The Sting

by

The yellow jacket sting mentioned in the video above quit hurting after an hour…so, I never got the Benadryl.

I did, however, make GREAT progress Sunday on getting the house ready to sell.

Actually, here is what I did Sunday (starting at 6 a.m.):

  1. Weeded beds around house (got stung)
  2. Clipped hedges around house
  3. Cleaned up trimmings
  4. Planted marigolds in front bed
  5. Swept porch, carport, and patio (floor, walls, ceiling and doors)
  6. Scrubbed mildew off of exterior of house from around the air conditioning unit
  7. Scrubbed front door
  8. Emptied all garbages and hauled three cans to street for Monday pick-up
  9. Wiped down all kitchen cabinets with cleaner
  10. Dusted kitchen (including ceiling and washing the globe from light fixture)
  11. Dusted dining room (including ceiling and washing the globes from light fixture)
  12. Did two loads of laundry
  13. Did a load of dishes
  14. Tidied up things around house
  15. Put fresh sheets on guest bed
  16. Touched up four paint colors around interior of house
  17. Fixed sink stopper in my bathroom
  18. Replaced all burnt out light bulbs in house (including one in outside storage room)
  19. Swept kitchen and laundry room
  20. Vacuumed dining room and rug in kitchen
  21. Put together above blog video for Monday

I have to admit…I was totally pooped (still am a little…ha)!

All I have left is to vacuum the rest of the house house, scrub the kitchen and laundry room floors, and steam clean the carpet throughout the house!

Wish me luck, I’m going to try to get those things done Monday night (or Monday and Tuesday if need be).

Then it’s ready for my Realtor to inspect and, hopefully, stick a sign in my yard!

Keep me in your prayers…I’ve been working like a madwoman to get this done.

19 Responses to “The Sting”

  1. Dr. Bob Says:

    AND … you managed to put together an excellent video. A-Maze-ing.

    Fantastic job on all of the cleaning. Faaaaannnntastic. I should not have laughed at your “killer bee” outfit, but I did. I am mean. We don’t have yellowjackets, but I remember getting stung by a couple of wasps and numerous bee stings because I went around barefoot.

    I feel like a total slug.

    You are totally in my prayers … all of the hard work will pay off.

  2. nolagirl Says:

    I am tired just reading all of that! Glad you had a productive weekend – hope the buyers flock to your house, checkbooks ready! 😉

  3. justwatchin Says:

    Holy carp…that’s amazing….you’ve inspired me to go wash the dishes! Will be thinking of you…have a good one!

  4. rowan Says:

    Shelley – amongst all those multitudinous meritorious activities, you scrubbed the mildew from your exterior air conditioning unit, and cleaned the lamp gobes (would have put those achievements in bold or italics to highlight their wow-factor, but if I go get the html now, I’ll poof my post.) Am awestruck into total silence, so click my heels and salute, even tho I’m wearin slip on DMs. (Ow!) Yellow jackets sound horrible, and your sting looked very, very sore. Yer in my prayers too!

  5. jenfera Says:

    Yellow jackets are the worst!! They are mean. Out for blood, I tell ya’! Poor Shelley. Those welts can take a week to go away.

    Shelley, you are giving me all these flashbacks to moving three years ago. It doesn’t seem like it was that long ago, especially reading about all of your efforts. I am getting deja vu-style whooped just thinking about it. We even managed to move on the hottest day of the year, as in Mississippi-style hot, in the 90’s with the humidity to go with it. Best of luck with the rest of the process!

  6. Quossum Says:

    You are freakin’ amazing, girl! That is a load of stuff you got done–congrats!

    Oh, I forgot to mention I loved the “quilt batting” reference in your other post. 😉 Here’s a pic of my latest finish, Jewels in the Dark

    I hope your realtor gives you a “good review” and gets that sign out there pronto!!!

    –Q

  7. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    Shelley…….I’m very impressed. I knew you had some heart, but I didn’t know you to have so much perserverance as too work your way through a hornet. I have been stung the shirt on a sunburnt shoulder one time so I feel you pain! Very proud of you sista.

