Four Words I Never Thought I’d Say…I Love Joey Fatone

by

Okay, for those of you watching “Dancing with the Stars,” I have to say I think Joey Fatone might win it.

I loved his quick step with Kym Johnson this week.

In honor of Joey

I also absolutely LOVE Paulina Porizkova. Alright, so she’s not the best dancer…but she has major charm and a great sense of her own silliness. (Plus…read her bio at IMDB.com…how can anyone NOT love her? And she has been married to Ric Ocasek since 1989, and they have two kids. She’s my hero.)

In honor of Paulina

And as much as I love Cheryl Burke, I’m not really feeling the love between her and Ian Ziering. I mean, their dancing is nice and both of them are beautiful people and seem to be genuinely nice people…but the chemistry between the two of them is zero. It pains me to think Cheryl won’t be in the finals this year…but I gotta keeps it for reelz.

I also feel a mention of Apollo Anton Ohno is apropos. He is a cutie, as is his partner, Julianne Hough. But they are gonna have to do some major charming of the audience to stay ahead.

I’m also loving John Ratzenberger and Clyde Drexler…and even ol’ Billy Ray Cyrus grew on me a bit this week. Plus, Heather Mills is doing WONDERS for her career and public image with this competition. She came off this week as gutsy and fiesty and likeable. I’m looking forward to seeing more from her.

I know I’m supposed to like Laila Ali…and I do…but I think she’s a shoe in to be in the finals…so I have to divert my attention elsewhere.

However…I will NOT cast any support for the following: Shandi Fennessy and Leeza Gibbons. Both of them grate on me like nails on a chalkboard.

Let me ask y’all this…except for Shandi and Leeza…does anyone else besides me find that the personalities on “Dancing with the Stars” are like a zillion times more interesting than any of this year’s AI contenders? I mean, I love Mindy Doo…but she can’t compare with the likes of Joey Fat-one.

I think AI could take some notes from “Dancing” and lighten things up a little.

(Now, before everyone bashes me for saying that…let me make it clear that I fully understand that “Dancing” competitors are all used to the public eye…AND I know that AI is all about a person’s chance at success in their chosen career. BUT…that doesn’t mean the AI finalists can’t be more personable.)

Now…for those who are NOT watching “Dancing with the Stars,” I offer you this piece of cinematic genius created by a native Mississippian whose work always amazed me and made me smile, laugh, and sometimes cry…Jim Henson.


Good luck getting this out of your heads for the rest of the day…mwa-ah-ah.

23 Responses to “Four Words I Never Thought I’d Say…I Love Joey Fatone”

  1. leejolem Says:

    Shelley, I said the exact thing to HC4S while we were watching DWTS tonight–it is so much more entertaining than AI this year. Don’t get me wrong–I still enjoy AI, but DWTS has more badda-bing. Maybe cuz they are stars. It’s cool this year cuz none of the stars totally suck like in years past (master p, jerry springer), and even Billy Ray made great improvements this week. I’m really in love with Joey and John R. Heather Mills was really amazing–you really can’t tell that she has a prosthetic leg. It’s unbelievable to watch.

    ps. I love the muppets!!

  2. leejolem Says:

    Where did you find that “fat one” video Shelley–hi-larious!

  3. Hatson Says:

    Shelley, your assessment is as usual spot on. I was running errands this afternoon and listening to my Taylor Hick’s AI appearances CD, and was thinking how no one this year can come close to the entertainment and fun he gave us. I mean, where are the entertainers? Yes there are some good singers but I am just not invested. The personalities on DWTS are so much more compelling. I have no interest in attending an AI concert this year whereas last year I flew cross country to attend. Many here have suggested those same feelings. There seems to be a really spirit of fun that is missing at AI. Is it because the performers are a little older? Just a thought.

  4. jenfera Says:

    Manamanop!

    I don’t watch DWTS, but I do have a theory about the lack of personality on AI this year. I think it is a result of the natural arc of the show’s popularity. The first season was a fluke, nobody knew yet what it could be. By the time Kelly really started hitting the charts, the new season was starting and people didn’t start really paying attention until the big Rueben/Clay vote count insanity. By season 3, they were getting some serious talent and a more consistent audience, and they had the whole Hawaii debacle. People realized that organized voting blocs could actually have an effect. By season 4, the thing was a juggernaut. You had Bo and Constantine making it to the top 12 as the shows first rockers, and Carrie became an instant huge success in country music. By the time season 5 rolled along, everyone knew how huge this thing was and you had all kinds of serious singers and musicians not just trying out, but playing the game. They figured out there was strategy to this thing, that it did have to be not just about their voices but also their personalities. They knew how to exploit the whole thing. And it resulted in probably the best season ever with the most talented top 12 ever. (Even the judges said this more than once last year. Anyone hear them say that this year? I don’t think so.)

