And We Bid Farewell to Beyonce Lite

by

picture-1.png

It really was Stephanie Edwards’ time to go home. She’s a lovely girl…but Melinda’s my one, true love.

Short post tonight…as I’m going to bed early.

Have fun discussing Peter Noone (who Shrew described as “dancing like a Muppet”) and Lulu (who was pitchier than Ace Young with tonsillitis).

Oh…and I thought the Ford commercial was one of the best ones I’ve ever seen. (Our little Mindy did backflips…or at least her stunt double did.)

P.S. I love 30-minute results shows. They make so much more sense…though I did miss the group number.

Entertainment Weekly

21 Responses to “And We Bid Farewell to Beyonce Lite”

  1. Quossum Says:

    I was bereft at the lack of a sing-out. That little slice of schadenfreude was the guilty pleasure of my week.

    –Q

  2. Shelley Says:

    ‘fess up, Q…you had to go to the thesaurus for “schadenfreude”.

    there is NO WAY you came up with that out of the blue.

  3. Quossum Says:

    I confess that I referred to dictionary dot com to spell it, but I’ve definitely seen it used before–like on Worst, natch! 😉

    –Q

  4. Jan Says:

    No sing out? What’s the point of watching then? I didn’t see the show and it was spoiled like soured milk. Why oh why is Sanjaya still here!!! Top 10! TEN DANG IT ALL TO HELL!!!!!!!!!! Buh bye Stephanie. Sorry you sucked last night girl but ya did. She’s got skills though and I thought she was a contender.

  5. Quossum Says:

    Stephanie fell victim to vote-splitting with the other (better) divas, and Sanjaya got ‘tweener votes and a lil’ help from VFTW.

    Like Simon said, Crying Girl’s face said it all.

    I’ve heard that she was a “plant.” Producers saw her over-the-top emotions while she attended the rehearsal and gave her prime tix to the performance show. Then, it was just point the camera and let the waterworks commence. Hilarity (or tenderness–which you choose tells a little something about you) ensues.

    –Q

  6. leejolem Says:

    Shelley and Q, gota give props to Rowan for using “schadenfreude” in the sombrero thread (i think). Lerve that word (being 3/4 German and 1/4 Scottish).

    Jan, I hope you saw my post in the sombrero thread about my dorky Taylor comment.

    I figured Stephanie would go tonight, but I was surprised that Chris R. was in the bottom 2. I thought it was his best night. I would have predicted Phil or Gina.

    The Ford commercial was really good. “Melinda” doing back flips was great.

  7. Quossum Says:

    That’s right, I could have *sworn* I had seen it here at Monkbot, too, but I didn’t even know where to start looking for it! Good catch, leejolem!

    I really pegged Phil for bottom 2 as well. I had predicted Haley off last week, but she’s shown surprising tenacity. And hot pants.

    –Q

  8. Hatson Says:

    I saw Ashley as a “fan” on Idol Chat tonight which I believe was taped at the show last night. No, I can’t believe I watched either!!! Question…. Will hot pants always beat out talent? Never mind….. I think I remember the answer from high school!

  9. jenfera Says:

    Somehow, I can’t imagine getting tickets to the AI tour this year. I mean, you could always take your bathroom break during Sanjaya, but then what would you do during Haley, Phil & Chris R.?

  10. ivoryhut Says:

    They had a Dream Academy competition in the Philippines, a sort of combination Idol and One show. The musicians who competed (I can say “musicians” because all played at least one instrument) received training in performance (both live and for video), composition, and of course, voice.

    They ended up with a really strong top 6 (I think it was 6). The winner was a young lady (18) who was not only a great vocalist but a prolific and talented songwriter. One of her “assignment” compositions became a #1 hit even while the competition was still underway. She just released her debut album, and I believe she wrote 8 of the 10 songs in it. (I have a point here, I promise.)

    The remaining contestants were very good artists and songwriters in their own right. They just couldn’t overcome the eventual winner’s lead. So what happened? After the competition, they came together and formed a band.

    I would pay to watch them. Lots of original music and instrument-playing going around. I know a big part of my enjoyment of AI last season was that I knew I was watching – and rooting for – a musician. While I can truly appreciate a good vocal, what really does it for me is knowing that someone can write music, play an instrument.

    I don’t see myself wanting to see the AI tour this year either. Only half of them interest me, and so far, mildly at that. (I would, however, watch a Melinda concert.)