  8. SoulmateCT (but not for long) Says:

    I feel your pain Shelley. We move cross country in two weeks and just signed a contract to sell our house. What I have found in all my moves (10 of them to date) is that the cleaning and decluttering is key. I do an initial clean of all my closets for appearance sake and then after the sale clean them again of all the stuff I really don’t want to have to move. Even though we have movers pack all our stuff for us and then move it, I still have to find a place for it all at the other end so I tend to purge relentlessly. Memorabilia gets saved and filed and or boxed but carp that you just tend to hang on to because you would feel badly throwing out gets the heave ho. (you know, the ugly sweater from your MIL that you wouldn’t be caught dead in but didn’t get rid of because what if she asked about it? I donate it and then if asked say “gee, I haven’t seen that since the move!”) Good luck and I hope the realtor gives you the green light!

  9. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    I might add that I never wear protective gear when I weed-eat or mow the lawn because it’s just too hot. So take a lesson from me everybody. Don’t do as P-Diddyhopper does.

  10. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    Oh, one more thing. How did you clean your house? Did you use a hose with bleach like Dad and I suggested, or did you use a rag?

  11. Shelley Says:

    Thanks everyone (especially P-Diddyhopper).

    Actually, my arm (though still red) feels totally fine today.

    I can’t wait to get home from work and get to work on the floors!

    FUN! 😉

  12. Shelley Says:

    P-Diddyhop…I used part of Dad’s advice. I didn’t want to have to go out and buy a high pressure nozzle…so I used bleach, water, a scrub brush and lots of elbow grease. It actually came off pretty easily. I ended up scrubbing the entire bottom third across the back of my house. I’d guess it took about 45 minutes total.

  13. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    That’s good 😉

  14. Laurita Says:

    Whew, i’m exhausted just reading this list of yours! Good luck and take care in the days ahead…
    The video is very cool.. you remind me of when I lived in Central America and we were hiking to the Mayan ruins in the rainforest!

  15. Laurita Says:

    off-topic P.S. (forgive me Shelley, i’ll take my wet tilapia like a girl…):

    Wondering what’s up with our mysterious Uncle Monkbot today.. all sorts of discussion on the internets about the deep meanings behind the new links on graycharlesdotcom…

    And also the new “compared to what/obstinate groove” site which has folks speculatin’ that Gray’s behind it (his response: “it ain’t me, babe…”)

    http://c2what.com/

    I posted the lyrics to a video Gray’s linked to – a Beatles song (a personal old favorite…):

    “And Your Bird Can Sing

    You tell me that you’ve got everything you want
    And your bird can sing
    But you don’t get me, you don’t get me

    You say you’ve seen seven wonders and your bird is green
    But you can’t see me, you can’t see me

    When your prized possessions start to wear you down
    Look in my direction, I’ll be round, I’ll be round

    When your bird is broken will it bring you down
    You may be awoken, I’ll be round, I’ll be round

    You tell me that you’ve heard every sound there is
    And your bird can swing
    But you can’t hear me, you can’t hear me…”
    ~~~~~~~

  16. Julie Says:

    First of all, Shelley: WHEW!! And how much do you charge? I’ll gladly pay you Tuesday for a house cleaning/weeding and gardening/organizing service today.

    Secondly: Wondering what’s up with our mysterious Uncle Monkbot today.. all sorts of discussion on the internets about the deep meanings behind the new links on graycharlesdotcom…

    What new links? And as for the c2what.com, that do indeed sound like the old man, who, incidentally, figured large in my dream last night, which I think is significant, as my dreams often come true.

    Brother G, that you in the spot…light?

  17. Laurita Says:

    Continuing off-topic- yikes! 😉

    Look at the very bottom of the page, way down that belly: “more rock, less talk”
    http://www.graycharles.com/

    and you’ll find:

    ” Elsewhere and another place, and, oh yeah i forgot this one. ”

    …there are 3 links…

    [G posted (and then deleted apparently) “it ain’t me, babe” in answer to the same question you posed, Julie– on the Boogie thread in “ETC.” section where all this stuff is being bandied about… Amy quoting the old man is still there, however…]

    Dylan – “you say you’re looking for someone…”:

  18. Julie Says:

    BTW, your accent is cute, girl!

  19. Dr. Bob Says:

    Shelley has a lovely speaking and singing voice … and a cute accent.

Comments are closed.


