Monkbot Talk…V2

by

Monkbot LogoWelcome, welcome, welcome to Monkbot Talk…Version 2.

Some of you will recognize the format of this new blog as that of Gray Charles or Boogie…hopefully this will be a comfort to you as you navigate through our new home.

I’m sure you are probably wondering why Monkbot has moved from Blogger to WordPress.

Well, the quick answer is this…Blogger sucks.

The longer answer is this…for some asinine reason, Blogger flagged my old site as a “spam blog” that wasn’t run by a human (????) and actually locked me out of my own site, which meant I couldn’t put up any new posts. Then they informed me that if they didn’t validate my “humanness,” my entire blog would be deleted in the next few weeks!

I tried to contact Blogger…use the Help Group forum…reload…reboot…empty cookies…empty cache…try a backdoor to posting…update my information…and all of that led me to two glaring realizations.

  1. I needed to move my entire blog to a new system.
  2. Blogger sucks.

So, with a little help from my dear buddy, Gray, I got my WordPress account and began the moving process.

Like any move, we’ll be living out of boxes for a while…that’s just something I ask for patience on.

All of my posts were able to import into this new blog…but not all the comments. And, since I feel the comments are extremely important to the history and vitality of this site, I sought out answers about how to correct the problem.

WordPress (who DID get back to me when I had a problem…where as Blogger didn’t…because Blogger sucks) said that the 8,212 comments I needed to import were “a lot of comments…more than the import tool can handle.”

Though I didn’t like hearing this…at least it told me what I needed to know, so I could try to remedy the situation.

Soooo, I will now copy and paste all 8,212 comments from the old Monkbot site and put them on this new site. All the comments for each post will be in one comment box and will kind of run together…but they will be there…which is important. Here is how they will look.

I will be turning off the comments at the old site so that no more can be left there (I would hate to overlook them!).

Until I can get the comments copied, be patient with me. It’s going to take a good bit of time

Also, you will notice that the pictures transferred to the new site (but not any of the YouTube videos…which may just NOT get updated). However, most of the pictures are stored on the Blogger server, so, if they delete the old site, the pictures will go to. Fortunately, I saved pretty much all the pictures I created for Monkbot on my hard drive. Unfortunately, that means I’m going to have to replace each and every one…one…at…a…time.

Again…patience.

And before I do all that, I’m going to try to get the look of this new site right…that means a new header, all the sidebar items we are accustomed to…chat…etc.

Patience.

Until all this is done, posts will have to be brief. But y’all feel free to comment to your heart’s content.

Your first comment will go into moderation. I will try to stay on top of this as best I can. This is a safeguard against spammers and trolls that WordPress builds into its site. It actually is something I’ve longed for at Blogger (hence the registering hoo-ha of earlier this week).

Okay…I think that about covers it for now.

Please limit your e-mails to me for the next few weeks while I work on the site. I am really going to be sweating it out getting everything copied before Blogger deletes the old site.

Oh…and one more CRUCIAL thing…please…PLEASE…pass the new address on EVERYWHERE. Folks will need to know to change their bookmarks…update their RSS feeds and e-mail subscriptions…and modify their links on websites.

I really need everyone to help me get the word out that our address has changed. This is the biggest help you can offer me.

Thanks for sticking with me…and don’t forget…patience.

28 Responses to “Monkbot Talk…V2”

  1. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Nice new diggs. I see this as a pain in the MonkBot Butt blessing. Now I am off to broadcast the new home!

    PS- LURV the smiley at the bottom of the page

  2. Shrewspeaks Says:

    OH and no doubt who the MOH goes to today

  3. nolagirl Says:

    Thanks for all your hard work and stressing over this Shelley! Everything looks great so far, daaaaahling!

    Now, don’t stress too much, pretty please!

  4. double d Says:

    Shelley….bless you, my child.

    My first link…seems appropriate.

