You Got to Know When to Hold ‘Em… Know When to Fold ‘Em…

by

Sorry for the creepy video, but since I had to reference my sworn enemy, Kenny Rogers,
I figured the Muppets would soften the blow…maybe I was wrong
.

Wow…what a week.

Before I get into my brief explanation of the recent events in my life, let me take this opportunity to thank the marvelous Gray Charles for volunteering to come out of blog-tirement to serve as interim Chief Monkbot this week. Honestly, I couldn’t have asked for a better sub. Not only were we treated to some great clips and insights, we got the chance to chat with Gray like in the old days. Very, very nice.

As a token of my appreciation, Gray,…please accept this very special Official Prize of the Day created just for you.

The presence of Gray brought more than 500 hits to our little site on Tuesday and nearly 700 hits on Wednesday. That is pretty amazing.

I welcome all the new folks and certainly hope they will stick around. However, please let me direct you to our Monkbot Manifesto, which gives guidelines about the site (Mr. Reality…you ESPECIALLY).

(Oh, and before it’s mentioned again…let me make it clear to all that Gray’s posts here this week won’t see any kind of encore performance. This was a one-time thing…so if you’re looking for Gray on a regular basis…I hate to disappoint ya…but I’m all you’re gonna get. It is…afterall…my blog.)

On to the event that led to my M.I.A. behavior this week.

First, let me say thanks to all who voiced concern. Your e-mails, phone calls, and comments helped me so much. I am a very fortunate blogger. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Although y’all know how much I love to share the nitty gritty details of the goings-on in my life…unfortunately, I must remain vague about my current situation to prevent any chance of more problems.

So…the general gist is this…I am having to move. It is the result of an on-going situation. I’ve dealt with my current situation for more than two years and things came to a head late Sunday night. After a bit of a meltdown (sobbing and a sleepless night and more sobbing on Monday)…I found clarity in the chaos and knew it was time to fold and to sell my home and to move (hence the video atop this post).

I’m sad…but I’m certain I’m doing the right thing. I’ve prayed about it, and I know that moving out of Jackson is what I need to do for my peace of mind. Don’t worry about me. I’m safe, and I’m fine. There was no break-in at my house. There was no toxic mold. And my brother, Cooper, (as well as the rest of my family) is fine. (All concerns voiced by Monkbots.)

I am still employed, and I do not need money. I know a few of you have asked for my address to send me things…but please know all I need is your support. I think receiving gifts will only make me more emotional…and, trust me…I don’t need that.

What I do need are y’all’s thoughts and prayers and understanding as I work to get my house ready to put on the market in the next week or two (as soon as possible) and begin looking for a new place to live within the Jackson Metro area. I’ve already talked at length to my Realtor and to the mortgage company…so the ball is definitely rolling.

Because of all that needs to get done…I may be shirking my Monkbot duties somewhat. So, I really need for all the “old-timers” to guide the new faces…let ’em know how we do things in these here parts. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Keep things clean and polite (Mr. Reality) and kind (Mr. Reality) and light-hearted and fun and NON-fangirly. I’ll post as often as I can.

Now…I don’t want this post to become a place for folks to fret over me. I’d rather folks take this opportunity to thank Gray here for all he did or to chose from a topic below for discussion.

Since there was no new “Office” or “Grey’s” to reference or recap…here are a few topics that I find fascinating:

Topic 1: Should the new “Bionic Woman” television show be campy or a serious take on the old version? (From the clip below it looks like it might be taking itself a bit too seriously…I don’t know…what do y’all think?)

Topic 2: What on Earth is the point to remaking “Barbarella”?

Topic 3: And is anyone else as stoked as I am about the new Harry Potter Film coming out in July?

75 Responses to “You Got to Know When to Hold ‘Em… Know When to Fold ‘Em…”

  1. Theresa K. Says:

    I thought he didn’t like thank you’s. Still, many will come his way, I am sure. Best wishes to you, Shelley!

  2. Shelley Says:

    he doesn’t like ’em in excess…but i think one good turn at least deserves the tip of a hat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    thanks for the well wishes.

  3. Mall Rabbit Says:

    Yeah — I love a good Gray post. Makes me laugh out loud with a “no he didn’t” chuckle after a long day at work.

