Happy Mother’s Day Weekend

by

I know not everyone watches “The Office” (shame on those who don’t) but in last night’s episode, Pam (a mousy secretary who is in love with a salesman named Jim) was at a retreat and found the courage inside herself to walk across hot coals and admit to Jim that she called off her engagement to Roy because of him.

So, in honor of Pam’s bravery…let me ask…if you suddenly were infused with courage…what would you do or say?

For me…I would quit my job…sell my house…and move to a little cottage in the woods of a mountain town where I would grow my own food and work as a tour guide in a cave. In the evenings, after making my own soap and composting the leftovers of my homemade vegetable soup (made from dried and/or canned vegetables from my garden)…I would sit down at an old typewriter and write stories that I would then sell to pay for the feed I would need for Sadie and my milking goats, May and Myrtle. Then I would settle down for the night (after a warm cup of cocoa) under the afghan I finally finished crocheting and watch the moonlight shimmer on the falling snowflakes outside my bedroom window.

Oh, and for the record…Amanda Bynes does NOT equal Bob Hope.

35 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day Weekend”

  1. Staci Says:

    I must start watching the office, but instead you turned me on to Ugly Betty… and I lurve it. And I love the brothers video… reminds me of my own brothers.

    I’ll have to think on the courage thing. I know this sounds cheesey, but I kinda like my life. It’s by no means perfect, but I have a great family and great friends (hint, hint) and a job that pays the bills… I think I used up my courage almost five years ago when I left a steady state job to work for a very small consulting firm (at the time, I was only the 2nd employee). It’s kinda depressing to realize that at 35 I’ve met my peak. Thanks, Shell. 🙂

    and you’ll have to explain the Amanda Bynes reference… Is she suddenly headlining the USO Tour? If you say yes, I may cry.

  2. leejolem Says:

    I was so proud of Pam last night! I was cheering for her. Will Jim be brave enough to follow-up with her in the season finale? Oooooohh I hope so!

    If I were suddenly infused with courage I would tell my mother-in-law it is time for her to move out of my house (she’s been living with us since last July rent free and it was supposed to be temporary) and to stop trying to stir up trouble in my household. Of course I really won’t do this. I’ll continue to sigh loudly while she bites her cuticles, burps, and does this weird snorty thing that is totally disgusting and then complain to my spouse and children when she leaves the room. How do you tell someone who can’t afford to live on their own (due to poor planning) that they have to get out of your house? I’m getting an ulcer.

  3. nolagirl Says:

    I’m assuming no Grey’s commentary because it was the most frustrating episode EVER. Gaaaaahhhhh.

    If I was infused with courage, I would quit my job and move to where Dwain is. No, it’s not practical (money to live on? finding a new job? place to live? miss my family? what if he gets job down here the next month??) but the long distance is draining, taxing and getting stressful, and really, I just want to see him every day and cook dinner with him and go to the movies and to the lake and to the park with Bella and everything else we like to do. Is the patience I’m evidently displaying here really all it’s cracked up to me? I wonder.

  4. KimLoree Says:

    I have to comment on the video. I first saw it some time last year and it totally cracks me up every time I see it. I have two boys (well…24 and almost 27 years old) and they are like night and day in their personalities. My oldest is very much like the prissy guy and my youngest very much like the layed back dude. This video could have been taken in my house.

    If infused with courage, I would quit my job, sell everything I own, buy a purple bus and tour the country.

  5. jenfera Says:

    If had more courage, I would take the LSAT and try to get into law school. I just don’t know if I can face years and years of more school, not to mention the cost. Law school is not cheap, and I will soon have two stepdaughters in college. And then what if I managed to get through and couldn’t pass the bar? Or what if I ended up hating being a lawyer, and got stage fright every time I had to appear in court? Yikes.

    I was stunned that Pam did what she did last night. That was amazing!

  6. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I taped The Office so I don’t get to see it until tonight. I’m salivating til then!!

    If I had more courage I’d quit numbing myself with tv, food, blogs, beer, “fun” and I’d face the issues that have been gnawing away at me head on. I’d straighten out the weirdness between my sisters and I. I’d face my best friend and tell her what’s on my mind. I would stand up for myself.

    I’d actually stop living in guilt and blame and shame and I’d just live.

    If only I had the courage to do so….

  7. Claire Says:

    Aw, )))))Bama((((( Well, I think you rock!

    If I had “the noive”, I’d love to be my own boss, learn how to fly, do something about That Idea that has been floating about in my head……and grab That Guy I Know and just kiss him breathless. 🙂 (don’t encourage me – he has a girlfriend. *sigh*)

    I don’t know if you guys have heard about this, but a please say a prayer for 3-year old Madeleine McCann, a British girl on holidays in Portugal with her parents, who was abducted from her room while she slept, as her parents ate dinner 40 yards away. That was 8 days ago. No trace of her has yet been found. Tomorrow is her 4th birthday. 😦

  8. leejolem Says:

    Awwwww, Bama, I feel for you as a fellow numb-er. HC4S and I took a step in the right direction last night, and we returned to Curves. TV and food are my novacaines of choice. And I hate confrontations (as you can read in my post #2). After you watch The Office Pam will inspire you!

