My Garden…A Week Later

by

Things are perking up in my little garden.

I’ve been watering it twice a day, and I added some new things (cilantro, okra, mint, chives, thyme, and rosemary).

I’ve already used my rosemary in a chicken dish (very yummy). My mint and lemon balm I steeped with my tea bags for some delicious iced tea. And I added some of my multiplying onions to some fresh green beans (not canned) and steamed them to have for dinner with the chicken. (It was an informal dinner…but I made the chicken wear a jacket and tie anyway…the green beans and onion just wore a pat of butter…blush.)

 

 

 

 

 

Note Sadie running in the background…she’s such a goofball.

Oh…and this was a bird’s nest built in my front door wreath. I’m sad to say it was abandoned by the Mama and Daddy birds after the eggs were laid. I think Sadie’s constant jumping against the front door caused one of the eggs to fall from the nest and the parent birds to fly away permanently. I left the nest and remaining four eggs alone for about week…but the birds never came back.

I finally removed the nest this weekend and tried to empty the eggs of their yolks so I could somehow use them as accents in an arrangement. Using the technique of piercing each end with a needle and gently blowing on one end so the yolk would empty from the other end, I tried my best to salvage the little eggs…so they wouldn’t be a total loss.

However, the shells were paper thin and I only managed to end up with one empty unbroken shell…which now sits in a little keepsake box with a broken silver bracelet and a lone silver hoop earring that’s missing its mate.

Oh well, I tried.

17 Responses to “My Garden…A Week Later”

  1. rowan Says:

    Aw, what an impressive display of Spring plants! I can smell those fresh herbs from over here. The tomatoes look very tall and healthy. Good for you – a lot of work but very worth it. Sprinting Sadie is super-cute!

  2. jenfera Says:

    Shelley, I like your keepsake box. It’s groovy.

    Your garden looks great, can’t wait till mine catches up! And hey, why are the parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme not all together in one container??
    πŸ˜‰

    Oh, hey, I had a dream with you in it last night! I dreamed I had to go to Mississippi for business and we were going to meet up while I was there. But you couldn’t get out of work so you asked me to meet you there. You were a manager at a store called Lechmere, which doesn’t exist any more. It was a big chain here in the Northeast similar to Best Buy. I worked there from 1990 – 1995, and it shut down a year or two later. (I like to think they couldn’t go on without me!)

    I don’t remember much else about the dream aside from having to leave early because of bad weather. It was cold and sleety.

    Analysis, anyone??

  3. Shelley Says:

    Hmmmm…analysis…

    You came to Mississippi for business…so more than likely you were here on a agricultural business…maybe cotton.

    That means you’re a supporter of the American farmer and you respect the earth.

    You were going to meet up with me…I think that means you were desperate for company. πŸ˜‰

    I couldn’t get out of work…that means I’m wimpy.

    I was a department store manager of a failing company…that is a beautiful illustration of my skills as a leader.

    Bad weather…doesn’t that mean you’re going to find wealth and love?

  4. jenfera Says:

    Ut oh, I can’t let you go on thinking about the negative implications for yourself! I’ve thought about it a little more.

    I did go to Arkansas for business 2 weeks ago, so in my muddled sleep-brain, Arkansas = Mississippi = the South = close enough? I was telling my dad all about my trip last night at dinner. (FYI, I was visiting a manufacturing plant in AR, not agriculture. Sorry! I do respect the earth though!)
    πŸ™‚

    In my comments yesterday, I mentioned how I found a lot of things we have in common by reading your archives, so you working at Lechmere was being like me! But not being able to get out of work might speak to my own lack of self confidence – why would anyone alter their schedule to meet up with me??

    I don’t know about the bad weather connection, but that sounds pretty good! Maybe it’s because I took the down comforter off the bed this weekend and switched to the blanket and bedspread. Maybe I was cold??

    Shelley, you are an excellent Monkbot leader!!!
    πŸ™‚

  5. Leroy'sSharon Says:

    Shelley…do you know of ‘Three Sisters’? Your garden impressed me and if you don’t know about the ‘Three Sisters’ system of planting that was practiced by Indians (Native Americans), I believe you will be interested to learn about it.

    Corn, beans and squash are planted together. You make a mound and plant corn seeds in the middle. When the corn is about four inches high, you then plant four bean seeds around the corn. Then three squash seeds around the corn and beans.

    If you wanted to try this planting method, there are some nice websites that can give diagrams and more planting instruction. And this could be done in a small garden. There is some concern that in a smaller garden with less mounds that ears of corn might not come to full growth due to pollination the corn plants need.

    But planting a ‘Three Sisters’ garden is also very pleasant for the eyes and doing some research can bring some teaching similar to the things you were teaching us in the post about the man who came to install your new dishwasher. It is a good thing for people to see some of the wisdom of the Indians (Native Americans). Just as you mention about assumptions concerning southerners, it brought to mind assumptions about other human beings and cultures. Your “dishwasher opera” story really touched my spirit. (A note of interest: I live in Michigan now, but I was born down in the boothill of Missouri. I relate to your Mississippi story.)

    The ‘Three Sisters’ is an ecosystem where the corn becomes the natural pole for the beans to climb up. Bean vines help to hold the corn stalks up. And beans hold lots of nitrogen at their roots…nitrogen being important for corn. Squash plants provide shade to help keep moisture in the ground and prickly squash leaves help to discourage animals from getting into the corn and beans.

