This Scene Has Been On My Mind Since Yesterday

by
8 Responses to “This Scene Has Been On My Mind Since Yesterday”

  1. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    AHHH!!! I love this movie…hold on…let me think of what it is called…YES! The Truman Show–right? This movie is amazing, and VERY sad…I love Jim carey though! *such a wonderful scene*

  2. leejolem Says:

    Shelley, in a word–brilliant, absolutely brilliant. That was so appropriate that I am speechless (almost).

    Reason for hope=the people cheered when Truman walked free.

  3. Claire Says:

    Aw, Shelley. That scene is so poignant.

    I’m bloooo today 😦 At lunchtime I said goodbye to my brother and his three young children. They are moving to Australia in a week, but I won’t get a chance to see them again before they go. I have shed more tears today than I have in a long time. I’m crying now. I literally had to stand up from the dinner table, hug them all and leave. I knew I couldn’t handle a long-drawn out goodbye. I have seen those children every week from the time they were born, and it is a wrench to see them go. My baby niece is only six months old and won’t even remember me. I know they will have a wonderful quality of life and the Internet and telephone means they are never far away, but – still……

    Wow, Gray closes his doors for good and I lose my family to the other side of the world. What a weekend. I’m sure I’ll be fine after a cup of tea, a cry and a good night’s sleep, but right now, I’m sad.

    And I wonder what happened to Truman after he walked through that door….

  4. leejolem Says:

    Claire, what a bummer weekend for you! I’m so sorry to hear about your brother moving w/his children. Australia seems like a world away, I’m sure. I’ll be thinking of you and know that you have a monkbot sistah in Indy who is shedding an empathetic tear with you.

  5. HicksChick4Soul Says:

    😦 what a bad weekend for us all…. 😦

  6. Hatson Says:

    “The Sun Will Come out Tomorrow……..” Let’s cheer up and be grateful for all the good times with Gray, Taylor and each other! The Glad game seems appropriate for us all right now. Claire , you just keep being the best auntie ever and your niece wiil “know” you. The Truman clip speaks volumes doesn’t it?

  7. Quossum Says:

    It’s been raining all weekend here, too. The arena where James, Monkbot and I went for an Agility trial was soaked. Much mud was stepped in, but a good time was had by all. It will definitely be part of Monkbot’s Houston report.

    I’m sad about Gray closing his doors–but then again, I think he “needed” to for so many reasons. I wish him all the best.

    –Q

  8. Hickstyeria Says:

    Claire,

    I know how hard that must be for you. I did what your brother did and moved to Canada from the UK. I thought that I had understood all the consequences but I have to say that I truly didn’t realise how much I would miss my family and the ties that bind. I have an 18 year-old nephew and a 13 year-old niece and they were 8 and 2 when I left so I missed a lot. However, I’ve been as good an auntie as I can be and I know you will be too. You know, nothing is forever and who knows whether they’ll stay or return or even if you’ll end up over there. Start planning your trip to Australia now and that means you’ll have something to look forward to…

    Inspired Shelley, just inspired. I, in turn, thought of a song by Chris De Burgh called ‘Transmission Ends’ – seems to be such an appropriate song all round.

Comments are closed.


