House of Blues, New Orleans…It’s Almost Like Being There

by

My View at House of Blues

I can’t believe how quiet it is right now at my folks’ house, here in Biloxi, as I feel that for the past couple of days…between Taylor Hicks, the Monkbots, and New Orleans…I have been living in some kind of crazy carnival.

I woke up this morning at 6 a.m. in New Orleans, after staying two nights at NOLAgirl’s home (thanks, again, sweetie). On my little 78-mile drive back to Biloxi this morning I had some time to think about what had transpired over the past two days…all the singing, all the sharing, all the drinking, all the walking, all the sights, all the sounds, all the smells, and all the fun. And the conclusion I drew from all my thinking was this…the Monkbot Convention was a huge success…even with the few wrenches that were thrown in. The only things missing were the Monkbots who couldn’t make it, otherwise, it was an absolute blast.

I got into town Wednesday afternoon around 1 p.m….in the pouring rain.

NOLAgirl and her mom were perfect hostesses, providing me with my own room, a comfy bed, fluffy towels, and lots of good conversation.

After freshening up, NOLA and I headed downtown to the French Quarter, where we were to meet up with the rest of the Monkbots at The Gumbo Shop restaurant. The rain had cleared by this time and we were feeling great.

It was just a two-block walk from the Jax Brewery parking lot to the restaurant…and when we rounded the corner to enter the establishment, we were greeted with three enormous and beautiful smiles belonging to Double D, Shrewspeaks, and Bamaborntxbred. I have to say, it was pretty awesome with how comfortable everyone was with one another. We hugged and cooed and laughed and then made our way to the back of the restaurant for dinner.

DD, Shrew, and Bama were beaming about their adventures earlier in the day. Not only had DD seen Taylor outside his hotel, all three Monkbots talked with Brian Less and managed to get a picture of him with our dear little Traveling Monkbot! (I’m so proud of my girls.)

Brian and TM

As we settled in to the table (still glowing over the Brian/TM photo op), Quossum and her hubby, James, joined the party…and of course more hugs and laughs ensued. Then Wompuss; Taylorsgirl; Womp’s son, Robin; and his girlfriend walked in. It was truly a festive occasion.

As promised, Womp provided “head-on-a-stick” representations of Squeebee and Rowan…and Bama brought Traveling Monkbot with her.

I’m sure the other patrons thought we were all quite a sight…I know I did.

Conventioneers

Pictured from left, Double D (holding Squeebee’s head), Shrewspeaks, NOLAgirl, Rowan’s head, Bamaborntxbred, Shelley, Taylorsgirl (standing), Quossum (holding Traveling Monkbot), and Wompuss.

Dinner and conversation was great and before we knew it…it was time to head to the House of Blues for the show!

Now, here is where things really start to get interesting. I’m not saying that the House of Blues is bad…I’m just saying…it sucks.

Yeah, yeah, yeah. The look of the place is cool…and I supposed the overall vibe is nice…but coolness and a nice vibe don’t cut it when you pay to see a show and aren’t able to.

But let me back up a bit.

We got to the HOB before 7 p.m. (which is when the doors were to open). Although none of us relished standing at the end of the line that stretched to the end of the block, it was nice to see the concert was well attended.

House of Blues

As I walked up, I saw Brian Less standing out front, by the tour bus. I went up and introduced myself and thanked him for getting the picture with Traveling Monkbot. He was very gracious and said it was “no problem.” Then I wished him luck on the show and went and got in line.

The folks we met in line were pretty nice, which I think speaks highly of the kind of folks drawn to Taylor.

Bama found a friend in a person we all like to call “Band-Aid guy.”

Band-Aid guy

He was as sweet as the day is long…but we couldn’t resist asking him about the oddly placed bandage he had over the side of his mouth. He said it was from a shaving mishap…but we told him he should tell people he was wounded in a knife fight…it was a hotter story. He laughed and said he would.

I, on the other hand, made friends with the woman behind me…which came in VERY handy, as she had an umbrella. See, we ended up waiting about 40 minutes because the HOBs didn’t open the doors until way after 7 p.m. And that wouldn’t have been so bad had it not been for the fact that in the last 15 minutes of the wait, the heavens opened up and poured…again. DD, Shrew, and Bama huddled with Band-Aid guy in a doorway. NOLA had thought to bring her rain jacket. And I stood under the edge of my new friend’s golf umbrella…thanking her profusely the whole time. (Q, James, Womp, and Taylorsgirl had all gone in other directions.)

Finally, we made our way in.

