Enjoy a Day of Open Discussion

by

Thanks to all for the kind words.

Remember…I may be fading away…but I’ll always be around.

Take today to discuss what you want…Taylor Hicks, music, books, television, the Internets, whatever…however the “keep it clean” rule, the “be nice” rule, and the “no thudding” rule are still intact.

Otherwise…have fun.

39 Responses to “Enjoy a Day of Open Discussion”

  1. Libby Says:

    Dear Shelley,

    I will miss your blog. It has been fun coming to your little Monkbot home.

    I have been on the road so much since March — with little time for other things. And I have missed conversing with you, Squee, Shrew, Q, Jax, Tex et al.

    Shelley – I have some lovely songs by Shelley Powers on my IPOD. So, I can remember your talent and sweet spirit through your music.

    Best wishes for a lifetime of happiness! Thanks for having created a special community for so many of us.

    I will miss you!
    Libby

  2. texastaylorfan Says:

    I just posted it all on the hello, goodbye thread.
    Crap.

  3. blueberry Says:

    Shelley,

    Very sad news for all of us out here, but truly hope it’s all good for you. You do indeed have a voice, and it has been a pleasure to hear it. I haven’t been much of a commenter, but always a reader (and do I ever feel guilty about not responding more often) but your community here has been an oasis in many respects. I did so enjoy reading about a day in the life of Shelley.

    Thank you!

  4. jenfera Says:

    Well, since it’s open discussion and there are no Taylor bans today, I will take this chance to throw out a link to my latest blog post which includes a brief review of Taylor’s show Sunday night at the Cape Cod Melody Tent.

    For the record, I did not attend the meet & greet this time. It was just bad timing. I was going to the show with my mother and my two young neices and it just didn’t make sense to fight my way through Hyannis weekend traffic twice in one evening when I couldn’t even bring my 9-year-old Taylor fan neice in with me.

    I was also quite bummed that I forgot to bring my camera to the Cape with me! I had to use my mother’s camera which is not quite as good as mine. If you click on the photo in the blog post, it will bring you out to my Picasa album with more pictures from the show. They really don’t do justice to how good our seats really were.

    Overall, this was a much better show than the one I saw at Foxwoods. He played for a longer time and just seemed to be in much better voice. It was a very different set list than the last time too, which was great. Also, there was more harp, so that made me happy! He joked around a little about the theater-in-the-round set up, stepping on the outer edge of the stage and saying he was a little worried about falling off. At one point when the stage was facing away from us, he turned our way and called out, “I’ll be there in a minute!” Near the end he said they were only going to play one more song because his bass player just told him if they didn’t get off that thing he was going to be sick.

    The 9-year-old called the show “the coolest thing ever!” and the 12-year-old, who is really more of a Daughtry fan, really enjoyed it too. She was bopping along and clapping just as much as I was. My mother barely knew Taylor at all, as she only watches the audition shows of AI. She enjoyed the show a lot too, loved the band, and loved the revolving stage at the Tent. She loved seeing the back of the drum set and the keyboards, just getting more of a view of what is going on during the show. Her only complaint was that she felt the music drowned Taylor’s voice out a bit. I didn’t really notice that, but I suppose it helps that I am a lot more familiar with the songs.

    As we walked back out to the parking lot, a crowd was gathering near the tour buses. (Which I thought looked a little different – more blue than purple and less shiny. I was right. In a recent blog post Taylor says he now has Kid Rock’s old bus. Weird!) We didn’t linger. Instead, we fought our way out of the totally blocked in parking lot, cursing the people who were hanging around by the buses under our breath!

    I had a great time and I was so glad I went. Taylor is coming to my hometown on September 29th and I just might go again. This time it is at a huge country fair (the one I mentioned that I hoped he might come to!), and the concert is free with admission to the fair. I may not be able to resist!

    (p.s. – Cool & topical comic panes up there, Shelley. Where did you ever find that, or did you create it?)

  5. Shelley Says:

    about the comic…um…a friend sent it to me…along with the idea to put my name in there. πŸ˜‰

    nice write-up about concert…glad you had fun.

  6. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I’m going to see John Mayer tomorrow night! Very excited. I saw on his site that someone named Brett Dennen is opening for him (along with Ben Folds Five) and so I tottled off around The Internets to find out the 411 about him. He’s awesome. Excellent. I highly recommend that you ladies look him up.

    Taylor is coming to Dallas to the HOB in August. I haven’t decided if I’m going or not. There are a couple of other all day type concerts I want to go to in August and I don’t know if I can budget all three.

  7. Dr. Bob Says:

    I remember wanting to be the invisible girl, but also being aware that she had pretty sad super-powers. C’mon … a shield and being invisible? Even in my youth, I was aware, on some level, of the irony (all of the guys got cool superpowers and the girl was invisible). Ah, well, at least it meant that I got to be a character when my brother and his friends played Fantastic Four. When they played Johnny Quest, I had to be Bandit (the dog).

