Houston…We Have Monkbot

by

Text and Images
by Quossum

After the exciting but exhausting adventures in New Orleans, Austin, and San Antonio, Monkbot was ready for a break. Ready to settle down for a couple of weeks, kick back, scratch his armpits, and just enjoy being a Monkbot. Take some time to smell the flowers. (Yellow roses, natch! We are in Texas, after all!)

Monkbot spent some time just relaxing, taking in copious amounts of Animal Planet and delighting in the occasional glimpse of a relative.

Eventually he recovered enough to get active again and merrily tried out the agility equipment in the back yard.

Soon enough, he got to see such equipment in use, as he accompanied us to an actual agility trial and had a splendid time, despite the rain and mud that weekend. Monkbot capered about on the railing while handlers “walked the course,” planning their route through the obstacles and sometimes practicing their moves by handling imaginary dogs.

The real action was much faster and harder to catch on camera as dogs sped through the course behind our setup.

In the end, success! Pixie came away with a first and a second place ribbon and a whopping 37 MACH points! Hobbit…well…she leant valuable moral support to the effort and had fun running her courses. Too much fun!

Back at home, Monkbot wanted to help me with my quilting projects, as well. Buried in my stash, he found some fabric he loved:

But this week’s project involved fishy fabric and lots and lots and <i>lots</i> of tiny squares.

Monkbot generously kept me company me during the tedious process of putting them together,

and even posed in front of the design wall which holds the blocks in order so that they can be sewn into rows.

Only a portion of this large design would fit on the wall, and it’s rather a riot of colors, but the end result should be very cool.

And so, after a tender good-bye from my parents,

Monkbot is off to visit Jan in Austin, where many new adventures await.

30 Responses to “Houston…We Have Monkbot”

  1. texastaylorfan Says:

    I’ve heard thru the grapevine that Gray actually posed with Monkbot. Any chance of seeing that pic posted?
    The photographer probably had to sign a non-disclosure, non-publishing contract before snapping the picture though…

  2. Shelley Says:

    You never know what you’re gonna see in the Traveling Monkbot Adventures. 😉

  3. baby duck Says:

    Congrats to Pixie! I’m sure it helped to have TMB there to cheer him (her?) on.

    A monkbot in a fabric stash could get in to endless mischief. I don’t know how you got anything done with him there. I love the Blanche Young pattern. I’ve seen it done in batiks at the local quilt show: won the Viewer’s Choice award.

    After having the li’l feller around for awhile, it must have been hard to see him go.

  4. leejeauxlem Says:

    Q, can’t wait to see the pics at home (can’t view at work). Sounds like the monkbot had fun. MBOS is ready to go to Columbus tonight and meet Taylor tomorrow. He will try to represent
    TM well. I’ll try to keep him out of trouble.

  5. leejolem Says:

    Oops, I forgot to change back to my non-cajun name.

  6. wompuss Says:

    The expression on Quossom’s dad’s face holding TM is priceless! ~LOL~

  7. Staci Says:

    Q –

    Great post. I love getting to know more about you, through MonkBot. How in the world do you have time to grow roses, train dogs, AND quilt. Talented woman! Thanks for the pics.

    You’re parents don’t look so sure about our little friend. 😉

  8. Squeebee Says:

    Q-TMB looks like he had a great time in your care!

    Leejolem-hope you and your daughter have a great time at the show! Did you get Meet and Greets?

  9. leejolem Says:

    Squee, we got the mysterious email about laminates that are given out to people who bought tix thru Taylorhickshq, but it doesn’t specify a m&g. Who knows? I’m going early to p/u and check it out just in case.

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Our little man looks like he’s having the time of his life!

  11. leejolem Says:

    My monkbot cap arrived!!!!! HC4S and I will do our best to get it to Taylor. Keep your fingers crossed. We are Monkbots on a mission! (wearing shirts, holding mbos, giving him cap).

  12. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Way to Lee! I bet you’ll do us all proud!

  13. double d Says:

    OK, Q — I want to hear the explanation of the Monkbot to your parents…heh.

  14. wompuss Says:

    Another Monkbot Conference in the making, Shells? June 2nd? Tupelo? Elvis Festival? (so, who is Elvis?)

  15. nolagirl Says:

    Look at Pixie and Hobbit!! They are so cute, I could squeze ’em!!

    I like how your mom seems to be petting MB ever so delicately.