The bottom floor was packed to the gills, so we made our way to the balcony…which was also full. Plus, the House of Blues, it seems, was designed by an architect that got his degree from sending in cereal box tops. The place was an engineering nightmare. There are actually two balconies…one that sits lower and on the inner rim of the main balcony and, of course, the main balcony that offers standing room only views. The lower balcony, which affords a perfect view of the stage from any seat is for HOB Foundation members only. The main balcony, which affords this view…

My view

is for the rest of world. It’s by far the crappiest venue I’ve ever been to. As you can see from the picture, I had to watch most of the concert on that lovely little television screen at the upper left…or I had to watch the back of the industrial sized I-beam in the center to the picture.

However, the Monkbots…ever determined to prevail…wheedled around and found exactly ONE empty space at the edge of the main balcony. So, in rotation, each of us had a chance to stand on tip-toe and precariously lean out from the railing to look around the I-beam to the bottom right…so we could perchance catch a brief sight of a tuft of gray hair we assumed belonged to Taylor.

A Determined DD

Double D used the space wisely and got LOTS of great concert pictures of Taylor…which you can see here.

I am actually thinking of writing the House of Blues and sending them the picture of my view and thanking them for giving so much thought to people who drive or fly into their city and pay to come to their venue to see such a spectacular show.

Rolls eyes.

It took me a bit, but I did manage to get over my frustration. It especially cheered me up to see more than a few people walking around wearing the “Modern Whomp” shirts I had designed for Gray Charles. Two of the folks were a mother/daughter pair, who were kind enough to let me share their photo. (Thanks, JCTayfan and Carin.)

Modern Whomp

It also did me good to look down below and see where Wompuss and Taylorsgirl had secured good seats for themselves…and for our little Squee and Rowan. Yes, the proxy participants had a better view of the entire concert than me. Ha!

Squee & Rowan

Okay, on to the concert itself.

I didn’t care for the opening band. The Greyhounds weren’t bad per se…they just didn’t stand out as spectacular or unique. Maybe I was grouchy from the rain and bad view…but they really didn’t ring my bell.

Taylor Hicks, on the other hand, was absolutely wonderful! He really proved that his strength is in live performances.

Wearing tennis shoes, jeans, a charcoal jacket with ashy stripes and a black shirt…he came on stage with lots of energy.

Taylor at the House of Blues

As y’all know…my camera is pretty crappy. This is the best performance shot I got. Be sure to check out DD’s stuff (see link above).

The arrangement he used on “Gonna Move” was the same as the album version…but the performance meshed so much better than the recorded version. His phrasing was perfectly laced with the instruments and it was a great opener to the show.

“Give Me Tonight” isn’t one of my favorites…actually it’s my absolute most-hated song of Taylor’s. But I gotta say, Bama is right…the song does get you moving!

I pretty much went nuts when Taylor started singing “Soul Thing.” I love this song and never tire of it. He did a great job.

I know this is sacrilegious, but I headed to the little ladies room during “Wherever I Lay My Hat.” Whilst in the loo, I hear this young girl say to her friends, “When’s he gonna play something I know? What are all these songs?”

I wanted to brain her, but, instead, I simply looked at her from the toilet waiting line and said, “They’re from his album.”

“Oh…well, you know, he’s not as bad as I thought he’d be.”

She was lucky I was up next for a stall…or I probably WOULD have brained her at that point. Geesh.

The rest of the concert was great. I was lucky enough to have the “special place” on the balcony during “The Right Place” and “Dance to the Music” (two of my all-time favorite Taylor songs). He knocked them out of the park. And I think it was on “Dance to the Music” that he actually played a little keyboard…which was a lot of fun to see.

I think my two other favorites were “Naked in the Jungle” and “Take the Long Way Home,” which created a rich mix with the rest of the show.

He ended with “The Runaround” and all the Monkbots in the balcony danced and sang and clapped and cheered…and kept cheering and screaming as he returned to the stage for the encore with Ivan Neville to sing “Rockin’ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu/Hey, Pocky Way.”

When he left the stage…everyone was still high…and kind of dazed about what to do next. So, we gathered on the now-empty bottom floor of the House of Blues to discuss plans.

As we sat and chatted, Wompuss noticed the sax player, Brian Gallagher (or as we like to call him…Shrew’s future husband). She decided to take the banner she had made for the conference to Brian and see if he would get the band to sign it…and the ultra-nice guy that he is, said he would. He told us to wait by the buses and that he’d have everyone sign (including Taylor) and he would bring it out to us. “And maybe you’ll get to meet Taylor,” he added, with a smile.

So we handed over the sign and headed to the buses.

As we were waiting, we spotted Ivan Neville and got a nice picture with him…

Ivan and Monkbots

Pictured from left, Shelley, Ivan Neville, NOLAgirl, and Double D.

And I asked Brian Less if I could get a picture with him. (Brian, if you read this, man, thank you for being so patient and kind.)

