Monkbot eGift Exchange

by

monkeygift.jpgTex had a wonderful idea for celebrating Christmas…Monkbot style.

A Monkbot eGift Exchange!

This is how it works. Everyone who wants to participate should say so in the comment section of this post. By 7 p.m. Thursday, we should have everyone’s name in the hat who is participating.

I will then take the list of names, number each name, and print two copies of the list. I’ll cut one of the lists into separate slips of paper (each slip holding one name). I’ll fold these slips separately and drop them in a hat, bowl, or on the floor. I then will randomly pick up the slips and, as I do, will write a number on the back…until all numbers in the list are used. Then I’ll unfold the slips and see who they match up with. Finally, I’ll post who is “shopping” for whom Thursday night.

You will go online to find your assigned Monkbot a great gift. And the best part is…you don’t have to spend a dime!

On Friday, I’ll put up a Christmas Tree post for you to put your gift under.

To give a gift, just find an image that would make a great present for your Monkbot buddy and put a nice message to them in the comments as to why this image made you think of them. (Be sure to include a link to your image…remember to use your all-important html skills!)

For instance, if I were to “draw” Quossum’s name…I’d say something like:

Dear Quossum,

You have brought so much joy to my Taylor-Hicks experience that you’re like one of those warm and cozy quilts you create! To show my Monkbot love…here is your gift!

Merry Christmas!

Love, Shelley

And, because we’re all about the Taylor and Gray lurve here…everyone can feel free to find “gifts” for these wonderful guys, too. Just be sure to put a message and link in your post.

That’s it!

Who’s game?!

Oh…don’t forget to check out the newest installment of our Monkbot Progressive Story below.

Bamaborntxbred has really sunk her teeth into the story. Things are heatin’ up!

Also, I’ve put a permanent link to the Progressive Story in the right-hand column, so folks can find it a little easier.

And this has nothing to do with our gift exchange, but information about Taylor on Go Fish just went up at Gray’s this morning…and I think it’s about the coolest thing ever…had to share…Go Fish and Soul Patrol! (Be sure to check out the behind-the-scenese clips while you’re at Go Fish.)

How funny would it be if we all submitted questions and said, “I’m So & So…with the Soul Patrol/Monkbot Division. My questions is…..? Viva le Monkbot!”

Get up close and personal with Taylor Hicks

44 Responses to “Monkbot eGift Exchange”

  1. nolagirl Says:

    I wanna play!

  2. double to the d Says:

    Me, too! I wanna be a kewl kid.

  3. shelley Says:

    got it!!! πŸ˜‰

    This is gonna be FUN!!!

    (Tex is brilliant)

  4. shelley Says:

    Oh…y’all don’t have to limit it to images…if you find a great YouTube or GoFish clip…that would be fun, too.

    Or a great write-up.

    Or recipe.

    Or coupon (that’s really worth something).

    Be creative.

    Have fun with this!!!

  5. Shrewspeaks Says:

    me,me,me!!!!!

  6. Squeebee Says:

    *jumps up and down and waves wildly^

    Texan…you ARE a genius!

  7. claire Says:

    *raises hand*.

    I’m in!

  8. Holeigh Says:

    Oooh, I wanna join! πŸ™‚

  9. Mind Doc Says:

    Can I play, too??

    *arm raised, jiggling in seat*

  10. texan Says:

    awwwwwwww….Wow! I am glad when you all just listen to my crazy schemes, but to jump on board..it is too much!

  11. shelley Says:

    Okay…I added info up top about Taylor’s Go Fish project.

    How funny would it be if we all submitted questions and said, “I’m So & So…with the Soul Patrol/Monkbot Division. My questions is…..? Viva le Monkbot!”

    ROFL

    Um…don’t let the purty video of Taylor cause anyone to forget to sign up for the eGift Exchange!

  12. leejolem Says:

    I would love to be in on the fun. I will warn you I’m a technotard, so I may need training on how to post a link, etc…. (I’m sure my daughters could help me, but they will laugh their butts off at me while doing so).
    BTW Taylor on Martha and Christmas in Washington–His Royal MonkBotness was amazzzzing!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. bamaborntxbred Says:

    I wanna do the gift thingy too!

  14. Libby Says:

    I would love to be a part of the egift exchange. Please count me in !

  15. double d Says:

    Actually, Shelley…I have a brainstorm….

    WhoEVER has the Traveling Monkbot…

    Can we not video the Monkbot asking the Monkbot some all-important questions?

    Just sayin’…..

  16. nolagirl Says:

    DD, seriously. Get out of my head. I have been having visions of one of us (ahem…not me… ahem) talking in a Monkbot voice while the Monkbot did the questioning. The wheels are turning ….

  17. Squeebee Says:

    Double to the d…..brilliant! Did you hear that Monkbot? You MUST ask Taylor some questions on the gofish thingy!

  18. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Does the TM talk?? That’s awesome! I had no idea! We should totally get him to ask questions…

  19. bamaborntxbred Says:

    (I was being facetious…)

    πŸ˜‰

  20. ivoryhut Says:

    You mean I’m not the only one who talks to monkeys and robots?

    *Ivoryhut promptly returns to rocking back and forth and muttering to herself about some baby she can’t get enough of to

  21. Jax Says:

    I want in on this!

    Ok Leejolem make that 2 technotards (rotfl I love that). Someone will have to help a bit.. Kewl!!!

  22. nolagirl Says:

    Jax, you could even just go with techtards for short – it’s got a nice ring to it, don’t ya think? πŸ˜‰

  23. ivoryhut Says:

    Nola and Jax, you are making me think of dorks in leotards, and the leg warmers are just too funny.