    I lied. I didn’t have a point after all. Sorry. My tummy hurts and I’m not thinking straight.

  11. leejolem Says:

    Q, Haley has shown “surprising tenacity” and a whole lot more!! lol

    Ivory, HC4S and I were just talking about how boring an AI concert would be this year. Last year’s contestants seemed much more well rounded. It’s ok if you didn’t have a point. Most (if not all) of my posts are pointless.

    Dr Bob, Sydney Poitier was hawt in his day (he’s still very handsome). (oops, this may be the wrong thread for that comment)

  12. shrewspeaks Says:

    I said it last night…

    and then there were two Divas.

    I was ruminating on the thought of this season vs. last on my drive into work. What sparked it all was the thought “what is the theme next week” and then I just didn’t care. Last year at this time I would have had 7 song choices already in mind for not just Taylor but many of the other contestants. Am I sad by this…HECK NO! I am grateful. I don’t EVER want to be consumed like that again. This season has brought Idol back to what it was for me in previous years…day after water cooler fodder. I can’t imagine come May I will be listening to some radio show streaming from a far off land in hopes that Mindy Doo or Miss Sparkles or Chubby would be on as part of their trip home. WHew! I am happy for it!

  13. Shelley Says:

    shrew…this video on msn kind of coincides with what you said. (you’ll have to scroll down the page to see it..it has picture of Sanjaya on it)

    though it’s more about how Idol is NOT about the quality of singer. Plus, it ties in with the other thread today about popularity of performers. Some “analyst” compares Daughtry’s success with Taylor’s.

  14. Dr. Bob Says:

    Idol this year is a mildly pleasant diversion. I listen to it while I do other things. I agree with all of you who are relieved by the lack of intensity. I have only voted once and then just twice. Last year, I was voting as soon as the show ended and voting for the whole danged time.

    I had a hard time imagining myself at the Idol tour last year — I actually would pay to not go this year. (I am sorry that your tummy hurts and hope that it is all better, Ivory. )

  15. MaryS-NJ Says:

    “though it’s more about how Idol is NOT about the quality of singer. Plus, it ties in with the other thread today about popularity of performers. Some “analyst” compares Daughtry’s success with Taylor’s.”

    I know you weren’t addressing me but I wanted to comment on it. The point of this is valid, because American Idol is about a lot of things besides singing. But the problem with this video is the implication that Taylor is not real “talent” as compared with Daughtry.

  16. Shelley Says:

    thanks for sharing MaryS-NJ…it’s nice to have you here.

    that’s why i put the quotes around the word “analyst” because of his comparison of daughtry and taylor. (that was my attempt at sarcasm)

    i don’t think he knows what he’s talking about on that level…but his point about performer popularity was valid.

  17. leejolem Says:

    Shrew, you’ve got a good point. I don’t freak out this season if I have to go somewhere on a Tuesday or Wednesday evening. Last year I didn’t want to miss a minute of the show, and I even watched it all over again on Reality TV network. How do you spell relief–A-I-6.

    “Mindy Doo, Miss Sparkles and Chubby”–lol!!!

  18. rowan Says:

    Lee – I posted you a schadenfreude reference on the other thread mentioning Sidney Poitier, cos it meant my public admission to a tweenage crush on Peter Noone would be less ‘out there’. Now I’ve outed myself all over again! O_o

    Shrew and Dr Bob – agree that it is good not to be anything like so dialled into Idol this year. On the one hand, it makes me feel all even-keely and sensible, dismissively relaxed about who goes home: Idol without angst.On the othe hand, though, I have a little pang for the big high-stakes nights in chat in the wee small hours and Shelley’s lightening play by play. Boy, was it fun! And fun having we are still now (Lee – this is your fault – have German word-order interference now!) 🙂 German was the boss of me at school, not the easiest language to learn, but admired it greatly.

  19. leejolem Says:

    Rowan, I took 2 yrs of German in high school and can only remember a few phrases–“Lori ist meine Schwestern”, “Ich heise Liese”, “du bist ein Scheistkopf”. None of these will get me very far if I ever visit Germany.
    Peter Noone??? I watched the video Shelley posted the other day, and he was kind of a goober, but a cute goober. I was totally nutso over Davey Jones–something about the British accent.

  20. rowan Says:

    Aww, Davey Jones was verrry cute! watched “The Monkees” for him and him alone.

  21. leejolem Says:

    Rowan, dare I say that the Monkees had a little Monkbot in them? Me thinks so!

Comments are closed.