  8. texastaylorfan Says:

    Brett Dennen is one of the artists I discovered thru Gray Charles. I really like him.
    Gray had a thread about him one day and posted some of his music. Wish I could direct you to the archives….

  9. leejolem Says:

    Anybody who wants to stay in contact with me please email me your email/contact info at lhurt@bioscrip.com. (Bama, Rowan, Dr Bob, Jenfera,Quossom, Claire). I’m afraid I may forget someone, but know that I love you all and consider you friends. I think one of the things I loved about checking the blog daily at work was feeling like I was getting a note from a secret pal. Remember secret pals from junior high days? When someone would respond do one of my comments it would be like getting a little anonymous folded note in your locker. Even if Shelley threw a fish at me it was a little bit of unexpected human interaction during a dull day. I will miss you all so much. I know that sounds silly, but it’s the truth. I would love to keep in touch with so many of you, so please let me know how to keep the monkbot sistahood/connection up. For those of you who have blogs, I will try to come visit.

    On to my fav subject–Taylor–only 31 days until front row tix in Goshen,In at the county fair. I’m gonna be watching for he and Bill hanging out at the elephant ear booth.

    My 22nd wedding anniversary is Friday–I can’t believe it. Seems like yesterday we went on our 1st date.

  10. Jules Says:

    I know everyone has bad days but have you ever had a bad week? Every day this week has been a catastophe. I thought today I would really put a stop to the unfortunate pattern. I am going to see TH tonight in Council Bluffs, IA so I wanted to present myself a little bit better than I do normally. So last night I bought a new curling iron, some hairdye, new earrings & a thing to put in my hair (it’s all about the hair I guess – gray). I showered last night so my head would be dry when I woke(which I never do) set the alarm for 6:45(which I never do) and hit the sack feeling pretty confident that I was going to be ahead of the game today. By the way I did not get my hair dyed last night. What I did instead was wash my car thoroughly only to have my sister in law call & insist on driving – this actually is a very good thing since I am terrified to drive on the interstate in the rain(it’s forecasted to thunderstorm today). I also have terrible night blindness(so does she) so this will be interesting. Anyways I woke up this morning at 8:50 in complete disbelief & then rage. I had set the alarm on PM – what the? So now I am going to be a frazzled idiot all day have to skip lunch & leave earlier than I had intended. Ahhh! Why doesn’t anything work out like I plan?!!!? Sorry folks I just needed to vent and I realize this really isn’t castrophic but dang it…

  11. patrickkaddiddlehopper Says:

    This is my final time here, so it’s been real fun everyone and good luck in life!

  12. jenfera Says:

    Shelley, you have some very clever friends! πŸ™‚

    Bama, have a great time at the John Mayer show! I’m jellis!!

    Dr. Bob – you reminded me of a kid who lived down the street from us when we were kids. When we played superheros, her name was Steal and her super power? She could steal stuff really easy. ?!?!?? What can I say? We were probably 6 or 7 at the time.

    Jules – I just know your day is going to improve! By the time you get to the show you will have forgotten your hair issues as you settle into the groove!

    patrickkaddiddlehopper – thanks and good luck to you too!!

    Hey, I was just browsing the archives and I want to nominate Dwight, You Ignorant Slut as one of my favorite Monkbot posts ever. Anyone else want to highlight favorites?

  13. leejolem Says:

    Jenfera, what a good idea. I have to nominate any of The Office posts. First of all because they made me aware of best show on the planet (thanks Shelley and Bama) and because they always made me laugh out loud. (people at work thought I was crazy).

    PKDH, if I had a younger brother I could only hope he would be as witty, kind and polite as you. Hope you get all you want out of life–and be careful driving!!!!

  14. KimLoree Says:

    Best wishes to you Shelley. Thanks for the great blog. Are you going to fade to pink instead of grey?

  15. Jules Says:

    Jenfera – I hope once my sister in law picks me up all will be good(knocks on wood) thanks for the well wishes. I’m so excited for the show tonight! πŸ™‚

    The Office threads have been hilarious & tonight there’s going to be a marathon(cursing myself for not paying attention when my man explained how to program the VCR). My favorite episode is going to be on(the bat) – I’d love to be able to record it.

    I also love the Traveling Monkbot threads(wish I could take the little mascot with me tonight).

  16. texan Says:

    To all of ya…

    May your house always be too small to hold all of your friends!

    As the next chapter opens, know that I am cheering you on!

    Happy trails sistahs! Love you BIG!

    Whew! What a flippin’ fun ride we have all had here in the house ‘o Shel! Shelley, I will always admire your wit and creativity, but most of all, I admire your fierce determination to keep things clean. Well done!

    ps. JENFERA you can’t leave me recipe stranded! Keep ’em coming please!