  16. Shelley Says:

    Way to go, Lee! Yeah! 😉

    Man, I wish I had put up a cap that just said Monkbot…since I’m getting away from the Soul Patrol/Monkbot Division…but I guess, since it’s for Taylor…it’s all good. 😉

  17. Claire Says:

    TM is such a cutie. And Q, you go with your bad quilting self, that one up on the wall looks fab!

    Guys, will someone give our nurses more money & less hours already! This work to rule is driving me crazy!! Yep, it’s still going on. We have a one-hour stoppage this Wednesday, which means I might actually get some of my own work done. Mind you, all the extra running around I’m doing to find people (cos they won’t/can’t answer phones) is good for shapin’ the legs – maybe I oughta shave ’em and wear a skirt to take advantage!

    OT, methinks the archives, or the bare bones thereof, are up at GC’s…

  18. Shelley Says:

    I’m so happy about archives…I could spit!!!!

    (Of course, it’s because I’m truly evil and selfish…I kept thinking what a pain to have ALL the links I’ve made to GC.com got to TH.com.)

    Though y’all can’t see it…I’m doing a happy dance right now.

    For Gray putting the archives back up…and for Claire telling us about it…y’all win the

    Official Prize of the Day

  19. Claire Says:

    So Gray and I share the OPOTD?? Cool!!!!

    Gray – you must be so honoured. Seriously. Sharing with me, of all people? You lucky dawg, you…

  20. texan Says:

    who would share happy dance snoopy? not me! 😉

  21. AmyMc Says:

    Very cute! Loved seeing all the places Monkbot has been!

  22. jenfera Says:

    Hey, all, I am traveling for work this week so I am late to the party today. Hello from Arkansas!
    Loved the report, Q! Your dogs are so cute. I love reading all about the TMB’s adventures.
    V. cool on the revived archives. I will have to point them out to my girlfriend who was slower on the uptake than me. She started reading Gray’s about 2 weeks before it closed!

  23. Quossum Says:

    Thanks for the kind words, all! My mom and dad actually *insisted* upon being photographed with Monkbot, and though Dad’s no Taylor or Gray, I’m glad he got his moment in the sun.

    Though MB’s adventures in Houston seem rather sedate compared to his later activities…I’m sure exciting details are coming soon! 😉

    –Q

  24. JaneyLOL Says:

    Ahem..this is my very first post in Monkeybot….

    Im freakin out a little bit here.. SHELLEY??? Houston?? Quilting?? Classical music???

    ARE YOU SURE youre not somebody I know?!?! LOL

    My mother is a famous elementary school band director in Houston (my family still lives there)… my family are trained musicians (except for me cuz im deaf LOL)… and Quilting.. I have done quite a few myself!!

    I shall eagerly wait for a reply and enjoy the Monkeybot while I can cuz being in California aint easy to post here – cuz of da dang timezone LOL

    ~ JaneyLOL (deaf redhead chick from Texas)

  25. Hickstyeria Says:

    Loved the photos Quossom! Your pooches look cute too and so well-behaved to accept Monkbot so easily on their territory. Your parents are also great sports!

    JaneyLOL – shout out to you! Loved hearing from you on GC.com and nice that you’ve found Monkbot.

  26. ~Z~ Says:

    Hey Sis! WOW! Never thought I’d see Dad on the NET!

    Love the Monkbot! How crazy!

    Give my congrats to my neices! (hehehe… Yes, that would be Pixie and Hobbit…) What Champs they are! And they train so hard!

    ~Z~
    (Q’s Little Sister… Yes, REALLY!)

  27. Hickstyeria Says:

    Browsing the web, I saw a website featured on the BBC called ‘Remember the Milk’. An Australian company, the site features a task manager similar to Outlook’s but it’s different because it’s completely web-based . Why do I mention it? Because I might have found a fellow Monkbot for our travelling one…check out the 3rd member of the ‘Milk’ team, ‘Bob’.

    http://www.rememberthemilk.com

  28. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hi Janey! Welcome to Monkbot!

  29. Dr. Bob Says:

    Quossom, what wonderful pictures!! Your quilt is stunning. Just … wow.

    I did fear for MonkBot — he looked a little anxious during the agility trials.

  30. rowan Says:

    Super post and write-up, Q! Love the pic of TM puzzling out how to work a sewing machine…alas, a skill I never mastered. add me to your list of quilt groupies! Amazing.

Comments are closed.