    I was an avid watcher of the original TV bionic people. Lindsey Wagner promotes bionic beds now (hee hee — the Sleep Number).

  4. Quossum Says:

    Hey there, Shelley!

    Well, whatever precipitated it, moving to a new place is an exciting and stressful thing, so I’ll be thinking of you and Sadie and praying for y’all to find someplace comfortable and nice and have a smooth transition.

    Gray, thanks for coming in and manning the helm for a few days. It was great seeing you around. Your tone, your whole selfness on the ‘net, pleases me. It was like the good ol’ days. (WSYCGH?)

    The only other topic I can comment on is Harry Potter. I’m voraciously desperate for the next *book* (Trust Snape!)…the next moive, however, leaves me meh.

    I haven’t been too impressed with the movie adaptations. SO dang much gets left out that it’s kind of hard to even comprehend them unless you have the book fresh on your mind, and yet they try to cram so much IN that the movies tend to have an episodic feel to them. Paradoxically, it’s like they leave out too much AND leave in too much.

    Not to mention, due to this short shrift treatment, the character of Ron, whom I already dislike from the books, gets treated as a shallow comic foil, and even he doesn’t deserve that!

    (Now that there’s a new post, probably no one will notice the last post of mine in the Idol Finale thread, but there’s a good link there to Blake media if anyone is interested!)

    –Q

  5. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    your in my thoughts Shelly for a not too stressful move and finding the perfect place!
    I think my computers been on too long, non of the videos are playing for me (I know its my computer not the videos) but all I can say about it is, I watched the bionic woman and man when I was little, I dont seem to enjoy a lot of the shows I did when I was little so doubt ill be watching it. dunno if I ever saw barbarella (for some reason I thought it was the movie cindderfella LOL but no that was jerry lewis, and barbarella was jane fonda? maybe?) dont remember it so have no idea if ill like it. Dont watch harry potter either, well I used to buy my son the movies, and caught parts of some , but he dont like them so I dont buy any more so probably not gonna see it. darn sometimes I feel a little left out because I dont watch a lot of the stuff you guys do (here comes the wet fish) I tried watching the office, I couldnt get into it, I dont watch greys anatomy (only because I have something else on at that time and I am tapping something for my landlord, when my show was a repeat a couple times I watched it and liked it, altho im a bit lost as I dont watch it )
    I take it no one watches heroes, lost, er, or any of the other shows I watch? I have to tape shows to watch with my landlord so I watch a lot of tv, im at her house to watch 3 hours of tv a day (thats all she does and im so sick of the after noon shows so I tape night shows and we watch them, in between my dutys there that is, so I miss parts of everything lol)

    Since we are allowed to say it… Thanks a ton gray for standing in a few days! we all appreciate it (hopes since we were told were allowed to say it I DONT get hit with another wet fish ๐Ÿ˜› )
    any way good luck Shelly, hope you find the perfect place ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jan Says:

    Shelly I’m happy you are back and safe. I know that the decision to sell your house couldn’t have been an easy one. It’s a great house! Making the decision was the hard part. Now you just have to put one foot in front of the other.

    I will definitely check out the Bionic Woman. I have seen Barbarella I can’t imagine who will star in the remake. It’s silly for sure but funny for all that.

    Thanks for guest hosting Gray. It did take me a bit back to the old days when it was just plain ol fun.

  7. Alison B. Says:

    Gray, thank you for riding to Shelley’s rescue!

  8. Alison B. Says:

    And Shelley, sobbing and sleepless nights are not good ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I’m glad that you came to a decision about how to deal with the situation.

    Before you know it, there’ll be sunshine again:

  9. Laurita Says:

    Following up on Alison’s ‘thank you’ to Gray, I must add the priceless “Thank You, Masked Man” – [warning, NOT for the PG (or PC) crowd– “…for the children, I’ll do it…”]:

    And, can’t resist a little Sly, to bring that “Thank You” on home, for Gray (& Shelley too…):

    P.S. – Shelley, I did the ‘have to sell/move’ scenario a few years ago… I wasn’t a happy camper for a lot of the time; you’ve got my total empathy– Buena suerte, and hang in there! We’ll appreciate it whenever you can be here in the coming weeks… Take good care!