Shelley and Brian

Then Brian Gallagher came out to find us and, bless his unbelievably sweet heart, he had the banner signed by everyone in the band. (Brian, if YOU read this…know that we think you’re entirely awesome. Thank you.)

Womp, Brian and Bama

Pictured from left, Wompuss, Brian Gallagher, and Bama.

Then, after only about 40 minutes, Taylor came out and signed autographs. You could tell he was tired, as he was quiet and not chatty at all. I pushed my way to the front in hopes of getting a picture with him…but it was announced that he wouldn’t be taking pictures. (I’ll have to admit here that I was pretty crushed…and still would like to get a picture with him one day…but, oh well.)

I tried to get any kind of picture I could…which meant none really came out. Here is the SECOND best picture I got up close (the first best is atop in a previous post)…sorry for the overexposure. (However…if the lady taking the picture is reading this…since I posted a picture of YOU with Taylor…maybe you’ll e-mail me the picture you took of ME with Taylor. Ha.)

Taylor Overexposed

I had to really fight to keep up with him as he moved down the line signing people’s CDs. When he got to the end of the line and was about to walk off…there was a break in the crowd and a second of silence. So, I mustered up my courage and said, loudly, “Can I please just get your autograph?”

He didn’t smile or make eye contact…but he did take the paper while I was holding it and whiffed a silver sharpie across it to form what I guess is his autograph. I was pleased…especially since he touched my finger underneath the paper while he signed. I know it’s a small thing…but I’ll take what I can get at this point. Ha.

Taylor's Autograph

After that, he headed to the bus and the crowd quickly dispersed. The team of Monkbot Conventioneers were weary and ready for a late-night burger at Wendy’s…but, overall, they were enthused and satisfied with the entire evening’s events.

Despite not being able to see…it was an amazing experience with some fantastic music. Plus, the fellowship couldn’t be beat!

The next morning we all met up at Cafe Dumond in the French Quarter for beignets and coffee. It was a beautiful day and the rain that had been so persistent the night before had cleared up and made the air sweet and fresh and cool.

Womp and Taylorsgirl had to head back to Mississippi…but Double D, NOLAgirl, Shrew, Bama, and I had our walking shoes on and were ready for a day of shopping and eating!

Enshrouded Shrew

Shrew in a crazy hat.

Voodoo dolls

Voodoo dolls…for some reason they made me think of Gray.

After lunch Double D had to head back home…but before she left, she snapped a shot of NOLAgirl, Shrew, me and Bama as we set out for a carriage ride through the Quarter.

Monkbots in a Carriage

Brad and Angelina's

The carriage took us right past Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie’s home in the Quarter.

After the ride, we visited St. Louis Cathedral and enjoyed listening to musicians in Jackson Square and throughout the Quarter.

St. Louis Cathedral

St. Louis Cathedral

Jackson Square Fountain

Bama and NOLA at the fountain in Jackson Square

Street Musicians

Local street musicians

With our tootsies tired and our tongues parched, we ducked into Fat Tuesdays Daiquiri shop for some cool refreshments. I highly recommend the White Russian!

Fat Tuesdays

Shrew, NOLA, and Bama

Finally, it was time for dinner (yum), and Shrew made GREAT use of her $3 tourist guide book to New Orleans. In her research of the Quarter, she discovered a little French/Italian restaurant called Irene’s Cuisine. We all agreed that it sounded nice so we headed there. The place was absolutely charming…and the food was divine. I had Shrew help me to order a German Reisling wine…of which I drank two glasses (a rare thing for me to do). We all saved room for dessert and each ordered something different. Then…in what can only be described as elegant and poised…we performed a plate-pass ballet at the table so that each person could try each dessert. The whole dinner was a fantastic experience…right down to our lovely waiter, Sean.

Once our bellies were full, we headed to Shrew and Bama’s hotel to visit a bit more before parting ways. NOLA and I wanted to get to her house and crash…and Shrew and Bama had plans for a little more partying.

So, a little after 9 p.m., in front of the Queen & Crescent Hotel, the Monkbot Convention finally adjourned…and I for one can say without reservation that it was the best convention ever known to man…or Monkbot. 🙂

65 Responses to “House of Blues, New Orleans…It’s Almost Like Being There”

  1. Quossum Says:

    Grand recap, Shelley! Despite our–*ahem*–obstructed view, you really picked up the details of the concert and I have to give us ALL big Monkbot Perseverance props for remaining in good spirits. We were all dancing around up there and having a great time on that balcony despite the fact that I for one was really tempted to sulk.

    Sorry I couldn’t be with y’all for the fun events of Thursday–sounds like a great time was had by all. So when’s the next convention?

    Vive le Monkbot!

