Planting and Baking

by
20 Responses to “Planting and Baking”

  1. jenfera Says:

    Planting & baking – two of my favorite things to do! And all that gardening is a lot of work! I worked outside for most of the afternoon yesterday but I don’t feel like I have that much to show. I transplanted my tomato seedlings fromi their little starter cells to big plastic cups and set up my tiny little plastic greenhouse on the back deck to keep them in for now. It’s still too early to put them in the ground. I did plant some lettuce and beans in the ground though, because those don’t mind the cold.

    I expanded the veggie garden a bit, so I am a little sore today from all the digging, and I didn’t even get to the flower border I wanted to dig up yesterday. I planted some lilacs near the fence last year and my husband didn’t notice them. He mowed them down! Oops, my fault for not marking them off with some edging and mulch. Well, I checked yesterday and against all odds, they came back. They are just a few inches tall, but they have little green leaves on them. So, I bought some other perennials to plant around them, along with some edging and mulch. But I gotta get back out there soon – before mowing season starts! The grass is starting to fill in nicely already – eek!

    So, are you posting that yummy looking cake recipe on the food thread??

  2. Little Deb Says:

    Morning. Yay for spring and planting. One of the few things I enjoy about living on Long Island is my veggie garden. We have expanded it to 10′ wide by 50′ long and I grow everything. I’ve got cauliflower, broccoli and brussels sprouts in the ground that I started from seed and I planted snow peas, spinach, turnips, beets and lettuce seeds yesterday. Saturday we went to the local nursery and bought tomato plants (which I grow in buckets), collard greens, eggplant, and herbs that I need to plant today.

    I also do a bunch of “home canning” with cukes, eggplant, tomatoes, habenero hot sauce, home smoked chipotle peppers and whatever else we can think of. Then we do the “u-pick” fruit farm thing in the summer (or as my husband calls them “u-eat”) and I can or freeze the fresh fruit or make butters, jellies and preserves.

    I think I must have lived “Little House on the Prairie” in a past life, but I love doing all this stuff. Very therapeutic and good for the soul. Glad to know there are other “planters and cookers” out there.

  3. Shelley Says:

    Jen, I’ll try to remember to do that when I get home tonight.

    It’s a rich cake (cup of sour cream, 2 sticks butter and 6 eggs) and it’s sooooo yummy. 😉

  4. bjewel Says:

    boy, that cake looks delicious! Need some with my coffee,,,mmmmm.

  5. Claire Says:

    mmm…..caaaaake……

    Shelley, the weather looked beautiful in Jacksonville yesterday. It’s good for the soul to see the sunshine and feel the warmth after months and months of dark and cold. I went shopping with a friend yesterday and VERY NEARLY bought a RIDICULOUSLY expensive pair of Marc Jacobs sunglasses. I chickened out, but I was verrrry tempted…..but that’s beside the point. 🙂

    Yay for impending summer-hood and herb gardens! (and cake.)

    ps: I’m LOVIN’ cute widdle Sadie!!!

  6. rowan Says:

    When my four year-old’s garden games changed from toys’ tea parties to stalking zebra, it became clear I needed to get my grass cut. Mt stepdad came with his mower, and things are looking much more normal. My garden sort of stands out as the unkempt one in the street – the one with the dodgy unclipped hedge and Past Times ornamental Victorian nymph strategically placed to draw attention away frim the dandelions and thistles. Some passing schoolboy has kicked her in the shins, and she has a sort of nasty compound fracture now, and is leaning crazily to one side.

    The insect life in my garden is huge. This week, I had a carpet cleaned, and the strapping fellow doing the cleaning needed somewhere to pour his soapy water from the machine. As the garden clearance had revealed a small drain cover, I suggested lifting it up and pouring the water down. He went to lift it, and I heard a loud scream. The guy – stocky and in his mid-twenties – came rushing into the house, yelling that there had been a tarantula under the covering, and it had made a beeline for him. His face was white, and he was flicking immaginary spiders from himself, and shaking his trouser-legs. O_o.

    Okay – I have seen big spiders here, but we don’t have tarantulas…unless people get them as pets and let them escape. That was this bloke’s theory, anyway. “It really ws a tarantula…my sister once had one”, he stuttered. “This thing was just the same – a big hairy behind (I am editing!) and thick legs..Is it on me anywhere?…Waaaaa!”

    Well, being Scotland’s biggest arachnaphobe, that did not come as the happiest piece of news. My sister and I shared a flat as students, and we slept sitting on chairs in our livingroom for a fortnight once, when we’d spotted a spider in the bedroom!

    My kitchen opens out into the garden, and the light has remained on every night since, despite the woeful increase in my carbon footprint. I will not run the risk of that thing getting the notion it can come in here and sprint over my foot…:(

  7. brc Says:

    Shelley I so enjoyed that little “slice of life” that you shared with us today. I find working in the garden very therapeutic. You just get away from the hustle and bustle and get your hands dirty. Even though we had great weather here in the Chicago area this weekend, it’s still too soon to plant. I need to wait a week or two more before I can get the tomatoes in.

    And looking at your vegetable/herb garden and your sour cream cake and your cleaned up patio, I’m wondering if you’re going to have us all down for an end of the summer garden party?

    Oh, count me in on that recipe too!!!

    Have a great week 🙂

  8. rowan Says:

    Shelley – well done on all the planting! The cake is a work of art!

  9. Claire Says:

    cough cough

    🙂

  10. Shelley Says:

    I put my little brag badge atop the home page.

    Thanks, y’all.

  11. rowan Says:

    Aw Claire! Thanks for sharing – that’s brilliant! Whoo hoo for Monkbot!

  12. rowan Says:

    Yay Shelley! Great badge and so well-deserved!

  13. brc Says:

    Congrats on the nomination. I’m just waiting for my confirmation e-mail so I can vote.

    Now… is that the real reason you were baking that cake?

  14. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    oh wow, I would love a piece of that cake!! and man you have green grass and planting,(our trees are trying to bud now, TRYING LOL) im scared to plant as we had a snow storm 2 weeks ago and at night was below freezing, its getting to where its in the 40s at night now but a cold fronts commin again (but luckily the days with this front will get to 50 whew, the nights may get a bit frosty tho 😦 ) I so dont like living in the mountains , toooooo cold. Your doggy is adorable!

  15. rowan Says:

    I have forgotten my password (blush) but will vote when my new one comes!

  16. AmyMc Says:

    You garden looks awesome!!! I love gardens! And your cake looks pretty darn tasty too!

  17. Laurita Says:

    Was very happy to vote for ya, Ms. S., and also followed the lead of the rest of you all and voted for the 3 Graycharlesdotcom Blogger’s Choice Award noms too– Cool!

    I’m still swamped with school stuff, or else i’d do this myself, but would someone please put a new thread over on the B.Bd. announcing these awards nominations? that way we can get a lot more votes for our dear monkbot and GC sites– thanks much!

    take care, L

  18. Julie Says:

    He’s nominated for four blogger’s choice awards…keep voting!

  19. Dr. Bob Says:

    Aww, Shelley, it is nice to see a backyard with grass and stuff. I keep trying to grow herbs in my kitchen window. I seemed to be growing pots of little sticks, though. My daughter went out and bought me some little succulents to put in the pots and I have not managed to kill them.

    What does one do with banana peppers?

    My oven goes off from now until next September or October — it is hot out in these parts. How nice to share a cake with a neighbor …

  20. Shelley Says:

    I finally put the cake recipe under the food thread for those interested. 🙂

Comments are closed.


