Happy Friday… Spread Some Monkbot Mischief

by

monkey21.jpg
The first rule of Monkbot is to never talk about Monkbot.

I could write about “The Office,” but I don’t feel like it.

I could write about “Gray’s Anatomy,” but I missed half of it.

I could write about “Ugly Betty,” but I’ve quit watching it.

So…instead…I think it’s time for a new Monkbot Mission…

I’m going to give you two to choose from…or you can do both.

The only absolute rule is that you must do at least one of the two missions listed below before you comment in this thread. Once you do one of these acts, you have to come back to Monkbot and write an account of what you did, the reaction you got (if possible), and how it made you feel to do whatever it is that you did. After that, you can comment at will…or at Bama…or at Double D…or at Rowan…or at…(har har).

Here are your choices:

  1. Perform at Least Three Random Acts of Kindness: Leave a candy bar on someone’s desk or type an encouraging note to someone and leave it on their chair or pay for the car’s order behind you in line at the drive-through…or do something totally original. Just don’t let the recipient of your act know it came from you.
  2. Break a Societal Norm for at Least an Hour: In the middle of a conversation make animal sounds…or stop mid-sentence and break into a commercial about whatever is near you in the room…or talk slightly louder than normal…or unapologetically wear an article of clothing backward…or put your hair in pigtails…or whatever you want…just don’t tell anyone about the Mission…and don’t be too outrageous, just enough to make folks smile. (If you work anywhere that this type of behavior will get you in trouble or fired…do not chose breaking a societal norm. And, for heaven’s sake, don’t do anything mean or destructive or that would cause upset…this is for fun.)

P.S. I need Tim Daly to kiss me and remind me I’m not dried up…to be honest, I’d even settle for a kiss from Tim Curry at this point.

P.P.S. Or I just need a kiss from a cute guy in an elevator…I think I’ll spend Saturday at the hospital, riding up and down the elevators and applying shiny scented coats of Bonnie Belle Strawberry Lip Gloss.

20 Responses to “Happy Friday… Spread Some Monkbot Mischief”

  1. Claire Says:

    OK – so far, one random act of kindness…I was sitting having coffee this morning in Starbucks (I took today off work) and a mother and baby were at the table beside me. The baby started to fuss, wanting to get out of his stroller, and poor Mommy had her hands full with her coffee and muffin. So I caught the baby’s eye, and started making funny faces at him. He stopped whinging, and started to giggle at me. I don’t think Mom realised why Junior had suddenly settled down, but she was able to relax and finish her coffee, and I had the pleasure of hearing the cute sound of a baby giggling. Is there any nicer sound?
    Does that count? 🙂

    And whaddya mean, you’ve stopped watching Ugly Betty!!!! Betty rocks!!

    And re. cute guys in hospital elevators – just don’t come to my hospital. a)you may get hit in the head by a nurse carrying a placard on the way to the picket line, and b) there ain’t no cute guys working in hospitals. It’s a myth 😦

  2. jenfera Says:

    It wasn’t for an hour, but I broke a societal norm! A friend is trying to get me to try a hula hoop fitness class with her (it’s all the rage!) so she brought her hoop to work today for me to try. She came over to my office and said, “Let’s go try it in the parking lot!” Um, what? You want me to hula hoop in the company parking lot?? I almost said no, but then I thought about today’s mission and I hoped this was close enough!

    There was an empty parking spot between our two cars so we almost did it there, but then we saw one of the contractors working on our building walk out to his van. Not good. We took it towards the back of the building and found a nice spot inbetween a couple SUV’s. First my friend demonstrated, and she could even walk a few steps while keeping the hoop going! Then it was my turn. No sooner did I get it going a few revolutions and what did we hear? Yep, whistling from the back of the building. The production guys were outside taking their break.

    So, hula hooping in public during work hours! That’s definitely outside my norm. We laughed hysterically. It was a nice break from my regular morning routine.
    🙂

  3. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Jen- I love it!! Claire- You’re a better woman than me…I would’ve run as hard and fast as I could away from the fussy baby.

    Okay- I’ve done one good deed so far: A month or two ago my concert-going buddy wanted me to go with her to her favorite band’s concert. I sorta wasn’t super psyched b/c I don’t know them very well and b/c of that I totally forgot she asked, and we missed the tickets and couldn’t go. Well, I heard that another of her favorite bands is coming to town in July. The pre-sale for tickets started today. So, I went online and joined the Breaking Benjamin thingy so I could I get tix early. I bought the tix and told her we’re going, and she’s not paying for anything!!