    –Q

  2. rowan Says:

    Yaay! So great to see you all at last – and so sorry that you couldn’t get to see much of Taylor at the venue, Shelley. Awwww. Love the write-up and all the pics – the one with Brian Less is terrrific, and it looked like you all had a fabulous time in NO. The carriage ride must have been something! Whoo hoo to Taylor being awesome!

    I commend your restraint, Shelley, with the girl in the ladies’ room who made the back-handed compliment to Tay about him being “not as bad as she’d expected!” Hee hee. Admirable restraint on yore part.:)

    DD – the pics are brilliant! My head clearly had a marvellous time, and I thank you all for being so welcoming and hospitable and keeping an eye on her. Great partying pic with Bama!! Now, girl, those beads and earrings were picked out to match the red peep-toe shoes, right? Absolutely the biz. Hope to meet you all in 3D next-time!

  3. rowan Says:

    Love the wacky spiky pom pom hat, Shrew! I would most definitely have bought it, had I been there with y’all!

  4. wompuss Says:

    To quote Ted:
    He was raw uncut funkadelic authentic taylormatic soul!!! yeah, babay!!!

  5. double d Says:

    Y’all better really enjoy those pictures as I need to see the chiropractor now.

    Q — I woke up laughing this morning about Taylor and the Monkbot. I sure wish that Gray would explain it to him so that if he sees it again, he’ll know the significance.

    My reference last night to KNOWing that Taylor has seen our little friend before is this:

    I was standing outside the Intercontinental Hotel waiting for Shrew and Bama to get back from their Garden District Walking Tour and I see Brian Less taking his stuff to the bus, smoking a cigarette and talking with the bus driver. He went to walk back in and I said:

    “Hey, you’re Brian Less, right?” (Like I didn’t know that.)

    “Yes, I am.” (Looking a little scared.)

    I say, “Well, we’re coming to see you tonight.”

    “At the House of Blues?”, he says.

    “Yep. We’re looking forward to it.”

    “So are we, it’s gonna be fun.”

    And he walks back into the hotel. So I’m standing by the side door (there’s a big revolving door in the middle), and this very thin guy bolts through the door behind me with a hat, sunglasses. I actually did a double-take and realized it was Taylor. Jeans, T-shirt and Tennis shoes. He sauntered to the bus, quite pleased that no-one recognized him (or so he thought). While I could have yelled out and stopped him for a picture (I had my camera), I felt oddly intrusive. So, I just chose to observe. He got on the bus and sat next to the driver, taking off his hat to now display the shock of gray.

    So, Shrew and Bama call me that they’re back at the hotel. I scurry around the block and tell them of my “sightings”. Bama is determined that we get the traveling Monkbot’s picture with the bus while Taylor is on it. So, we get the little monkey and mosey on over to where the buses still are and take a very distant picture with the bus in the background. Well, we’re standing there and I spot Brian Less in front of the bus. Since I had spoken to him earlier, he recognized me. I waved him over and he looked like, “Who? Me?”, but he walked over. Bama then politely asked him if he’d mind taking a picture with “our Monkbot”. LOL.

    He said, “Sure.” and actually “made the monkey” say “SOUL PATROL”. Hilarious. But he took a couple of pictures. Now, Taylor’s on the bus, right and I’m suspecting watching this whole thing, because right after the pictures are taken and we’re departing, Brian’s phone rings. Coincidence? I don’t think so. Even if it wasn’t someone on the bus calling him about “what the hell is that thing” or “hey, do you need rescuing?”; I’m sure it was odd enough for Brian to mention when he got on the bus to head to HoB.

    I think if Taylor knew the connections to Monkey vs. Robot and what the Monkbot represents, he’d find it humorous and pretty interesting. Maybe even start to look for him at various venues.

    Shelley, do you have a picture of the whole banner to show the folks. Wompuss and Taylorsgirl did a fantastic job of displaying the banner each time the house lights were up. There is NO way Taylor didn’t see the banner, even before he signed it. If I were him, I would be totally curious about what the whole “Monkbot” thing is about.

    Just want to say that I had more fun with these guys than should be allowed. I haven’t laughed as much for such a continual time in a long time.

    One last story that Shelley didn’t mention in her recap (there is so much that it would have taken three pages, I think)….we had only one spot on the rail with which to work and another lady (50-60ish) held the spot next to the big I-beam from hell. During the Greyhound’s set….she was actually reading a Nicholas Sparks’ book — Shrew nicknamed her Dewey Decimal. She actually turned out to be a very nice lady but left right before the encore, so we actually had two spots to see Ivan Neville and Brian Less hop up front to play keyboards with Loren Gold.

    Great show. Great time. Great friends.

  6. Shelley Says:

    DD…I wanted to mention Dewey Decimal…but felt I was getting a little long-winded! Ha! 🙂

    Folks…to prove DD is telling the truth about the woman….here she is…Dewey Decimal.

