had a $5 bill in my purse (I usually never carry cash), and I told him, I would love to donate, but they would have to let me take their picture when they were done. He smiled, looking a little embarrassed (so cute), and said that would be fine.

MMMmmm, girls, let me tell you…nothing beats sitting in your car, watching hot Marines suds up your windshield. It was truly an experience I had to share with y’all (hope you like the above video…I felt like a total loon making it while they were cleaning my windows).

Anyway, when they were done (they even towel dried my little CR-V), I hopped out to take their picture. I couldn’t help but notice their hesitancy to gather in front of the nutty girl wearing a giant red Monkbot splashed across her shirt…so I tried to allay their fears.

“I have to take y’all’s picture,” I said, in my best I’m-not-crazy voice. “My girlfriends won’t believe I got my car washed by so many good lookin’ guys.”

Upon being called good looking, they all gave goofy laughs and closed in for the photo. I thought it was pretty damn sweet.

marines.jpg

Upon leaving the car wash, I had a renewed sense of vigor for my drive. I decided, since the CR-V was all dolled up, I would take a spin through Eastover…a very posh part of Jackson.

eastoverhomes.jpg

I don’t know why I enjoy looking at houses that I will never be able to afford to live in…but I do. As I drove past lawn after lawn that had been manicured to perfection, I couldn’t help but think about my neighborhood… heck… my own yard… which was in desperate need of a trim and shave. I had to laugh as I thought that the folks living in Eastover probably don’t even do their own yard work…they probably hire folks from my neighborhood to do it…which is why the folks in my neighborhood don’t have the time or gumption to do their own yards.

The neighborhood was truly beautiful. There were plenty of colorful flowers still blooming and butterflies even danced from hedge to hedge as Elvis tore into “In the Ghetto.” The irony of it all certainly wasn’t lost on me.

sadiereadyforhome.jpgBy this point, I had been out for about an hour. Sadie was looking a little ready to call it a day, so after venturing down just a few more lovely streets I finally took my cue from the Von Trapp Family Singers as they began singing about the “sad sort of clanging from the clock in the hall”…and I turned the car around and headed on back home.

I love Sunday drives.

I flit. I float. I fleetly flee. I fly.

63 Responses to “A Sunday Drive with Sadie”

  1. double d Says:

    Ahhhh, yes, America’s finest.

    You were one fortuitous lady. Sadie looks so cute!

    Love the Von Trapp reference…was Elise the “flitter” or Liesel, I forget.

    Love to all…

  2. shelley Says:

    I think it was Brigitta and Louisa.

    Have a great trip to NOLA! Give NOLAgirl a hug for all the Monkbots. 😉

  3. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Nice way to send of the regional N.O. MonkBots to their first annual meeting!

    Excellent work. I CAN’T believe you videoed the car wash! Too funny. Ah what Shelley won’t do for her MonkBots.

  4. shelley Says:

    Who loves ya, baby!?

  5. Mind Doc Says:

    VERY nice — and the scenery was not half bad, either. Thanks for the lovely ramble through your neck of the woods. It is awfully pretty. Adventure Dog looked like she was enjoying herself.

    Very little becomes a man in uniform like soap suds. Men cleaning … mmmmm.

    (I see that the legacy of Christopher Plummer lives on — the power of the Plummer, baby!)

  6. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Hey Shelley…this could be a great MonkBot project…MonkBot homeland tours? Thoughts?

  7. shelley Says:

    tell me a little more of what you speak.

  8. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Shrew- That would be such a fun project! I was thinking about that when I was driving to the ‘rents last weekend…how neat it would be for you guys to see the pretty countryside.

    Anyhoo- Shelley! When the hot marine told me they were raising money for the annual military ball…I woulda said I’d be happy to donate if he could guarantee that he could get me a hot date to the annual military ball. Woo-hoo! Man, what a way to start a rainy Monday morning!

    May I just say that Sadie has the most expressive eyes? It’s like she’s a little human person…not a canine person.

    Strange…that house in the second pic….looks just like mine!! Weird… 😉

  9. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Thanks Bama…for backing me on this.

    Shelley…maybe I could subit photos of diners from NJ local flavah you know?

  10. nolagirl Says:

    You must have been a good girl all week to get that little present! Sweeeet.

    And Sadie is such a cutie! It’s good to see more of her. 🙂

  11. Leroy'sSharon Says:

    I so enjoyed “the Sunday ride” you shared. Going for ‘rides’ is a big part of our social life. ‘MuskRat Love’ is one of our songs.

    And your sweet dog is beautiful!

    My first post here. Blessings to all.

  12. shelley Says:

    I think it will be fun to learn about everyone and their hometowns.

    However, let’s hold off sending me stuff just yet.

    The “Traveling Monkbot” Project is GOING TO HAPPEN. As a matter of fact (I was going to save this news for later…but since I’m talking about it)…I won a monkey with cymbals on eBay this weekend!

    So, once I get it and Ben “monkbot-i-fies” it…I’ll get the project started.

    Then you can send in photos of your home and a write-up with the Monkbot.

