You Say Tomato… I Say ‘Man, that Was a lot of Work!’

by
12 Responses to “You Say Tomato… I Say ‘Man, that Was a lot of Work!’”

  1. rowan Says:

    Wowzers Shelley! that is indeed a superb harvest. Last year my stepdad grew tomato plants in his little greenhouse, and after much cosseting and judicious feeding, was rewarded with a harvest in the singular – just one wee knobbly fellow. It was hard not to chortle. That bumper crop of yours and fully ripened specimen are worthy of a regal fanfare.

  2. Jules Says:

    Shelley – I’m jealous – I have 1 regular tomato plant going & 1 cherry – they both have tomatoes on them but are small & green yet. Tomatoes are my favorite food & are very expensive in the store. I do have a couple peppers going also & I need to pluck a jalapeno off that’s getting pretty big. I was hoping I could wait cause the other half is the jalapeno lover & he’s at AT with his Guard unit till Friday but the dang thing is pretty big. Anyways – good for you Shelley! Enjoy that scrumptious tomato! My mouth is watering!

  3. Dr. Bob Says:

    Shelley! That tomato is gorgeous! I remember eating tomatoes warm off the vine — delicious…

  4. leejolem Says:

    Shelley, I can’t see your tomato, but I feel your pain. When I was young I begged my mom to let us grow veggies. We tried peas and carrots. We got like 2or 3 thumb-sized carrots that tasted like dirt and about 3 spoonfuls of peas. The peas were delicious, but, I agree, what hard work. I would have made a horrible pioneer woman when they had to grow a garden to keep their families alive during harsh winters.

    **waves to Rowan and Dr Bob**

  5. suzi-q Says:

    Hooray for Shelley, hooray for Shelley, someone in the crowd is yelling Hooray for Shelley, 2,4,6,8 who do we appreciate, Shelley! that’s who!!!! 🙂 Congratulations Shell you desire every delicious bite of that gorgeous tomato!

  6. Dr. Bob Says:

    Hi Lee! Hope yer business trip went well…

  7. leejolem Says:

    Dr Bob, we had to do a scavenger hunt in the pouring rain at Universal Studios. It was not horrible. To tie it in to this thread–I was probably as red as a tomato as I huffed and puffed trying to follow all my teammates around. I finally decided to take phone duty and called all my sources for answers to some of the questions that we couldn’t find on our own. Overall the trip was really fun!

  8. Quossum Says:

    So very cool! And what a nice film, too–the redness of the tomato in all that green was just wonderful.

    My dad was raised a farm boy, but now we’re suburbians. I recall once when I was a teen or young adult, travelling somewhere with Dad and we stopped at this little roadside produce stand such as pepper East Texas farm roads, and we were looking at the vegetables.

    My dad admired the tomatoes. “Now those are some tomatoes. That’s what good tomatoes look like. I remember walking out in Mama’s garden and eating them like this right off the vine. In fact, I think I’m gonna get one of these right here.”

    The produce man gestured go-ahead and Dad chose a tomato, held it reverently for a moment, and then took a big bite, just like you would an apple. The expression on his face blissful, he said, “Now that is good.” He looked over at the produce guy and said, “How much I owe you for one fine tomato?”

    The man said, “Not a cent, sir. Just seeing you eat it and enjoy it that much is all the payment I need. Thank you, sir.”

    Dad tried to insist, but the man wouldn’t take anything, and when we left, Dad said, “They don’t make ’em like that any more.”

    –Q

  9. Shelley Says:

    Awww, Q…great story. So sweet.

  10. sideways721 Says:

    I am hungry for a tomato sandwich right now.

  11. Theresa Says:

    So….how did you prepare it? My husband slices them and puts….SUGAR…on it. Never heard of that until I met my farm boy.

  12. Laurita Says:

    omg, i love fresh tomatoes like this!

    my dad used to have what was called a Japanese Tomato Ring in our backyard in South Miami when I grew up, and he got hundreds of huge delish tomatoes from it every year..

    in the summers, i get amazing heirloom and all kinds of wonderful organic tomatoes at the numerous year-round farmers markets in the S.F. Bay Area..

    yummmmm! 😉

Comments are closed.