  10. brc Says:

    Shelley, this newer Monkbot is very glad to hear that you are safe and well. The having to move thing is a bummer. My thoughts and prayers are with you that you find a place that feels like home real soon.

    And I Iook forward to many posts about setting up the new house and yummy things that will be growing in your new garden and things you’ll be cooking in your new kitchen.

    Gray thanks for taking care of Shelley and entertaining us for a couple of days. It really did feel like old times. Hope you enjoyed it too.

    Hope all you Monkbots enjoy your holiday weekend. Be safe!

  11. blueberry Says:

    Shelley – all the best to you. Sometimes, just making the decision to change things is the hardest part, then all falls into place. Hope this is how it will be with you.

    Vaguely remember the Bionic woman, and from that limited memory, an updated show could only be campy. Barbarella, know nothing about it – should I?

    The HP thing is a big deal in my house- even though my Only Thing sometimes won’t admit he reads the books (he’s 14), he did ask me to preorder it. In his mind those books are such a part of his childhood, we starting reading them, way back, way back when he was six. I’m thrilled, love books and where they take us and he seems to feel that way as well.

  12. double d Says:

    Shels — Good luck on the moving, but I don’t think you’ll need it. Things usually happen as they must and this move is likely where you need to be for other great things to happen for you. Having moved 8 times and four cities in the last 20 years, I can unequivocally say that I. ABHOR. MOVING. Really. It’s a phobia.

    However, I also have to say that each move has been one that has provided more happiness and well-being. Not to sound trite but I do believe that “When God closes a door, He opens a window.” I have all the confidence in the world that you will be just fine. You are just going through a little thing call life.

    Ok, onto Gray. I feel like I’m making a career of thanking Gray. So, instead of thanks, I’ll say, “Man, that rawked.” and a little Wayne Newton on the side.

    NO to the Bionic Woman.

    NO to Barbarella….that’s just ew.

    Can’t they think of any original stuff than have to harken back to the cheesiest of eras to find material? Shelley, you need to write a sit-com or drama — stat. THAT, I would watch.

    As for Harry Potter….my men lerve Harry P. Me, not so much. It’s not that I don’t like it, my tastes just don’t run to fantasy and Sci-Fi….which of course, my men devour like a lion thrown red meat…over and over and over. I think I’ve endured “Tremors” at least 23 times. (And yes, I know, Tremors and HP are not in the same realm, whatsoever, but it’s how my mind works….so sue me.)

    Lastly, I ask one indulgence of you all. Today’s post at Music Maven

    Have a safe and fun Memorial Weekend, all, with maybe a short thought for all of our servicemen who have died defending our right to blog.

  13. leejolem Says:

    Thanks to Gray and Shelley for putting up with all our Monkbot silliness. I really think Gray had way too good of a time. I agree with DD about moving–I hate it!!!!!!!!!!! Sorting and throwing out and boxing up, ugh–so my heart is with you Shelley. Remember-“delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart”-although I’ve found that He’s a little slow on the delivery sometimes.

    HP–can’t get into it. I’ll take Narnia Chronicles or the huge LOTR trilogy anyday.

    Bionic Woman–weren’t all 70’s shows campy unintentionally and that’s why it’s hard to reproduce them. The previews look a little too serious to me also. I just started watching Heroes and that’s why I like Hiro–he brings a little comedy to the show.

    I will try to be a good little monkbot and set a good example for newbies. Sometimes I get carried away in the moment with fangirlyness, so I will reign it in.

  14. Dr. Bob Says:

    Dear Shelley — happy you are okay, and that you are not having toxic mold or other infestations (sorry, I have infestations on my mind — read that there is a bed-bug infestation currently going on in the US — Eeewwww! I am now worried and itchy). I personally haaaaaattttee moving, but I love clearing out. I am a fabulous de-junker, once I get started. If it is not nailed down, out it goes!

    Gray — loved seeing you here — I don’t know if you ever saw the picture of Rowan and I in our graycharles hoodies at Edinburgh castle, but that picture was for you. It was a nice jaunt down memory lane to see you here.

    I am very excited about the new HP book and movie. My 13 year old and I listened to the Half-Blood Prince on the way to LA last week in preparation for the movie.

    I am also excited about the Pirates of the Caribbean movie, mostly because I love Chow Yun-Fat. Major crushage on him. (Carefully avoiding fangirly shrieks and flutters). I solemnly swear to uphold the values of Monkbot for any newbies.

