Hello, Good-bye

by

My Dear Little Monkbots,

Monkbot Talk will be closing its doors on Friday, June 22, with my last post.

That day marks the one-year anniversary of this little blog and I feel it’s time to move on.

Monkbot has run its course.

I’ll write more about the closing on Friday, but I wanted to give everyone an early heads up so that good-byes could be said or information exchanged for folks who want to stay in touch.

After Friday, all comments will be closed, but the site will remain indefinitely for viewing and reference.

Traveling Monkbot is still making his rounds and, as of right now, I plan to see that project through ’til the end. So, there will be posts with comments open for that as he continues his journey (in other words…don’t delete your RSS feed just yet).

And, I can’t promise that I, personally, will never write a post at Monkbot again. I just currently have no plans to do so.

It’s been a good run and I think I’m ending strong…with lots of faithful readers and with a community of caring and intelligent people. No blogger could ask for more.

42 Responses to “Hello, Good-bye”

  1. Hickstyeria Says:

    Well Shelley I am sad about that but I think I understand. Maybe it’s all the things that are happening in your life right now or maybe, as you said, it’s just time to move on and possibly move on in your personal life and goals too. I certainly think I saw it coming in your recent posts – or at least the occasional comment I’ve read.

    It’s been a great read and a sanctuary for many. Thank you and all the best with the move, the tomatoes and herbs (!) and with finding that special someone. Hugs to you and Sadie.

  2. sideways721 Says:

    Shelley, wishing you all the best.

    I lurked here off and on, and didn’t post until Gray’s blog closed down. The honesty and vulnerability which came through in your posts was special. Sometimes I sat here looking at the posts, and wishing that I could adequately write what I wanted to express, my heart and mind were so full and I was just lost in translation. Sometimes I knew exactly what I wanted to post and I just couldn’t post it because it was something I considered so personal.

    Don’t know if you like mozzarella, but I saw the beautiful tomatoes and basil growing in your garden. I prefer a crustier French bread/baguette, but the Italian bread is also good.

    I like to make this pan grilled. Do you have one of those fry pans with the ridges?

    1 (1 pound) loaf Italian bread/French Bread/baguette whatever you prefer

    6 fresh basil leaves, chopped From Shelley’s garden
    2 tomatoes, sliced From Shelley’s garden
    4 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced Make sure it’s fresh!

    1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes OR oregano/italian seasoning flakes
    1/2 cup balsamic vinegar and put in a bit of olive oil if you like. Yummy.

    DIRECTIONS
    Slice the loaf of bread in half lengthwise. Layer the basil, tomato slices, and mozzarella cheese between the two halves of bread. Cut into four sandwiches.
    In a small dish, stir together the balsamic vinegar and red pepper flakes. Use as a dipping sauce.

  3. sideways721 Says:

    BTW, is George at least a little bit similar to Jack Sparrow?

  4. jenfera Says:

    😦

    Shelley, you will be missed. Your stories, your videos, poetry, photos, songs and all that you were willing to give of yourself were a bright spot in the day for many of us. Personally, I will really miss the Office and AI recaps – you always know just how to express exactly what a lot of us are thinking!

    I will also really miss this community. So many names that I have come to think of as friends who I have never actually met. Thanks for bringing us all together, Shelley. I hope to continue to run into you all out there in the wilds of the internet!

  5. KD Says:

    Best wishes to you Shelley! And thank you! 🙂

  6. morewines Says:

    Shelley, this is a very sad day indeed. Wish you would change your mind.
    I always liked to visit your blog and enjoyed reading it.

  7. PattyP Says:

    Shelley, I didn’t come here every day, and I didn’t add a lot of comments, but whenever I did come here, I was always truly impressed with your writing. You have a real gift, and I hope you continue to use it in other ways, if not here.

    Viva le Monkbot!

  8. deejay Says:

    Shelley, this has been a wonderful place to visit this year. You have a gifted Internet voice and I hope you will continue to use it, if only occasionally. Thanks for being here and many good wishes to you on the road ahead.

  9. Claire Says:

    To everything there is a season…..

