Talk about Idol Here

by

Quick and dirty…

So sad to see Nick go…great voice.

Unexpectedly sad to see AJ go…he kicked BUTT with his swan song.

Alaina should have gone home before she even tried out…plus she was a stinker with a ‘tude.

Leslie really didn’t have a great voice…but she cracked me up with the whole “why did I scat” thing in her final song. Good sport…I like her.

Kellie Pickler…three words…boobs…boufant…butt…oh, and just one more word…YIKES.

UPDATE: EW’s write-up

42 Responses to “Talk about Idol Here”

  1. Quossum Says:

    When Ryan asked Kellie what she’d bought with her newfound money, while pointed glancing at her..ahem…assets…James and I just fell out on the floor laughing.

    Yeah, Leslie showed some spunk–but she’s a dog walker, so she has to have spunk. Alaina had “cannon fodder” written all over her and should’ve known it. I still felt bad for her meltdown, though.

    AJ really surprised us. I didn’t think he was slated to win, but I thought he’d get farther than this! He’s so good!

    Melinda was really the bomb this week–Loved Her. But was anyone else a little weirded out by the fact that she hangs with a vocal coach and a stylist who gives her specific written directions on what to wear? *scratches head*

    –Q

  2. leejolem Says:

    I am so sad that Nick left. It should have been Sanjaya and Jarrod in my opinion. AJ kicked butt on his exit song. And why is Antonella still around?? Travesty!!!

  3. Shrewspeaks Says:

    I agree…Sad to see both AJ and Nick go tonight. I was also pulling for Leslie to be around another week just to see if she would try something different. Plus she was refreshing in the Non- Whitney, Celiene, Beyonce, Christina way

    Pickler….HA! I have only one thing to say “Just Shoes?”

  4. nolagirl Says:

    Ummm, yeah, Glad I’m not the only one who noticed Pickler’s boobs! Man. Her hair aged her so much too – not cute. And the song sucked too.

    I KNEW Sanjaya would stick around. Ugh. It’s the pity vote I think.

    I think I am getting so cynical – I was yelling at my TV when Alaina was boo hooing. “Get a grip girl, you suck!!!” Then my mother made me feel guilty for that. Heh.

  5. shrewspeaks Says:

    Okay…I have a question…not so much about Idol and the insanity of letting Nick and AJ go home…or letting Antonella stay.

    My question is based on VoteFortheworst…they had Sundance again as a pick…when in reality Sanjaya would be a much better pick. Is votefortheworst going soft?

  6. Dr. Bob Says:

    I am going to post off topic, if I may.

    Okay, now my internet works and I am in town, and Shelley has moved, and I missed great topics, and I MISSED SHELLEY’S BIRTHDAY!

    *is pettish and mopey*

    Happy Birthday Shelley, thanks for the gift of the last some months.

  7. Hatson Says:

    Kellie looked terrible! It is sad she doesn’t have someone to advise her. Her wig was bad and well obviously she has had some”work” done. We now see an example of becoming famous for her down home innocence and then losing it so dramatically. Sad…….. That was her strength more than her voice. Q…….Interesting point about Melinda, but wouldn’t you want friends especially friends with some skills that could help you at a competition like this?. There are people who could use a book giving them clothes and accessory tips. As we have all noticed on AI it is sometimes superficial. LOL

  8. Shelley Says:

    Michael Slezak has his write-up available at EW.com

  9. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Shelley- That EW write up was foh ree-al!! Slezak was right and freakin hysterical too!

    This sums up last night’s travesty pretty well:

    “Now we’ll have to endure at least one more week of Sanjaya Malakar performing with the confidence of a baby deer trying to cross an eight-lane highway, Brandon Rogers bringing human form to the word ”disappointment,” and Haley Scarnato fine-tuning what’s sure to be a killer closing number for the 2008 Miss San Antonio Pageant. And of course, there’ll be future Oscar winner Antonella Barba out to prove that Simon Cowell really has a tin ear. Maybe she can sing a little somethin’ from Dreamgirls to prove her point.”