    Happy Memorial Day weekend to all — note to self — don’t get married the next time on memorial day weekend. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Shelley Says:

    happy anniversary to dr. bob and her “saxy” hubby.

  16. rowan Says:

    The bionic woman remake looks innnteresting. Only saw fleeting glimpses of the first series, as it screened on the ITV channel which my mum would not let me watch. This was the rival channel to BBC 1 and 2, and it carried advertising – the reason we were banned from watching. My mother used to say that it saddened her to hear little kids singing jingles for beer and soap powder in the post-office queue. We got older, but the habit stuck. Missed out on shows like ‘The A Team”, “Miami Vice” and the Bionic peeps. Remember thinking tho, from the snippets I caught that Linsey Wagner was kinda dealt a crummy hand – not in the digit sense, but she was supposed to br married to the old bionic chap, or am I completely wrong? Colour me confused and aphasic. BBC 1 had some very cool shows, such as “Starsky and Hutch” which I totally hearted and laid in supplies of sweets for, and “Cagney and Lacey” which I still love.

    Have no interface with Harry Potter, but agree with DD about the icky-ness of any Barbarella remake. It was of its time.What was breezy might just end up sleazy, cos the jokes have all been processed. And Kenny – well, perhaps a wee dunk in the Matmos to warm him up after his cold train trip with the ghostly gamblers?

  17. rowan Says:

    Hugs to you Shellz, it is groovy to have you back, and it was nice to see you Gray – hope to see you here lots. Dr Bob – hope youse wans have a really nice day. It is raining here, but am assuming you’ll have a bright sunny day where you are.:) My Graycharles hoodie is raaather tight now…austere eating on the horizon for me!

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Gray: Grassyass!

    Shelley- I feel ya gurl…(who said infestation?) Sending prayers of support your way!

    I’ll try to keep the newbies sweatin’ with the Monkbot Oldies.

    Bionic Woman: I’m totally feelin’ the serious vibe. It might just fill the Alias void in my life.

    Barbarella: Although I don’t know how a person can improve upon the perfection that is the original…or who would deign to play the part that Jane so fully owned….BUT, I’m sure I’ll be in line to see the re-make. I’m just cool like dat.

    H to tha P-Tizzle: I’m so there that I’m already there. Except I’m not. I’m really here, in my office, at my desk, with my red-wine hangover. Ugh.

    Q- No ma’am! There shall be no Ron bashing allowed. I’m pretty sure it’s in the Manifesto.

  19. bamaborntxbred Says:

    ROWAN-

    ….”from the snippets I caught that Linsey Wagner was kinda dealt a crummy hand – not in the digit sense”….

    I HEART you more than Cadbury’s Nut & Fruit chocolate bar. You make me LAUGH. ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Squeebee Says:

    Shel-glad to have you back. All the best wishes for a speedy resolution to the real-estate issue!

    Gray.. for you.

  21. rowan Says:

    Aw, thanks Bama! That’s a compliment indeed. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry you are having to work.

  22. Cahaba Lily Says:

    Life usually has a funny way of working out for the best Shelley. Why is it that the “right thing to do” is typically the hardest choice to make? Sending you hugs and good vibes.

    The Bionic Woman – Kitchy? I’m having a hard time thinking of the premise as even remotely sophisticated.

    Barbarella – just say no.

    I’m just wild about Harry! The books, the movies and the pajamas! =D

  23. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    leejolem I love hiro too, hes my favorite and what got me hooked on the show! Im bummed both brothers died tho ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I wanted peter to live (I think thats the better one of the two?) but love hiro, hes a funny , sweet guy that you cant help but fall in love with (not fangirly love, just awww hes soo cute kinda thing)

  24. sideways721 Says:

    I haven’t read the Harry Potter books or seen the movies, but everybody else in my family has, and my one daughter is a MAJOR fan. Countdown timers on her computer for the book and the movie.

    I read that Stephen King was at some sort of writer’s conference, and he asked JK Rowling to not kill off Harry at the end of the book. You fans of Harry, what do you think will happen? Some think he will be stripped of his powers.

    Ok, who saw Pirates 3?

  25. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Sideways-I’m planning on seeing Pirates 3 or Shrek 3 this weekend…maybe both! I can’t wait! Yay!