    Well Shelley, it’s been really fun. But I think you and me hit the Internet wall at the same time, so I understand where you’re coming from. I no longer feel the need to post, or even lurk for long, at any site I frequent these days. And while I’m still a fan of a certain TH, I am not interested in the minutiae of his life and do not feel the need to comment on it. It’s very liberating, actually!
    But I will miss your quirky posts about your garden, your childhood memories, TV, the lovely Sadie, and all thing Shelley-related. And who knows, maybe after a wee hiatus you might pick up your blogging pen again – in Monkbot form, or another.
    We will miss you. But you have our e-mail addy’s right? And they are there for all to see, should you chose to send a group Monkbot e-mail out….

    Be well Shelley, and maybe keep us informed about the househunt??

    And promise me, that one day, you’ll watch Schindlers List… 😛

  10. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Shelley- I think I expressed everything to you on the telly the other day. I’m sad…but it’s time. I’ll miss the family….but most of you have my email addy and we can keep in touch that way. If any wants my addy that doesn’t have it…just let me know!!!!

    And, just as this blog was kind of a “spin-off” of Gray’s, we have other talented blogmeistresses in our midst: Dr. Bob, DD, Jenfera, Shrew, etc. Maybe it’s time for someone else to take the helm.

    Monkbot will always hold a very special place in my memories. I’ve never experienced anything like this and all of you have made it a vital and worthwhile community.

    Vive la Monkbot!

  11. leejolem Says:

    Wow, I’m bummed, but I can’t say that I’m that surprised. I will really miss this place and all my Monkbot sistahs. Shelley, thanks for all your hard work, time, energy etc… you’ve put into the monkbot neighborhood. I’d love to keep in touch with lots of you–any suggestions on how to go about doing this? I’m not sure about putting my email address out here–
    Shelley, what do you suggest? (you know i’m technologically challenged).

    I’m trying hard not to be too sad, but I do feel like this is the end of an era, and it makes me feel a little misty-eyed. 😦

  12. Shelley Says:

    Lee…you could always sign up to a temporary e-mail account and post that. Once you get responses from folks you want to hear from…give them your real address. 🙂

  13. jenfera Says:

    bama & lee –

    I’d love to have both of your email addresses. Here is a convoluted way of contacting me. You can go to the old version of my blog at this address:

    http://victuals.blogs.masslive.com/

    and then click on the Contact link near the top left corner of the page. It will send an email confidentially to my personal address. Let’s keep in touch!

    🙂

  14. jena Says:

    Shelley, This is very sad to hear. I love reading what you write. I never told you this, but your writings remind me of a young Celestine Sibley.

    Keep writing. You are carrying on the noble tradition of Women Writers of the South. Don’t ever stop.

    Good luck and be blessed in all you do.

    Jena

  15. wompuss Says:

    aw, shells…….I hope you know that just a’cause you don’t blog monkbot anymore, I’m still only two hours away…and I consider you my friend…I’ll miss reading your posts, but I understand.

  16. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Jen! I contacted through your blog! Let me know if you don’t get it. I’ll set up a temp. addy and post it here if need be….then I can give my real addy out to y’all.

    Lee- I’d love to keep in touch w/you too girl!

  17. baby duck Says:

    Shelley, there will be a big empty spot in my days without monkbot to visit. Your posts, along with the wonderful community that has gathered here, have been both thought-provoking and entertaining. From the ridiculous (Cheesy Studs) to the sublime (Shelley Powers singing O Holy Night), MonkbotTalk has covered it all.

    I hope you will post when your house sells, and when you find your new one. Your move is in the thoughts and prayers of many of us, I’m sure, and it would be nice to know how it all works out.

    With MonkbotTalk’s roots so entwined with Taylor Hicks and Gray Charles, it’s understandable that it is time to close. I think most of us have pretty much moved on from the need for a fansite fix. Perhaps one day you will start a new blog without those associations. Personally, I would love to see one where you and Gray could freely banter. About pop culture or music or anything or everything. The two of you have a wonderful synergy of words, typified in the interview. I thought perhaps it could happen here after gc.com closed. But the occasional appearance of Uncle Monkbot came with it’s own entwined roots and associations. Maybe one day there will be a fresh start with the best of what you both have to offer. Well, a girl can dream, can’t she?

    Same as jenfera, you can use the contact form on my blog to keep in touch.

    May your path be strewn with blessings, Shelley.

    Viva le Monkbot!