  24. Jax Says:

    Wayyy OT but I need some input from my friends here at Monkbot! I just posted this over on the Boogie Board:

    http://excoboard.com/exco/thread.php?forumid=102662&threadid=1226102

    Some of you know this story..

    Me in leotards? hmmm this could have been a skit on the Carol Brunet Show with Tim Conway dress up with us Lee! ROTFL

  25. nolagirl Says:

    That is creepy Jax! But cool too. That kind of thing kinda fascinates me. I CAN’T WAIT to hear all about the show, now for an additional reason! πŸ˜‰

    Oh, and me + leotards = BAD NEWS

  26. Shrewspeaks Says:

    On a tangent and because I have been jonesing for two weeks without it…

    How excited are y’all…

    for THIS

  27. bamaborntxbred Says:

    So excited Shrew! Already planning my evening around it!

    I heard a rumor that one of the major characters was going to “quit Dunder-Mifflin” pretty soon. I don’t know if they meant, leave the show or not…

  28. Jax Says:

    I have to wait until Survivor is over for the season… yup (hangs head) another reality show..

  29. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Okay Bama I just sepent 50 minutes searching the internet looking for Office Spoilers…Dayum!

  30. nolagirl Says:

    I was just enlightened that freaking Grey’s Anatomy is ANOTHER re-run tonight. Grrrrrrr.

  31. bamaborntxbred Says:

    Did you find anything Shrew??

  32. claire Says:

    Oh, Happy Day. Nirak (Bless her) from the Boogie Board UPS’d me a copy of Taylor’s CD (Walmart version)and I got it today. I now have my very own copy of “Taylor Hicks” in my hot little hands. And may I say, the bass kicks ASS in all the songs!!!

  33. leejolem Says:

    This is off topic, but did any of you see the Megan M show? That was the best interview yet!!!! You could tell she was smitten and he looked hawt!!!!!!! His jeans were unbelievable (fanning myself as I type). Shelley, Sorry for the fangirlyness. When he does his impression of Megan’s phone call I was dying laughing.

    Ok, am I going to have to give in and start watching The Office? Does anybody else think Steve K. is sexy?

    I just read over my post, and I sound like some sex-crazed woman. So sorry!!!!

    Jax, I too still watch Survivor. I’m a reality show junkie. I hope Yul (?sp) wins. Does anybody in Monkbot land watch Top Chef? That and Project Runway are 2 of my faves.

  34. nolagirl Says:

    Love Project Runway, leejolem! As does Q. I did not get into Top Chef, although I did watch Hell’s Kitchen. I am also just a teeny bit of a reality TV junkie.

    After your recap, I might just have to watch a clip of this Megan Mullally thing (I’m assuming there’s one out there?). Jeans, you say? I am there. πŸ˜‰

  35. Rowan Says:

    Another techtard signing in for the e-prezzie-fest. Should be a blast! As for leg-warmers, tho, I actually WORE the things… rainbow-striped ones, over grey wooly tights in the winter of 82. With a grey pencil skirt. And suede fold-over pixie boots.

    “Please please tell me now,
    Is there something I should know?”

    Hey, Monsieur Le Bon wore them. That’s good enough for me….

  36. leejolem Says:

    Nolagirl, I watched Hell’s Kitchen too. I kind of think Chef Ramsey is sexy. What is wrong w/me? Who don’t I think is sexy….hmmm…let me think. Oh, I know, Santino from last season’s PR. Although he was hysterically funny. Tim Gunn is sexy in a classy gay man kind of way.

    Congrats Claire, enjoy his Royal Monkbotness’ hot CD !

  37. Shrewspeaks Says:

    Not a thing Bama, but Gray just posted this link

    John Mayer and The Office

    Do I need another reason to love this guy?

  38. Quossum Says:

    Sign me up!

    –Q

  39. baby duck Says:

    I want in on the exchange! That is, if there’s some time to do it. If we’re supposed to post in, like, one day after we know who we get, I will disappoint. Call me a slow-poke-atard.

  40. Quossum Says:

    leejolem, I am a HUGE Project Runway fan! I heart Tim Gunn SO bad!

    I thought I saw Santino the other day. No lie. There was this guy pumping gas next to me, and I could SWEAR it was Santino, so I kept looking at him from under my brows. It wouldn’t be totally unreasonable; after all, Chloe lives here and it would be within the realm of possibility for him to come visit her shop.

    Eventually the guy finished pumping his gas and, apparently thinking that I was flirting with him, walked up and started talking to me. He wasn’t Santino. He was a cute (in that disturbingly unkempt, lanky way of Santino) guy with whom I could have set myself up, based on his interested chat with me, but, alas, I had to (gently) rebuff his advances.

    I did NOT tell him that I was only scopin’ him out ’cause I thought he was a reality TV contestant.

    –Q

  41. leejolem Says:

    Q- Some priceless Santino moments:Daniel Franco, where did you go?
    Where’s Andre?
    Andre, don’t embarrass me in front of my colleagues at Red Lobster.
    Maybe next season they could design outfits for Mr. Taylor Hicks. That would rawk!!!

  42. nolagirl Says:

    Q, you PR vixen, you! πŸ˜‰

  43. Jax Says:

    I just wanted all of you to know that I have NOT forgotten our wonderful Shelley …

    I’m sick & will be back as soon as I can.. Love & miss you all.

  44. Shelley Says:

    Jax…I thought the Shaun Cassidy link was my present…and a good one at that!

    I hope you get to feeling better. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.