    I don’t think Harry will be killed off or stripped of his powers. I think JKR would be making a huge mistake (and would know it) to kill off Harry whether or not she ever plans to reprise the series….and it wouldn’t make sense for him to lose his powers. They are natural to him….like me being born with green eyes. They weren’t gifted to him, so I don’t know how he could lose them….

    ruhappy-I don’t think Peter is dead. I think the “plan” is for him to be back. He can regenerate afterall. Don’t ask me HOW even a regenerative person could come back to life after exploding in a radioactive-type bomb-like way. But it is TV….and he is a Hero!

  26. baby duck Says:

    Creepy doesn’t begin to describe that video. Kenny Rogers passing out whiskey and cigarettes on the Muppet Show?? He would have been my sworn enemy before AI5 if I’d seen that earlier. I’m making it retroactive.

    Gray, ever the man of mystery, somehow managed to substitute host Shelley’s blog from Figi, without the use of his Macbook or cell phone. I don’t know how you did it, but much appreciated for filling in.

  27. Claire Says:

    OK.

    1) Shelley, warmest welcome back, girl! Best of luck with the move. More on that later..

    2) Many Wayne Newtons to one Gray Charles for holding the reins while you were indisposed. He didn’t have to, but he came through for a friend and fellow blogger. Nice.

    3) Harry Potter – y’all knew that Daniel Radcliffe got all nekkid for a play in London, right? Apart from that, I got nuthin’…

    4) Bionic Woman – ah, Michelle Ryan. British Soap actress. Let’s see how well she keeps up the American accent. Will it be up to Hugh Laurie standards? Only time will tell….

    Yeah, moving. I am the QUEEN of the Move. Up until I was 29, absolutely EVERYTHING I owned could fit into a carload-and-a-half. I owned nothing bigger than my stereo system. Between the ages of 16 and 29, I lived in almost 30 different places, in several different cities, in two different countries. (not counting my summer in Montauk.) Even now, with my own apartment, I get antsy if I feel like I have too much “crap” around me. I de-clutter quite regularly. I have a box filled with “precious memories” stuff, and everything else, to me, is disposable.

    Anyhoo, what I mean is, I understand the hassle of moving. And from what I’ve read Shelley, it’s kind of an enforced situation, not a voluntary move, which makes it worse. My advice? Get a nice box, fill it with your “precious things” (be KINDA selective here – but you may include Sadie ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and be more ruthless with everything else. Even furniture.

    And the best thing you can take with you (apart from widdle Sadie?) The happy memories you have of your house and the time you spent there.

    And the phone numbers of the removal guys. If they’re cute.;)

  28. double d Says:

    “removal” guys?

    ***walks off contemplating the difference in sayings on either side of the Atlantic Ocean.***

  29. Hickstyeria Says:

    Good luck with the house move. It’s no doubt meant to be.

    Love Harry too and have not long finished reading the book that the latest movie is based on. Ron’s one of my favourites! A friend of mine is very good friends with Alan Rickman who plays Snape; I would so love to know where he thinks his character will end up.

    Am currently reading Jane Fonda’s amazing autobiography (great read if you haven’t done so) and she’s just at the part where she’s describing her life with Vadim so I’m going to be interested to read all about Barbarella….

    Thanks Gray for sitting in; we miss you.

    Shelley – all our thoughts are with you and now that one chapter’s over, the new one is just waiting to be written – sometimes it’s good to have a fresh, clean page.

  30. leejolem Says:

    “removal” guys–sounds like something from a sci-fi movie when another planet sends reps to wipe your existence off the face of the earth.

    Is Daniel R. the guy who plays Harry? Oh my goodness. He’s all grown up I guess.

  31. Claire Says:

    ?????????????????LOL dd, what’d I sayin American-ese??????????????

  32. Hickstyeria Says:

    Oh Claire, living in Canada meant re-learning almost my entire vocabulary! Who knew ‘nappies’ were sundae dishes (to some Canucks)? Yes, I knew the word ‘diaper’ but oh, I could write a book! My Canadian friends have great fun teasing me, too, about some expressions I use. Luckily I know it’s all meant affectionately…

  33. rowan Says:

    Claire…wanna know too! (Hops from foot to foot.) ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Claire Says:

    Anybody help the EuroBots out?

