Gray Friday…Really Gray Saturday

by

I kid you not…this is how the sky looked in Jackson today.

Feeling a little blue…I can’t imagine why (she said sarcastically).

Yeah…I know I said I’m relieved that Gray Charles finally closed his doors…but I’m still melanchololy.

Recorded a few songs in honor of the cloudy skies and closed blog.

Everytime We Say GoodbyeShelley Powers

Fire and RainShelley Powers

Dream a Little Dream of MeShelley Powers

11 Responses to “Gray Friday…Really Gray Saturday”

  1. jenfera Says:

    Shelley, I can hear the melancholy in your voice.
    😦

    I am jealous of your flowers though. It won’t be flower time around here for a bit longer. Daffodils near the end of April. I went to the Smith College Spring Bulb Show a couple weeks ago. It was beautiful. Here’s a link to my pictures. Maybe it will cheer you up a bit!
    πŸ™‚
    http://picasaweb.google.com/jenrebad/Flowershow

  2. Hatson Says:

    Jen, your pictures really do lift my spirits. My daughter is a Smithee, but I haven’t been there recently. Your pictures remind us of all the beauty of the earth(even on Gray Saturday) Thanks!

  3. Shelley Says:

    Jen…beautiful. They did cheer me up. Thanks.

    It’s funny, because earlier this week…I had to put on shorts ’cause it got up in the 80s. Ha.

  4. jenfera Says:

    Thanks! I’m not a Smithee myself, but I love going to the show, and to Northampton for any old reason.

    Wow, I don’t think I will be pulling the shorts out for another couple months! Although I have to go to Arkansas for work in a few weeks. Maybe I can warm up a little then.
    πŸ˜‰

  5. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    Wow…those flowers are pretty….:) it’s nice to see them on Gray Saturday….(also watching the scene where Pam and Jim kiss for the first time on the season 2 DVD of The Office helped…A LOT!).

  6. Theresa K. Says:

    Those beautiful flowers wouldn’t be blooming without that rain and those gray skies. I find it ironic that way up in Minnesota, we’re having the same exact weather. (Of course, it could just be something called “spring” as well.)

    Thanks for the songs. I’m going to listen to them in a few minutes. God’s blessings to you, Shelley! Enjoy your Sunday.

  7. Theresa K. Says:

    Ugh, you should have a cry warning on the Death Cab for Cutie video. I’m six days out from abdominal surgery…but it was a good kind of pain. I just can’t stop the wet stuff falling from my eyes, though. Think I’ll wait to listen to your songs until tomorrow. Night all.

  8. Hatson Says:

    Shelley, Sorry I stopped to smell the flowers and forgot to tell you how hauntingly beautiful your songs were. That was probably very hard for you to do, but very appreciated. I am sad, but in a good way if that makes any sense.

  9. MaryS-NJ Says:

    It’s gray and drizzly here too. But amidst the the gloom we have clumps of bright yellow daffodils and purple crocuses. It’s kind of like saying “life goes on”. Gray left a generous parting gift last night – like flowers on a drizzy day.

    I’m sad that graycharlesdotcom will be sort of hiatusing until someone figures out what to do with it but I’m happy that Gray is getting his normal life back.

  10. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    sighs, to make things even greyer, we are getting snow next weekend (easter weekend blah) I want to see flowers and sun and warm rays on my face.
    Im happy for gray to be getting his life back, but sad cause im going to miss him, but his family is definately more important πŸ™‚ and the monkbots will be here right? πŸ˜€

  11. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    lol I just went back and listened to your songs, and I love fire and rain but honestly didnt know that was the name of that song. You have a awsome voice shelly!

Comments are closed.