    For sure: the two boys shouldn’t have gone home last night. The two girls? Well, it was either this week or next….

  10. leejolem Says:

    Bama and Shelley, no offense to Patrickadiddleloopyaboutantonella, but I hope you didn’t have to vote for Antonella this week again for him!!! If she doesn’t go soon I’m going to boycott the show (ok, you know I won’t, but it sounds good).

    **waving welcome back to dr bob**

  11. Shelley Says:

    Nope…I didn’t vote for her.

    I love my kid brother…but not even his little puppy dog eyes could get me to vote her again! Ha.

  12. Dr. Bob Says:

    As bad as Sundance (geesh) is, I can’t watch Baby Deer. He is cute, but it is actually painful to watch him perform. He out Kevin-Covaises Kevin Covais. Thank heavens for Tivo! (beedoop, beedoop, beedooop)

    *hi lee! How is HC4S?*

  13. shrewspeaks Says:

    Can anyone tell me why these people cry on the elimination night? Is it tears of “I am still here!”

    Although Gina’s tears seemed really heart wrenching…like she and Leslie had a “very close” relationship

  14. nolagirl Says:

    And just what are you insinuating Miss Shrew??? 😉

  15. Hatson Says:

    Some people cry easily. I think they are sorry to see some people go(Maybe a bit of the Stockholm syndrome). They are probably relating very closely knowing it will soon be them! I am not sure that any of us can really imagine the pressure on the contestants. Gee, even as a home viewer I have teared up in the past. Wouldn’t we be critical of those who show no emotion?

  16. shrewspeaks Says:

    Hatson great points…showing no emotion is inappropriate as well. I just find it weird that they have such a display. I guess it is the pressure as well as the folly of youth.

  17. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Personally, the only one that rubbed me the wrong way with their “crying” was whatserhead…the nfl guy’s daughter….

    She just comes off as so fake to me!! Very Kat McPheeish. When Ryan asked if her if she was nervous that outta the two of them it might be her she was all like, “Oh, um, suuure I am.” Yeah right!

  18. Hatson Says:

    Does it bother anyone else when the camera pans the audience to supposed family and friends while a person is performing but you have no idea what the connection is? I mean is that guy her Dad, her brother, her cousin, or her high school choir teacher? Could it be her boyfriend? How did that old couple get tickets? Are they grandparents, neighbors or the producers’ parents etc……. I guess we will know better when we have the top 12, but would still be helpful now! Nothing against old people…. I am one!

  19. shrewspeaks Says:

    Hatson…that is so true…you have to guess at this phase…I do however like to make up stories for them.

  20. leejolem Says:

    Shrew, “very close” relationship, lol. I think you hit the nail on the head with the crying coming from the pressure. I’m sure they’re all emotionally spent after the stress of performance week. I think they get more into the groove when it’s down to the final 12.

    Bama, I have to keep reminding myself that Jordin is only 17– I know I used to cry at the drop of a hat at that age. She shows quite a bit of poise for her age, I think. He Who Shall Not Be Named had me laughing–he was crying like a baby. It actually made me dislike him a little less.

    Dr bob, HC4S has made a full recovery and is as feisty as ever. Thanks for asking!

  21. shrewspeaks Says:

    LeeJolem…don’t fall for the sun-rain-dance moves…step away from the sympathy for him.

  22. nolagirl Says:

    I agree Shrew, it made me dislike him even more! Man, when did I get so cynical??

    I haven’t noticed myself wondering about the people in the audience, however, I have noted the props they are giving to the band and back-up singers this year. They have NEVER done that! I think it’s about time!

  23. Hatson Says:

    Just wait ladies until you once again cry at the drop of a hat!!! Ah the circle of life is bittersweet! Shrewspeak….. I love it that you make up stories for them. That is hilarious. I will have to try that.

  24. Hatson Says:

    Nolagirl…. I too am glad they are getting their props, but it is sad when they are better than the contestants. Taylor used to at least gesture toward the band which I thought was nice.