    Claire, that is so sad. I will keep Madeline and her parents in my prayers. That to me is a worst nightmare for a parent.

  9. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Thanks y’all!! 🙂

    Claire- I’ve seen that story. It’s being covered here. That’s so sad. I’ll pray for the best.

    When you say “learn how to fly”…do you mean “fly a plane” or “fly like Superman” b/c if you figure that out, I’d love to learn.

  10. shrewspeaks Says:

    *hands Bama the support to find the courage*

    What is to fear? That your life would work out better? Bama don’t let the status quo lull you into believing that no -action is better for everyone! You need to do what is right for you!

  11. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Apparently I’m a little full of myself in the idea that if I don’t hold things together for myself and everyone….that everything will come crashing down.

    It’s scary to let go of feeling responsible for everybody and everything. I’m trying to take baby steps out of “their” lives…so I can live my own. I’m tired of living it vicariously through everyone else. I avoid my needs and feelings and focus my energy on a few signifigant other people.

    Okay- Let’s talk about something else.

    How many people think Christina and Burke actually get married? Show of hands!

  12. Claire Says:

    Here’s a little sum’n sum’n for your Friday delectation. For ages, I couldn’t figure out where I heard this artist’s voice before, then suddenly Bingo!! Regina Spektor. This is an Irish advert for Vodafone.

    Bama – this one’s for you. I hope YOU find someone to dance with 🙂

  13. ivoryhut Says:

    If I had the courage, I would be a horse. And I don’t mean the small, paint-chipping-off-the-mane coin-operated one just outside my local Sears Essentials.

    Horses are purty, they run fast, they eat whatever they want to eat, and walk on tippity-toes all day without generating weird stares and pointed fingers and muffled laughing.

    Don’t mind me. I’m sleep-deprived.

    (Which is another plus for horses. Have you ever heard of a sleep-deprived horse? I rest my case.)

  14. Claire Says:

    *Hands Ivory a glass of warm milk. And some hay.*

  15. Holeigh Says:

    Courage? Hmm…I’d change my major to Museum Studies, graduate with said degree, move to Washington, D.C. and find work at the Smithsonian. But since that would never happen how about: tell my brother’s best friend I want to date him, ahaha. 😉

  16. ivoryhut Says:

    Hey Claire!

    Hay!

    (Slap me now, Shell. I’m not making ANY sense.)

  17. Dr. Bob Says:

    I heart all of the monkbots. Just sayin’.

    Ack — what would I do if I had the courage?

    Generally my life is great. I have an idea for a business, but I am totally scared spitless by it. I think Ima gonna do it, but in a couple of years. It will be a major change and has nothing at all to do with the job that I went to school for a gazillion years for. What is wrong with me?! I am good at what I do! I am busy and I love my job. I just think that I will regret it if I don’t give it a shot …

  18. Dr. Bob Says:

    I like horsies. And hay.

  19. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    I would definitely join Special Weapons And Tactics and then after I retired, take up professional B.A.S.E jumping. After those thrills were gone…….spelunking.

  20. Dr. Bob Says:

    What’s a B.A.S.E.?

  21. brc Says:

    I don’t watch The Office (I have seen it once – does that count?), but I like this discussion…

    I am self-employed and make a nice living (I do marketing research). I don’t, however, feel that what I do makes a difference in the world. I have been blessed with health, family, friends, food on the table, a roof over my head, a warm comfy bed to sleep in and some extra money in the bank just in case.

    There are so many in the world who are lonely, grieving, hungry, sick, afraid, cold and homeless. If I had the courage I would walk away from the financial security and spend the rest of my life trying to make a difference. But I’m afraid 😦

  22. Jan Says:

    I’ve been giving a bit of thought to what I want to do with my life recently. If I had the courage, I’d quit my job and try to get a position in a charity organization so that I could go to work, go home, and feel like the time and effort I put in was worth it. To give something back to this world that is more than money. I have been thinking about finding a compromise where I could still make ok money but work in the non-profit sector. Sigh.

    How about to stand up and say this is me. These are the things that society thinks is wrong with me but guess what?? I don’t agree. I’m fine the way I am.

  23. AmyMc Says:

    If I was actually infused with courage I would actually have a conversation with Taylor next time I meet him (if I ever get that opportunity), instead of mumbling “thank you” or something meaningless. LOL

  24. KD Says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to all the motherbots. 🙂

    If I had the courage….well…yesterday I did what I have always said I would do if I had the courage and the opportunity. I resigned from my teaching job after 12 years to stay at home with my children. And now I’m scared “spitless” to steal a term from Dr. Bob. Thought I’d leave the meeting with my Superintendent kicking up my heels and singing Hallelujah. But in reality, I’m more than a little bit sad. I feel like I took a little piece of my soul out for safekeeping, but don’t know where to store it till I need it again. Not quite sure how to define myself now that I took the “teacher” out of the teacher. Don’t get me wrong…I feel blessed to have the opportunity and have no doubts that I’m doing the right thing for my family…..and yet, I don’t feel as liberated as I expected to feel. I will miss the challenge and the students. I guess it’s always hard to adjust to a “new normal” no matter how wonderful that new normal is.
    Ah, well…it isn’t called courage if you’re not scared, right? I wish all the Monkbots the courage to pursue their dreams……there are some great ones here! And thanks for letting me “dump.” My family is so excited, that I haven’t wanted to bring them down with my lumpy throat. I feel better having spilled a bit here today. 🙂 XO

  25. leejolem Says:

    KD, I can sympathize with you. Being a woman in this day and age is rewarding yet so challenging. Which hat do we wear and when and why? You’re so right a “new normal” is tough to adjust to no matter how much you wanted it.