    🙂

  13. shelley Says:

    Welcome Leroy’sSharon.

    So glad to have you!

  14. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Yay for the traveling Monkbot! I’m so excited for this project! I’m already making plans….

    Hi Leroy’sSharon!

  15. shelley Says:

    Oh…for the record, Bama, if that second house looks just like yours…then the annual Monkbot Convention will be held in Dallas. 😉

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well…ummm….yeah…I might’ve exaggerated just a little bit.

    Happy Monday to you my friend!

  17. shelley Says:

    Is it more like this?

  18. shelley Says:

    Oh…I meant to post this earlier, y’all.

    Taylor took me out for a night on the town this weekend. Don’t I look so happy?

  19. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Have you been flying over my house in the Monkbot Chopper again?

    Wow, Shelley…who knew you had so many teeth!

  20. nolagirl Says:

    That reminds me of Kat with her mouth always open, Shelley. But, Julia is so cool, she can keep her yap open and I won’t complain.

    Oh, forgot to mention, DD, if you’re reading — sorry you have to be in N.O. in such yucky weather! It’s so dreary. I did NOT want to get out of bed!

  21. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Traveling MonkBot? Shelley…can you send me a picture of it so I can take it to Paris…even though I won’t have 3-D yet…

  22. shelley Says:

    Shrew…girl, I love ya…but I think we may have to just back up and punt on the Traveling Monkbot for the Paris trip.

    Can you take your Monkbot T-shirt and wear it in Paris and get some pics? I think that would be GREAT!

  23. nolagirl Says:

    Sorry to bore you Monkbots, but I am about to explode. (and there is no chance my co-worker will read this, unlike Shelley and Bama!) This one co-worker of mine is making me want to ask her to take it outside. She is so self-righteous and acts like she can’t do a damn thing for you since she’s “so busy” (whatever – join the club) so instead she blows you off, rolls the eyes, bitches and/or ignores your e-mails. Then she does this thing that REALLY drives me up the wall. If I call to her “Denise?” she’ll respond loudly with a “NOPE,” and doesn’t even want to hear what you were going to ask. She thinks it’s cute, but it ain’t!

    So anyway, if this week continues on the path, NOLAgirl might have to regulate. I’m just sayin’…

  24. shelley Says:

    Here’s what you do…

    Come in early tomorrow…before she gets to work.

    Take her Scotch tape and seal all the drawers shut on her desk. Do it to where you can’t see the tape (under lip of desk and against front of drawer).

    When she asks if you did it…say “NOPE”…just like she says to you.

  25. nolagirl Says:

    Good one, Shelley! I always get here before she does anyway. Hmmm, I will have to think about this …

  26. Squeebee Says:

    NOLA….sorry you are having to deal with that today! Unfortunately Shrew has finished up her Levaquin, so she can’t help you today.

    Shelley…sounds like you have spent far too much tome thinking of ways to exact revenge on your co-workers! 😉

    P.S. your Sadie is tres cute! Oh yeah and so were the marines!

  27. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Nola! I’m so sorry about your beeotchy co-worker. How ’bout I’ll trade you mine for yours….cuz mine is all up in my stuff all the dizamn time…over my shoulder, checking my work…reminding me we’re “supposed” to do it such-and-such a way. I would love to have her ignore me for just a little while…

    Shelley is an evil genius! There is a practical joker (guy) at work that will put lotion on our phones from time to time….on the ear part, etc. I’m always busy doing something and will just grab the phone and start gabbing…When he plays his “joke” my first words are usually….”Hello this is..GROSS!!!”

  28. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Bama you are correct about Levaquin…because I now HAVE TO FOCUS on work…I am a very important person you know.

    Nola…Shelley is right try that…but don’t be surprised when she finds your “nope” funny

  29. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Yep. You are so focused that you mixed up Squeebee and me! Ha!

  30. nolagirl Says:

    Eww, Bama. Over-the-shoulder-lurkers are the WORST. I don’t wanna trade! We had this guy who used to work here who we called “The Darter” b/c he’d dart into your office so quiet and fast and he’d be behind your desk all up in your business before you even knew what was going on. I HATE darters.

  31. Squeebee Says:

    Bama-1
    Shrewspeaks-0

  32. bamaborntxbred Says:

    That same chick…she’s so nosy…if I have something important I want to tell my office mate, I have to whisper…well, this chick will come sneaking around the corner and say, “I hear whispering. What are y’all talking about?” Well, ummm…if we were interested in you knowing….WE WOULDN’T BE WHISPERING!! Gah! Take a hint!

  33. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ha! Squeebee’s funny!

  34. shelley Says:

    Sorry guys…but Official Prize of the Day MUST go to the joker in Bama’s office for his “lotion on the phone” thing…that is disgusting and hilarious…rolled into one.

    Hey…good news…I just took my lunch break to go to the post office and send payment for our MONKBOT!!!! 🙂

    Oh…and y’all don’t miss being here tomorrow. The post is going to be pretty good…if I say so myself. 😉

  35. nolagirl Says:

    Oooh, a teaser??? Look out!