  7. Hatson Says:

    I am so jealous of your whole experience. Your recaps were hilarious, entertaining, and just delightful. I almost felt like I was there behind the post with you! It was really fun to put faces with names I have known since the early GC days Who knew a singer from Alabama would bring so many people together. Awesome……. Shelley I hope you told NOLAgirl that until recently I thought her name was Nola.No, I am not really stupid just not coversant with Southern terms. I get it now. See how good you are at educating Monkbots everywhere!! I hope after you get some rest you begin planning the next convention. Thanks again to all of the attendees.

  8. double d Says:

    Oh yeah, and I want to clarify…..my pictures don’t do me justice. I look ALOT better in person. (At least, that’s what I’ve been told.)

  9. Shelley Says:

    DD…you’re killin’ me.

    ROFL

    Hatson said, “I almost felt like I was there behind the post with you! ”

    HA!!! That cracked me up.

  10. leejolem Says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, for all of you guys thinking of us monkbots that couldn’t attend and taking pics, doing write-ups, holding up heads on sticks, etc….. I’m so glad you all had a great time in spite of the awful view. I think I would have sulked, and I’m proud of you that you didn’t. DD, I agree, there is no way that Taylor doesn’t have some kind of inkling about the TM. I am fo sho goin to wear my monkbot t-shirt to the Columbus,OH concert and flash my chest in his face (with t-shirt on) to make sure to keep the monkbot image in his mind. Who know, maybe I’ll have the TM at that time (4/24).

  11. Hatson Says:

    What is the current ruling that deals with Monkbot appearance schedule? Can a look-alike make an appearance at a concert? Of course there is only one real Monkbot (Like Santa Claus) but it would be fun if several showed up at each concert. Just wondering……………..

  12. Shelley Says:

    Hatson, of course I can’t say what you can and can’t take to the concert…but I’d prefer the REAL thing be the only official Monkbot representation.

    You could print out a picture of our Monkbot and do a “head on a stick” kind of thing.

    If anyone is interestd in that, I can put up a large “head” designed for printing, laminating and skewering.

    Let me know! 😉

    P.S. It’s never too late to sign up to be on the Traveling Monkbot roster for anyone who wants to take part. Here are the rules.

  13. nolagirl Says:

    DD – I think you look HAWT at all times, rain or shine. 😉

    Dewey Decimal SHOULD have gotten a smack down. But I suppose that isn’t the Monkbot way. Darn.

  14. leejolem Says:

    Shelley, the large head would be great!!!! I would proudly hold up the cute little laminated TM if I am not in possession of the real thing. That would be kewl and hawt at the same time.

  15. double d Says:

    I LERVE this….

    What is TMP?
    TMP is a way to connect all Monkbots around the world via a skeery little toy that was bought on eBay and “fashioned” by this blog’s owner to become the Traveling Monkbot.

    Actually…it’s Shelley’s way of trying to get a side-splitting picture(s) of Taylor Hicks holding said Monkbot…especially if more than one person encounters Taylor and he’s like “What the crap is this boomerang of a monstrosity these weird people keep shoving at me to have my picture taken with?” Yeah…that would totally rawk.

    Ok, I am totally down with Monkbot on a stick for the concerts. I believe that Q got his attention, now we need momentum….HAHAHAHAHA!

  16. Shelley Says:

    I’ll try to have something up by tomorrow evening.

    I’m in Biloxi and Suzi-Q (my mom) is frowning at me for all the time I”ve spent online. I think I need to go shopping with her or something. Ha! 😉

  17. Hatson Says:

    Shelley, yes you can say……..You are the leader!!! I would never denigrate Monkbot in any way. The picture sound like a great idea. Thanks!

  18. Squeebee Says:

    Wow….great recap, Shelley! I know it sounds silly, but thank you all for including my giant head-on-a-stick in the festivities! I really feel like I was a part of it! Ok, so Baby Duck and I are planning a mini-MB convention for the (FINAL!!!) concert in Seattle. Any takers? You know you want to…..

  19. Hatson Says:

    By the way, my maiden name was Dewey!!! LOL

  20. double d Says:

    Ok, if we can get some kind of Monkbot representation around Taylor in Indianapolis and Seattle and maybe Cali (Dr. Bob), that would sooooo rawk. Taylor would be seeing the little feller coast-to-coast. Maybe Gray could pass along that these are the “sane” fans, so it could be a reminder for Taylor that there are folks who really are “all about the music.” You know, a symbol for sanity, as it were.

    P.S. Shrew may have to break down and go to the NYC or Joisy show just to get a picture and give Taylor a Yankee Monkbot message…..LOL.