  17. jenfera Says:

    texan, I’ll be there for you! When the rain starts to pour. I’ll be there for you! Like I’ve been there before. I’ll be there for you! Cuz you’re there for me too.
    (okay, so I was watching Friends re-runs on TBS the other night. It was the one with Ross’s wedding!)

    I already left a message on the food thread (obviously, another one of my favorites!! πŸ™‚ ) for everyone letting you know that you can keep the food conversation going over at my blog. Any time you feel like dropping by to share a recipe or discuss food, join right in on any old post. Tex, I made your strawberry pie last night! It took me awhile though, so I haven’t actually gotten to eat it yet. The moment of truth is tonight. Whoo-hoo!

  18. texan Says:

    Feelin’ the love jenfera! Can I come tonight for pie? I will bring crab cakes! Can we all come? πŸ™‚

    I have had difficulty posting over there, maybe we can work it out!

  19. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Btw y’all- anyone that has a myspace can stop by my page at: myspace.com/lumibug and be my friend!! I would love to keep in touch that way! PtodaDhopper- you too!

  20. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Hey is my name blue?

  21. bamaborntxbred Says:

    texastaylorfan: I didn’t always pay attention to EVERYTHING Gray told us, showed us, gave us. Sometimes it was information overload for moi. I’m glad I’ve “stumbled” across Mr. Dennen now!

  22. jenfera Says:

    Whoo-hooo! Big Monkbot party at my house tonight! Come on over! Pie for everybody!

    bama, I am holding out for your TV blog. πŸ˜‰

  23. jenfera Says:

    oh, and tex, sorry about having troubles posting at my blog. If it has been awhile since you have tried, please try again. They just changed the blog over to a new format and it might be more user friendly now. My sister used to have problems with it too but it seems to be fine for her now.

  24. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Jen, you’ll have to wait for a few things to take place:

    1. My cheap booty to hook the internet back up at home.
    2. My dumb booty to figure out how to load pics and vids, etc.
    3. My lazy booty to do it.

    Shelley- wanna be a ghost-blogger for me? Haha! You do all the work…I’ll get all the glory! Sounds perfect!

    I may conseeeder it for the Fall line-up. How appealing it would be to talk about TV all the time.

  25. Shelley Says:

    bama…let me give it some thought…

  26. Shelley Says:

    um… no

  27. jenfera Says:

    bama, you can’t fool me. I know you are totally bootylicious and you can figure it all out. Gwen Stefani would say you could do it.

  28. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Awww come on! What kind of Monkbot sistah are you?!

    πŸ˜‰

    THE BEST KIND!!!!

  29. bamaborntxbred Says:

    What are you trying to say Jen? You think I’m fat?

    Just kidding…hahaha!

    Gwenie was just telling me that she’d love my blog. Uhh…yeah.

  30. Shelley Says:

    gwennie would LUV UR BLOG.

    (i gots ta get back on myspace)

  31. jenfera Says:

    bama, I would never shun you like that. Now, give up that Amish technique of yours on the home computer and cough up the soppity for a decent internet connection before I sick my sea monster on you.

    I should invite Gwennie & JLo over for the strawberry pie & crab cake party tonight.

  32. mamaforpeace Says:

    One of my favorite post was the one about Shelley and the workman who sang opera. Can anyone direct me to it? I’d love to keep a copy of that.

  33. Shelley Says:

    here ya go, mamaforpeace

  34. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I loooove strawberry pie!

    Get back on myspace Shell-Shell! I’ll pertekt you from skury peepul.

  35. Dr. Bob Says:

    Bama! Yer blue!

    (my space is tooooo much work. I got tired just looking at it… Must nap.)

  36. morewines Says:

    Shelly,

    I just thought so something. Gray shut down now you are shuting
    down. Are the two of you running away with each other? πŸ˜€

    Best wishes.

  37. mamaforpeace Says:

    Thank you, Shelley. I’m printing it right now. I’ve shared that story with some friends, and I will continue to do so. It is filled with heart, and kindness, and wisdom. And now, after reading it again, I have tears in my eyes, because I will really miss those stories, and how willing you were to share yourself with us.

  38. ruhappytoseeme Says:

    jenfera are you talking about the bloomsburg fair??? Its free? WOW, no wonder hes not on the page for concerts, ive been watching and watching for them to post him and tell us when to buy tickets. I live about 30 minutes from the fair (well not with fair traffic but lol you know what I mean. if your not talking about that one oppps sorry lol
    Shelly you will be missed, love your blog, its fun, sometimes sad, you make us think, and have a good time. thanks for that!

  39. jenfera Says:

    ruhappytoseeme – Nope, I am talking about The Big E. Also known as the Eastern States Exposition.

Comments are closed.


