Goodbye, Gray

by

Well, it’s over…for good this time.

I didn’t cry like I did so many months ago when it happened before.

Instead, I just smiled and sighed a quiet sigh of relief…for me and for Gray.

The angst is gone. The discourse is gone. The in-fighting is gone.

But the beauty of this closing is what remains…all the good.

And there’s a lot of it.

There are new friendships…all because of Gray Charles.

There are new blogs…all because of Gray Charles.

There are inside jokes and lingo…all because of Gray Charles.

There are insights to new artists and music…all because of Gray Charles.

There are enlightened minds…all because of Gray Charles.

There are great memories and great conversations…all because of Gray Charles.

And there is that lasting feeling that we can all hold tight to and remember years from now that we were once a part of this spark of a community that spanned the globe and reveled in the joys of life and the glory of music.

All. Because. of. Gray. Charles.

Gray, I’ll miss you.


Goodbye StrangerSupertramp

I’ll remember you fondly.


Nobody Does It BetterCarly Simon

I’ll smile.


I’ll Be OkayAmanda Marshall

I’ll always love you, and I’ll forever hate you.


The Wind Cries MaryRobyn Hitchcock

And I’ll always believe Captain & Tennille is better than Bob Dylan


We Never Really Say Goodbye
Captain & Tennille

Good luck and goodbye, my friend.


LullabyShelley Powers

You deserve this…and I anticipate your next great venture.


Free BirdLynyrd Skynyrd

24 Responses to “Goodbye, Gray”

  1. double d Says:

    Very well put Shelley. I’ll have more on the subject later but I’m very much at ease for Gray, and for us. I hope Taylor realizes what a friend he’s had in “the man behind the curtain”.

  2. ridearoundsally Says:

    Good luck Gray, I wish you everything good in life, I will miss you, you will always be Sally’s sweet baboo.
    x

  3. Claire Says:

    Well put, double to da D. I am “at ease” for Gray also. Last time he said “Finito” I was shocked and upset, this time I half-expected it – like many others, I suspect. And I am happy for him. Changes on the site aside, it was great to have him back for a time, and now it is over for good. Funny how feelings change. Last time I wanted him to stay. This time, I just want to give him a hug and buy him a drink.

    Shelley – this post was beautiful and I think we’re pretty much on the same page with our feelings. (Except for Captain & Tennille. For shame, girl šŸ™‚ )

    Isn’t it amazing the effect one blog can have on a whole Internet community? Someone should do a documentary about that……or sumthin’…..

  4. shrewspeaks Says:

    For Gray.

  5. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Well, I just wrote the most eloquent and moving tribute to you Gray…except my computer timed out and I lost it all. (Really, it was, it woulda brought you to tears man.)

    So to paraphrase myself:

    I love and adore you. I will miss you and GC.com. I’m sorry I let you down my dear (imaginary) friend. You are a genius and regret should never enter your mind. Your wife and children will reap the rewards of this decision and you will be able to be present and engaged in their lives.

    And, please come play in the jungle with us. Hang out, have a banana.

    And now, a song:

    You are my Uncle Monkbot. My only Uncle Monkbot. You make me haaaapy, when skies are gray (no pun intended). You’ll never know dear Uncle Monkbot…how much I lurve you. Please go and take your sunshine somewhere else and use it for good not eeeeevil.

  6. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He he he’s just leaving us like that…..*don’t start screaming again Alexa* Is the world ending?????? AHHHHHHHHHHHHH Ok….I’m calming down….*sigh, deep breath*….everything is gonna be ok, right? Yes it is….I hope….

    P.S. I love the song Bama….

  7. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    AH!!! I can’t believe this is happening…well actually I can…I can’t even believe Gray has survived this long…but but but……*calm down Alexa*…..is this the end of the world….maybe not…..maybe so……I have no idea where I am going with this…well…I’ll get over it….bye Gray….

    P.S. I like your song Bama….lol

  8. Hatson Says:

    Those were the days my friend we thought they’d never end, we’ll sing and dance forever and a day…….. Thanks to you Gray Charles you have made a difference to so many people. You have made us laugh, cry, sing along. and make new friends! I know you don’t really like people to thank you but as a Monkbot would say….. Tough Bananas! Love Ya….. Really

  9. leejolem Says:

    Shelley, you really put it beautifully. Sadness, but relief, and actually happy for thing 1 and thing 2 and Mrs Gray that they have their dad and hubby back. I hope Taylor and he can continue a friendship that doesn’t revolve around Gray having to get info from Taylor to feed to the masses.

    Bama, your song was great. I’m sure your long post was beautiful too. I know I would have been crying!

    p.s. Man, I’m gonna miss Premier (that was for you DD)–lol!

  10. Squeebee Says:

    Well, it had to happen sometime. Strangely, I am not as broken up about the end of graycharles.com as we know it this time around. I have found a home here, and I feel great relief for Gray. I know it has been a long, annoying road at times, and it probably didn’t seem worth it most of the time. Gray, you will be missed, but I (and I think I speak for most) totally understand and applaud your decision. I wish you all the best!