  25. ridearoundsally Says:

    What did they do to Kellie??? OMG…they made her a stepford wife!!! She looks like her mother! (not that Ive seen her) A strange cross between Dolly parton and Martha stewart! She has aged 20 years!! And those boobs…sorry shelly..I will risk the fish slap on this one..they looked terrible!!! Theyhave gone from (o)(o) to ($) ($)…soon she will have more plastic than her honda!!!

  26. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Ummm…I thought the backup singers SUCKED the other night. I honestly thought they screwed up some of the contestant’s performances.

    The band is great though!

  27. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I liked Kellie’s upper body part thingys. I thought they were nice and balanced her honky tonk badonkadonk really well.

  28. Shelley Says:

    bamaborntxbred Says:

    March 2nd, 2007 at 2:24 pm e

    I liked Kellie’s upper body part thingys. I thought they were nice and balanced her honky tonk badonkadonk really well.

    and Bama wins the Official Prize of the Day

  29. double d Says:

    Here’s how I feel about the crying….

    “There is no crying in baseball.”

  30. ridearoundsally Says:

    hony tonk badonkadonk!! I love it! dont have a clue what it means but it sounds great!! I want some!

  31. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Sally- don’t say I never gave you anything….and please…don’t hate me b/c I’m beautiful…but feel free to hate me for this:

    Honky Tonk Badonkadonk!

  32. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I get the very first OPOtD from the new house!! Thanks Shelley! Yer da bestest ever!

  33. shrewspeaks Says:

    Honky Tonk Badonkadonk! and Tom Hanks yelling at girls…YUP MONKBOT is back at 100% tilt-a-whirl thrill a comment

  34. jenfera Says:

    “Sun-rain-dance moves”…. heh! Love it. (not the moves, the turn of phrase.)

  35. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Oh….Shrew…I feel all sick and dizzy now….barf.

  36. leejolem Says:

    Shrew, HC4S didn’t fall for Sun-rain-dance’s tears either. She said he looked like a baby crying for his mama. I think it was relief that he wasn’t leaving.

    Shelley, you were so right on about his dancing! Did you see it in the group number? He looked like his feet were made of lead. And poor AJ had to sing about loving the ladies–he looked pained. Those group numbers are like Kraft Cheez and Macaroni–the cheesiest!!!!!

    About Kellie–once again HC4S was right on. She said immediately–oh my gosh, she got implants. I myself wasn’t sure cuz she has gained a little weight. When we saw her at the AI concert she was very tiny, so I’m sure even 10 lbs or so on tv is magnified. I hope people don’t start bugging her about her weight. Now her hair, makeup and singing is another story.

  37. leejolem Says:

    Ridearoundsally, I’ve never seen parentheses and o’s used so creatively. LOL!!!!!!!

  38. double d Says:

    ok,I just got to watch my DVR of Idol last night…Oh my Jesus….Kellie Pickler! Holy cow! Is she trying to be the 21st century Dolly Parton? And, she still can’t sing. Ryan was priceless. I think Kellie’s 15 minutes is about up.

  39. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    Two words for Kellie Hotler

    Gor-geous

  40. Jan Says:

    I couldn’t believe AJ got voted off last night. I loved his performance and that dude is so happy. His good-bye performance was even better the performance night.

    I liked Leslie’s performance too though I didn’t like her before that.

    Does anything think it’s interesting and funny that those two performed the same song back to back? So different, and sad because they were gone in 60 seconds.

    Kellie, oh Kellie. What happened to her? She looked so old.

  41. Dr. Bob Says:

    Interesting show. I thought AJ was really good and so was Nick. I did not mind Sundance crying — he does seem to have a sense that he is one of the weaker elements at this point.

    Poooor Kellie. I still like her, but yikes! Yikes! May she have much success and a great life. Leslie made me laugh with her “why did I scat” line. Scat is a funny word to me.

    Oh, and I found Masterclass lady. I still love her …

    (shelley, how do we hotlink again?)

  42. Shelley Says:

    Using HTML in Your Comments

    Just a reminder…this new site has a handy dandy little search feature. 😉

Comments are closed.