  35. leejolem Says:

    I think we just call them movers or moving guys. I don’t think removal guys has any secret “American-ese” meaning–it just sounds funny.

    Rowan, what was that word that means you can’t abide something? Is it thole?

  36. sideways721 Says:

    In case you like Blake or Jordin:

    This info comes from http://www.teamplaid.com

    Friday, May 25
    Blake and Jordin appear on Larry King Live. You can email questions for them to the show.

    Wednesday, May 30:
    Blake will appear on Live with Regis and Kelly.

    Thursday, May 31:
    Blake will appear on the Today Show.

    Note: The today show appearance will include both Blake & Jordin with performances by both.

  37. brc Says:

    Leejolam is right. It doesn’t mean anything in particular in Americanese… though “removal guys” sounds more like the garbage man than the movers!!

  38. jena Says:

    Glad you’re back shelley. I’ve always found the old adage “When one door closes, another one opens” to be true, every time. Even when we don’t want the door to close. And it always leads to bigger and better things.

  39. Claire Says:

    LOL, actually I would say “the movers” myself, as would most Irish people, I thought “removal guys” sounded more American, ie less confusing to you guys!!

    Hickstyeria: nappies? Seriously????

    Don’t get me started on “fanny pack”…..

  40. rowan Says:

    Hey Lee! Yep, thole or can’t thole = can/can’t stand something . I can just about thole beetles but I can’t thole spiders. ยซยฐ-ยฐยป

  41. Julie Says:

    Shells, glad you’re back. But are you sure you weren’t sobbing on Monday because of this:

    http://www.tmz.com/2007/05/25/taylor-hicks-scores-a-really-hot-chick/

    Cause it’s making me get a littly teary today…

  42. Claire Says:

    Three threads-worth on the Boogie already.

    Good for Taylor. Now let’s leave them be.

  43. Shelley Says:

    thank you, claire.

    ALL BEWARNED…YE HAVE ENTERED THE NON-FANGIRLY REALM!!!!

  44. leejolem Says:

    Oh Lord, can you imagine the stir this will cause in some arenas? I hope this girl has her armor on. I say, good for both of them, and I hope they are enjoying the heck out of each other, the beach, Hawaii, etc…

    Taylor, honey, I hope you have on sunscreen cuz your back looks a little melanin challenged!

  45. texan Says:

    Gray, It is always good to read your posts. Wayne Newton and Fig ones too!

    Shelley, Life def is a roller coaster! Glad we are all in it together. Need packers? We are soooooooo THERE!

    Ok did anyone watch So You Think You Can Dance last night? I’m a’thinkin’ Mr. Nigel got punk’d by the kid that had to swing dance to get his ticket to Vegas! The kid stammered around feigning lame swing moves , he listened to the Nigel’s coaching and then blasted out a great number! Anyone else think Nigel got punk’d?

  46. Claire Says:

    SMACKDOWN!!!!!

    BOO YA!

  47. leejolem Says:

    Claire, 3 threads already? I was really just kidding. Sometimes the paparazzi stinks!

  48. Claire Says:

    Lee, actually it’s now FOUR threads. Although thankfully, most people are saying that we should respect their privacy. However, the (valid) point has been made that Taylor and his lady friend/friends WILL be papped, like it or not, so fans will just have to self-police on how they choose to comment (or not) on the pictures.

    I choose to say – let ’em be. And good for Taylor.

  49. double d Says:

    Alls I can say is: ’bout time.

    WOOOHOOO…To comemmorate and usher in SUMMER

  50. rowan Says:

    Aww, I am watching AI and Kat Deeley is doing one of her behind the scenes interviews, with Chris Daughtry. They are talking about guyliner. ๐Ÿ™‚ It is kind of nice to see one of the old gang again. Can’t wait to see Taylor perform.

  51. Claire Says:

    Rowan – ITV2?

  52. Quossum Says:

    Ah, man, talk about getting over a crush just in time! *wipes brow*

    Fine, bama, you and Shelley can have Ron. I’m more of a Hagrid girl myself. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Today was the last day of school for teachers. Yay!!!! Sweet, sweet summer!

    –Q

  53. rowan Says:

    Claire – yeh! Still wating for Tay!