  21. baby duck Says:

    Travelling Monkbot = Symbol of Sanity (SOS).

    Bwaaahahahahaha!!!!

  22. double d Says:

    Yes, Baby Duck….an SOS. Freakin’ BRILLIANT!

  23. double d Says:

    And can you see if Taylor ever does an International Tour and gets to see the Monkbot SOS in Scotland, Ireland and England? Ok, it doesn’t take much, but I. am. stoked.

  24. baby duck Says:

    Seriously, y’all gotta think about Seattle. Final tour engagement. Monkbot Convention Redux. There’s still tickets (if you’re willing to try another balcony). Everyone who was in NO knows how great it is to get together, and everyone reading this post is kicking themselves for not being there! To Shelley and all the Conventioneers, thanks for the accounts and photos!

  25. Hatson Says:

    THis is gonna be great………………………… I will cover Portland! SOS to all fans everywhere. I love it!

  26. double d Says:

    OK, another thing that I just thought about (I’m sure these will pop up)….

    Band-aid Boy was a HUGE…..and I mean, HUGE…..Carrie Underwood fan. He actually was VERY vocal in arguing with Bama about who was the “bigger idol”, Taylor or Carrie. Oddly enough, this attracted him to Bama — the whole night. He really was sweet and was crushing hard on Bama, even though she was true blue Taylor and he’s Carrie all the way. Unfortunately, Bama says that there can only be one AI addict per relationship….after all, you need balance.

    Favorite quote of the night (by BB): “I am a HUGE American Idol fan. There. I said it. I’m not ashamed.”

  27. baby duck Says:

    Did anyone stop by the merchandise table at the concert? I’m curious about the In Your Time CD. Is it a remastered version, or just repressed? Is it the same songs that were available for download at gc, or anything additional?

  28. double d Says:

    baby duck — We were RIGHT by the merchandise table. As I understand it, IYT is just re-pressed with different CD artwork that is quite nice. Don’t believe it’s remastered….they had autographed copies as well. $30, I believe. T-shirts, key chains, magnets, caps, etc. All good quality and nicely done. Hope he makes a killing on the merch. as it’s all “his”….nothing for the suits.

  29. jenfera Says:

    Loved the recap, Shelley, and Double D, your photos rawk! The heads on sticks looked great! Looks like a fine time was had by all.

    Oh, and Double D, I am going to the Connecticut show so I could definitely get the Monkbot some Yankee representation, whether in laminated or actual form. (Of course, I am a Red Sox fan, so I’d rather call it something else. New England/Northeastern?)

  30. double d Says:

    Righto, jenfera…..Nor’easter, it is.

  31. jenfera Says:

    Ack, Nor’easter! Perfect, actually since I am looking out the window right now at about a foot of snow in my yard that arrived yesterday, after it was nearly 70 degrees on Wednesday. As they say, if you don’t like the weather in New England, wait a minute.

  32. leejolem Says:

    Rowan and Squee, if you’re out there–look at those fine headshots!!!! Rowan, your hair could be on a shampoo commercial. Aren’t you always talking about how uncontrollable it is? And Squee, you could be a toothpaste commercial chick!!! I’m sure Taylor was distracted by those hawt chicks on sticks during his concert. He probably sang The Right Place directly to your laminated heads.

    Bama and Brian sitting in a tree…kissing….. You guys are a cute couple. Bama, you could become a true blue groupie and follow him across the country.

  33. Libby Says:

    So glad to hear the MB Convention was such a success – in spite of the seating issues in HOB. We had similar issues with crowd and lines here in Atlanta. Most everyone was very nice in line. Only odd folks I met were the late 50s lady and her grandchild ( 20ish ) who were literally in hand to hand contact over a few seats at the Tabernacle in a reserved area.

    I am even more thankful for my Atl experience after hearing Shelley and Conventioneers experience in NOLA. The IYT is definitely a repress: Son of A Carpenter, The Fall, In Your Time, Somehow ( Squee’s Fav and my fav too ), On Broadway, Tighten Up and Atlanta’s perennial fav – Georgia. I have thoroughly enjoyed playing my copy many many times — and keeping TH’s autograph on the CD jacket — my hope is that he is making 100% from the merchandise, too. All merch sold very well here at the Tabernacle.

    It sound like Brian Less was a king among men there in NOLA just like he was here in Atlanta. It is just amazing to me that he seems to be purposely hanging out with the “people” — hope he is able to give the straight scoop back to TH from the fans he talks too — just a really nice nice guy!!

    So glad MB made his appearance and had appropriate photo ops. I wish I could have been there to meet all of you in person. You mean so much to me back here in my southern abode.

    I may make it to a Las Vegas getaway with friends in May — you guys have encouraged me — if I go — hope HOB is better in Vegas than NOLA.