  18. grayhound Says:

    Shelley: Can’t believe I have to delete yet another blog from “my favorites.” Didn’t post much, but read almost every day so I will miss this place and everyone’s entertaining and unique input!!

    Best of luck to you in whatever endeavors you explore.

    On another subject (Shelley, I hope you don’t mind this but I want to tell as many people as possible): If you don’t watch Rescue Me (on FX Channel this summer) you are missing one of the best shows on television. Everyone here has the snarkability to truly enjoy that show – well written and dark comical moments. Give it a try!!!

  19. justwatchin Says:

    Must be something in the water you and Gray are drinking?

    I didn’t post here often, but I’ve enjoyed your posts tremendously…so very open, and incredibly written…thanks for sharing yourself.

    Wishing you the very best….thanks much for letting me stop in from time to time….

  20. jenfera Says:

    grayhound – thanks for the tip! What day of the week is that on? I keep meaning to check it out, I have heard good things. Now, let me get on my soapbox and recommend everyone check out Friday Night Lights. They are re-running the whole season this summer on Sunday nights on NBC, and it has been picked up for another season. It’s been nominated for quite a few awards already, so I know I am not alone in noticing how brilliant this show is.

  21. Jules Says:

    Shelley – I am sorry to see Monkbot close its doors. I have enjoyed it very much the short time that I’ve been around – seems like a short time anyway – time flies when you’re having fun. Anyways thanks for the memories & all that you did in making this a fun & insightful place to come & visit. I wish you all the best – Godspeed!

  22. grayhound Says:

    jenfera: It is on Wednesdays on the FX channel at 10:00 p.m. They also rerun it at 11:00 on Wed. and one more time – not quite sure. For anyone trying to get up to speed on it, I guess I would recommend reading some recaps. I only watched one episode last year and was hooked!!

    Re: Friday Night Lights – I am on it! Thanks for reminding me – I have heard great things about this show. Just like Rescue Me, it’s one of those gems that alot of people aren’t aware of.

  23. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I’ll try to catch both of those shows ladies. Are the first season’s on dvd yet? I’m catching up on all the seasons of Entourage right now. I’m in love with Jeremy Piven….and Adrian Grenier…and the tiny little Irish man that dated Niki Hilton.

    Dang! Someone needs to start a tv blog? Anyone, anyone? Bueller?

  24. jenfera Says:

    I nominate you to write that blog, bama!!

    I don’t think FNL is on DVD yet, but they did have most of the episodes available for free on NBC.com at one time. I peeked today and only saw two epidsodes there, but maybe I just missed the rest.

    Hey, today is Wednesday! I will try to stay awake late enough to watch Rescue Me!

  25. rowan Says:

    You’ve done yourself and us proud with this great site, Shelley. Take care of yourself! Will be keeping you in my prayers and smiling at the great memories and times we’ve all shared. If you ever visit that flea market again and those dog dishes are still there, remember – they have my name on them!

    Waves to Lee and Claire, fellow cyber tea and scone imbibers and creme e** revolutionaries. It would be kewl to keep in touch! Will pop in and say hey to peeps with blogs. Thanks Shelley, for all the Monkbot fun, and for sharing your thoughts, feelings and opinions so eloquently.

  26. brc Says:

    Shelley… I send you my thoughts, prayers and best wishes as you move on.
    Thanks for all you did here at Monkbot.

  27. shrewspeaks Says:

    And in the end
    The love you take
    Is equal to the love you make.

    from Shrewbie’s heart.

    And Kleenex…that darn company must see a spike of use in June for the past two years.

  28. Amy Says:

    Awe, Shelley, I’m sorry you are stopping. I’m gonna miss you. If you ever start blogging again, let me know. I can be found at: http://noroom.typepad.com/noroom

    Amy

  29. Lainie Says:

    Shelley,

    I haven’t posted much but have enjoyed all your stories and those of others. You’re a talented and kind lady and I know the world will treat you right. In the midst of all the internet nastiness we see on many of the other sites, you kept a firm hand here and you’re to be congratulated for that!!

    Happy Trails!
    Lainie

  30. SoulmateCT(for 2 more weeks!) Says:

    So new to this site. Too soon to have to say goodbye to someone I would have liked to have known better.
    As I am already grieving with the goodbyes to close friends and neighbors as I leave for the other coast, let me wish you all the best in whatever you hope to do.