  54. rowan Says:

    Yay – Taylor is faaab!

  55. Claire Says:

    LOL Rowan – That was some mean harp, huh?

  56. rowan Says:

    Youbetcha. (Putting out neglected toaster fire and flapping tea towel underneath smoke alarm) And he sang “Day in the Life” so poignantly. I am glad to discount all traces of fangirlyness and say categorically that this bloke was worth staying up all night Skype voting for. ๐Ÿ˜€ He so deserved his win. Poor Melinda. Did enjoy the Finale, tho.

    Hey…if there is a Barbarella remake, perhaps Duran Duran could have a starring role, as they pinched their name from the first film. Or maybe just Simon. It is time Duranie suede pixie boots made a comeback, tho not sooo sure about the white jeans.

  57. Claire Says:

    Rowan, personally I want to see a revival of the pastel suits, complete with sleeves rolled up almost to the elbows. And there must be mullets galore. Sorta Durannie meets Miami vice.

    Ah, the ’80’s…sigh…

  58. Claire Says:

    OT – Rowan, if you’re still around and interested, Joan Armatrading will be on Jools Holland tonight. And on Youtube tomorrow, no doubt!

  59. rowan Says:

    Yeah…the thing I remember most is removing shoulder-pads from everything. Everything. Coats, jumpers, blouses, tees….used to tie my brain in knots thinking of a possible use for them if they were saved up and sewn together. Seemed a shame to chuck them. Wee hamster hammocks, or a patchwork dog quilt. ..tea cosy… hippy handbag…silly hat…And now there are none. Vanished into the night at the sound of the bells on 31st Dec, 1999.

  60. rowan Says:

    Thanks Claire – nighty night Celtic Monkbot Sistah! Mean harp dreamz.

    Q – happy holidays! Hooray! Remember the feeling well. I am sure you could have run up something very wonderful with all those lovely colourful padded wodges of shoulder-pad material. Perhaps, beneath this untidy throwaway exterior, beats the heart of someone with strong environmentalist leanings…retro or otherwise.(Note to self to recycle more.)

  61. Claire Says:

    Ah, the Celts have taken over Monkbot Towers again….

    ‘Night, Rowan – how about making a nice pastel suit out of all those shoulderpads?

    Oh, and Joan A. wasn’t great on Jools. Too much guitar in the mix, IMO….

    *waves goodnight to all monkbots.*

  62. rowan Says:

    Night to all the groovy Monkbots across the Atlantic Ocean and Irish Sea! (And from all other places, cos geography is not my strong point.)

  63. shrewspeaks Says:

    hey gal…just landed back home and read throgh everything…what ever you need you know to just ask.

    Gray…great stint.

    Barbarella…why?

  64. jenfera Says:

    Hey all – I had jury duty today so I am just hitting the computer now after a bunch of errands and cleaning at home at 9:47 PM.

    Shelley, best of luck with the move. I hope this new chapter in your life will be the best ever. When I moved in the summer a few years ago, I potted all of my veggies and flowers so I could take them with me. You are already well on your way with your container approach, but seriously, if you can get your hands on some large buckets even you could take those ‘maters with you.

    Nice to see you Gray! Don’t be a stranger, stop by and comment now & then!

    Never watched the first Bionic Woman, so I have no input on the new one. I enjoy the HP movies even though I haven’t read the books, but I usually end up waiting until they come out on DVD or HBO. Never saw Barbarella either, but maybe they could spawn a new reality show from it casting a new version of Duran Duran! Haaa.

  65. AnotherTaylorFan (Brenda) Says:

    Shelley, I hope you have great success at finding your new perfect home. I hate moving. I have moved exactly twice in my thirty years of marriage: First when I married my husband and moved into his house and lastly when we moved into this house 17 years ago. The one good thing about moving is it forces my sweet pack rat husband to trash things.

  66. Dr. Bob Says:

    Okay — I wanted to be Jaime Summers sooooo badly. She had great hair and a cool name and ran fleetly like a gazelle. And she lived in Ojai, which sounded cool and exotic to me. I wanted a bionic ear, too. I don’t know what the point of remaking it is.

    Barbarella? Pffth.

    (thanks for the anniversary congrats — eighteen years and counting)

  67. Quossum Says:

    Ah, if only I’d been into quilting back then! Yes, I do remember discarding a certain number of shoulder pads in my day.