    It’s not completely selfless b/c Breaking Benjamin RAWKS and I can’t wait to see them live!!!

    I’ll see what else I can do. The whole “Break Societal Norm” thing doesn’t really work for me b/c it’s standard for me to break into song and dance in the middle of a quiet work day….or bring a robotic monkey to work…or have binoculars at my desk to watch the people on the street….

  4. jenfera Says:

    Bama – better bring some earplugs ‘cuz Breaking Benjamin is WAY loud! I brought my neice to see her favorite band, Creedleback, in March and BB opened for them. Holy shamoley, we waited out in the lobby and could still barely hear ourselves think. Man, I’m old!!!
    🙂
    BB’s lead singer does have a Daughtry kind of sound going on though.

  5. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I LOVE loud concerts…so I’m good.

    And…umm….ewww….BB is waaaaay better than Daughtry.

  6. jenfera Says:

    Oh, I’m sure they are the better actual rock band, as opposed to being a pop rock type of band like Daughtry is for now. I just meant that the lead singer’s voice reminded me of Chris.

    Hey, unless some other folks start doing some good deeds or acting outside of societal norms, the three of us could just chat here all day. Well, unless Shelley slapped us with some fish or somethin’.
    😉

  7. Shelley Says:

    Tough assignment…sorry about that.

    I managed to do only one thing anonymously…and one more thing with the person knowing. Haven’t been able to get to a third random act of kindness.

    But here’s what I’ve done so far…

    This morning as I was getting ready for work, my phone rang. A co-worker had spilt water on the front of her suit and had a big meeting today. She asked if I’d bring my hairdryer for her to dry her suit. I did. I was really glad to help her, as she sounded panicked. It made me feel pretty great that she thought to ask me for help.

    I purchased an iTunes gift certificate and printed it off and left it in the jacket pocket of a guy I work with. He is about 11 years my junior and I give him a pretty hard time most of the time (I guess because he’s the same age as Ben). Anyway, he’s a sweet kid and is always willing to help. And since he always has his iPod playing and earbuds in his ears, I thought he’d enjoy some free tunes.

    I’ve actually been pretty swamped today…so I haven’t been able to manage a third act…but I’ll work on it over the weekend.

  8. jenfera Says:

    Shelley, I’m thinking maybe lots of little monkbots are out there plotting elaborate things! It might take a little while, but I bet they’ll start pouring in!

    The iTunes thing was super nice of you! Do you think he figured out yet who did it?

  9. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I’m plotting some things for the weekend…we’ll see what turns out!

  10. Shelley Says:

    Jen…I don’t even know if he’s found it. LOL

    Can’t wait to see what Bama comes up with over the weekend. 🙂

  11. rowan Says:

    Aw, you guys are so funny and kind.

    Well, my four year-old insisted on playing pirates with me last night, and when we got to the supermarket this morning, she asked to sit in the trolley as a makeshift pirate galleon. We got two kitchen mops on poles for a sail and a sword, and raced around the supermarket talking in loud exaggerated piratey voices – lots of Treasure-Islandy “Arrr Capn” sort of stuff. Lena has to wear an eye patch part of the day to improve her vision, and I often carry a spare, lest she see a cute boy and pull the patch off, eyelashes and all. I wore the spare (ultra-modern gurly pink camouflage design the Opthalmologists issue now) and got into the spirit of things.

    Heads turned as we sped by, Lena yelling all the sailing cliches she knew, “Splice the mainbrace…hoist the mainsail…up the anchor…swaaab the decks…” at great gleeful volume, waving her mop, and crying out, “There be plunder, Capn'” when we reached the costume jewellery section of the Asda store (which is like a wee Walmart.) The assistant nearby tried pointedly not to look at us, but the word “plunder” could not exactly have gone unnoticed. Having found myself adding an unexpected selection of wee girls’ sparkly plastic necklaces and bracelets to the contents of the trolley (lena would make a great Pirate, for reals) we set out to get some provisions. The bread counter hove into view. It is set next to the in-store bakery, and quite a few staff were milling about.

    “Ooooar Capn”, yelled the small but enthusiastic camouflage-eye-patched buccaneer. “Look Capn – look at them thaaar weevils in the ships’ biscuit! Better not buy that there bread me hearty – THERE BE WEEVILS THARN…”

    It was kind of funny – I examined two or three of their best multigrain-granary-heathyseed-sunflower-tastic-omega three-keeps you regular-buy me or you are an unfit mother loaves, which are twice the price of regular wholemeal, and decided that yes, they were way too weevily. We got thick sliced toasing white. The bakery assistants did not seem to be terribly amused, but a couple of shoppers smirked. I noticed that they did not buy the ‘bully-me’ bread either – kinda skirted towards the unhealthy end of the shelf where the bread is so refined, no self-respecting weevil would ever find a place to hide.