  31. Lab Says:

    Shelley,

    From one Mississippi girl to another, I’m proud of you and thank you for the hours of enjoyment I’ve spent reading your blog. I hope you will keep writing. Larry Brown, the late author from Oxford, Miss., once said of his early years spent toiling away at the typewriter, “I look at where I am and where I want to be and there’s a wide gulf in between”. I hope you enjoy the time it takes you to get wherever you want to go.

    And to be really sappy about all this…..When one comes to end of anything, whether it’s your life, a job, a relationship, ….. a blog….it’s a wonderful thing to be able to say “I finished well”. You, Shelley, have finished well.

    Take care!
    Lab

  32. baby duck Says:

    I don’t know if it was just a coincidence, but The Beatles Hello Goodbye starts with the words “You say yes”, and “Say yes” were Gray’s parting words in the Finito post. It’s a great way to bring it full-circle, Shelley.

  33. texastaylorfan Says:

    Well, crap.
    First Gray, now you! I can’t take this anymore. I’m not tough enough for the blog world. I get too attached to my blogmeisters. I’m never reading another blog again. Never, never, never!
    This is the pits.
    Tomorrow I’ll feel bad about my selfish response and wish you well. Give me til tomorrow for that though, okay?
    Damn.

  34. Alison B. Says:

    Shelley, thank you for the interesting topics you posted especially the ones about classical music and favorite books. Hope everything works out well for you.

  35. mamaforpeace Says:

    Shelley, I hope you know what a unique individual you are, with a unique voice. Though I hardly ever posted, I always looked forward to visiting. I will miss it.

  36. KD Says:

    Best of luck Shelley! Thanks for everything. 🙂

  37. Dr. Bob Says:

    Shelley, I was clearing out emails yesterday (postponing work that actually needed to be done) and came across old emails from you and it was lovely and nostalgic. I thought of Baby Luke and the progressive story and your radio jingle and your lovely Christmas carols. And KD’s baby. And going over to Ivory’s hut and Shrew’s shutters and Quossom’s gorgeous quilts and Bama with a big monkbot-with-a-bow on her head. And agility trials. And Jen’s fine cooking. And the great Cadbury creme egg battle with Claire and Rowan. Too many memories for so early in the morning …

    And mad hotlinking skillz and your tremendous photoshopping skillz and the videos and the stories and the silliness and the garden and when you fixed the oven.

    I will miss you, but you did something really good and you should be pleased with the outcome. I hope that if something compelling comes up, that you will share it, because I have grown accustomed to your slant on the world, but only if it is a fun thing for you and does not feel like an obligation.

    Anyone can find me at my blog (but it is pathetic, comparatively speaking) — you can click on my blue name to get there. If you post a comment I will get it and will go look in my email there.

  38. manders! Says:

    Shelleybot! But, but, but…. you are the Alt and Tab Club founder! You are killing me here. I was just starting to hunt down and reconnect with everyone. I already miss you, so I can’t say I am going to miss you, because it’s the wrong tense of the verb. Please come visit me, Shel. Let’s catch up. Hugs.

  39. nolagirl Says:

    You know how I feel. But I wanted to add my very own pats on the back too! Gooooo Shelley! 🙂

  40. jojo Says:

    Shelley, I just wanted to say how much I’ve enjoyed your stories and poems. They’re always witty, insightful, touching, sometimes all at the same time! The one with the dishwasher repair guy definately left an impression on me. I do so hope you’ll carry on writing.
    So long from across the pond, and I wish you everything you hope for in life.
    Especially a lovely new house in the near future!

    ..and just ‘cuz I know you like happy endings…..

  41. Cahaba Lily Says:

    I understand that you may want to stop the blogging for a while and move on. Selfishly though I will miss checking into your blog. I hope you stay in touch Shelley. You have my links, as well as my heartfelt good wishes to you.

  42. MaryS-NJ Says:

    Shelley,

    I mostly lurk here, but I’ve enjoyed peeking in and occassionally posting. I’ll miss your blog but I absolutely understand that sometimes it’s time to move on.

    Best wishes to you on your move and future endeavors.

Comments are closed.