  26. wompuss Says:

    Aw, KD…..you’re starting a whole NEW adventure! You GO girl! You’ll be just fine…….got your head onna stick all ready for Tupelo, too! You’ll be in good company; squeebers sent her head to Soul Reporter. And, of course, the ubiquitous MBOS will be in attendance. LiMBO is joining THE MB that nite, so we’re goin to church!

  27. leejolem Says:

    Wompuss, I’m so glad to hear MBOS is going to another concert. We still haven’t posted about Columbus, but MBOS had a great time and had lots of great adventures. He got to meet so many people and even got autographed. Wave him around lots and lots –he gets a little queasy, but in a good way. 🙂

  28. Quossum Says:

    Interesting question.

    Some of the things I immediately thought of were, on second thought, not so much about courage as about money. If I had the money, I’d quit my job in a second and move to that forest cabin you were talking about, Shelley, and live off my quilts, my writing, my alpacas, and my garden. For me, that’s nothing to do with courage, though. Just with money, because it takes money to buy cabins in the woods.

    Courage is a whole ‘nother thing, and for me unfortunately it is tied in with money. I can’t quit my job because I’m scared to end up with no place to live. I’m scared of not being able to buy food for the dogs or nice fabric for my quilting hobby. That’s why I work: fear. I’m too frightened to pursue a job that I might enjoy more, because what if it didn’t work out?

    Oh, don’t get me wrong. I do my job well and I enjoy it (most of the time, anyway, though towards this time in the school year it does feel pretty harrowing). But I deliberately chose a “safe” profession because I’m ruled by fear and worry and insecurity.

    I guess if I wasn’t afraid, I might be in a completely different place–but I might be worrying more, and would that be worth it? I’m a homebody, and I’m in a safe place now. If I’m not 100% happy, well so what? Who said I needed to be? Is happiness worth more than safety?

    Interesting question.

    –Q

  29. Theresa Says:

    – I wish I would have said something (anything) to Taylor Hicks the two times I met him in the past year, although I still have no idea what I would have said;

    – I wish I would have had the courage to break off a few bad friendships, and stand up to borderline-abusive people, much earlier than I eventually did;

    – I wish I would have questioned the practices of a couple of really wacked churches I’ve belonged to in the past and left much earlier than I eventually did;

    Interesting question, really. I wouldn’t want to do anything over that wouldn’t result in my husband and children, but there are definitely things I haven’t said or done because I lacked the courage. I seem to only have regrets about not SAYING things to people, but I seem to have had the courage to DO all the things I’ve wanted (given time and ability) to do. That being said, I hope to begin playing women’s hockey (after I finish recovering from surgery), I one day want to have to courage to become a music reviewer which would involve going to places, like music bars, that intimidate me. I also would like to develop the courage to talk to people as easily in person as I do online…. 🙂

    Happy Mother’s Day all!!!!

    What’s up with Dancing Monkey Productions??? Abba??? Is there some joke I missed?

  30. KD Says:

    Thanks Lee—-and Womp!!!!!!! I am SO excited that my head will be there with Squeeber’s head! 😉 And LiMBO too?? How lucky is that head of mine?!! XO

  31. baby duck Says:

    No joke. At the concert last night, ‘Taylor sang Do I Make You Proud’ tagged with ‘Dancing Queen’ for one of the encore numbers. Taylor and Melanie, uh, danced. Hot.

  32. baby duck Says:

    ETA: the above may be misconstrued from how I phrased it. It wasn’t dirty dancing or anything. Not R rated. No touching. Melanie came to the center stage and actually had the lead singing ‘Dancing Queen’. And Taylor, uh, danced. He was hot as usual. That’s all.

  33. baby duck Says:

    ETA again:
    The joke part.

    Somebody, help me! I went to the concert and I can’t shut up!

  34. Theresa Says:

    Thanks, Baby Duck. Which city was the concert in last night? Why Dancing Queen with DIMYP rather than Just to Feel That Way, as mentioned in the video? And why does the url title for GC now read: Dancing Monkey Productions (the name of an actual production company)…and why am I asking this on Shelley’s blog? Hmmm…too bad I have more important things to ponder tonight. Still, its Mother’s Day and I am indulging myself. Also, this blog is the only other place I know where someone would actually care/know about such things.

  35. Jules Says:

    Shelley – are your milking goats named after the Myrtle May character from Harvey? 🙂

Comments are closed.