    I didn’t wear my patch for the whole of the hour – mostly because I don’t see well out of one eye, and had mistakenly covered the good one with the patch. That may be the logic behind the patching process, but my lazy eye was too set in its ways to make the improvement needed to show me where I was going.

    It was fun – felt very silly wearing the patch, but surprisingly, don’t think anyone really noticed our mother/daughter matching piratical ensemble. The citizens of my home town tend to be a bit dour, and are not prone to public acts of daftness before midday. The indirect smiles we prompted were nice. Being a little bolder and more free-spirited than normal was fun, and Lena enthused to the taxi driver on the way home about how we had plundered Adsa and left with treasure that wasn’t ours and we hadn’t paid for, cos thats what pirates did. O_o

  12. Shelley Says:

    Rowan…beautiful!!! Man, I wish I had been there. Arrrrggghhhh!

    Great job!

  13. rowan Says:

    I met a friend in a fancy new Starbucks cafe in the huge new Borders bookshop in town this afternoon. The whole of the back wall is taken up with a board advertising the most terrifying array of afficonado coffees you have ever seen. Well, that a coffee ingenue like me has ever seen. You guys are coffee cultured. I want to try unusual coffees but don’t know the difference between a latte and a cappuccino, so frappuccinos and such like are for coffee techies in parallel universes. Nevertheless, the array of different kinds on offer is deeply impressive. The rebellious thought occured to me when standing at the back of the queue that I would tell the assistant that I had lost my glasses, and would he read out all the options to me. After he had read through the interminable list, I would smile sweetly and say, “I’ll just have an Earl Gray, thanks.”

    I would never have dreamed of carrying out this unkind act of norm-challenging for reals, cos it would have been worthy only of the sort of student pranksters I cannot thole – unkind and unfair and not befitting the honour of the mission. Still – I carried it out in my head, and my reaction was amusement, and a little guilt over being amused at something so infinitely puerile. Whoo hoo to Monkbot zaniness! 😀

  14. rowan Says:

    Aww, thanks Shelley! Just saw your post. Hee hee – that would have made us three cleaning accoutrement-brandishing pirates – the three mopsketeers..

  15. leejolem Says:

    I couln’t perform any random acts of kindness anonymously at work today cuz there’s only 3 of us. I have plans for my 2 co-workers Monday, I will update you later. Shelley, I lerve the ITunes cert in the pocket. I’m going to do something along those lines. This was a great idea! I’m with Bama about breaking societal norms–I’m kind of known for goofy behavior, so I think it woul go unnoticed.

  16. jenfera Says:

    Rowan, you rock! I love when moms have a sense of whimsy with their kids. That must have been a hoot!

  17. AnonymousThisOneTime Says:

    I know it is not allowed to post anonymously, but if you will excuse this one post. I did not get to my random acts yesterday. Opportunity just did not seem to strike. But today… I gave my umbrella to a man trying to usher an older lady with perfect beauty shop hair in the driving rain! I hope it saved her hair do! I miss the days of sitting by the hair dryers as my g-ma got her weekly do. My job was to listen for gossip and to make sure she was not the subject! Beauty shop hair always makes me miss her!

    Later, I stopped for lunch in a cafeteria. I think I was still thinking of my grandmother! This place is famous for the most perfect iced tea on the planet! I had to have a glass! I gathered my lunch on my tray, and made my way to the dinng room. I love being the youngest person in a room! This place is a famed hang out for the 75+ crowd. I saw a lady with a killer red patent purse and a broad smile eating alone. Even though she was eating beets, I decided to ask if I could join her. I loathe beets! Now table sharing is just plain wierd in these parts, so this is also my social norm experiment. I went for the combo here! She agreed to have me join her table. We sat and had a nice conversation. Thelma, a fairly recent widow, is beginning to brave the world as a single woman. She eats at the cafeteria every day. In the end, I was the lucky one. She is pure monkbot gold with a deep laugh, quick wit and that awesome red patent leather purse!

    Thanks Shel! You made MY day!

  18. Shelley Says:

    AnonymousThisOneTime…sheer gold.

    Thank you so much for being the person you are. 🙂

  19. Dr. Bob Says:

    will hop to this in the coming week.

  20. rowan Says:

    Thanks Jen! Hee hee.

    AnonThisonetime – aww, what a lovely touching story.

Comments are closed.