    Thanks for all of the great photos. Double D — your photos really rawked.

    Love you – folks,
    Libby

  34. baby duck Says:

    I have to comment on the pic of the local street musicians. I love how they are dressed! No jeans. No short-sleeve tees. And look at their shoes! Real leather shoes. It’s… striking. Or maybe it’s just late at night, and it doesn’t take much to amuse me. ‘Night all.

  35. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    Ok so the monkbot convention sounded AmAzInG and really fun…and I’m pretty sure that leejolem and I gotta go to the next one…and I HOPE that we have the monkbot when we go to our concerts….*crosses fingers*……at least one of them…anyway it stinks that the view stunk, but it’s pretty awesome that you guys met some people from the band….WOOOOOOO!!!

  36. shrewspeaks Says:

    Awesome Recap gals!

    Squee and Baby Duck…Hmmm I might consider Washignton if I could get out of NOLA.

    Jenfera – don’t mention nor’easters!

    I should have my photos ready when I get home…Off to the airport…fingers crossed I am not too delayed!

    Love y’all!

  37. Quossum Says:

    Monkbot has returned from San Antonio! I will shortly be reporting to Shelley about his activities there!

    –Q

  38. double d Says:

    YEAH!!! Anutha Monkbot adventure! Can’t wait, Q….

  39. nolagirl Says:

    Q, you tease!

  40. KD Says:

    So glad to hear that the convention was such a success!! I truly look forward to the day when I can meet all of you…so sorry my head couldn’t make it! Loved the recap and all the photos…DD they were fantastic!! Looking forward to Shrew’s—that big ol’ camera of her’s is awfully talented. 😉 Many hugs to all…

  41. wompuss Says:

    KD!! Missed you in NOLA! How you been, girl?

  42. Squeebee Says:

    KD! Nice to hear from you! Hope the rugrats and all are doing well!

    Shrew….doncha be teasing this little Canuck……I would be so happy if you made it to Seattle!

    Quossum….you are my hero for that “MonkBots United” pic….I think it’s my favorite! Looking forward to further adventures!

  43. Quossum Says:

    Tease, huh? How’s this for a tease?

    (Hope this works…if not, sorry!)

    –Q

  44. Squeebee Says:

    KD! Nice to hear from you! Hope the rugrats and all are doing well!

    Shrew….doncha be teasing this little Canuck……I would be so happy if you made it to Seattle!

    Quossum….you are my hero for that “MonkBots United” pic….I think it’s my favorite! Looking forward to further adventures!

    ETA….I messed up my email in the other post, Shelley, so you can delete that one!

  45. jenfera Says:

    Nice tease, Q! Love the mischievous look in his eyes. He’s totally rocking that look.

  46. Jax Says:

    So glad y’all had such a good time. I thought about y’all everytime I read anything about New Orleans .. Sorry about the view … I will never again pass a post without thinking about the Monkbots.

    Isn’t Brian Less just the nicest guy??? I may not have a pic with Taylor but I do have a pic with Brian. He was so kind everytime I ran into him at the hotel.

    Much love to all of you!
    Jax

  47. Dr. Bob Says:

    I am so glad that you had a great time. It confirms the idea that we need more monkbot conventions. Yippee!!

    Squee and Rowan looked awesome, by the way — very cute! Fantastic job!

  48. rowan Says:

    Dr Bob – whoo hoo to more Monkbot conventions, and pyjama parties!

    Yep, Womp did an amazing job with the pics! Don’t know how she managed to enlarge mine like that, as it was only taken with a one megapixel phonecam and was all pixellated at any more than 7×5 size on my pc. She is a techy-photoshoppy wizardess.

    Lee…thanks for the kind hair comments, but it only sat well cos it was laminated…

  49. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Okay…I don’t have time for anything else right now but to say: THAT PICTURE OF ME IN THE CARRIAGE IS THE WORST PICTURE THAT HAS EVER BEEN TAKEN OF ME.

    I’m dying of shame that the entire world had to see that…..

    I had to get that off my chest…

    Oh, and I had a BLAST in NOLA.

    Oh, and Katie, my sweet girl…I’m so sorry we missed each other on Friday!!

  50. double d Says:

    Bama — I actually have the worst picture of you….I’m saving it for leverage at a later date. 😉

  51. bamaborntxbred Says:

    DD! I don’t believe there could possibly be anything worse….could there be??

    Ack! I’m so vain.

  52. JCTayfan Says:

    Shelley…

    So nice to get to meet you and the other Monkbots at the HOB. I visit this site from time to time and really enjoy it. Totally agree with your assessment of the concert…Taylor was exceptional…too bad we couldn’t see more of him. But loved hearing his music live. The pics of your visit to N.O. were great, especially those of Taylor. Thanks!! BTW, love the Modern Whomp shirt.