    I will provide a few websites….but I already know what a good researcher you are Shelley. And if you ever did plant a
    ‘Three Sisters’ garden, I know I would love to read your story about it. I sometimes think you should write a book of short essays.

    http://www.reneesgarden.com/articles/3sisters.html This site sells seeds, but I don’t mean it as a commercial. It does have diagrams and good info about planting.

    http://www.nativetech.org/cornhusk/threesisters.html Educational site (also Native American info in general from the homepage.)

    http://www.kidsgardening.com/growingideas/projects/March02/mar02-pg1.htm A nice site for kids, but anyone can use the info and diagrams.

    Thank you again, Shelley, for all the good teaching and inspiration through your blog.
    Do-hi’ (peace in Cherokee)

  6. Shelley Says:

    Do-hi’ Leroy’sSharon

    That is soooo fascinating.

    I’ll definitely be doing some research. Great stuff!!!

    I hadn’t even thought about planting corn…because it’s a backyard garden…but the “Three Sisters” ecosystem might be a solution for that.

    Wow…I’m a lucky duck with all the interesting folks who show up here!

    Lucky, lucky me!

    (and, jen…thanks for the pep talk πŸ˜‰ )

  7. jenfera Says:

    You’re welcome, Shelley!

    And thank you Leroy’sSharon! That’s fascinating. We have a lot of racoons in our neighborhood and I have never tried corn for that reason. My neighbor tried last year and it appeared that the little masked theives would take their meals on our fence and throw the cobs over on my side. He might want to try this.

    Also, for anyone who wants to know, another good natural pest deterrent is marigolds. A lot of animals don’t like the smell. I plant them all around the border of my vegetable garden and I am able to grow lettuce without the cute little bunnies I see in my yard turning it into a buffet. Plus, the sunny flowers look pretty surrounding the veggies!

  8. Shelley Says:

    jen…do marigolds keep away squirrels?

    I’ve got some SERIOUS squirrel problems.

  9. jenfera Says:

    Well, I have a lot of squirrels in my yard too, but I have never noticed a problem in my veggie garden. I grow cucumbers, tomatoes, herbs, squash, and peas and the squirrels don’t seem to mess with them.

  10. ivoryhut Says:

    Shelley, maybe this will help?

    I am jellis of your garden. Last summer I tried my hand at Caribbean red peppers and grape tomatoes. Much to my surprise, my every-color-but-green thumb was not destructive enough to destroy them. So this year, I am going to be more adventurous and try even more things. We will also attempt to make this the summer we put up the fence around the poor apple and pear trees to save them from the deer.

    I am inspired by your herb garden too. I have to find a nursery that will sell culantro plants (it’s used a lot in the Caribbean, and has a stronger flavor than cilantro). Forgive my ignorance, but what are multiplying onions? Are they mathematically-gifted onions? How are they different from scallions?

    Oh, and does mint have a tendency to take over everything around it?

  11. Shelley Says:

    Great link, ivory.

    As for onions and scallions…I’m not sure. I don’t think so.

    And if mint takes over…I’m fine with that. I loves me some mint. πŸ˜‰

  12. ivoryhut Says:

    Of course, you know I sent that link because I get a shout out in there, right?

    Tabasco Pepper Sauce, Chili Powder, and Ivory Dishwashing Liquid:
    Mix three teaspoons Tabasco Pepper Sauce, one teaspoon McCormick Chili Powder, 1/2 teaspoon Ivory Dishwashing Liquid, and two cups water in a 16-ounce trigger-spray bottle. Spray the solution into the soil around freshly planted bulbs, tulip beds, and young trees to repel squirrels and chipmunks.

    Ah. Anything for a little attention.

  13. jenfera Says:

    Ivory, I was amused by the brand name references in that article. Is Prevention the voice of Procter & Gamble or something? I was also amused at the way my computer loaded everything. First thing that came up and sat by itself for a bit was the ad for Poise. I thought maybe it would help Shelley from wetting herself with anger if the squirrels took over her garden!!!
    πŸ™‚

    ~~~cracking myself up~~~

  14. leejolem Says:

    I wonder if any brand of pantyhose would work other than Leggs? The varmints must really have an aversion to hosiery housed in an egg.

    Shelley, you’re inspiring me to plant something, anything! Our soil is very clay-ey and veggies don’t do so well, but I would love to plant squash, zucchini, peas and carrots. I remember when I was growing up one summer we planted peas and carrots. We ended up with a harvest of 1 bowl of peas and 4 nasty, bitter carrots the size of a big toe.

  15. leejolem Says:

    “but I made the chicken wear a jacket and tie anyway”—lol!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. shrewspeaks Says:

    In the plant world I am a known assassin…so I refrain from commenting lest I wilt your cyber garden

  17. Julie Says:

    Shelley, I LOVE your garden! But a word of herbal advice: you might want to pull that mint out and put it into a pot of its own. It will take over and in a few weeks all you’ll have is fresh mintiness! I might separate the oregano and the basil, too, as they will grow very big and might overpower your other smells/plants/flavors!

    I love the Three Sisters method, too, and have a book about it. But I could never put enough time into my garden to make it work. 😦

    And your ‘maters will grow…don’t worry!

Comments are closed.