    Shelley, is that lotion actually in your office? If not, I totally need to know where you found that picture…

  36. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hysterical Shelley! I’m gonna have to send him that pic…he’s also the practical joker that left the spider in the car b/c he thought it’d be funny to see my and Jennifer’s reaction as we were DRIVING back from lunch on Friday.

    I can hardly wait til tomorrow! I wonder what it’s gonna be…

  37. shelley Says:

    nah…i swiped the image from a blog (which, I’m sure is horrible blog etiquette…although I KNOW it’s been done to me). i googled “hand lotion” and thought that image was hilarious.

    I don’t advise Googling “hand lotion” though…let’s just say some of the results were a little…um…lewd.

  38. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hahahahaha! I love Googling random words just to see what I can learn…but I’ll remember that “lotion” should go on my proceed with caution list.

  39. Holeigh Says:

    This blog makes me happy! 🙂 I love me some army boys…

    I can’t wait to see more hometowns, I gotta find our digital camera, although I can post an old picture of our house. Old meaning: our garage caught on fire, burned to the ground, and took half the side wall and all the porch with it. So it looks different, but the main structure is the same! Oh, and the porch is painted now, haha. That bugged the hell out of my mom.

    Holeigh’s house

  40. Shrewspeaks Says:

    WHAT? Teaser…Hints…give us hints!!!!!

    *wipes hungry MonkBot saliva off key board at groovey prospect*

    Hmmm…a teaser did that for me, but not the Marines? I must still be sick

  41. shelley Says:

    Holeigh…y’all’s house is charming.

    Is it on acreage?

    A hint? Okay.

    Let me think of a good one.

    Y’all need to get to gray’s. There’s a new interview up with Taylor.

  42. shelley Says:

    A hint for Shrew:

    It’s bigger than a breadbox.

  43. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Purty house Holeigh! I love older homes. My dream is to own an old Victorian home…renovated, mind you…but I just love old homes…antique furniture, etc. Beautiful and so full of history, stories…life…

  44. nolagirl Says:

    Very cute house Holeigh!

  45. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Bigger than a bread box…pfffft…c’mon Gal!

  46. shelley Says:

    Um…y’all need to check out the new post I put up.

  47. Holeigh Says:

    Yup, we have about 3.5 acres but my mom’s family owns all of the land surrounding the house as they are farmers.

    bama: I love older homes too, for all the reasons you’ve mentioned. They may be more upkeep but the stories and history are SO worth it.

  48. Ridearoundsally Says:

    I love sadie…I want her..send her to me now…

  49. shelley Says:

    Awww…Sally…if I thought I could live without her…I’d share. 😉

  50. nolagirl Says:

    OOh, Shelley, I just got an idea – since we all talk about our pets so much, we should have a “bring your pet to the blog day” and post pictures of our “babies.” Anyone??

  51. shelley Says:

    I’ll put that down in the “ideas for post” bin. 😉

    Thanks!

  52. nolagirl Says:

    My boss says idear. We say it now only to make fun of him (not in front of his face, of course). He also says “financual” and the far-too-common “simular.” Gotta love it.

  53. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I. HATE. SIMULAR. And, of course, supposebly.

  54. nolagirl Says:

    GAH!! Supposably is my all-time most annoying, next to valevictorian. (whenever I hear someone say that, I think “And *clearly* you were not that, you idiot”)

    My roommate freshman year and friend from high school is brilliant (in med school right now) but she said supposably, so I told myself that clearly that made me smarter. Right?

  55. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Bring your pet day? Do dust bunnies count?

    I have two word basterdizations I HATE…ridiculas and delish….AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  56. double d Says:

    I hate it when people say pacific for specific….argh!

  57. Squeebee Says:

    One word……DISORIENTATED….

  58. Malisa Says:

    Shelley et al.

    I’ve been finding myself ‘stopping by’ more and more recently and lurking, what with things fairly slow in Taylordom/LMBOdom.

    I almost posted a couple times but the ‘choose an identity’ area had me paralyzed for a while (another story for another time–I’m trying to be Malisa, sometimes I’m “just Malisa” for various reasons, and I used to be taylorfirst most places.)

    I just had to say how cool your car wash video is. The best.

  59. shelley Says:

    Malisa,

    So glad you commented! Hope we see more of ya.

    …and I’m glad you liked the car wash clip. 😉

  60. bamaborntxbred Says:

    That’d be a cute idear, dear!

  61. Mind Doc Says:

    (Hi Malisa!)

    My favorite malapropism was teetotally. A co-worker used to to mean totally or maybe really totally. I would have to bite my lip at a certain point, because it was very funny.

  62. Jan Says:

    malisa: welcome aboard. I just joined this ship myself.

    Shelley: Bwwwaaaaahhhaahhaaaa! I am laughing so hard that there are tears in my eyes. You are so funny!

    I wish I had a dog. I need a house first.

  63. suzi-q Says:

    My dear precious Monkbot Talk, thank you for taking me on the most wonderful Sunday drive EVAH!!!! I loved it and you!!! I flitted. I floated. I fleetly fleed. I flied!!!!! love you girl. Forevah!!!

Comments are closed.