  53. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hi JCTayfan!! Glad to have you come by and comment. I remember you and your daughter. Shelley was so excited to see you guys in those shirts! Y’all were so cute!!

  54. baby duck Says:

    Thanks, double d and Libby, for the info on IYT. I’m so glad I will get a chance to finally buy a copy of the music I’ve been listening to thanks to gc.

    Shrew, I hope your not still wandering in the airport, living off ritz-bits with peanut butter purchased at the gift shop, and a crick in your neck from falling asleep in airport seating.

    Does everyone who went have the same opinion as Shelley of the Grayhounds? I’ve been listening to them on myspace, and thought they sounded pretty good.

  55. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I liked the Grayhounds. Especially the lead singer that was talking to me upstairs ;). He invited me to come see them in Dallas this week…they play solo at Poor David’s Pub in Denton, TX. I told him “we’ll see”…b/c I prolly don’t want to drive that far (45mins) on a school night.

    They just were kind of background music though…I think none of us were paying too much attention…we were still getting to know each other….and Band-Aid Man.

  56. leejolem Says:

    Bama, you could go on The Dating Game and pick between Bachelors #1, 2 and 3–Brian G. , Band-aid man and Greyhound lead singer.

    ps. You did not look bad in the carriage pic. In fact HC4S and I were saying how pretty you looked in the NO pics.

  57. jenniesaunt Says:

    This recap is a hoot! Reading while I am at work and had to stifle the giggles several times. (It is not good for the heart to stifle giggles.)
    Here are a few comments:
    Before reading about Bama’s dislike for a particular photo, I remembered thinking that Bama is very photogenic. I still do. A member of the convention who was mentioned as the future Mrs. Brian G should take a look at the picture of Brian, Bama and W. Hmmm, I see lots of body language there.
    DD’s account of her Taylor sighting confirmed what I thought when I saw him in Bham. I think she called it skin-nay. What do you expect when you find 100 calorie chicken noodle soup and hummus in the food supply on the bus! In the current People article, something is mentioned that Taylor is the same weight now, as he was while in high school. That’s just not normal for a Southern boy!

  58. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Y’all, I’m gonna get in trubble with Shrew. She’s gonna smack me upside the head with a wet fish…Brian is her sax-y man.

    Besides, lest we forget: there was also the man behind the glass at will call that asked if I was going “stag” to the concert…and offered to let me behind the glass to feel a picture (long story)…also, Donny the sexy Italian dentist that lives in an apartment facing Johnny White’s bar. I don’t think Shrew was as impressed as I was…Also, there is the cute waiter at The Bluebird Cafe, the two young men repairing damage to a house in the Garden District…and hmmm…I also liked the dirty boys playing ragtime music in the Quarter….

    Y’all are also being so sweet trying to make me feel better about that AWFUL picture. Mostly I just think I look like a dork in all my pics…but that one…that is a crime against all that is good and just.

    And my co-worker busts out laughing every time she sees it….sigh…at least I can console myself with the knowledge that I don’t “think” I look like that.

  59. Shelley Says:

    Okay…you must officially smack your co-worker for me.

    I think you look great…but I’m not going to try to convince you because if I was unhappy with a photo…I would be inconsolable (sp?) too.

    However, I can offer to take the picture down if you’d like…or replace your head with a giant Taylor head.

    You chose.

  60. leejolem Says:

    Bama, I too thought the street musicians were curiously sexy. I’m with you and Shrew about Brian G. also, he is sax-y. How come I have a feeling the 3 of us would get in trouble if we were at a Monkbot convention together?

  61. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Giant Taylor or Monkbot head!! Yeah!! That would make me happy!

    Lee- you have NO idea. Shrew is kah-razy!!

    I have video of the street musicians on my camera…if I can figure out how to get it, I’ll try to post a link. There is a lot of talking in it…b/c idiot me didn’t think about not talking while holding the camera right next to my big mouth.

  62. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Shelley-Can my giant head have a pink bow??

  63. nolagirl Says:

    I wanna see a giant Taylor head with a pink bow on it!!!! It would look so purty sittin’ across the carriage from me. Awwwww.

    Good think Shrew is playing catch up today, or else you’re right Bama, she’d kick your ass all the way from Joisy for macking on sax-y man.

  64. baby duck Says:

    The street musicians: It must be the shoes. I’m enamored with the shoes. I want to date the shoes. Bama, hand over that tape.

  65. The first step is admitting you have a problem « The Ivory Hut Says:

    […] to paraphrase Band-Aid Boy from a recent Monkbot convention in New Orleans, let me say, loud and clear: My name is Ivoryhut, and I listen to country music. There. I said it. […]

Comments are closed.