    So, what happened this year? I think it is a combination of things. It’s both the producers trying to get more control over the thing, and maybe pushing the judges not to put some of the edgier contestants through to the top 24. But also the contestants themselves, now being fully aware of the fact that this is “a voting competition”, could also be reining themselves in to some degree. They could be over-strategizing, trying not to get caught in the various traps that other contestants have got into – being too cocky, mouthing off to Simon, etc.

    And that’s my theory and I’m sticking to it. Manamanop!

  5. double d Says:

    Laila scares me and EYE-ANNE (it’s freakin’ EEEEE-AN) is like a Ken doll. Have to say that FA-tone grew on me but he’s Shrew’s man. I really thought Billy Ray was sweet. But my pick is AAO babay! That dude could move. By FAR, the best of the night and I’m just a sucker for that Soul Patch. UNGH!

  6. shrewspeaks Says:

    FATONE

  7. shrewspeaks Says:

    I am scared for my general well being and sanity.

  8. Dr. Bob Says:

    Jim Henson = comic genius.

  9. leejolem Says:

    Shrew, don’t be askeered!! Just relax and enjoy Wackadoo Island. It’s a lovely place to visit.

    Hatson, I want a TH AI CD!! Did you put it together yourself? I’m technologically challenged and don’t know how to do that. Duh!!!! I would love to hear Something, Try a Little Tenderness, You Send Me, etc… blasting on my car CD player.

    Grover rules!!

  10. KD Says:

    Manamanop…doodoodoodoodoo….
    My all time FA-Vo-RITE!!! Nothing like listening to my girls singing this song….Amen Dr. Bob….he was genius.
    Another one of my favorites….

    (I have no clue how to put in a link…sorry…guess y’all will have to cut and paste…anyone want to give me a lesson??) 🙂

  11. KD Says:

    Hey…it showed up as a link….neato mosquito…
    How do you change the name though??

  12. Hatson Says:

    lee……………. I downloaded most from GC last year. I am not techie either!

  13. jenfera Says:

    Let us not forget the story of the quack who’s gone to the dogs…

  14. nolagirl Says:

    Totally off topic, but had to pop in to see if any of y’all caught the Sanjaya/Crying Girl spoof during Weekend Update on SNL? It was REAL funny.

  15. jenfera Says:

    Nola, I saw it! The sad part was that it was supposed to be a spoof and that guy sang better than Jambalaya! But the audience part was the best! MJ has the clip posted from GoFish.

  16. leejolem Says:

    Nola, I saw it. When they showed Dan Ackroyd crying I cracked up. It wasn’t quite as funny as the TH spoof (edited). Soul Patrol, w***!

    Sorry if this is a duplicate–I was in moderation limbo cuz of w***

  17. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    Leejolem–I’ll make you a TH AI CD…for a price lol. Just joking. In fact I’ll burn you one right now (I expect a bag of lindt truffles when I get home..lol).

  18. leejolem Says:

    Sorry Shelley, sometimes my sense of humor is warped. I didn’t even think about that being inappropriate. Anyway, anyone who saw it remembers.

    (note to self: remember you are 42yo female when posting instead of 13 yo adolescent)

  19. nolagirl Says:

    I found the link from gofish for those who didn’t see it!
    http://www.gofish.com/player.gfp?gfid=30-1091869

  20. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    Cool vids Shell. Shandi-full-of-Fennessey is awesome! Joey Fatone and Clyde and Heather are likable to be sure, but this year isn’t as competitive as last year to me…

  21. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    P.S. For all the Billy Ray Cyrus haters……Don’t break my heart, my achey breakey heart!

  22. shrewspeaks Says:

    Okay…who loves the fact that Patrickkaddiddlehopper watches Dancin’?

  23. Jan Says:

    I think DWTS is great too. It’s just so fun to see people really improve and be happy and have fun while being entertaining.

Comments are closed.