    Once during high school (mid ’80’s), I went on an overnight drama trip. Some squirelly buddies of mine and I decided to play a joke on the boys: We took some sanitary napkins, stuck them to their motel room by their self-adhesive strips, and ran giggling back to our room.

    Sadly, we were caught by our drama coach, who gave us a royal gryping out.

    The next day our rather bedraggled group was sitting around having breakfast, and coach, ever fashion-conscious, noted, “Hey, where are the shoulder pads in your jacket?”

    Having taken them out the night before, I solemnly told him, “I never want to see another pad again, sir.”

    Thus ended that fashion fad for me.

    –Q

  68. Mall Rabbit Says:

    I had the Jaime Summers Bionic Woman doll. Or was that my sister’s doll? I dunno.

    I’ve concluded that I have never seen the entire Barbarella movie so I have no clue what it is about other than Jane Fonda wearing silvery lame clothes.

  69. Laurita Says:

    Hey you all.. slightly belated/OT, but I couldn’t resist!

    If you want to put a big smile on your face this weekend (and you haven’t read it yet), check out Dave White’s AmIdol Tues./Wed. review- some hilarious stuff:

    http://www.advocate.com/exclusive_detail_ektid45450.asp

    For ex.: “…We do, however, get the only interesting judge commentary of the night. It’s from Paula–thanks, Tripping Dog and subsequent pain-relieving medication–who says, โ€œYou’re in great vocal voice.โ€ That’s like telling someone they have wonderfully optical eyes. I wish for Paula to trip over something every week next season.”…
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  70. Staci Says:

    Shell, sorry I’ve been gone here at the end of the week. Hope all is going well with the house, and know I’m here if you need anything.

    Does the fact that I already have a babysitter lined up for the night of July 13th say anything about my excitement for the movie? (forget that it also happens to be my 11th anniversary… that’s just icing on the cake:)

    Thanks, GC, for being there for Shell.

  71. sideways721 Says:

    I’ve enjoyed lurking and posting here as well.
    As soon as I read shoulder pads:

    http://www.imdb.com/gallery/mptv/1363/9295_0192.jpg.html?path=gallery&path_key=0081856&seq=4

    Yep, I wore them kinda like that as well.

  72. KD Says:

    Just getting in to read today….
    First of all, good luck Shelley. I am THE expert in how to deal when life gets in the way of your plans. God has a way of changing my path for me when I least expect it. But I have Him to thank for all the good things that have come from those strange turns. So, I’ll be thinking of you.

    Now, to the real important stuff…Harry Potter!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I CANNOT WAIT for the BOOK!!! I’m really concerned that our hero will have to die in order to “do in” Voldemort, but we’ll see. Can’t wait for the movie either. I love them on their own, not as an extension of the books. That may in fact be our first date post-baby—-my goal is to have Baby Boy sleeping through the night by then, so I can actually get a sitter and sneak out to see it at the late viewing. Wish us luck!

    And speaking of books, when will we get the next installment of one Jamie Fraser??? Shrew knows who I’m talking about—anyone else?

    And by the way, for those interested, the Lost finale was awesome!! If you have nothing better to do (yeah, right!) rent them on DVD and watch all the seasons in order to catch up over the summer.
    See y’all during the week!

  73. Dr. Bob Says:

    KD — yes, I know what you are talking about … I did not know that there was another book on that horizon. We missed the entire season of Lost, but just finished up 24 — it had a good finale, as well. The Office and Lost are going to be netflixed this summer.

    Give the baby a smooch from his Monkbot Aunties!

  74. KD Says:

    Oooh…Dr. Bob…there’s supposed to be TWO more books. ๐Ÿ™‚ The wait is torturous!
    I have all the 24’s on DVR but haven’t been able to catch up yet. I’ve found that if I watch them when I’m up in the middle of the night with the baby, I can’t get back to sleep. All the action! So I watch HGTV instead….much less stimulating. *laugh*

  75. Dr. Bob Says:

    I believe that I ended up with a really amazingly ugly citrine ring because of nursing the baby at three am, watching the home shopping network for the first time. It was mesmerizing. The food channel just made me hungry.

    (Ah, Jamie …)

Comments are closed.