  11. Theresa K. Says:

    I think that Gray took the long way home, graciously extending his stay to benefit Taylor. I’m glad Gray is doing what he feels needs to be done. I sure wish that the real GC would create a part-time website for music introduction and commentary; I’ve grown accustomed to his opinions and musical tastes.

    Take the Long Way Home, but definitely go home.

  12. jenfera Says:

    Nice song selections, Shelley. (although I am not a big Captain & Tenille or Dylan fan!)

    There’s a lot of things ending all at once it seems. The Bigger Picture, American Idol as we know it, and now Gray’s. It’s a lot to handle all at once!

    I posted some lyrics on Gray’s that I thought applied nicely – from Kenny Wayne Shepherd’s The Last Goodbye:

    Door closes
    Another one opens
    I feel the cold wind blowing
    Over me
    Long gone
    But not forgotten
    I might be lost
    I might be finally free
    Iā€™m finally free

    Gray is finally free, and now maybe I will be free of the hold it had on me. Maybe I will stop being such a slacker at work. (Or maybe I will just hang out here more often?) Maybe Gray will come back someday in some other format. I know I wish him all the best, and I hope he stops by here now and then, if only so we can enjoy his sparring with Shelley from time to time.

    A change has finally come.

  13. Shelley Says:

    Beautifully put, Jen.

  14. Jan Says:

    I wish Gray nothing but peace, joy, and happiness spent with his friends and loved ones. I wish the same for all of you. I have a whole new collection of friends and a new soundtrack for my life thanks to Gray.

  15. wompuss Says:

    Fare thee well, friend, fare thee well. ~numerous sloppy nose kisses~

  16. baby duck Says:

    Your post a few days back helped work through a lot of thoughts about the graycharles blog. It lessened the blow of today’s news. Gray had the integrity to follow his guiding light — a quote from Dave Eggers — the second time around as well as the first: you could see in his posts how he worked to be ‘open-minded and generous and understanding and forgiving and accepting’. He knew when to say yes, and has the clarity to know when it’s time to move on. (Ivoryhut, do we owe that link to you?)

    By the time I recognize this moment
    This moment will be gone
    But I will bend the light pretending
    That it somehow lingered on

    Gray, I hope your life ahead includes time for MonkbotTalk. None of us would be here were it not for you. We owe ya. Big time.

  17. double d Says:

    You guys “mmooovvve me”….seriously.

    Here is my homage to that which is Gray Charles.

  18. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    wow, I found you guys!!!! I havent recieved any emails since the other site was gone šŸ˜¦ Sooo glad I found you now!
    very well said by all and I just love that song goodbye stranger, how fitting altho lots of people dont feel like strangers after all this time, yet many have never met in person (altho many have)

  19. texan Says:

    ATTA BOY GRAY!

    I am thrilled for you and for Mrs. Gray and Thing 1 and Thing 2!

    Alexandra Patsavas should fear your newly found free time!

    A pop culture binge is overdue! Go, Gray Go!

  20. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    is there a way to gewt emails to my email addy telling me there are newq posts? I miss it here, you ladys are awsome, and without gray I neeeeeed to pull up a couch LOL

  21. leejolem Says:

    DD, your Music Maven site rawks!!! I graduated in 1982 also, so it’s like a walk down memory lane reading your posts (A Star is Born soundtrack–my sister owned the album, and we wore it out!). I can’t wait to see what else you have in store for us.

    OT–HC4S and I are now officially addicted to The Office (we have to find something to fill our time w/gc going away). We watched season 1 on dvd and are 1/2way thru season 2 (we were up until 5am this am watching it). If I was in a burning building and had to choose between saving Sting, Taylor or John K. I would lay Sting on the ground and put TH and JK on top of him and use him as a gurney/stretcher to save those 2. I love Jim/John soooo much it hurts. I want he and Pam to get married, and I want an invitation. Dwight and Angela–omgosh!! Too weird.

  22. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    OMG we stayed up so late watching the season 2 DVD-I was even dreaming about Dwight as a sith lord (NOT fantasizing)…I feel like I’m getting caught up, but at the same time becoming obsessed with it. WHY, WHY, WHY?!?!?!?!?! I knew this would happen to me…oh well…it is an amazing show…I LOVE YOU MICHAEL SCOTT (Steve Carell)!!!!!

  23. Suzi-Q Says:

    The “Lullaby” is worth listening to over and over! One of my favorites of Shelley’s music! There is always promise and Shell “I am a promise” is you entirely no matter what the age.

  24. Libby Says:

    Shelley,

    Thank you for the lovely and fitting music salute to Gray.

    We will always appreciate the wonderful contribution that Gray has made to Taylor Hicks’ career and all of our lives who participated in that community.

    God Speed, Gray.

Comments are closed.


