Totally Awesome…Like, Huh?

by

There is no way anyone with a brain in their head would have thought this was cool in the 80s.

I think my favorite one is Jeff…or Marta, ’cause she’s one hot dog.

Would Gloria Vanderbilt where my name? I say heck yeah.

P.S. Where would Mr. T propose we get these “non-label” clothes? The Generic Gap?

For Shrewbie…

25 Responses to “Totally Awesome…Like, Huh?”

  1. Dr. Bob Says:

    Um…

    So many thoughts!

    Where did you find this? What exactly possessed you to post it? How would I look with a strip of duct/duck tape with my name on it across my backside? Doesn’t Mr. T seem nice? Why is he wearing a weight-lifting belt? Does it help him keep his neck up with all of those chains? Xena and Zena? Does one automatically look like a dork with one of those double belts?

    Just asking …

  2. Shelley Says:

    Hmmm…why did I post this…

    Because it totally cracked me up.

    And, yes, double belts are immediate qualifiers for dorkdom.

  3. shrewspeaks Says:

    Isn’t the girl playing Kelly real-life Rosie Perez?

    Jeff the coolest cat doesn’t look half as cool as Farmer Ted

  4. ivoryhut Says:

    How is it that he can correctly pronounce “ensemble” and yet say Gloria VanderBELT? Oh, and I have a question for Xena. Or Zena. Where in the world is Mr. T’s San Barnadina?

    Oh, and if Athena is a living united nation, I’d like to know what her immigration policy is.

  5. Hatson Says:

    What a great way to start my day. Hilarious. Gloria Vanderbilt did alot of things in a designer way. She gave us her son Anderson Cooper!

  6. shrewspeaks Says:

    Okay…because someone has to…

    “I pity the fool who relys on designer labels”

  7. Shelley Says:

    Shrew…don’t get me started on Anthony Michael Hall….I was absolutely in love with him. Honest. He’s “very hot, very hot.”

    And Hatson…for the sheer mention of Anderson Cooper…you win the

    Official Prize of the Day

  8. shrewspeaks Says:

    Now see Shelley…I was more of a Ducky kinda girl…But my heart belonged to Johnny in many ways

    Sorry…anticipating big wet fish slap upside da head any minute

  9. Shelley Says:

    see updated post above for our little shrew (neither ducky nor johnny will ever inspire a wet fish slap from me…sigh)

  10. shrewspeaks Says:

    OH MY! I forgot how great that scene with John Cryer is! (Best scene in that movie by far)

    And thank you for the John Cusack VID…isn’t it surprising how little youtube of him exists…I would have thought Gross Point or High Fidelity would have rated some youtubes.

    What a mighty fine way to start a Tuesday!

  11. Hatson Says:

    Thanks Shelley for my major award. I agree with Shrew about John Cusack, especially in High Fidelity. His explanation about making compilation tapes is a classic. Actually for anyone who loves music it is a classic film. I often shop at a little record store like the one in the movie. I was totally surprised that the owner had never seen the movie. He promised to rent it right away. We do what we can! LOL

  12. ivoryhut Says:

    Okay, Shelley brings the John Cusack video out. I’m staking a claim on my place in line.

    Don’t anyone let Dr. Bob cut in front of me.

    Sad though that I can’t watch any John Cryer clips anymore without seeing him as his character in Two and a Half Men. Tsk. Somehow, the mental image of a pathetic spineless divorced fortysomething chiropractor dancing to Try A Little Tenderness just loses a lot of the dorkdom value of the original.

    On the other hand, I’m smiling to think what Simon would have said of that performance.

  13. shrewspeaks Says:

    Just seein’ if my avitar works πŸ˜‰

  14. Shelley Says:

    sometimes it takes a while to activate, shrew. be patient. πŸ˜‰

  15. shrewspeaks Says:

    Oh okay…I am all excited with my new toy

  16. double d Says:

    How’d you do dat?

  17. shrewspeaks Says:

    i signed up with wordpress

  18. shrewspeaks Says:

    see

    i am going to try to upload a photo a day…i think it will come in handy in NOLA

  19. Shelley Says:

    me likey, shrewbie.

  20. ridearoundsally Says:

    hey guys
    As usual this is nothing to do with the post…just an FYI..I named my new rescue dog after the great man himself ………………..”TAYLOR”!! Hes beautiful….go have a look at him… http://www.txlabrescue.org
    Do you think Taylor has ever had a dog named after him???
    I should go ask Taylor to sponsor Taylor!!

  21. ivoryhut Says:

    Nice, Shrewbie!

    Sally, which one is Taylor? I always wanted a lab. (Or any puppy, actually.) One of my favorite movie stills is the one scene in “The Fabulous Baker Boys” where Jeff Bridges is at the piano, and there is a lab sitting under the grand piano.

    *Sigh* I wish I weren’t allergic to dogs. Or cats. Dangnabit, I wish I weren’t allergic to anything.

  22. nolagirl Says:

    Hey Sally – I knew several people active with STLRR from a lab board I used to participate on. Small world. Thank you for rescuing … and a cute lab named Taylor at that — to die for!

  23. shrewspeaks Says:

    Sally…good luck with Taylor. I can say getting Beau was the best thing I ever did!

    Thanks IvoryHut and Shelley for the encouragement. I really want to rachet up my lame photo hobby to full blown hobbie!

  24. leejolem Says:

    1.80’s clothes were never truly this bad (but I did have a neon orange fishnet scarf that I tied around by big blunt cut bob that matched my neon orange socks that I work with my acid washed jeans . I was hawt!).
    2. 80’s movies rawked!!!!! Ducky deserved better than Molly Ringwald. Say Anything is a classic. I think St Elmo’s Fire was way underrated (ok, I really was just in love with Rob Lowe’s bad boy image).

    Shrew your photos were outstanding. The colors were riveting.

    Sally, you will never regret bringing a doggie into your life. We adopted a shelter dog 3 years ago, and even though his nickname is Diablo Bob, because he is evil, he’s brought so much joy into our lives.

  25. Dr. Bob Says:

    Lee, you were absolutely hawt. I was also hawt in my baggy blazer and fedora. The fedora is a bit tough to pull off, but …

    Congrats on the wupper-dog, Sally that is fab. We have two, both of whom are looking soulfully at me — they hope that I will let them out.

    Shrew — great pictures. Did you ever get around to the travel blog from when I met Rowan? I got some nice pictures.

Comments are closed.