  5. ridearoundsally Says:

    I just love the new place dahling…and I love what youve done with those drapes. How are the neighbors? Is that grey poupon you have on your walls? And I just loooveeee that new container you have to keep the wet fish in! Youll be needing plenty of those!!!! hahaha hehhehehheheheh

  6. ridearoundsally Says:

    ok so it cut off the rest of my post…dont stress too much shell..we arnt going anywhere..you are worth the wait!
    Sal x

  7. Malisa Says:

    I found ya. Congrats on the new home. Patience in your work ahead.

  8. baby duck Says:

    Hey, Shelley!

    ::knocking on the door of the new Monkbot home::
    Let me in, wee-oop! whoop-wee-oop!

  9. Squeebee Says:

    Hey Shelley! I’m sorry you had to go to all this trouble, but I am SO glad you did! Of course we will have patience….good things come to those who wait! Thanks so much for all your hard work on this blog…past, present, and future!

  10. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    hey shell. two question

    1. Will you still be able to post videos and audio bytes?
    2. why oh why did aj have to leave?

  11. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    Oh, and Sundance rules. Oh, sorry…He Who Shall Not Be Named…

  12. leejolem Says:

    Yay! Cheers to our Royal Monkbotness!!!! Thanks Shelley for all the hard work (already done and yet to come). Everything looks great so far.

  13. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Saweeet..the link from Gray’s to here is active!

  14. jenfera Says:

    It looks fabulous! Misbehaving blogs are evil. I write for Masslive, the website associated with my local paper, so I can’t choose the format. Masslive uses the same site set up as a lot of other papers, you might recognize it from sites like NOLA.com and AL.com. They recently switched to something called iUpload, and it sucks almost as much as Blogger. I can’t tell you how many posts I have lost – it tends to kick me out when I try to save my entry. They are supposed to be switching back to Movable Type sometime soon, thank goodness.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say that I feel your pain in some small way! I appreciate everything you’ve done here.

  15. Quossum Says:

    Hang tough, Shelley! We love you!!!!

    –Q

  16. ms,sonny Says:

    Happy House warming…
    NICE.
    just sayin

  17. Deb Says Says:

    Good luck to Shelley

    You are kind, funny, smart, witty, and most importantly immensely decent. Good luck in your new home.

  18. Dr. Bob Says:

    Hi! Love the new place. Moving is painful, and unpacking is a drag.

  19. Dr. Bob Says:

    I can’t post comments!!

  20. Dr. Bob Says:

    Awright — this time for sure!

    Moving is painful, and unpacking is the pits. Hang in there …

    (having probs posting a comment)

  21. Libby Says:

    Shelley,

    Bless you dear friend ! We will get the word out on the site address change. I wish I could help in other ways other than just spreading the word – but I will do all I can in the area you have requested.

    It is heartening to know how much this site means to all of us in the MB family. Shelley — please take time for yourself in the midst of this transition to WordPress. You have lots of priorities — and we all understand that it takes time to rebuild the MB history. Take your time — we are not going anywhere.

    Warmest regards and please know that we love this site and appreciate the special care you give to it and to us – the ( no strike that — your ) Monkbot family.

    Lib

  22. KD Says:

    Found it and am checking in! Good luck on the transition Shelley. 🙂

  23. rowan Says:

    Awww, Shelley, this is great! Good for you! (Wipes muddy feet on mat and hands Mama Monkbot traditional housewarming gifts of shortbread and a lump of coal.)

  24. Jax Says:

    Thanks for letting me know Shelly!!

    So sorry for all the work you are having to do but THANK YOU for doing it.

    My one burning question … Will the Monkbot secret handshake still exist?

  25. Claire Says:

    Testing!!

  26. Hatson Says:

    I think this is going well. Now if the movers would unpack for us all would be well. I am mildly concerned about re registering for the feed. Of course 8 copies of the e-mail is great, but not the plan. I am working on it with a technical support crew that I seem to need often. Really, everything is great.

  27. Shelley Says:

    hang in there, hatson…i’m sure we’ll get all the kinks worked out soon!

  28. Claire Says:

    This looks familiar, Shelley – isn’t it the same template as GC version 1?? Me likey!!

    *settles into a comfy chair at the new MonkBot HQ, pours a coffee and looks around*

    Yep, me likey!

Comments are closed.


